10:29 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group IV > British History

Old Saturday, March 19, 2005

zohaib is on a distinguished road
Default British History

Salam!
Plz suggest me books for British History.
Also i request other members to post here in this forum.
Thanx in advance
Kind regards,
Zohaib

Last edited by Argus; Monday, August 13, 2007 at 02:07 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to zohaib For This Useful Post:
Siddique (Thursday, January 01, 2015)
Old Saturday, March 19, 2005
33rd CTP (ITG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CSP-2004Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

A.J. is a jewel in the roughA.J. is a jewel in the roughA.J. is a jewel in the rough
Default Books for British History

Assalam-o-alaikum!

I would suggest you to follow the following 2 books for British History:

1. British History by THOMAS (only found with Old-book sellers)
2. Modern British History by NORMAN LOWE.

These 2 books are very comprehensive for the 2 papers of British History.
No need to go for any 3rd option.

ALLAH HAFIZ!
A.J.
The Following User Says Thank You to A.J. For This Useful Post:
Siddique (Thursday, January 01, 2015)
Old Friday, February 17, 2006

zaheer baloch will become famous soon enough
Default British history rocks

British hostory is the subjest which is still more scoring subject then other history subjects , Tauseef haider (css 2004 2nd postion holder) got 152 marks in this subject and he still advise me to go for this subject.and his notes are really helpfull for me .

now regarding books the members had given right book but i will add some of them :

British History At a Glance BY Sheikh MOHD Qayyum.

and British Hostory by V.D Mahajan.

both are good book and offcource encarta would helps a lot.
Old Saturday, February 18, 2006
Super Moderator
Moderator: Ribbon awarded to moderators of the forum - Issue reason: Best Moderator Award: Awarded for censoring all swearing and keeping posts in order. - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 1,987 Times in 1,041 Posts
Amna has much to be proud ofAmna has much to be proud ofAmna has much to be proud ofAmna has much to be proud ofAmna has much to be proud ofAmna has much to be proud ofAmna has much to be proud ofAmna has much to be proud of

Thank you very much for sharing it Sir you are absolutely right that British hostory is the subjest which is still more scoring subject then other history subjects
The books the you mention are good & right books but i will suggest that History of England by Wood, is better then British History by V.D Mahajan for the biggners and those never studied this subject coz i think V.D Mahajan is little bit confusing.If anyone read this book and crame it then i am sure that he/she can score 120 + in this subject without consulting any other book and you can confirm it from Mr.Tauseef Haider if possible for you.
Sir can you share Tauseef haider's notes on this fourm with us .
My best wishes are with all of you and once again thank you.
Old Sunday, February 19, 2006

Default yeh v.d mahajan in little bid confusing ...

yes you are right v.d mahajan is little bid confusing for beginners British history at a glance if perfect because of headings and easy text. but i like indian writers more , thats why one Tausif's one subject was geography so always insisted on some indian writers , and some english writers.

well for sharing notes on this forum is little bid difficult for me because these are about more then 400 pages.

well keep going the 20 marks objective is really good and number gaining and please all guys remind the date of births of all the PM;s and kings and famous foreign ministers that will really help you .

bye.
Old Saturday, June 10, 2006

lonely capricorn is on a distinguished road
Default books on british history

British History by THOMAS (where i can find this book in lahore)
plz tell me full name of this author (THOMAS)
plz reply me soon
Old Monday, June 12, 2006

Dear , you can find this book in Urdu Bazaar and in old book street in Anarkali and you can also check books at Feroz Sons.
Old Friday, July 13, 2007

Araza is on a distinguished road
Default Dilemma

hey all..!
yaar...i'm in kindofa fix here in selecting b/w islamic history or british history, in my first attempt (2006) i went for IH and secured 128 marks.But i think it was largely due to luck bcoz i found the syllabus too much and prepared only selected topics and luckily they proved to be enuff for the papers.British history is an entirely new field of study for me, i dont know abt the marks prospects and ne good books available but the syllabus appears to be within sanity..!
Kindly advise me in this regard
Thx a million and best of luck!
Old Thursday, August 02, 2007
33rd CTP (ITG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CSP-2004Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

A.J. is a jewel in the roughA.J. is a jewel in the roughA.J. is a jewel in the rough

Assalam-o-alaikum!

I am a bit late in replying but still if someone is confused abt selecting among the History subects, he/she shall find this post helpful!

British History, Europoean History and the US History are usually more scoring than the Indo-Pak His. The reason is that Indo-Pak is usually opted by a large number of candidates....Pakistan Affairs overlaps Indo-Pak (paper II).
As CSS is a competitive exam, so the examiner is not just interested in correct answers to the given questions, rather he compares the answers of all the candidates and marks are awarded after such a comparison. The Candidates follow the same couple of books which are commonly available in the market.....therefore, the material in their minds is almost the same.
A very few candidates get high scores in Indo-Pak coz they provide somewhat different material.....comparatively better !!!

British and Other Histories are opted by lesser number of candidates....books bhi buhat saari mil jaati hain and each book is better than the other....coz they are written by foreign authors/historians.
So comparatively marks better aa jaatay hain.
One other factor is k Indo-Pak ka syllabus ziyada hai as compared to other History subjects.

Still, the choice is urz !

The books for British History:

1. History of England by P.C. Thomas (Now available in the market....coz of demand it is being republished)
2. Modern British History by Norman Lowe

These two books are sufficient for the papers....but still if someone is interested in gaining extra knowledge + a grip on the subject, the following books can be consulted:
1. British History I and II by Southgate
2. British History by Sheikh Qayyum (Caravan has published the new edition)

V.D. Mahajan has copied P.C. Thomas...... still P.C. Thomas' is more detailaled !

ALLAH HAFIZ!
A.J.

Last edited by Aarwaa; Sunday, August 10, 2008 at 03:44 PM.
Old Sunday, August 12, 2007

Rana Munawar Farooq is on a distinguished road
Default Help for British History and Time Table

Dear Friends I have chosen British History, tell me how is this subject whileI did not study it ever but when i read it so feel easy to learn British History.
I m student of masters in English Part two and teacher at an American School located here in Pakistan. Now I want to appear in 2008 but my study ours are only 3 to 4. first i want to ask u people that either I m able to do CSS within 6 month or not, secondly how can i set my time table. if any body can set timetable for me so i will be very thankful to him, My Optional Subjects are as Under.
1. Journalism
2. Sociology
3. British History
4. Geography

More please suggest some Books for all compasory and Optional Subjects of CSS.
Rana Muhammad Munawar Farooq
Lahore, Pakistan
The Following User Says Thank You to Rana Munawar Farooq For This Useful Post:
mem4mohammad (Wednesday, January 28, 2009)