10:24 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > Tips and Experience Sharing > Arena of Golden Tips

Old Tuesday, December 11, 2012
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 20Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

drvalentino is a name known to alldrvalentino is a name known to alldrvalentino is a name known to alldrvalentino is a name known to alldrvalentino is a name known to alldrvalentino is a name known to all
Smile "A Dream Came True" (Dedicated to All CSS Aspirants)

Dedicated to All CSS Aspirants

I am writing this post with the name “A Dream Came True”. It’s a brief story of my journey from medical profession to Civil Service of Pakistan.
I got my education from nursery to Fsc from my home town i.e Kamalia. I got scholarship in 5th, 8th and Fsc. I scored the highest marks in 75 years history of my college and got admission in MBBS in Allama Iqbal Medical College Lahore. It was a dream for me to be a doctor as it is the most glorified and respected profession. I continued my medical studies and in final year of MBBS, I thought to go for CSS because I wanted to stay in Pakistan and as a doctor it is very hard to survive there.

After passing MBBS in first division, I did my house job in Jinnah Hospital Lahore from 16.5.2009 to 15.5.2010. Due to age factor, I had to appear in CSS 2010 without any preparation, I passed all papers but could manage to get 549 marks only. Islamic history and Journalism proved lethal and I got 70 and 35 marks respectively. In 2010, I was selected in army as a captain doctor. After consultation with my friends, I decided not to join army and decided to go for CSS.

Leaving everything aside, I started my preparation for 2011 from mid of June 2010 in a serious way. I started to study 8 hours a day for 8 months consecutively. Interestingly my all optional subjects i.e Geography, Islamic History, Journalism and Sociology were hit but I took a brave decision and decided to go with the same subjects. My written exam ended on 11.3.2011 and then I joined Shaukat Khanum Cancer Memorial Hospital Lahore in Paediatrics Dept on 18.3.2011 and worked there for 11 months. When my written result was announced, I was on my job. I was completely out of touch from CSS books so in order to prepare well for interview; I took another bold decision and resigned from my job on 6.2.2012 in spite of getting salary in 6 digits.

My sixth sense was whispering that your medical career is going to an end and future lies somewhere else. My interview was on 15.3.2012, I could not sleep well because it was the most important and decisive day of my life, I managed to get up early in the morning, offered Fajar prayer that I often miss, recited Quran, read newspaper and went for my interview that was on 10.30 p.m. Before entering in room, I recited Darood. My interview was very difficult and tricky but everything went v good by the grace of Allah. I was satisfied and decided not to do any job until my result.

Later I went to Karachi to meet my grandmother, aunty, uncle and other relatives. It was a time when Layari operation was underway. I came back to home town three days before my result. I love to spend time with my family when I go to home and hardly use my cell. Finally when result was announced at 6 p.m, my cell was off as usual, by chance I switched on my cell at 10 p.m, there were lot of messages to congratulate me but no one mentioned my merit no. In a meanwhile, I received call from my friend who told that I scored 20th position in Pakistan. At that time, I could easily hear my own palpitations. I offered 2 nafal and said thanks to Almighty on my success. That’s my journey from medical profession to Civil Service of Pakistan and I got my first preference DMG by the grace of Allah.

There were many mistakes and loopholes during my study, subject selection and in other areas that I will mention in my other series of posts. Let me tell one more thing, I never went to any academy in my written preparation of CSS and went only for one day for psychological preparation in one academy in Lahore. I got guideline from Sir Aga Mohsin for English, Sir Abdul Rasheed for Geography, Madam Talat for Psychological Interview and my friend Tahir Rizwan for general guidance in both written and interview

