05:13 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > Tips and Experience Sharing

Tips and Experience Sharing Your unique experience and tips can be highly valuable to thousands of them who plan to appear for exams this year or in the future years.You can share your experiences and golden tips with us.

Old Tuesday, June 10, 2008

Thanked 1,078 Times in 408 Posts
Asif Yousufzai is just really niceAsif Yousufzai is just really niceAsif Yousufzai is just really niceAsif Yousufzai is just really niceAsif Yousufzai is just really nice

Salam to all of u........ I am a new user.......i want to ask u guys onething i-e i chedked css2007 result of many candidates and i was stunned to see that almost 90% of candidates were failed in either Essay or English Precis paper.. can anybody give me some logical reasons that y such a huge number of candidates failed english paper????????

Last edited by prieti; Tuesday, June 17, 2008 at 01:00 AM.

HERO is on a distinguished road
Default English-predicament

Is it really very hard to believe that most aspirants of css are let down just because of english?no.the other day one of my doctor friend asked me if there was a way that electricity could be generated and distributed through Radio-frequency waves.i replied no.he contradicted me and said the whole world is communicating through RF-waves.Mobile communication is a perfect example of sending and receiving RF-signals which themselves are minute chunks of power.He then in a dismal manner sighed and said,our biggest predicament is that we don't think, ponder and imagine.All the miracles of science,thanks to unrestrained human imagination.

English for css contenders is not a problem.but normally candidates are misguided, mislead and often deluded.First,a rosy picture is painted.Second,a time frame is provided.Third, a cartel of devious teachers is always at disposal.Last,an extremely archaic education system is trying to become eternal, at least in pakistan.
i myself have attempted css 2008 and i don't have a speck of doubt in my mind that my performance wasn't better than anybody.Equally sure i am that candidates appearing in the said exam are meritorious and deserving.We all are in a transient phase where practice of a few has enabled them to make a better impact.Nonetheless,those who had little practice have equal chances to fare well.Any written expression to be witty,eloquent and brief requires time to develop.Let 's leave FPSC to judge us.well wishes For all.
HERO
The Following User Says Thank You to HERO For This Useful Post:
Omer (Tuesday, June 10, 2008)
Khadim-e-Fareed
Moderator: Ribbon awarded to moderators of the forum - Issue reason: Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: Roll Number 3208-CSS 2008Best Moderator Award: Awarded for censoring all swearing and keeping posts in order. - Issue reason: Best Mod 2009Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: 2009Elite CSP Medal: Members who previously received (CSP Award  and Member of the Year Award ) OR (CSP award + Gold Medal + Medal of Appreciation) are eligible for this award. - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 1,189 Times in 442 Posts
Mumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to behold

English Problem......

It is true that most of the students fail in Englisg either essay or precis.This is not true only for css-2007 but it has been the problem since ages.
i think hero is right when he says that the problem lies in our education system.Most of the us do not try to build up good english(means the english which is grammatically correct and required for css) when in early phases of our educational career.Neither the teachers try to do this.
Secondly the examination system of FPSC is such that makes it sure that minimal number of students pass the exams.So one needs to find a right teacher or mentor to teach one the english required and some luck as well

Last edited by prieti; Tuesday, June 17, 2008 at 12:59 AM.
38th CTP (PSP)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Merit  106

Waseem Riaz Khan has a spectacular aura aboutWaseem Riaz Khan has a spectacular aura about
Default bro

HERO, you have rightly articulated the reasons behind students' failure in English.I will add some more
1. English is not our native language.To have good grip over a foreign language is naturally difficult. What we need to do is practice.Lack of practice makes the style monotonous.As writing is most difficult task in preparation thats why students, usually,dont pay much heed towards this ordeal.
2.Secondly,students usually make the mistake of jotting down common sentences heard or read fron news paper or elsewhere.This is equally destructive.We are supposed to show our grip over the language.For example while writing Global warming most students attempt the essay in such a way as they were attempting everyday science.
3.Lack of knowledge,solid arguments,qoutes,sayings.
4.Most students take essay easy as they think its not difficult to ink more or less 25 pages.Such kind of thinking makes them relaxed about English.Can you believe a student having 713 marks was failed in English
5.Lack of analytical skills.Sometimes students dont know how to summarize something.Examiner doesnt have enough time to read one argument stretched over pages.We need to be brief yet illustrative.
6.Spellings and grammatical mistakes challenge the patience of checker.We need to avoid them at all.
7.Same are the mistakes which are usually made in the paper of composition.Insufficient vocabulary leads to destruction.
This was my personal assessment.....................every person has his own angle to see the things

Last edited by prieti; Tuesday, June 17, 2008 at 12:58 AM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Waseem Riaz Khan For This Useful Post:
Last Island (Friday, August 17, 2012), maniya khan (Tuesday, June 17, 2008)
Old Wednesday, June 11, 2008

marshal453 is on a distinguished road
Default Over Confidence

Well one issue is OVER CONFIDENCE,
seriously people i remember somebody called me on the night of English papers 2007 and inquired
"why aren't you studying?"
Guess wot!
I replied "yaar ab English mien aur kya parhun?"

This “confidence” was a major reason behind the fall of "attempt 2007"
So even if you think you are “too good” give it a double check and re asses yourself by going through past papers etc.
Sureshlasi (Wednesday, June 11, 2008)
Old Wednesday, June 11, 2008

Yasser28 is on a distinguished road

You have done a good deal of quality analysis. I am held by the power agenda of IESCO(fear of shutdown at this hour) here so not replying in detail for the moment( will come out with one till tonight perhaps granted no urgency comes in the way). However, I am obliged to you for giving me a sobering thought to return to sympathy towards the proof error of Yousafzai.

