02:50 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Cadres and Training Programmes > Common Training Programme (CTP)

Old Monday, July 30, 2007

waji is on a distinguished road
Default Life at Civil Services Academy

Asalam o Alaikum to all users,

and many congratulations to successful candidates(CSPs 2006),

i am sorry if i am posting this thread in wrong category,

i am just starting this thread for some information which i need and secondly to have some fun with it, because you guys are always attached to your books and its not perfect for good people; to be honest, life is a game and it never bends to scholars but to social people.

lets discuss Civil Services Academy, as this thread might also inspire new candidates to work hard for a better achievement.

1) Share your experience about CS academy?
2) What should a male shop for academy?
3) What should a female shop for academy?
4) What about the vocations?
5) What about the married cadidates?
6) What about the accommodation and facilities?

and more questions are coming

Thank you so much for your interest in the thread

Have a lovely day,
Best Regards
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to waji For This Useful Post:
Cosmic_libertine (Monday, August 03, 2009), Hassan Kamal (Tuesday, April 22, 2014), IamIronMan (Friday, August 30, 2019)
Old Monday, July 30, 2007
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: AppreciationBest Moderator Award: Awarded for censoring all swearing and keeping posts in order. - Issue reason: Best ModGold Medal: Awarded to those members with  maximum number of  reputation points. - Issue reason: For the year 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: 2008Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason: More than 5 years of dedicated servicesModerator: Ribbon awarded to moderators of the forum - Issue reason:

Last Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardom

Experience and details of Common Training Programme at the Civil Services Academy, posted below are shared by our hounourable member of the forum and a CSP Officer, Mr, A.J.

Some details of Common Training Programme at the Civil Services Academy, Lahore:

1. Every commoner will be assigned an Academy Serial No. (Roll No.).
2. The very first day, the commoners are required to sign the service-joining letter, with surety etc.
3. After, they submit the required documents (photographs, surety bond, security fee etc.) they are given details of their CTP, i.e. their Room No. + Group No. (All the commoners are distributed into 4 groups - G1, G2, G3, G4-for the purpose of academics. Every group has a strength of around 40. It is ensured that all the occupational groups and provinces are represented equally in these 4 academic groups.)
4. There are 10 subjects in total (besides Syndicate). All the academic groups will study 5 subjects at a time,and 2 academic groups will have one set of 4 subjects while the other 2 groups will be studying the other 4 subjects.For example: G1 and G2 will study Economics, PSM, Contemporary Issues in Islam, NIP. G3 and G4 will be doing Office Management, Govt, Functioning, Public Finance ...etc.Computers, Communication Skills and Public Speaking will be for all the groups.
After the Mid-term, subjects will be exchanged among the groups.
5. Syndicate is for all. 7-8 Different groups are made for this purpose.
6. In the evening, Sports is must for all. Attendance is must...participation is not!
7. Morning PT was not mandatory for 32nd and 33rd CTP....it depends on the Director(s) of the CSA.....may b 34th have it as a mandatory exercise daily....ur DG is an ex-army-man!
8. All the books will be provided by the academy. Bank Account will be opened on the very first day....academy makes the arrangements for it. Sports kit is also provided by the CSA.

Details of subjects:
1. Economics: Very basics are taught.
2. Public Finance + Public Sector Management:
Those with an MBA will find these 2 subjects very very easy. For the rest these will be new, but not really tough.
3. Govt, Functioning: The book will have 10 chapters...meaning 10 topics only. History of Indo-Pak in a different perspective + some details of how the govt. machinery is being run...that's it!
4. Office Management : Very very easy + boring + important subject. Mian Khuda Buksh sahib is the genius instructor.....no doubt one gets sleepy, but Mian Sahib makes it really easy for the probationers!
5. NIP : 15-20 selected hot issues are discussed by Mr. Hassan Askari Rizvi. Just take ur lectures/notes.....reproduce in the papers.....nothing to worry at all!
6.Computers: Dua karain k koi sifarishi instructor na milay......rest no problem...very basics of MS OFFICE are taught!
7. Communication Skills + Public Speaking:
Ten selected topics are taught in Communication Skills. Public Speaking is the practical side of it. All the probationers are required to give presentations (3-4 presentations during the whole term).

Q.1 How was your experience of CTP? Did you find it difficult?
CTP is not difficult at all. At least, after qualifying the CSS-exam....it is really easy. Just note down the lectures......re-produce them in the papers/tests.....that's it.Some subjects are relatively easier for MBA people...coz they have studied some of these things before.Rest, all will be equally "blanK".

Q.2 What about our accomodation and its standard?
Accomodation is fine. Not luxurious....but still better than most of the other governmental accomodations at this level......e.g. rooms have no carpets nor the wash-rooms are tiled; no A/C but a fan....standards vary from one person to another.Messing bus theek hi hoti hai.....guzaara ho jaye ga......but being there, with a lot of friends is the main thing....sub ho jata hai! Accomodation and Messing charges are deducted from salary, chahay aap avail karain ya nahin.I never stayed at the CSA.....messing bhi just 4-5 baar hi ki thi.....coz my house is very close toCSA......but now as ur new DG is strict....so may be u won't get a chance to escape after the classes...may be.....not sure!

