-   Specialized Training Program (STP) (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-cadres-training-programmes/specialized-training-program-stp/)
-   -   Query about STP of Service Groups (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-cadres-training-programmes/specialized-training-program-stp/11249-query-about-stp-service-groups.html)

Hira Butt Saturday, July 21, 2007 01:34 AM

Query about STP of Service Groups

[CENTER][U][COLOR="RoyalBlue"]In the Name of Allah, The Most Beneficent, The Most Merciful[/COLOR][/U][U][/U][/CENTER]

Salamz, all dear members !
I need information regarding STP of all the 10 service groups, if any of the probationers currently in STP or other senior member may find time to post it for new commers.

Specially, Can a graduate in Computer & Telecom Engineering join "Audit and Accounts Group". And if so, what kind of STP exams that one have to pass who don't know much abouts audit n accounts except its spellings. And will an Engg graduate be able to pass such STP.

And what kind of training one has to go at Police Training Academy Sahala (i mean STP after CSA). I.e. what are there standard tests n training procedures. e.g. in PMA(Pakistan Military Academy) Kakul, for commission, the physicall fitness tests to passed includes Mile in 6 Min, 15 Miles in 100 Min coupled wd many other fitness tests and final exercised like Exercise Qiyadet before final passout. [Kindly, if sm1 may put light on it]. And if anyone from PMA alumni, he definately knows how tough is 1st TERM at PMA for GCs. So how's 1st term at Police Academy Sahala.... And does there also concept of sargent n staff etc. samelike of PMA during 1st term. If any1 here from Pak Army who have joined Police, may kindly provide info.
Also, does ex-Commissioned Officers/+Alumni PMA GCs also have to undergo STP at Police Academy if they join via appering in CSS rather than coming on Deputation on army quota? [Kindly, please provide full details about STP of Police Academy Sahala]

And, is it true that in Income tax group, one has to pass MBA from IBA Karachi during STP? +Is it also in Customs & Excise group,,, e.g. wht kind of STP one has to go under Customs & Excise Group.

+What are the 'Future Prospects' in "Information Group" and can a person passing STP may join Dept/Wing according to his willingness/wish in Information Group; samelikely GC's passingout from PMA may fill forms showing their willigness for preffered core to join.
e.g. In Information Group I or a Comptuer/Telecom Engg will prefer to go in Cyber Wing. Kindly highlight it.

+Railways is going to be privatised soon. So if one joins Railwasy via CSS what will be his/her future after privatization of Railways. Will he/she in future become a private employee of Railways or still it'll be regarded in Govt Service??????? +++ What kind of STP is in Railways group....... i.e. corse/training etc.

I've appeared in CSS 2007 exams and hv high hopes of success Insha-Allah.

Hoping for an early answer !
[RIGHT]yours respectfully & truly.[/RIGHT]

Muhammad T S Awan Saturday, July 21, 2007 08:59 AM

[QUOTE=Hira Butt]
I need information regarding STP of all the 10 service groups, if any of the probationers currently in STP or other senior member may find time to post it for new commers.[/QUOTE]

inshALLAH some august member would reply you in detail.

so far as i m aware, CTP at Civil Service Academy, Walton Lahore is followed by STP of various durations to be completed at various academies/institutions e.g. DMG Academy at Mall Road, Lahore, Railway Academy, Lahore; Postal Staff College; National Police Academy etc.

MBA programmes for C&E & ITG is arranged at IBA, Karachi; at LUMS for DMG and at IBA, University of PUnjab for PAAS

[QUOTE=Hira Butt]
Specially, Can a graduate in Computer & Telecom Engineering join "Audit and Accounts Group". And if so, what kind of STP exams that one have to pass who don't know much abouts audit n accounts except its spellings. And will an Engg graduate be able to pass such STP.[/QUOTE]

certainly a computer & telecom engg grduate can join audit and accouts group. actually the training (both CTP and STP) and syllabi of courses to be studied at academies/institutions is made in a way to provide proper knowledge to the probationers so that they could work efficiently in their capacities as members of that specific occupational group.

