06:26 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group VI > Mercantile Law

Old Saturday, January 28, 2006

Muhammad Akmal is on a distinguished road
Default Meccantile Law advise required

Asslamo alikum
I am preparing Khalid Mehmood cheema's Bussiness Law for mercantile Law
Some one may please help in knowing the following.
1. Is complete book is required to be Prepared(as the book is not basically designed for CSS) or some Selective studies will work. If so what all can be left.
2. Any other book which can be help ful for praparation of exam.
3. Past papers Before 2001 if available may please be posted.
4. Any body having Mercantile Law in optional subjects may please Respond back to me for continues discussions please.
I shall be grateful.
Old Monday, January 30, 2006
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Medal of Appreciation

Khuram is on a distinguished road

Cheema's book contains some extra material also. For example leave the chepters of Common Career etc. This book does not cover company law and Arbitration law.

All other syllabus is covered in this book. I don't have the detail of which chapters to leave, at this time because I am not at home. You can contact me on mobile msging.

0304-4500886

Ok now I have book with me. Exclude the following portions of this book as these are not part of syllabus:

Law of Carriage of Goods
Law of Industrial Relations
Law of Labour in Factories
Law of Industrial and Commercial Employment
Law of Payment of Wages
Law of Workmen's Compansation
Law of Social Security
Law of Trusts

Following topics are not included in this book, so you should consult other books for these topics.

Company law
Arbitration Law

Thanks!

Last edited by Princess Royal; Tuesday, April 21, 2009 at 04:41 AM.
Old Monday, January 30, 2006

GreatMinds is on a distinguished road
Default Merchantile law

hi
i dont studied khalid mehmood cheemas book . during my foundation 2 of ICMA , I just uses 'merchantile & industrial laws' of ilmi series and i hve every intention of going through the same book for css. I found that it is written in a very easy language not using too much law jargons ,which I as a non law student I find difficult.
u can check out this book if u like!.
Old Thursday, March 16, 2006
37th Common (1st FANA)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason:

Karrar is on a distinguished road
Default Don't OPT for Mercantile LAW!!!!

Hi

I am an LLB student and i have read Cheema's book....

It's good just as a "GUIDE" and may even have been good for the pattern of the PAST css Mercantile Law papers but not the recent ones.....

because in the recent papers, probably the 2002-2004 ones, are all based on case-laws and unfortunately, Cheema's book fails to help in that regard....

plus while solving case-law questions, one has to give references of cases and it's a hell ova job....

also i think that the course for Mercantile Law is a bit too extensive....

I also intended to take it for my CSS but when i saw the questions regarding case-laws, i dropped the decision.

These are the draw-backs which i think so r inherent in opting for ML....

If any one can remove these fears and apprehensions of mine, it would be really beneficial, not only for others, bt may be for me too
The Following User Says Thank You to Karrar For This Useful Post:
kinzacss (Wednesday, March 17, 2010)
Old Thursday, March 16, 2006

Default opt for mercantile law

i think karar u r a little apprehensive about the subject.
If one study it (and i mean study) with true understanding NOT memorizing, one can attempt all case studies regarding it.
u have to give referances but it is not necessary that u give exact clause referance, only a referance to the heading of law is enough .
so i think it is an easy subject. I personally hope that some case studies should be present in the paper coz one more positive thing about them is that in case studies you barely got zero . if U explain your point of view clearly u got some marks. remember there r a lot of answers to a simple case, they just check ur objectivity.
The Following User Says Thank You to GreatMinds For This Useful Post:
Aeiman Siddiqi (Sunday, January 17, 2010)
Old Friday, March 17, 2006
37th Common (1st FANA)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason:

Default To GreatMinds...!

Hi
Kaisay ho aap...

I appreciate ur optimism n ur resolve to work hard for it.....

But REMEMBER one thing......!!!!

There's a hell ova difference b/w case-law questions and other questions....

In case-law questions, u HAVE to (I repeat U HAVE TO) quote cases.....!!!!

n as for as the section no. is concerned, woh tau aap ko quote kernaa hi hota hai.......it's a MUST if u want to get good marks....!

n plus this subject is lengthy too...!

n thora bahut "Mercantile Law" tau yeh naacheese bhi jaanta hai.....aakhir teen saal LAW perhaa hai....:P

Baaqi aap ki marzi...

karrar plz plz I have opted for this subject, dont terrify me

I have studied this subject in ICMA. I hope i will go through it. Do pray for me.

Actually I think case studies r easy, I agree with all ur points but if u r given a situation and asked to give decision....................
u present the case, its important points and then ur decision aligning it with the concerned industrial law. thats all! you dont HAVE TO quote relevant cases but if u do u will certanily get good marks. I got this info from a reliable source.

U r a law student and certainly more qualified than me in this subject. But u know i have no option , i have opted it. So apnee cheez ko to sab acha kehte hain na!
37th Common (1st FANA)

Default :)

hahaha

n SOVVY tooo.....

i shudn't have frightened u like this.....

Waisay i liked the way u blurted out the real position.....girls seldom do that..

chalein issi khushi mein, i think now it's ma "OBLIGATORY" obligation to guide u n tell u about some good books.....

do go for Khalid Mahmood Cheema's Book...."Business Law" for Contract Act, Partnership Act, Negotiable Instruments Act etc.....

another book is "Companies Ordinance" by Mansoor Law Book House....it's a very short yet comprehensive book.....

n also if u want to quote some cases n want a good book, then study "Mercantile Law" by A G Chaudhry....

I hope u'll find all these three books very very relevant...

u Take care
Old Wednesday, March 29, 2006

AMI is on a distinguished road
Default My recommendation!

AOA!

Why don't you give a try to Mercantile law by an indian author "M.C KUCHHEL" (name pronounced exactly in the same way as an urdu word which means CRUSHING)! Its a comprehensive book on the subject with small page-size for easy reading and its pirated-edition is available for about Rs. 70/- at Prince Book Depot & Ilmi Book Centre (Urdu Bazar, LHR) and also at Waheed Book Depot (adjacent to ICMA Building, Lahore).

I recommend this book because it has lots and lots of appropriate ILLUSTRATIONS (small case-studies) and even larger-original case-studies!
Furthermore, as u will see (when u'll purchase it) that CHEEMA's M-Law and LUQMAN BAIG's M-Law are mere reproduction and editing of same matter from M.C Kucchel (which is considered as a master-piece). The reality is, that they both have COPIED from M.C Kuchhel and then have improved the understandability of the text with easy non-legal language and attractive presentation (with headings etc.). But the fact remains that M.C Kuchhel still contains 40% more in-depth material than the other two books & with proper legal language and hence, is my CHOICE #1.

Should you have any further query concerning it, don't hesitate to ask me!

take care!
The Following User Says Thank You to AMI For This Useful Post:
engr.jibran (Monday, April 26, 2010)
Old Sunday, September 24, 2006

bitlovable is on a distinguished road

Hi

yaarrr!! you ppl have just confused me. I've just finalised the optional subjects in my mind for the CSS-2007 exams and M.Law is one of them. Though I've passed my M.Law in C.A Intermediate but the paper pattern was completely different than that of CSS. I'd the same apprehensions about the subject as does the Karrar(i.e: CSS paper is case study based,you got to produce references from law etc.) but I tamed myself up that.... c'mon you can do it. Now after viewing the discussion on this forum I've been confused again. So keeping in mind my background (that I've passed this subject in C.A Inter) can you please advise me; if I should go with this subject or not. I've got 5 months for the preparation of CSS-2007 so I got to decide as early as possible.
Please reply as quickly as possible.