Q.3 What about the available free time both within a day and after a longer period than that?
Classes are from 8:30 am to 2: 00 pm. Then lunch....at 4: 00 pm it is sports time.So at 5 pm....finally the probationers are totally free to do as they like to! Now again, as there is a new DG, so things would be different.
Vacations.....only the gazetted holidays + a break of 1 week at the end of first term.

Q.4. Is there any particular thing that you would like to share with us as your experience is quite fresh about the setup etc.
My experience......friends make CSA a paradise....rest it is quite boring.One thing that disappointed me at CSA.......people used all their links/resources to get marks/attendance etc......clerks are all corrupt.....kissi bhi clerk say bana kar rakho, and u get what u want.....40% attendance will be made 90%. Also, sifarishi instructors (like that of the computers in 33rd CTP) provide utmost assistance to their "favorite" probationers.
Lekin, yeh koi ajeeb baat nahin hai....yeh sub chalta hai. What u need is to just concentrate on your own work...and let others do what they can!

Here i am postiing some contents from the letter , which I received from the CSA before the commencement of my CTP:
Reporting time 8:30 AM, October 10 or the evening of October 09.
Bring the following with you:
1. Duly completed SURETY BOND (form will be provided by the parent department/ ministry).
2. 5 passport size and 12 2.5 cm x 2.5cm photographs, plus 15 passport size photographs to be pasted on the Bio-data forms.
3. 3 NIC copies
4. Sum of Rs. 4400/(male) 4150/(females)
(as security for different purposes).
5.Those already in Govt service will be providing their pay certificates, service statments, appointment letters etc.
DRESS CODE: No Jeans etc. allowed (so sad). For sports, CSA will provide the dress.
Bring adequate bedding when u come to the CSA! (i.e. bed sheets, quilts, pillows etc.)

How much money u should keep.....hmm.....depends on how much u usually spend.....just a normal amount is required !

Significance of the position in CTP
It does matter among the members of the same occupational group,.....coz inter se (i.e. within the group) seniority would be determined on the basis of CSS marks+ CTP marks + STP marks. So it does matter. Also, the topper gets the President's Gold Medal....so try to be the winner......if u want to take it easy...do as u wish!

Study Tour
It is usually arranged after the end of the first term.....we had it in december...and our second term started in January. It is of 10-11 days...at most!

Last edited by Aarwaa; Sunday, March 08, 2009 at 11:37 AM.
The Following 57 Users Say Thank You to Last Island For This Useful Post:
A.J. (Wednesday, August 01, 2007), Abbasi786 (Monday, September 21, 2015), abid.mehmood786 (Wednesday, February 10, 2010), aj khan (Sunday, August 02, 2009), Amjad Aman (Sunday, June 14, 2009), amy (Friday, August 03, 2007), aneeqawaheed (Tuesday, March 25, 2014), Aqsa Batool (Saturday, June 07, 2014), athena (Tuesday, July 31, 2007), baqirgillani (Monday, July 30, 2007), Cosmic_libertine (Monday, August 03, 2009), DAISY|ROSE (Tuesday, June 30, 2015), Dr.Ehsan ilahi (Tuesday, May 11, 2010), Eager (Saturday, May 26, 2012), Emoemar (Wednesday, March 25, 2009), Fadee (Monday, October 12, 2009), fahad269 (Monday, July 30, 2007), Farah Rasheed (Sunday, March 18, 2012), geefarid (Tuesday, January 25, 2011), Geminie (Saturday, July 11, 2015), ghulam rasool shah (Sunday, April 19, 2015), hamid farooq (Tuesday, July 21, 2009), Hassan Hote (Tuesday, July 31, 2007), Hira Butt (Tuesday, July 31, 2007), iamAliButt (Friday, January 08, 2016), ineXorable (Thursday, September 10, 2009), irum (Monday, July 30, 2007), Izaz4u (Saturday, August 13, 2011), j87ibz (Friday, October 15, 2010), javairia (Monday, January 26, 2009), mobi786 (Thursday, May 02, 2013), Mohsin Mirza (Monday, September 24, 2012), mohsinali303 (Tuesday, June 30, 2015), mtgondal (Monday, July 30, 2007), mubasharhailian (Tuesday, June 30, 2015), Muhammad T S Awan (Monday, July 30, 2007), muhammadsaadvirk (Wednesday, February 22, 2023), MuhNaeem (Tuesday, October 20, 2020), NASR KHAN (Thursday, February 24, 2011), obaid_gondal (Friday, April 03, 2009), Raheel Mughal (Wednesday, January 02, 2019), Rana Arsalan (Monday, November 20, 2017), Rida Malik (Wednesday, February 06, 2013), RMKamran (Monday, September 21, 2015), Sajal Tariq (Sunday, May 15, 2016), Saleha Jamil (Saturday, August 30, 2014), Saqib Ghouri (Wednesday, October 21, 2009), sathiorajab (Saturday, April 18, 2015), Sc0rPi0 (Friday, September 25, 2009), Tariq Mastoi (Monday, August 17, 2009), Usman Allauddin Qureshi (Sunday, January 08, 2012), wahabfahad (Monday, November 11, 2013), wajid582@yahoo.com (Monday, February 16, 2009), Waseim (Wednesday, November 04, 2015), wasfagillani (Sunday, May 23, 2010), zamzam (Friday, February 06, 2009)
Old Monday, January 26, 2009
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2008 - Merit 103rd