My DMC

Essay 40 Precis & Composition 54 EDS 70

Islamiat 52 C.A 46 P.A 58

Journalism 53 Sociology 60

Islamic History I 72 76 Geography 69 82

Written Marks 727

Interview Marks 196

Total Marks 923

Overall Merit 20

Allocated Group DMG

In the end, I am thankful to Almighty Allah for His blessings and to my family, teachers, friends and patients for special prayers.
Dr Muhammad Zeeshan Hanif
abdulsalam88 (Monday, December 17, 2012), Abid khan Achakzai (Saturday, September 27, 2014), Abrar Javed (Wednesday, February 20, 2013), adan zahra (Saturday, September 05, 2015), alisher87 (Tuesday, December 11, 2012), aliza scorpio (Tuesday, February 19, 2013), Alpha1 (Tuesday, December 11, 2012), Amina Gilaani (Friday, February 14, 2014), aneeqawaheed (Friday, August 23, 2013), Anjum22 (Tuesday, February 19, 2013), Antalpur (Wednesday, March 04, 2015), atif855 (Friday, March 18, 2016), azure (Friday, December 21, 2012), bilal solangi (Sunday, April 28, 2013), courageneverdies (Tuesday, December 11, 2012), engineerktk (Saturday, December 15, 2012), Engr Shahid (Saturday, December 15, 2012), EXCLUSIVE (Tuesday, December 11, 2012), Faheem Sattar (Saturday, December 15, 2012), Ghullam Sarwar (Saturday, December 15, 2012), hassamniazi (Wednesday, December 12, 2012), Hera Faraz (Tuesday, December 11, 2012), idrees khan (Tuesday, December 11, 2012), imad2 (Monday, April 29, 2013), imran qureshi (Friday, August 02, 2013), jadoon khan (Tuesday, December 11, 2012), Junaid Javed (Friday, February 21, 2014), khadijah tul kubra (Saturday, March 02, 2013), Last Island (Tuesday, December 11, 2012), madiha alvi (Sunday, April 14, 2013), mahamkhan93 (Friday, February 22, 2013), Malik Ubaidullah (Sunday, February 24, 2013), Man Jaanbazam (Monday, April 29, 2013), maryammalik (Tuesday, December 11, 2012), Mazhar Ali Khokhar (Saturday, February 13, 2016), mehjabeen karim (Tuesday, February 26, 2013), mir shujaat ali maaz (Monday, December 17, 2012), mohsanfiaz (Tuesday, December 11, 2012), mudasr (Sunday, December 16, 2012), mudassir1 (Saturday, December 15, 2012), Muhammad Muazzam Bilal (Wednesday, May 15, 2013), Mukarrum (Thursday, December 20, 2012), MUZAFFAR MAHMOOD (Saturday, December 22, 2012), Naila K (Sunday, December 16, 2012), niazikhan2 (Tuesday, December 11, 2012), nisha cute (Tuesday, December 11, 2012), Nosheen Bukhari (Saturday, February 23, 2013), nustian (Tuesday, January 08, 2013), Qacc (Tuesday, December 11, 2012), rayma qaiser (Tuesday, October 15, 2013), Rush (Tuesday, February 19, 2013), saadi butt (Saturday, December 29, 2012), SabsMoon (Thursday, July 16, 2015), SADIA SHAFIQ (Tuesday, December 11, 2012), Saeeda Batool (Thursday, February 28, 2013), Saira Nadeem (Tuesday, December 11, 2012), Sajjad Magsi (Monday, June 23, 2014), sandhawk (Tuesday, October 01, 2013), sara bhittani (Tuesday, December 11, 2012), Sarmad Ehsan (Tuesday, December 11, 2012), Seemab (Tuesday, December 11, 2012), shahzadkhanatd (Monday, January 07, 2013), sharp mind (Wednesday, December 26, 2012), Shaw (Sunday, December 16, 2012), sikander marri (Tuesday, February 19, 2013), silza (Monday, October 14, 2013), soloflyer (Tuesday, December 11, 2012), sparkofighter (Tuesday, December 11, 2012), student (Tuesday, December 11, 2012), Taimoor Gondal (Tuesday, December 11, 2012), tanolig (Monday, December 17, 2012), The Manager (Monday, December 17, 2012), thealiarain (Sunday, November 01, 2015), Traveller (Friday, December 14, 2012), usmanusman (Tuesday, December 11, 2012), uzmauzi (Monday, January 07, 2013), Waqas Kandwal (Saturday, November 07, 2015), Waqas77 (Monday, December 17, 2012), Zaheer Qadri (Tuesday, December 11, 2012), zazakipak (Monday, November 02, 2015), zedora (Monday, February 25, 2013), zeeshi361 (Wednesday, December 12, 2012)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 20Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

drvalentino is a name known to alldrvalentino is a name known to alldrvalentino is a name known to alldrvalentino is a name known to alldrvalentino is a name known to alldrvalentino is a name known to all

Here are some of my loopholes and weaknesses.They might be helpful to you.

1. My selection of subjects was not very good because there was no one to guide me properly. In 2011, Islamic History and Geography was not very high scoring.High scoring means a subject that gives u 150 +.Only a few people managed to get 150 plus in these two subjects.Secondly i managed to get 53 and 60 only in Journalism and Sociology respectively and it is not a good score to stay on top.With my little experience,i suggest that every should opt language i.e persian or arabic and regional languages because these are considered as safe subjects .Let me add one thing,Sindhi has been an average scoring subject from last three years.

2. As a medical student,i was totally out of touch with proper English.I was weak in writing and reading ,poor in vocabulary so English took my ample time.If one is serious about doing CSS, one should read,write and speak English as much as one can.One should develop skills in writing analytically.It is not a big deal.It is only time consuming but practice makes a man perfect.

3. I spent nearly 9 months for preparation of CSS in a serious way.As a candidate from Punjab domicile, it is not sufficient time for those who start prep from zero. One should spend at least 12 to 14 months.

4. Although I never went to any academy for preparation but i think academies are little bit beneficial for those who do not know abc of CSS. They should join academy for few weeks only for little bit know how.Mark my words "No academy is capable of making you a CSP".

5. I did most of my preparation alone but i think one should study in a little group of 2 to 4 very serious CSS aspirants who are competent and devoted to studies otherwise it will be sheer waste of time. Group study means to meet once or twice in a week to discuss what they have studied share material and notes.