[QUOTE=Hira Butt] And what kind of training one has to go at Police Training Academy Sahala (i mean STP after CSA). I.e. what are there standard tests n training procedures. e.g. in PMA(Pakistan Military Academy) Kakul, for commission, the physicall fitness tests to passed includes Mile in 6 Min, 15 Miles in 100 Min coupled wd many other fitness tests and final exercised like Exercise Qiyadet before final passout. [Kindly, if sm1 may put light on it]. And if anyone from PMA alumni, he definately knows how tough is 1st TERM at PMA for GCs. So how's 1st term at Police Academy Sahala.... And does there also concept of sargent n staff etc. samelike of PMA during 1st term. If any1 here from Pak Army who have joined Police, may kindly provide info.
Also, does ex-Commissioned Officers/+Alumni PMA GCs also have to undergo STP at Police Academy if they join via appering in CSS rather than coming on Deputation on army quota? [Kindly, please provide full details about STP of Police Academy Sahala][/QUOTE]

The STP of PSP is completed at National Police Academy, H-11, Islamabad and not at Police Acadmy Sihala.

The training for ASP (U.Ts) is very different from training of PMA. There is no concept of sargent/staff, one mile/four mile and first term for GCs. usually only one batch of ASPs (UT) stays at Academy. it is after completion of necessary core courses at academy that ASPs are sent for attachment of six months and then next batch is called in the Acadmy.

Ex-commission Officers either come on armed forces quota or after passing css, undergo training at Policy Academy. The physical training is provided at early morning and on remaining day time they have to complete certain course works in class rooms.

after attachment of six months in provinces of their choice-other than province of their domicile- the batch of ASP (UT) has to complete Elite course at Lahore.

[QUOTE=Hira Butt]
And, is it true that in Income tax group, one has to pass MBA from IBA Karachi during STP? +Is it also in Customs & Excise group,,, e.g. wht kind of STP one has to go under Customs & Excise Group.
[/QUOTE]

Yes ITG and and C&E have to pass MBA from IBA, Karachi.

[QUOTE=Hira Butt]
+What are the 'Future Prospects' in "Information Group" and can a person passing STP may join Dept/Wing according to his willingness/wish in Information Group; samelikely GC's passingout from PMA may fill forms showing their willigness for preffered core to join.
e.g. In Information Group I or a Comptuer/Telecom Engg will prefer to go in Cyber Wing. Kindly highlight it.[/QUOTE]

Information Group is not a bad group either. However, promotions are low in this group. It would certainly depend on your knowledge and area of expertise that you can demand from high-ups for posting in specific area of group.

[QUOTE=Hira Butt]
+Railways is going to be privatised soon. So if one joins Railwasy via CSS what will be his/her future after privatization of Railways. Will he/she in future become a private employee of Railways or still it'll be regarded in Govt Service??????? +++ What kind of STP is in Railways group....... i.e. corse/training etc.
[/QUOTE]

who says that railway will be privitized soon.... even if it is privitized thn civil servants would be transfered to other like groups. as it did happen in case of Military Land & Cantonments Group, its civil servants were transfered to DMG.

[QUOTE=Hira Butt]
I've appeared in CSS 2007 exams and hv high hopes of success Insha-Allah.
[/QUOTE]

May ALLAH pak bless you out always.

Hira Butt Sunday, July 22, 2007 09:15 PM

Thnx but YET deatiled post about STP necessary

Thnx allot Mr Awan for quick reply.
Yet I'll request sm senior members to post a detailed e-mail about every group STP saparately. It'll help allot the new aspirants to decide the service group. And a clearer idea about civil service.
Like in past Sir Shahid Saher (of FSP) provided valuable notes on Foreign services STP and alike details. Also Mr Khattak (PSP-NWFP) and his mates too dicussed valueable info for new commers. But all of these now disappeared for quite a long time. So fresh input is requested.
I will request the Moderators to form new threads for Every service group sapartely so that queries can be re-directed to that thread or Sub-forum.

Hope that some senior member will spare some time from his/her hectic schedule and will post a detailed e-mail regarding STP of each service group.

Thanking you very much!
regards!
Hira

parhakubacha Monday, July 23, 2007 02:28 AM

Sorry to interrupt the main discusssion going on......but the question is if someone has already done Mba from IBA/LUMS...before going for CSS,,..and if he gets selected...wud he has to again do it during his STP???? (sorry for such a stupid question)....but i am already confused with this...:wacko:

shafaq tahir Tuesday, July 24, 2007 01:34 AM

hi waqas!
im also not 100% confirm but i think so a person who already have done MBA from LUMS & IBA, dont need to repeat it as i know some people who were iba graduate already and exemption from it........
however further clarification also required to me
so
plz any senior or related person can guide us..............

Muhammad T S Awan Tuesday, July 24, 2007 09:57 AM

MBA is not a composite degree like of MSc (Math) or MSc (Botany). There are a number of branches and fields in MBA like Taxation, Logistics, Finance, HRM, Marketing etc. and if a person is having MBA in Finance and they offer MBA in Taxation then one need to complete courses of studies specifc for that STP programme.