javairia is on a distinguished road

aoa,
i was reading these mails abt being a day scholar or hostalite.do u have any idea about the present year's rules for csa,if they are allowed to be day scholars?
Old Wednesday, February 04, 2009
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CSS 2007Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

S.H.Virk is just really niceS.H.Virk is just really niceS.H.Virk is just really niceS.H.Virk is just really nice
Lightbulb Life at CSA

Salam.
Csa schdule for 36th Common is this:
6:30 a.m to 7: 00 am PT ( Compulsory) Explanation letter is given for not attending.

7:15 to 8 a.m Mess time for Brekfast.

8:30 to 2 pm Classes with half an hour Tea break at 11 a.m

2 to 3 pm is mess time for Lunch

3 to 4 pm rest

4 to 5 pm Games ( compulsory)

7:30 to 8:30 pm is mess time for Dinner

everyone is free afterwards.

There is not much restriction for day scholars to go to their homes and stay for night but the routine is so tough that people prefer to stay at CSA. especially because of Morning PT, besides group presentation have to be prepared which again hinders the probationers to go to their homes.

Food quality is good. Management is superb. It is a place where discipline is strictl observed.
Life at CSA is hectic though but one never gets bored. It's fun with so much to learn.

Course has ben divided in four terms along with first month foundation Course that consists of IT skills, Statistics, Research Methodology and Communication Skills. Every term spreads over 2 months with one weak off after every term.

Last edited by Last Island; Wednesday, February 04, 2009 at 10:46 PM.
The Following 17 Users Say Thank You to S.H.Virk For This Useful Post:
abid.mehmood786 (Wednesday, February 10, 2010), aj khan (Sunday, August 02, 2009), alifuturcsp (Wednesday, November 25, 2009), Amjad Aman (Sunday, June 14, 2009), Cosmic_libertine (Monday, August 03, 2009), DAISY|ROSE (Tuesday, June 30, 2015), Eager (Saturday, May 26, 2012), Emoemar (Wednesday, February 04, 2009), hamid farooq (Tuesday, July 21, 2009), Sunshine84 (Thursday, February 05, 2009), humaira Younis Bhatti (Tuesday, February 08, 2011), Mohsin Mirza (Monday, September 24, 2012), muhammadsaadvirk (Wednesday, February 22, 2023), RMKamran (Monday, September 21, 2015), Seemab (Wednesday, October 10, 2012), Tariq Mastoi (Monday, August 17, 2009), Usman Allauddin Qureshi (Sunday, January 08, 2012)
Old Wednesday, February 04, 2009
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2008 - 7th in Sindh Urban

Emoemar will become famous soon enough

@ S. H. Virk

Thanks for taking time to let others know about Life at the CSA. It really is good hearing stuff like this from someone who is experiencing it first hand! Do keep updating this if you can manage, would be a good source of information on the subject!

Good luck with your time at the academy, hope you have a blast!

Last edited by Last Island; Wednesday, February 04, 2009 at 10:45 PM.
Old Thursday, February 05, 2009

ayeshatahir is on a distinguished road

@ S. H. Virk
please tell me is it compulsory for girls also to attend PT and games ?
Old Thursday, February 05, 2009
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2008 - Merit 153 (4th in Balochistan)

Iceman is on a distinguished road

@ Virk
Thanks for sharing the info. Looking forward to be there next year.

Can you please tell what emoluments or should i say take home salary probationers get?

Last edited by Princess Royal; Thursday, February 05, 2009 at 08:08 PM.
Old Friday, February 06, 2009
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CSS 2007Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

S.H.Virk is just really niceS.H.Virk is just really niceS.H.Virk is just really niceS.H.Virk is just really nice
Lightbulb

@ayeshatahir
PT is COmpulsory for Female probationers.

@ Iceman
Total is Rs. 9400, out of which take home is about Rs. 8500
Emoemar (Wednesday, March 25, 2009), obaid_gondal (Saturday, September 12, 2009), Saleha Jamil (Saturday, August 30, 2014)
Old Saturday, April 18, 2015
43rd CTP (IRS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 274

amnasharif is on a distinguished road
Default sounds fun!

still waiting for result, but cant wait to begin CTP.. all details written by seniors here practically make me drool

sigh....
revival (Sunday, April 26, 2015), sathiorajab (Saturday, April 18, 2015)
Old Tuesday, June 30, 2015

lisa is on a distinguished road

what about married candidates? if they are able to live nearby, is it compulsory for them to stay in the academy?