07:09 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Cadres and Training Programmes > Common Training Programme (CTP)

Old Sunday, May 25, 2014

husseych is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by aminshah101 View Post
CTP is informally into its last week now, as the final exams will take place from 28-30 May, followed by Military Attachment for 2 weeks and one week for clearance, passing out rehearsal, Passing Out Ceremony etc.

So formally, it may end in June but informally, it will end this Friday. Looking forward to another lifetime experience of Military Attachment.
Originally Posted by aniya warraich View Post
Well, the CTP is going on. And that's what matters most. Final exams will be held in the next week. After which military attachment will commence. June 20th is the passing out day. On Monday we have Bolan night. All the officers are looking forward to enjoying this last cultural event. Other club activities will most prob end in the coming week.

Respected members please share any specific experience of academy/training. In the past there have been many posts telling details of CTP but I guess those are old now. Many new things might have been introduced so If you can find time , kindly share detailed experience . Thanks
Old Thursday, May 29, 2014
41st CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2012 Merit 131

aminshah101 has a spectacular aura aboutaminshah101 has a spectacular aura aboutaminshah101 has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by husseych View Post
Respected members please share any specific experience of academy/training. In the past there have been many posts telling details of CTP but I guess those are old now. Many new things might have been introduced so If you can find time , kindly share detailed experience . Thanks
Dont worry. Tomorrow is the end of our Final Exams. Will update briefly about the activities and my personal experience of CTP by tomorrow night.

Sent from my QMobile i9 using Tapatalk
amnakhan (Thursday, May 29, 2014), husseych (Thursday, May 29, 2014), mhz99 (Thursday, May 29, 2014), Seemab (Thursday, May 29, 2014)
Old Saturday, May 31, 2014
41st CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2012 Merit 131

aminshah101 has a spectacular aura aboutaminshah101 has a spectacular aura aboutaminshah101 has a spectacular aura about
Default My experience of 41st CTP (1 of 3): Human Factor

So. Here I am. Well, whatever I am going to share is totally my personal opinion about CTP in general and my experience of 41st CTP in particular. People may have their own experiences so I am not claiming it as final authority.

To begin with, I do not agree with claim that you are born once and you go through CTP once. CTP is a small part of your professional life which in turn is a small part of your life. But yes, I must admit that once you enter CSA, for a while, you tend to forget the life outside those walls.

The best of CTP is diversity of diversities; an experience you might never come across elsewhere. People from diverse geographical areas, diverse educational background, different 12 cadres, different family backgrounds, diverse income groups and above all, diverse attitudes.

The moment I enter CSA, thought that I would be making at least 20-25 good friends . However, if the true definition of friends is analyzed, I believe the max I managed to make would be 6. Out of those, the everlasting seem to be mere 4.

Rest may be classified as "good colleagues" but not at friends. Hope we all understand the difference between the two. The population of batch was 219, out of which 2 people resigned, hence curtailing the strength to 217. Specially for those joining 42nd CTP, I would advise the following as the breakdown of population. If you get this, it would be an achievement on your part:

• Sincere friends (1-2%)
  • Friends, including sincere friends (4-5%)
  • Anti-lobbies (of course minimum but less than 3%)
  • Neutral group (70%)
  • Good colleagues (22-25%)

Remember: People make CTP a living heaven or hell. If you have got even one sincere person, your life is heaven otherwise the worst of times is CTP. I am blessed to have a few with me. Who stood by me in all bad days

From what I inferred in 41st CTP, a crime in CTP is to be an initiator, talented and expressive. Because those who are not would definitely be jealous of yours.

Lobbies and anti-lobbies do operate amongst probationers and they matter. Very few people have superiority complex as they think they are second to God, but I repeat, very few people have and if you cadre is not perceived as prestigious, they will try to let you down on this basis. So the moral of story is: Never ever perceive that your cadre is bad just on the basis that it does not offers facilities, nuisance or promotion.

The concept of "office bullies" does exist. There are people who would try to be "Chaudhry Sahib" and would get on your nerves. They would poke nose into your matters for no good reason and would not refrain from making comments on your personal life and personal traits in the biggest of public gatherings. They would try to let you down for whatever you do.