Well, you people have given very confident and quite assertive statements based on a range of personal experiences to observations and analyses. But let me somewhere rebut and elsewhere affirm your views.

Conspiracy, tutor mafias, cartels, bad education system, lack of practice either induced through false self-perception or laziness or lack of time during the preparation period.: this has been the range of my worthy friends diagnoses of the ailment under review. Well, you have full right to give expression to what you think apt in the current context but let me disagree with you.
“Conspiracy, tutor mafias, cartels, bad education system”

These, to me, in their best-case scenario are mere analytical clichés and arguably examples of negative thinking. Please save yourself from falling a prey to such a futile blame here. You will perhaps agree with me that majority of CSS candidates who appear in all the papers are not entirely non-serious persons. They are usually from the best of Pakistani pupils of different educational institutions. I mean they are best of the whatever system of education of the country. Most of them are, however, victims of freshly induced delusions from the semester system thund programme high grades (few readings at hand easy passing out, short intervals intervening the lecture deliverance from instructor and evaluation term ) create a false perception that they don’t need any hard work to pass this epic test of CSS where people preparing themselves for years are their colleagues. So this point reinforces the point made out by many of my friends here.
Another reason of failure is unawareness of various stylistic subtleties of this very important form of writing (I mean Essay). Very few candidates have have analyzed that what kind of various essays are in the question paper (analytical, subjective, argumentative, etc.); so they don’t proceed according to requirement. Many people cannot differentiate between argument and illustration and their paragraph breaks are improper. Development of argument is not a child’s play; however, lack of practice makes it for many to think it at 180 degree to my point. Grammar, vocabulary, syntax have certainly important part in giving a mature look to an essay but they are wholly important: your approach towards the problem or quality of your case-making matters very much also. Moreover, one’s time management plays very important part in giving a proper look to one’s essay. Bear in my mind these check-posts: arguments for, arguments against and achieving or reaching a convincing conclusion taking extract of your whole polemical game. Some people’s sudden leaps make their essays their own nemeses. Therefore keep in my mind that an essay is not just the name of an intellectual unity but it also look as an organic unity.

Conclusion:

So my request here would be to see things in positive way. There should be little temptation to smell a rat everywhere and finding conspiring black-holes elsewhere. Practice and getting another’s expert judgment on it and improving on it can help much. Please don’t take essay easy as it’s not just a jotting down of high-sounding words and multi-syllable sound bytes rather it’s a complete reflection of one’s thinking processes and capability of prioritizing the pieces of argument and finally reducing it to a smart piece of conclusion.

Take care.

Last edited by Princess Royal; Thursday, June 12, 2008 at 07:29 AM. Reason: posts merged
The Following User Says Thank You to Yasser28 For This Useful Post:
Sureshlasi (Friday, June 13, 2008)
Old Thursday, June 12, 2008

RAO RAMEEZ is on a distinguished road

English is not a subject to Cram,its a language,,,it must be 'absorbed' then to be 'Temporarily memorized'.........
Old Monday, June 16, 2008

Thanked 1,078 Times in 408 Posts
Asif Yousufzai is just really niceAsif Yousufzai is just really niceAsif Yousufzai is just really niceAsif Yousufzai is just really niceAsif Yousufzai is just really nice

Yes Yasser Bhai you are right ...... i actually checked css2007 result..... i beg your pardon.... I request all the forum members to accept my apologies ...
I want to thanx all of you for sharing me such an important informations regarding english paper.

I want to ask you one more question ....can anybody tell me how much time is enough for css in months and for how long should one study per day???

i will anxiously wait for all of your kind suggestions.
Old Monday, June 16, 2008
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CSS 2007Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

S.H.Virk is just really niceS.H.Virk is just really niceS.H.Virk is just really niceS.H.Virk is just really nice
Lightbulb

Originally Posted by Asif Yousufzai

I want to ask you one more question ....can anybody tell me how much time is enough for css in months and for how long should one study per day???

1. It is upto the ability and capability of the aspirant as for as HOW MUCH TIME IS ENOUGH thing is concerned...one is expected to be focused and it's not time but the quality time one utilises for preparations that matters.

2. As for studying is concerned, it is never enough... But pragmatically talking, one shud study as long as it does not start causing indigestion, i.e. , one is expected to digest what one studies otherwise it is more or less wastage of resources.

Last Island (Friday, August 17, 2012)
Old Tuesday, June 17, 2008
Khadim-e-Fareed
Moderator: Ribbon awarded to moderators of the forum - Issue reason: Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: Roll Number 3208-CSS 2008Best Moderator Award: Awarded for censoring all swearing and keeping posts in order. - Issue reason: Best Mod 2009Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: 2009Elite CSP Medal: Members who previously received (CSP Award  and Member of the Year Award ) OR (CSP award + Gold Medal + Medal of Appreciation) are eligible for this award. - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 1,189 Times in 442 Posts
Mumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to behold

Originally Posted by Asif Yousufzai

i will anxiously wait for all of your kind suggestions.
HI hope you'r doing fine.
Mr.Virk has righlty said that its upto one's capability and capacity.
Some say that 6 months are enough and there are others who say that even a year is too short of period to appear.

so its totally upto you.It all depends upon one's knowledge and background in the subjects one has opted.The subjects in which one has past knowledge will take less time to prepare than the one's which one has to study for the first time.

Regarding the compulsory its basically about English.There is no fixed trend sometimes the essay paper is the killer paper and sometimes as in the case of css-2007 it was precis.so when you feel like that you can go through and are confident then go for it....

Last Island (Friday, August 17, 2012)