Babar Ali Tuesday, July 24, 2007 11:01 AM

hello Tabassum u are such a useful person in this forum always helping and always attending others. God bless u.

i shall be obliged if u kindly give a deatailed dilebration about Customs and Excise training program

A.J. Tuesday, July 24, 2007 11:24 AM

STP - Income Tax and Customs

Assalam-o-alaikum!

Mr. Awan is right in saying k MBA has various branches/specializations, so one has to go through the MBA programme as a part of the STP (for Income Tax and Customs only).

No matter how many MBA degrees one has, the rules and regulations require a probationer of the Income Tax Group and Customs group to complete the MBA (Tax Management) programme from the IBA, Karachi. It is mandatory for the completion of the STP.

@Ms. Butt

[B]STP of Income Tax[/B]

The Academy (DOT) is situated in Allama Iqbal Town, Lahore. The total duration of the STP varies every year. Last year it was a 8 months programme (7 months + 1 month of Final Exams).

During the STP, a probationer is taught the following courses:
1. Income Tax Law
2. Sales Tax Law
3. Federal Excise Act, 200X
4. Civil Service Laws and Other Laws of Pakistan
5. Financial Accounting
6. Information Technology

[B]Income Tax Law[/B] is further divided into 3-4 parts and each is taught separately by a subject specialist. For instance, IncomeTax Foundation Course, Income Tax Audit, Income Tax Enforcement etc.

[B]Civil Service Laws include:[/B]
a) Rules of Service (Appointment, Probation, Confirmation, Seniority Rules, Leave Rules, Transfer Rules and so on)
b) Some Artciles of the Constitution of Pakistan
c) Code of Civil Procedure, 1908 (Selected Sections/Clauses)
d) A couple of other Laws/Acts (Selected Sections/Clauses)

[B]Financial Accounting [/B]is covered exhaustively.

[B]IT[/B] mein one studies:
a) MS OFFICE
b) Tax Management System

During the STP, a probationer is evaluated through:
1. Monthly Exams.
2. Surprise Quizes/Tests (if instructor wants to give)
3. Assignments
4. Mid-Term Exams (for Subjects covered in the first term only)
5. Final Comprehensive Exam (For all the subjects covered in the STP)
6. DG's evaluation

After the STP, the FPSC conducts the Final Passing Out Exam (FPOE). All the subjects/courses undertaken during the STP are tested (by the FPSC this time). It is mandatory for a probationer to pass all the papers in FPOE for one's CONFIRMATION in the Service.

Similarly, [B]Customs [/B]people also undergo their STP in Karachi. The duration varies.....they study the following courses:
1. Sales Tax Act, 1990
2. Federal Excise Act
3. Customs Act
4. Civil Service Laws
5. Computers/IT
+ some other course(s), i am not sure abt.

Then they also go through the FPOE conducted by the FPSC

[B]After the FPOE[/B], Income Tax and Customs people join the IBA, Karachi for one year MBA (TM) programme. It is also mandatory to pass the MBA (TM) as per the rules of the IBA.

After qualifying the STP and MBA(TM), Income Tax and Customs Officers are posted in the field.....etc......so it takes at least one and a half year after the CTP!

ALLAH HAFIZ!
A.J.

Hira Butt Tuesday, July 24, 2007 05:20 PM

Thnx A.J. and Mr Awan for providing valueable information.
A.J., mr Awan or any other senior can u plz also highlight the STP of Audit n A/c group. Do they people also hv to pass MBA or C.A. foundation or ICMA etc. Kindly put sm light on it.

+ Kindly, can any1 may provide Written+ViVa marks of top 10 Position holders in CSS 2007 exams as well please.

Thnaking you very much !!!
regards,
Hira Butt.

A.J. Tuesday, July 24, 2007 05:40 PM

The duration of the STP of Audit and Acconts Group is 8-10 months. It takes place at the Accounts Academy (Near Liberty Market, Hussain Chowk,LHR).

Untill this year there was no such requirement of ACCA or MBA or any other degree etc. But heard that from the upcoming STP Accounts officers will have to complete an MBA from LUMS, Lahore. I am not sure as yet, but most probably they will have to go for that.

During STP, their major subjects are :
1. Accounting (Exhaustively covered)
2. Audit Techniques
3. IT
4. Others (i don't know)

ALLAH HAFIZ!
A.J.

02:06 PM (GMT +5)