-   Foreign Service of Pakistan (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-cadres-training-programmes/specialized-training-program-stp/foreign-service-pakistan/)
-   -   Foreign Postings (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-cadres-training-programmes/specialized-training-program-stp/foreign-service-pakistan/68187-foreign-postings.html)

basitfarooq Sunday, September 16, 2012 03:21 PM

Foreign Postings

Assalam o Alaikum !

I want to know that is it a favour type of thing or every FSP gets posted abroad after a spesific period of time ?
My second question is what is the actual salary of a Third Secretary ? I am asking because some are saying it is $1700 + $450 entertainment allowance and $2500 for apartment, but a PSP serving officer said that it is $3000.

hassanshariq Monday, September 17, 2012 02:27 PM

Dear Basit

Every FSP officer gets foreign postings. That is waht their services is about. After completion of STP at Foreign Office, every FSP officer servces in FO Isl for approximately a year, serving at a regional dest as an AD.

After that they get first expediton abroad in form of language courses. Each officer is allocated a certian language. For about a year the officer stays abroad for the language course. After the completion of langaue course the official appointments start. As a general practice, an officer get appointed for 3 yrs in a foreign steaination, 3 yrs in aother foreign destiantion and then back in FO Isl for about 1-2 yr. That is how it keeps happening till you retire.

The exact salaries vary, as every third secretary gets a basic salary, an amount for rent, plus entertainment allowance. So, the basic would be almost same whereas the other two would vary a little accoring to the station. A third secretary would have and average of about 3000 Dollars approximately all together.

MOEEN AKHTAR Sunday, October 21, 2012 10:44 PM

please tell me

what is salary of consul/ First Secretary and what,s BPS?

Emoemar Friday, November 02, 2012 10:32 AM

[QUOTE=hassanshariq;480478]Dear Basit

Every FSP officer gets foreign postings. That is waht their services is about. After completion of STP at Foreign Office, every FSP officer servces in FO Isl for approximately a year, serving at a regional dest as an AD.

After that they get first expediton abroad in form of language courses. Each officer is allocated a certian language. For about a year the officer stays abroad for the language course. After the completion of langaue course the official appointments start. As a general practice, an officer get appointed for 3 yrs in a foreign steaination, 3 yrs in aother foreign destiantion and then back in FO Isl for about 1-2 yr. That is how it keeps happening till you retire.

The exact salaries vary, as every third secretary gets a basic salary, an amount for rent, plus entertainment allowance. So, the basic would be almost same whereas the other two would vary a little accoring to the station. A third secretary would have and average of about 3000 Dollars approximately all together.[/QUOTE]

Yep while most of what you are saying is close to how it happens let me add in some bits.

This is how it goes, CTP, STP, AD at MoFA for approximately 1 year ( provided that you clear your FPOE in the first attempt), otherwise this could be extended by a few months. Most officers go for language training after that approximately 9-12 months depending on the language (except for Chinese which is 2 years roughly). You come back to HQ after that and stay put for anything between 4 months to a year and then get your first posting, which is for 3 years. You come back after that and serve for a year or two in HQ and then off you go for consecutive postings 3+3 years and then back again for 2-3 years and off again and so on and so forth.

The salary has various components, i.e the basic salary equivalent to your pay scale + foreign allowance (which forms the bulk of your salary abroad and this varies from Station to Station, depending on how expensive the place is) + entertainment + sumptuary allowance (in certain places) so a third secretary ends up getting anything from 2200 dollars to 3200 dollars a month, take home so to speak.

You do not get the money for rent in your account, rather the mission pays for the residence u rent for yourself directly and the rent has to be within the defined ceilings for your grade. (The ceilings are quite practical and you end up getting a very good place in it usually) But the officer will not get part of the rent even if u find a very cheap place, because rent works directly. So lets assume the rent ceiling of a thrid secretary is 1800 dollars in say Egypt and there are 2 third secretarys and one rents the place for 1750 dollars and the other finds a place for 1200 dollars, it would not have any effect on the amount of money they are getting and their salaries would be the same, the second guy would just end up living in a cheaper place and saving the government some money :) [allegedly may i add]. In addition to this your medical insurance/bill is completely covered and so is the case for your wife and kids when you are POSTED and not a trainee, as per the rules.

