12:25 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Cadres and Training Programmes > Common Training Programme (CTP)

Old Sunday, September 03, 2006
33rd CTP (ITG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CSP-2004Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

A.J. is a jewel in the roughA.J. is a jewel in the roughA.J. is a jewel in the rough
Default Some details of the CTP

Some details of Common Training Programme at the Civil Services Academy, Lahore:

1. Every commoner will be assigned an Academy Serial No. (Roll No.).
2. The very first day, the commoners are required to sign the service-joining
letter, with surety etc.
3. After, they submit the required documents (photographs, surety bond, security fee etc.) they are given details of their CTP, i.e. their Room No. + Group No. (All the commoners are distributed into 4 groups - G1, G2, G3, G4-for the purpose of academics. Every group has a strength of around 40. It is ensured that all the occupational groups and provinces are represented equally in these 4 academic groups.)
4. There are 10 subjects in total (besides Syndicate). All the academic groups will study 5 subjects at a time,and 2 academic groups will have one set of 4 subjects while the other 2 groups will be studying the other 4 subjects.For example: G1 and G2 will study Economics, PSM, Contemporary Issues in Islam, NIP. G3 and G4 will be doing Office Management, Govt, Functioning, Public Finance ...etc.Computers, Communication Skills and Public Speaking will be for all the groups.
After the Mid-term, subjects will be exchanged among the groups.
5. Syndicate is for all. 7-8 Different groups are made for this purpose.
6. In the evening, Sports is must for all. Attendance is must...participation is not!
7. Morning PT was not mandatory for 32nd and 33rd CTP....it depends on the Director(s) of the CSA.....may b 34th have it as a mandatory exercise daily....ur DG is an ex-army-man!
8. All the books will be provided by the academy. Bank Account will be opened on the very first day....academy makes the arrangements for it. Sports kit is also provided by the CSA.

Details of subjects:
1. Economics: Very basics are taught.
2. Public Finance + Public Sector Management:
Those with an MBA will find these 2 subjects very very easy. For the rest these will be new, but not really tough.
3. Govt, Functioning: The book will have 10 chapters...meaning 10 topics only. History of Indo-Pak in a different perspective + some details of how the govt. machinery is being run...that's it!
4. Office Management : Very very easy + boring + important subject. Mian Khuda Buksh sahib is the genius instructor.....no doubt one gets sleepy, but Mian Sahib makes it really easy for the probationers!
5. NIP : 15-20 selected hot issues are discussed by Mr. Hassan Askari Rizvi. Just take ur lectures/notes.....reproduce in the papers.....nothing to worry at all!
6.Computers: Dua karain k koi sifarishi instructor na milay......rest no problem...very basics of MS OFFICE are taught!
7. Communication Skills + Public Speaking:
Ten selected topics are taught in Communication Skills. Public Speaking is the
practical side of it. All the probationers are required to give presentations (3-4 presentations during the whole term).

Best of Luck!

ALLAH HAFIZ!
A.J.
The Following 34 Users Say Thank You to A.J. For This Useful Post:
Nonchalant (Wednesday, January 09, 2008), abdulsalam88 (Friday, April 26, 2013), Abid khan Achakzai (Monday, July 22, 2013), adan zahra (Tuesday, September 15, 2015), Asadibrahim (Saturday, March 02, 2013), Asif Gilani (Friday, July 12, 2013), AwesomeMasuud (Wednesday, December 19, 2007), Eager (Wednesday, October 27, 2010), Faraz_1984 (Saturday, September 06, 2008), hallians (Sunday, August 12, 2007), Huma Maqbool (Sunday, August 18, 2013), humayonpervaiz (Monday, July 08, 2013), kainateeq (Friday, August 29, 2014), Last Island (Friday, August 17, 2012), lynchpin (Tuesday, May 28, 2013), madiha alvi (Thursday, September 12, 2013), MADIHA IRFAN (Saturday, December 20, 2014), mmkhan (Tuesday, March 19, 2013), Nosheen Bukhari (Tuesday, April 09, 2013), pari (Sunday, August 05, 2012), Qacc (Tuesday, October 22, 2013), Rana Osman (Monday, June 02, 2014), Rang Root (Monday, December 21, 2015), Rida Malik (Thursday, February 21, 2013), RMKamran (Thursday, December 19, 2013), rose_pak (Monday, June 04, 2012), s malik (Monday, September 06, 2010), samanchughtai (Thursday, October 28, 2010), Seemab (Wednesday, October 10, 2012), SehrishKanwal (Tuesday, October 22, 2013), silent roar (Wednesday, August 14, 2013), syeda naqvi (Friday, June 10, 2011), waqas Nawaz (Monday, November 19, 2012)
Old Monday, September 04, 2006
34th Commons
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CSS 2005..... Ismat Parveen and merit number is 44.

sim is on a distinguished road

There are many questions I would like to ask but trying to be within restrains I would ask you not many questions.
How was your experience of CTP? Did you find it difficult?

What about our accomodation and its standard?

What about the available free time both within a day and after a longer period than that?

Is there any particular thing that you would like to share with us as your experience is quite fresh about the setup etc.
Old Monday, September 04, 2006
33rd CTP (ITG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CSP-2004Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

A.J. is a jewel in the roughA.J. is a jewel in the roughA.J. is a jewel in the rough
Default About CTP

Ans 1. CTP is not difficult at all. At least, after qualifying the CSS-exam....it is really easy. Just note down the lectures......re-produce them in the papers/tests.....that's it.Some subjects are relatively easier for MBA people...coz they have studied some of these things before.Rest, all will be equally "blanK".

