01:30 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Cadres and Training Programmes > Specialized Training Program (STP) > Foreign Service of Pakistan

Old Wednesday, December 22, 2010

Albus Dumbledore is on a distinguished road
Default Are Engineers eligible to join the Foreign Service of Pakistan??

I am a student of FSc ( Pre Engineering) , and I wish to join an Engineering University... Insha ALLAH, I will get a BE degree.. Bt I wish to join the Foreign Service of Pakistan....

Can Engineers join the FSP, once they pass CSS??? If they can, is there some other procedure, etc.... And please explain....Please explain in detail.. Thank u so mucch,,
39th CTP (PSP)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2010 - Merit 175, CE 2013 - Merit 71

ASPZIA is on a distinguished road

bhai no procedure , if u clear css wd a BE degree, u r eligible to join any of the groups depending upon ur merit
The Following User Says Thank You to ASPZIA For This Useful Post:
Albus Dumbledore (Thursday, December 23, 2010)
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Roll no 5951

hassanshariq is on a distinguished road

Well anyone is eligible to join foreign service, as long as one clears the CSS and gets allocated to the foreign service group. The eligibility to sit in CSS exam is a bachelors degree, so anyone who has that level of education can join any occupational group in Civil services of Pakistan.

Now some detail. Inshallah once you complete your engineering, you can apply for CSS exam. In your application form you provide a list of prefereces of the groups that you wish to be allocated to. So in your case you will start with foreign service as your first preference and then lets suppose DMG, and police, and then so on.

Next you take the exams, if you pass the written exam inshallah, which comprises of 1200 marks, you will undergo an interview process that carrys 300 marks. After clearing the written part and then the interview a merit list will be made of all the successful applicants based on their marks out of a total 1500 marks.

Then the successful candidates will be allocated in different groups. So like some people will got to foreign service some to dmg, some to other groups. Now to be allocated to foreign service you need to perform pretty well. Foreign service is usually a top priority group, and to be allocated into it, especially if you are from punjab you need to be within the top 15% of the successful candidates.

Inshallah when u clear all this, then you will undergo a common training at lahore, a training program for all the successfull candidates, regardless of their occupational group. Then you will be sent to the foreign service academy in islamabad for specialized training, after completion of these trainings, you will be posted as a foreign service officer around the world and in foreign office islamabad on rotating basis.
Albus Dumbledore (Thursday, December 23, 2010)
Old Thursday, December 23, 2010

Thank u so mucch .... So will my BE degree will have any effect if I choose FSP?? I have heard that most diplomats are graduate or masters in International Relations or Political Science... Can Engineers become diplomats too???? ??
Old Sunday, December 26, 2010
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Roll no 5951

hassanshariq is on a distinguished road

No, FSP does not require any such degrees. Applicants with engineering degrees have equal chance of getting into FSP as anybody else. Many of the FSP officers go on to do such degrees, as u mentioned, later in their career. But no such specific education is required for joining FSP.
Albus Dumbledore (Sunday, December 26, 2010)
Old Sunday, January 16, 2011
39th CTP (PAAS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2010 - Merit 92

j87ibz is on a distinguished road

Albus Dumbledore

I personally think that Engineers ,due to their nature of Education, have been built to analyze and think deeply to find a solution...so I can assume that they are compatible in any occupation. FSP is more suitable to them....

PS : trying to be unbiased ...since I, myself, am an Engineer.
Albus Dumbledore (Wednesday, January 19, 2011)
Old Wednesday, January 19, 2011

Thank u, j871biz.... That mean Engineers can join Foreign Service....
Old Saturday, May 21, 2011

Nascent Soul is on a distinguished road

No. A degree in International Relations is not a pre-requisite. You can join FSP on the basis of any bachelors degree in any discipline.
Old Saturday, May 21, 2011
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2010

Saria Khan is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Albus Dumbledore View Post
Thank u so mucch .... So will my BE degree will have any effect if I choose FSP?? I have heard that most diplomats are graduate or masters in International Relations or Political Science... Can Engineers become diplomats too???? ??

A diploma in IR or some sort of degree has nothing to do with it

graduation level egucation

clear written part of css

interview

total marks: flying

rank in toppers

and here u r in foreign service
The Following User Says Thank You to Saria Khan For This Useful Post:
Natiq (Sunday, May 22, 2011)
Old Wednesday, July 20, 2011

abari is on a distinguished road
Default degree in IR..

I have recently done my masters in Diplomacy and Strategic Studies equal to IR...
I want to join Foriegn Office of Pakistan....
I have listened from somewhere that one can join this office for 3 months as an internee......
Can any one guide me regarding the internship of FOP or jobs for the master in IR????

css, fsp