The type of extras you may get over and above this really varies from place to place and ambassador to ambassador, but the above are the fundamentals that every third secretary is entitled to under the rules. Hope this helps.

basitfarooq Friday, November 02, 2012 12:16 PM

Thanks a lot sir for sharing this useful information with us. I am really glad and coming to know that in this crucial era of dishonesty, misrepresentation and anarchy, there still exists a reasonable lot of helpful and kind people like you. Thanks a lot again !

Jetpack2 Friday, November 02, 2012 04:11 PM

Service bond in fsp.

Hi , I am a beginner , recent grad of BBA and appearing for CSS 2013.

Can someone please tell me what is the service bond in FSP cadre?

Thank you.

Emoemar Friday, November 02, 2012 11:59 PM

[QUOTE=basitfarooq;504329]Thanks a lot sir for sharing this useful information with us. I am really glad and coming to know that in this crucial era of dishonesty, misrepresentation and anarchy, there still exists a reasonable lot of helpful and kind people like you. Thanks a lot again !

Regards[/QUOTE]

Glad to be of help. I hope that things work out for you and everyone.

@ Jetpack2

From what i can recall the service bond is for 5 years including your CTP and STP duration, but applies only after you pass your FPOE.

Xing Lee Wednesday, November 28, 2012 05:23 AM

[QUOTE=Emoemar;504300]Yep while most of what you are saying is close to how it happens let me add in some bits.

This is how it goes, CTP, STP, AD at MoFA for approximately 1 year ( provided that you clear your FPOE in the first attempt), otherwise this could be extended by a few months. Most officers go for language training after that approximately 9-12 months depending on the language (except for Chinese which is 2 years roughly). You come back to HQ after that and stay put for anything between 4 months to a year and then get your first posting, which is for 3 years. You come back after that and serve for a year or two in HQ and then off you go for consecutive postings 3+3 years and then back again for 2-3 years and off again and so on and so forth.

The salary has various components, i.e the basic salary equivalent to your pay scale + foreign allowance (which forms the bulk of your salary abroad and this varies from Station to Station, depending on how expensive the place is) + entertainment + sumptuary allowance (in certain places) so a third secretary ends up getting anything from 2200 dollars to 3200 dollars a month, take home so to speak.

You do not get the money for rent in your account, rather the mission pays for the residence u rent for yourself directly and the rent has to be within the defined ceilings for your grade. (The ceilings are quite practical and you end up getting a very good place in it usually) But the officer will not get part of the rent even if u find a very cheap place, because rent works directly. So lets assume the rent ceiling of a thrid secretary is 1800 dollars in say Egypt and there are 2 third secretarys and one rents the place for 1750 dollars and the other finds a place for 1200 dollars, it would not have any effect on the amount of money they are getting and their salaries would be the same, the second guy would just end up living in a cheaper place and saving the government some money :) [allegedly may i add]. In addition to this your medical insurance/bill is completely covered and so is the case for your wife and kids when you are POSTED and not a trainee, as per the rules.

The type of extras you may get over and above this really varies from place to place and ambassador to ambassador, but the above are the fundamentals that every third secretary is entitled to under the rules. Hope this helps.[/QUOTE]

Emoemar bhai, Do you have any idea about how much salary an ambassador or UN rep gets while posted abroad? I am trying to figure out the maximum salary one can get in Foreign Service. Reason being that I'm comparing UN's salary structure with our FSP's salary structure. Please if you or anyone have any info regarding this, help me out. Thank you.

talalz3 Wednesday, November 28, 2012 04:05 PM

Does anyone know if the salaries given to people in the Foreign Service are tax free? I believe they have to pay taxes to the country they are assigned to or am I wrong? I am asking because if tax has to be paid then it is difficult to survive on $2000 a month in big cities like London and Tokyo.

Intifada Wednesday, November 28, 2012 07:23 PM

[QUOTE=talalz3;518771]Does anyone know if the salaries given to people in the Foreign Service are tax free? I believe they have to pay taxes to the country they are assigned to or am I wrong? I am asking because if tax has to be paid then it is difficult to survive on $2000 a month in big cities like London and Tokyo.[/QUOTE]

as far as i have studied a bit about the privileges of ambassadors and members so they are exempted from taxes so brother dont be afraid . :) hope im right kindly senior rectify me if i m wrong.

12:34 AM (GMT +5)