10:13 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Cadres and Training Programmes > Specialized Training Program (STP) > Inland Revenue Service

Old Saturday, May 09, 2015
43rd CTP (IRS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 274

amnasharif is on a distinguished road
Default Inland Revenue Service - Comprehensive detail

INLAND REVENUE SERVICE, PAKISTAN.

The Federal Board of Revenue

FBR has two major wings: the Inland Revenue Wing (Income Tax Department) which brings in about 54% of FBR's total collection and Customs Wing now called as Pakistan Customs Service. Mostly in the media, the acronym 'FBR' is also often mentioned when speaking in relation to Inland Revenue Officers (previously Income Tax Department officials) in Pakistan.

The Federal Board of Revenue (more commonly known by its initials as FBR) is the semi-autonomous, supreme federal agency of Pakistan that is responsible for auditing, enforcing and collecting revenue for the government of Pakistan. FBR has the responsibility for:
1. formulation and administration of fiscal policies,
2. levy and collection of federal taxes and
3. quasi-judicial function of hearing of appeals.

FBR is estimated to be the largest federal bureaucracy in Pakistan. As the agency conducts audit of taxpayers regularly, it's regarded as the guardian of national treasury in Pakistan.

FBR primarily operates through its main collection arms, its field formations, the Regional Tax Offices (RTOs) and Large Taxpayer Units (LTUs) across the country.
Income Tax Officers (now Inland Revenue Officers) are considered some of the very powerful officers in the country. For the purpose of collection of revenue and pursuing tax evaders, FBR's powers & functions also include but are not limited to: carrying out inquiries and audits/investigations into the tax affairs, commanding arrests, attachment as well as public auction of movable and immovable assets of a non-compliant. The current Chairman of FBR was appointed by the Prime Minister.

SPECIAL TRAINING PROGRAMME OF IRS:

Directorate General of Training & Research (Inland Revenue), Lahore.
A well trained workforce is a prerequisite for the success of any organization. Federal Board of Revenue (FBR), the federal tax collecting agency of Pakistan, has entrusted this important task of training to Directorate General of Training & Research (Inland Revenue), Lahore – also known as DOT. DOT is realizing this objective through:

• Specialized Training Programme (STP) for the newly recruited officers of Inland Revenue Service (IRS) inducted through competitive examination conducted by Federal Public Service Commission (FPSC);

• In-service Capacity Building Programme(s) and Refresher Course(s) for Inland Revenue Service (IRS) officers and officials;

• Tax related Research;

• Local and International Tax Seminars and Conferences.

Main campus of DOT is located at Sutlej Block, Allama Iqbal Town, Lahore. Besides the main campus at Lahore, the Directorate General has two regional offices: one in Islamabad and the other in Karachi.

DOT has evolved as the premier tax training institute over the years. In 1954, a separate training institute known as ‘Directorate of Training’ was established in Karachi. The objective of this training institute was to train the probationary officers of the Department of Income Tax, Federal Board of Revenue (previously Central Board of Revenue (CBR)

With the formation of Inland Revenue Service in 2010, DOT was renamed as ‘Directorate General of Training and Research (Inland Revenue). It is now imparting training to the workforce of FBR in Income Tax Law, Sales Tax Act, Federal Excise Act, Accountancy, Information Technology etc.

CAMPUS LIFE at DOT:

DOT campus at Lahore is spreading over a large area and is known for its scenic beauty due to its lush green and well-maintained lawns. This aesthetic beauty has made DOT a preferable venue for many official functions and gatherings. The purpose built training campus of DOT comprises of Lecture Theatres, Conference Room, Computer Labs, Library, Auditorium, Gymnasium, Indoor sports room and fully furnished hostels for the accommodation of probationary officers and other trainees/ delegates. The infrastructure of DOT is fully equipped with latest audio-visual aids and modern equipment. A state of the art sports complex is also under construction. DOT has always hired the services of best professionals from market and from the department to achieve the objective of providing a well trained work force to Federal Board of Revenue.

In addition to being a training institute, DOT is also responsible for conducting local and international tax conferences and tax workshops. In March 2007, a successful International conference of ‘Association of Tax Authorities of Islamic Countries (ATAIC)’ was held at DOT. In the said conference, heads of training institutes (Direct Taxes) of ATAIC seven member countries i.e. Kuwait, Malaysia, Morocco, Pakistan, Sudan, Yemen and Turkey shared and exchanged their experiences. Representatives from ‘International Bureau of Fiscal Documentation (IBFD) and USA (Department of Treasury) attended the conference as observers.