The best way is to ignore such people. However, they are some who still chase you despite the fact you ignore. Hence, the only option you are left with is to give a taste of their own medicine.

Nonetheless, I would say that most of the people, say around 90% are much better people and cooperative and friendly. People largely live on perceptions and if you are prominent, you would continue to be a celebrity and remember: Although a celebrity is remembered by many, it would also be scandalized .

I can say so coz I was one such celebrity. Perceptions are built very quickly but it takes a considerable time to remove the false ones .

So the human factor, in my opinion says that University and College life is much better than CTP coz friendships formulated in Academic life are based on your behavior while in CTP, friendships are formed on the basis of professionalism. Hence, finding sincere friends in CTP is an uphill task but nonetheless, you find a set of good colleagues and a good collection of batch fellows that might be of help in your professional life, minus the anti-lobbies that operate against you and they will always exist.

So the human factor is most dominant in CTP. And tip of the day states: If you want to make more friends and less enemies, then unlike me, be low profile, never initiate, be a follower in most of the cases, and pretend to be ignorant on the matters that you know.

However, if you want to earn a good repute professionally, then it is a different story. I leave the choice up to you.
amnakhan (Thursday, June 05, 2014), Faisal86 (Friday, June 13, 2014), husseych (Saturday, May 31, 2014), Irum Siddiqui (Saturday, June 14, 2014), rayma qaiser (Sunday, June 01, 2014), Seemab (Saturday, May 31, 2014), Shehryar Aziz (Saturday, May 31, 2014), Zoha (Sunday, June 01, 2014)
41st CTP (OMG)

Default My Experience of 41st CTP (2 of 3): Activities

Now, lets discuss activities. One thing is for sure: They know how to keep people busy. Irrespective whether the tasks are productive or not, they know the art of keeping people busy.

Cell phones are not allowed to be carried during training hours. If your bosses are strict, they would confiscate it there and then. Agar boss lenient hai to Minnat Tarla kar ke maafi ho jaati hai.

The new DG is capable, competent and strict about rules, so 42nd Common, be ready for it. Don't try to be an ally of faculty by complaining about your colleagues coz Darbari Gawah has no worth in the end and it is against the spirit of Common. However, if you are getting into a mess with your colleague, do take on board your Academic Group Incharge as he might be in a position to pacify the situation.

Mess: The dining mess is in fact, a mess . If you can read between the lines and know what I mean . But as the messing is free, so I ahere to this phrase: "Bhikaari ko bheek, jitni millay theek "

Cultural Nights: It is a nice place to gather and analyze the culture of other provinces. Although your anti-lobbies at times go below the belt to ridicule you these forums, yet I place them as an excellent platform to socialize, enjoy and have good memories.

In our case, we started with Punjab Night, followed by Mehran Night, succeeded by Khyber Night, and concluding with Bolan Night.

P.S.: My quite active participation in Punjab Night was one of the reasons in various roles that earned me a significant anti-lobby .

Academic Life: The Academic Life in CTP is quite relaxed as per my experience. If you are attentive in classes, it wont be much of a problem for you in exams. If you are not, it really does'nt matters coz no matter how hard you try, the result in terms of marks would more or less be the same. . It can be judged from the fact that the Topper and last position in CTP has a max difference of 50 marks. So 4 positions per mark as an average.

I was lucky enough to secure 2nd position in Mid Term in the entire batch and become the Secretary of Mess Management Committee (commonly said as Mis Management Committee by the probationers) in the second term; hence, earning more professional jealousy

Field Assignments: We went on to a:
  • 2 days field work
  • 2 days Community Work
  • 2 Weeks Country Study Tour
  • 2 Weeks Military Attachment (starting 2nd June)

Country Study Tour is one of my best experiences in CTP and I believe it would be everyone's best experience. You enjoy protocol as you are a Chief Secretary of a province. You get TA/DA of your travelling in CST and well as Military Attachment. So it is a real fun time and memorable too. The friendships formed in CST tend to be everlasting but unfortunately, so are the rivalries. In my case, I earned both.

