-   Foreign Service of Pakistan (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-cadres-training-programmes/specialized-training-program-stp/foreign-service-pakistan/)
-   -   FSP and Secretariat Group (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-cadres-training-programmes/specialized-training-program-stp/foreign-service-pakistan/82902-fsp-secretariat-group.html)

sarfaraz shami Wednesday, August 07, 2013 04:31 AM

FSP and Secretariat Group

Senior FSP officers,

every group has share in secretariat group, what are the chances of a FSP officer to join secretariat group in BS-20/21/19. Can FSP officers be posted as joint secretary/additional secretary/secretary of other ministries like Estab, finance, energy etc ?

bilal tariq nustian Thursday, August 08, 2013 02:01 PM

get scholarship in Economic diplomacy program or the one related to Energy security, food security/ or develop expertise in the field of commodity diplomacy then you'll be more productive domestically, hone the acquired skills then i guess the chances are;

waisay shami bhai FSP bhe kafi acha hai
French seekhain and have your eyes at UN mission as French is the language of diplomacy and second working language at UN (first being English of course).

sarfaraz shami Thursday, August 08, 2013 04:56 PM

[QUOTE=bilal tariq nustian;635596]get scholarship in Economic diplomacy program or the one related to Energy security, food security/ or develop expertise in the field of commodity diplomacy then you'll be more productive domestically, hone the acquired skills then i guess the chances are;

waisay shami bhai FSP bhe kafi acha hai
French seekhain and have your eyes at UN mission as French is the language of diplomacy and second working language at UN (first being English of course).[/QUOTE]

that is good but i want to do something internally. I think economics and finance line will be better for that.

Skylimit Thursday, August 08, 2013 05:53 PM

[QUOTE=sarfaraz shami;635629]that is good but i want to do something internally. I think economics and finance line will be better for that.[/QUOTE]

AOA Sarfraz,

Happy to learn that you landed in FSP. Since you yourself have been part of STP, I just want to have an information that while STP of FSP, do officers get a accommodation(single room) or they have to arrange by themselves? I have heard very contradicting news regarding this. Could you please clarify?

Best regards!

bilal tariq nustian Thursday, August 08, 2013 05:54 PM

was it your last attempt?

P.S : give preference to economics over finance, its math intensive and more quantitative oriented
of all the aspects of policy making [B]economic policy [/B]is much difficult and most rewarded
but if you want to plan career in foreign services then revisit the options i must say (still economics is relevant but other options must also be kept in mind)

sarfaraz shami Thursday, August 08, 2013 06:30 PM

[QUOTE=Skylimit;635636]AOA Sarfraz,

Happy to learn that you landed in FSP. Since you yourself have been part of STP, I just want to have an information that while STP of FSP, do officers get a accommodation(single room) or they have to arrange by themselves? I have heard very contradicting news regarding this. Could you please clarify?

Best regards![/QUOTE]

you get a good respectable single room during STP. In STP of each group accomodation is provided by respective academy.

[QUOTE=bilal tariq nustian;635637]was it your last attempt?

P.S : give preference to economics over finance, its math intensive and more quantitative oriented
of all the aspects of policy making [B]economic policy [/B]is much difficult and most rewarded
but if you want to plan career in foreign services then revisit the options i must say (still economics is relevant but other options must also be kept in mind)[/QUOTE]

it was my last attempt. I also think economis is better,

Skylimit Thursday, August 08, 2013 08:03 PM

[QUOTE=sarfaraz shami;635629]that is good but i want to do something internally. I think economics and finance line will be better for that.[/QUOTE]

[QUOTE=sarfaraz shami;635653]you get a good respectable single room during STP. In STP of each group accomodation is provided by respective academy.[/QUOTE]

And what about after STP..? I have heard there is going to be a great ordeal for FSP officers in finding accommodation once they finish their STP. Is it so?

I know that you don't get any accommodation in OMG after STP, so is it the same case for FSP also...?

sarfaraz shami Friday, August 09, 2013 12:06 AM

[QUOTE=Skylimit;635688]And what about after STP..? I have heard there is going to be a great ordeal for FSP officers in finding accommodation once they finish their STP. Is it so?

I know that you don't get any accommodation in OMG after STP, so is it the same case for FSP also...?[/QUOTE]

there is no difference between fsp and omg when fsp officer is posted in islamabad apart from designation and a hostel room. Conditions are very tough.

Skylimit Friday, August 09, 2013 11:50 AM

[QUOTE=sarfaraz shami;635731]there is no difference between fsp and omg when fsp officer is posted in islamabad apart from designation and a hostel room. Conditions are very tough.[/QUOTE]

Oops. Tough in a sense? I have also been allocated in FSP this year. Just hearing very contradictory news regarding this group. How about postings? Are they on merit based? And how countries allocation work in FSP? So married people might have to face huge problems while being posted in FSP in Islamabad?

Your guidance is really appreciated.

versatile_bhutto Sunday, August 11, 2013 12:48 AM

[QUOTE=sarfaraz shami;635192]Senior FSP officers,

every group has share in secretariat group, what are the chances of a FSP officer to join secretariat group in BS-20/21/19. Can FSP officers be posted as joint secretary/additional secretary/secretary of other ministries like Estab, finance, energy etc ?[/QUOTE]

Once former American president Nixon went on his holidays to Africa , where he found a very active boy.... soon Nixon became friendly with him, and offered the boy to come with him to America !

The African boy asked the Nixon for what?

The President Nixon told him.... you get education! , then what replied the , child? " u may be one day president of America! , then what, asked the Child?
lastly, confused president said, " u will come on holidays and fish here!' , I already enjoy fishing here, smirked the Child!

moral: agar secretary hi banana he tou, via bathanga jane ki kia zarorat he, secretariat group main tou already ho na!

07:48 PM (GMT +5)