Ans 2. Accomodation is fine. Not luxurious....but still better than most of the other governmental accomodations at this level......e.g. rooms have no carpets nor the wash-rooms are tiled; no A/C but a fan....standards vary from one person to another.Messing bus theek hi hoti hai.....guzaara ho jaye ga......but being there, with a lot of friends is the main thing....sub ho jata hai! Accomodation and Messing charges are deducted from salary, chahay aap avail karain ya nahin.I never stayed at the CSA.....messing bhi just 4-5 baar hi ki thi.....coz my house is very close toCSA......but now as ur new DG is strict....so may be u won't get a chance to escape after the classes...may be.....not sure!

Ans 3. Classes are from 8:30 am to 20 pm. Then lunch....at 40 pm it is sports time.So at 5 pm....finally the probationers are totally free to do as they like to! Now again, as there is a new DG, so things would be different.
Vacations.....only the gazetted holidays + a break of 1 week at the end of first term.

Ans 4. My experience......friends make CSA a paradise....rest it is quite boring.

ALLAH HAFIZ!
A.J.

Last edited by Argus; Tuesday, August 07, 2007 at 04:44 PM.
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to A.J. For This Useful Post:
Abid khan Achakzai (Monday, July 22, 2013), Asif Gilani (Friday, July 12, 2013), imranazeem (Monday, November 17, 2014), prince93 (Saturday, October 27, 2012), Rida Malik (Thursday, February 21, 2013), s malik (Monday, September 06, 2010), Saleha Jamil (Saturday, August 30, 2014), Tariqmehsud (Wednesday, August 31, 2011)
Old Tuesday, September 05, 2006
34th Commons
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CSS 2005..... Ismat Parveen and merit number is 44.

Thanks A.J.

Well,the time table is rather.....mind boggling really but that is not a big problem after the studies that we had to undergo for the preperation of CSS.Once again you were really good at providing the required information.
Sim.
34th Commons
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: NAZIA PARVEEN .....Merit number 140. Group allocated: Information Group

nia is on a distinguished road
Smile CTP more info req

asa..

Mr. Aj..

thanks a million for ur valuable peice of advice...i also wanted to ask some quesiotns regarding the total expenses...
i wanted to ask about the security fees..how much is it...and since i am going to be a boarder..i wanted to ask as to how much money should i keep with my self..in order to survive for a month or two...before the stipend is given....
i wanted to ask about the significance of the course position...that position that i will get...will it be of any benefit to me in my future career...i mean...posting or...promotion...
i also wanted to know about..the timinings..of the study tour...is it going to be in december...
i hope....studying is fun out there...and i just pray that...we all get the return of our hard work...
may allah bless us all and those who guide us..

thanka a million..
tcc.
nazia
33rd CTP (ITG)

Here i am postiing some contents from the letter , which I received from the CSA before the commencement of my CTP:
Reporting time 8:30 AM, October 10 or the evening of October 09.
Bring the following with you:
1. Duly completed SURETY BOND (form will be provided by the parent department/ ministry).
2. 5 passport size and 12 2.5 cm x 2.5cm photographs, plus 15 passport size photographs to be pasted on the Bio-data forms.
3. 3 NIC copies
4. Sum of Rs. 4400/(male) 4150/(females)
(as security for different purposes).
5.Those already in Govt service will be providing their pay certificates, service statments, appointment letters etc.
DRESS CODE: No Jeans etc. allowed (so sad). For sports, CSA will provide the dress.
Bring adequate bedding when u come to the CSA! (i.e. bed sheets, quilts, pillows etc.)

@Nia : How much money u should keep.....hmm.....depends on how much u usually spend.....just a normal amount is required !
Significance of the position in CTP
It does matter among the members of the same occupational group,.....coz inter se (i.e. within the group) seniority would be determined on the basis of CSS marks+ CTP marks + STP marks. So it does matter. Also, the topper gets the President's Gold Medal....so try to be the winner......if u want to take it easy...do as u wish!
Study Tour
It is usually arranged after the end of the first term.....we had it in december...and our second term started in January. It is of 10-11 days...at most!

ALLAH HAFIZ!
A.J.
Old Wednesday, September 06, 2006
34th Commons (PAAS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: Qamar Riaz.........Merit 124....Audit and Account--CSS 2005Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

QamarCheema is a jewel in the roughQamarCheema is a jewel in the roughQamarCheema is a jewel in the rough
Default Dear CSPs

Dear CSPs..............................Allah tumharay hall per rahm karey
Ameeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeen

Qamar
Old Thursday, September 07, 2006
34th Commons

Cogito ergo sum.

Mr. Qamar Cheema. If the comment was ironic....well, that is lost.

If you were seriously wishing for the well being of all then

Allah aap per khas ul khas rehmat keray.

We all need the blessings of ALLAH, some more some less.

Sim.
The Following User Says Thank You to sim For This Useful Post:
javediqbalmalik790 (Friday, February 29, 2008)
Old Thursday, September 07, 2006
34th Commons
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: selected n css 2005,pakistan merit #70,NWFP 7Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

aamerkhattak will become famous soon enough

salam,
thnks for info dnt wory friends vn u join u will feel relax and adjusted
Old Saturday, September 09, 2006
34th Commons
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: NAZIA PARVEEN .....Merit number 140. Group allocated: Information Group

nia is on a distinguished road
Smile thanks

Mr. A.J..

thanks a million...for the info..

i hope all of us do well..

tc

may Allah bless us all...

nazia

Last edited by Aarwaa; Tuesday, July 22, 2008 at 06:17 AM.