If you want to be with your desired friends at CST, try your best not to be seen with them in bounds of CSA. . Believe me, this happened to all of us. 66 CCTVs installed in CSA closely monitored our movements and all of my friends, including me, were sent to different locations, just because we stayed together at CSA almost all the time. Those who were never seen together were grouped in one CST and they enjoyed to the full.

Probationers going to big cities get almost 70k of TA/DA while those going to small ones get as less as 32k. But it is the experience and not money that matters. I was one of those fortunate ones, who in the end, managed to get permission to change the group of CST (which included my friends) on the final night (when we were done with the all official work). But for that, I had to prepare report and presentation of entire group (a work supposedly to be done by 18 people).

Military Attachment takes place after final exams so it is a non-graded activity. How it goes, I can only tell when I come back on 14th June.

In group activities, there are people who are hardworking and there are people who are free-riders. So no need to lose your temper about it. They are not bad people but when they find others working, they just tend to take a back seat. So don't mind if they get almost equal marks in graded group activities as you do. The solution is. Do your part and don't try to take others' responsibilities. But if you are in a leader role, then you have to take an extra burden.

And almost everyone gets a leader role. Only few fortunate ones dont.

Sports are mandatory 3 days a week. Attendance and physical presence is important, participation is not. Many people, who were enthusiastic about playing in initial days, soon lost the charm when they saw others.

Club Activities are another platform to bring people closer and they frequently take some amount of your pay for organizing their various functions.

But on the whole, these activities do bring probationers closer and keep you busy most of the time. Quality does not matters much, but effort, compliance to instructions and timelines do.

Hence, barring a few, I enjoyed these activities a lot, except the classroom lectures which do not appeal to most of us
Faisal86 (Friday, June 13, 2014), husseych (Saturday, May 31, 2014), Irum Siddiqui (Saturday, June 14, 2014), rayma qaiser (Sunday, June 01, 2014), Seemab (Saturday, May 31, 2014), Shehryar Aziz (Saturday, May 31, 2014)
41st CTP (OMG)

Default My Experience of 41st CTP (3 of 3): Conclusion

I would conclude on the following notes.

CTP is a good experience to learn about the diversity of people. The activities, when spread over 6 months, tend to get boring. If this CTP had been of 4 months, it would have been truly enriching and enjoyable and a roller coaster ride. That too if Academic term would have been grouped in 2 months and CST, Military Attachment and other field visits, as second term spread over remaining 2 months.

Nonetheless, the experience of CTP was unique in itself and I am thankful to Civil Services Academy to bless me with a few sincere friends, some good colleagues and a predominantly cooperative batch of Civil Servant to give me an idea of the culture and norms of the Civil Service.

I was a boarder in hostel so my room mate, was a treat to be with and one of those whom I classify as my friends. But at the same time, I did miss my daughter and my wife a lot. So went on to meet them every weekend. And for this reason, I have yet to decide whether to be a day scholar or a boarder at STP of OMG in Islamabad.

I am sure people, like me, would cherish this time. But I still value the Academic life more than CTP and find it only as a phase in my professional life. Nothing more, nothing less.
amnakhan (Thursday, June 05, 2014), Faisal86 (Friday, June 13, 2014), husseych (Saturday, May 31, 2014), Irum Siddiqui (Saturday, June 14, 2014), Seemab (Saturday, May 31, 2014), Zoha (Sunday, June 01, 2014)
40th CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 178

suzain is on a distinguished road

hi kindly tell me about the timings of ctp and when 42 ctp is going to commence
41st CTP (OMG)

CTP 42nd ka no idea.

Timings 080 to 18:30 when Sports are on. Else 080 to 160
Beech main break hoti hai from 13:30 to 17:30 during Sports Days and 13:30 to 150 otherwise

Old Sunday, June 01, 2014
42nd CTP (IRS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2013 - Merit 73

Seemab will become famous soon enoughSeemab will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by aminshah101 View Post
CTP 42nd ka no idea.

Timings 080 to 18:30 when Sports are on. Else 080 to 160
Beech main break hoti hai from 13:30 to 17:30 during Sports Days and 13:30 to 150 otherwise

On days other than sports days, is everyone free after 13:30?
40th CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 178

PT hoti ha ??? kya timings han us ka
40th CTP (OMG)

and how many sport days