6. Read each and everything analytically from day 1 specially current affairs and daily Dawn otherwise in the end,it becomes v difficult to read them analytically.

7. Offer prayers regularly and ask Allah to help you.He is the most magnificent.He is the only One who can fulfill all your needs.

Abrar Javed (Wednesday, February 20, 2013), adan zahra (Saturday, September 05, 2015), aliza scorpio (Tuesday, February 19, 2013), Amina Gilaani (Friday, February 14, 2014), Asadibrahim (Sunday, September 22, 2013), BILAL ALI AHMAD (Sunday, February 03, 2013), dil dil Pakistan (Thursday, May 02, 2013), elixir khan (Wednesday, May 13, 2015), Faisaljd (Monday, February 25, 2013), Junaid Javed (Friday, February 21, 2014), khadijah tul kubra (Saturday, March 02, 2013), madiha alvi (Sunday, April 14, 2013), makj (Tuesday, June 18, 2013), Malik Ubaidullah (Saturday, February 23, 2013), mehjabeen karim (Tuesday, February 26, 2013), Muhammad Muazzam Bilal (Wednesday, May 15, 2013), Nosheen Bukhari (Saturday, February 23, 2013), Rush (Tuesday, February 19, 2013), Saeeda Batool (Thursday, February 28, 2013), Sajjad Magsi (Monday, June 23, 2014), sandhawk (Tuesday, October 01, 2013), THE WARRIOR OF JUSTICE (Saturday, February 23, 2013), zazakipak (Monday, November 02, 2015)

idrees khan is on a distinguished road

Bundles of congratulations yet again Dr sahib. Your post is very inspirational and motivational for the upcoming aspirants like me.Wish you a very best of luck for your future and enjoy the relish of being a csp.
Amina Gilaani (Friday, February 14, 2014), drvalentino (Tuesday, December 11, 2012)

samrinsaba is on a distinguished road
Default congratulations

good congratulations
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to samrinsaba For This Useful Post:
drvalentino (Tuesday, December 11, 2012), mudassir1 (Saturday, December 15, 2012)

student is on a distinguished road

Great ! Efforts are always rewarded . In your case , your decisions have yielded higher returns for you . Stay blessed sir .may more such success stories dawn in your life :-)
The Following User Says Thank You to student For This Useful Post:
drvalentino (Tuesday, December 11, 2012)

Qacc is on a distinguished road

Congratulation Sir for achieving your goal...!!!:bow
The Following User Says Thank You to Qacc For This Useful Post:
drvalentino (Tuesday, December 11, 2012)

Sarmad Ehsan will become famous soon enough
Default Congrats!

I wish you reincarnate as an agent of Change for the areas you get an appointment to

This is good that you achieve your goals but it will be penchant for you to help the goals of those lowest common denominators who thereby goading hopes in all the constituencies where the successful CSPs' get allocation but the output becomes a mere mirage of vested interest either of the Politicians or owing to the human instinct - corruptions allures them.

We got Mr. Naseem Sadiq is Multan. I wish all those bureaucrats become a reflection of this guy. Sorry if i went somewhat sentimental or harsh in my tone.

All the best for your future endeavors

SE
drvalentino (Tuesday, December 11, 2012), mudasr (Sunday, December 16, 2012), Urma Waqar (Monday, December 17, 2012)

Thanked 1,321 Times in 834 Posts
HASEEB ANSARI is a glorious beacon of lightHASEEB ANSARI is a glorious beacon of lightHASEEB ANSARI is a glorious beacon of lightHASEEB ANSARI is a glorious beacon of lightHASEEB ANSARI is a glorious beacon of light

Congratulations sir! I have two queries for you. One, which essay did you attempt in 2011 and second, what motivated you to resign from a job which brought you a six digits salary while you would get round about 35,000 salary in DMG?
"Nay! man is evidence against himself. Though he puts forth his excuses." Holy Qur'an (75:14-15)
The Following User Says Thank You to HASEEB ANSARI For This Useful Post:
Amina Gilaani (Friday, February 14, 2014)

tx_ned has a spectacular aura abouttx_ned has a spectacular aura about

"Then which of the favours of your Lord will ye deny?"

Alhamdolillah.

I was feeling your words.

Almighty blessed you and you deserve 'congratulation' for being selected.

Sania Kahn (Thursday, October 23, 2014)

student is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by HASEEB ANSARI View Post
Congratulations sir! I have two queries for you. One, which essay did you attempt in 2011 and second, what motivated you to resign from a job which brought you a six digits salary while you would get round about 35,000 salary in DMG?
I guess title of the post says it all . "DREAM comes true ". It was his DREAM which did not let him accept meagre six digit salary . . . . Let's see what dr sahb has to say :-)
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to student For This Useful Post:
Amina Gilaani (Friday, February 14, 2014), drvalentino (Saturday, January 05, 2013), HASEEB ANSARI (Tuesday, December 11, 2012)