CAREER PATH OF INLAND REVENUE OFFICERS:

Posted as Assistant Commissioners in one of these offices i.e. for instance in RTU (Regional Tax Unit) or in LTU (Large Taxpayers unit) etc. As AC of either RTU or LTU

DESIGNATIONS OF IRS OFFICERS:

BS 17
Assistant Commissioner Inland Revenue / Assistant Director FBR

BS 18
Deputy Commissioner / Deputy Director

BS 19
Additional Commissioner / Additional Director

BS 20
Commissioner / Director

BS 21
Chief Commissioner / Member FBR / Director General

BS 22
Chairman FBR

Further detail on DOT can be obtained from:
http://dgtrdt.gov.pk/
ghulam rasool shah (Saturday, May 09, 2015), khanorak (Monday, May 11, 2015)
Old Sunday, May 10, 2015

husseych is on a distinguished road

Thank you for this information and best of luck for your future training and career. Kindly inform about training and educational opportunities abroad in IRS as well as the promotion system, i.e. are people easily promoted after due duration or one has to wait and only those with political backing are promoted.

Originally Posted by amnasharif View Post
INLAND REVENUE SERVICE, PAKISTAN.

The Federal Board of Revenue

FBR has two major wings: the Inland Revenue Wing (Income Tax Department) which brings in about 54% of FBR's total collection and Customs Wing now called as Pakistan Customs Service. Mostly in the media, the acronym 'FBR' is also often mentioned when speaking in relation to Inland Revenue Officers (previously Income Tax Department officials) in Pakistan.

The Federal Board of Revenue (more commonly known by its initials as FBR) is the semi-autonomous, supreme federal agency of Pakistan that is responsible for auditing, enforcing and collecting revenue for the government of Pakistan. FBR has the responsibility for:
1. formulation and administration of fiscal policies,
2. levy and collection of federal taxes and
3. quasi-judicial function of hearing of appeals.

FBR is estimated to be the largest federal bureaucracy in Pakistan. As the agency conducts audit of taxpayers regularly, it's regarded as the guardian of national treasury in Pakistan.

FBR primarily operates through its main collection arms, its field formations, the Regional Tax Offices (RTOs) and Large Taxpayer Units (LTUs) across the country.
Income Tax Officers (now Inland Revenue Officers) are considered some of the very powerful officers in the country. For the purpose of collection of revenue and pursuing tax evaders, FBR's powers & functions also include but are not limited to: carrying out inquiries and audits/investigations into the tax affairs, commanding arrests, attachment as well as public auction of movable and immovable assets of a non-compliant. The current Chairman of FBR was appointed by the Prime Minister.

SPECIAL TRAINING PROGRAMME OF IRS:

Directorate General of Training & Research (Inland Revenue), Lahore.
A well trained workforce is a prerequisite for the success of any organization. Federal Board of Revenue (FBR), the federal tax collecting agency of Pakistan, has entrusted this important task of training to Directorate General of Training & Research (Inland Revenue), Lahore – also known as DOT. DOT is realizing this objective through:

• Specialized Training Programme (STP) for the newly recruited officers of Inland Revenue Service (IRS) inducted through competitive examination conducted by Federal Public Service Commission (FPSC);

• In-service Capacity Building Programme(s) and Refresher Course(s) for Inland Revenue Service (IRS) officers and officials;

• Tax related Research;

• Local and International Tax Seminars and Conferences.

Main campus of DOT is located at Sutlej Block, Allama Iqbal Town, Lahore. Besides the main campus at Lahore, the Directorate General has two regional offices: one in Islamabad and the other in Karachi.

DOT has evolved as the premier tax training institute over the years. In 1954, a separate training institute known as ‘Directorate of Training’ was established in Karachi. The objective of this training institute was to train the probationary officers of the Department of Income Tax, Federal Board of Revenue (previously Central Board of Revenue (CBR)

With the formation of Inland Revenue Service in 2010, DOT was renamed as ‘Directorate General of Training and Research (Inland Revenue). It is now imparting training to the workforce of FBR in Income Tax Law, Sales Tax Act, Federal Excise Act, Accountancy, Information Technology etc.

CAMPUS LIFE at DOT:

DOT campus at Lahore is spreading over a large area and is known for its scenic beauty due to its lush green and well-maintained lawns. This aesthetic beauty has made DOT a preferable venue for many official functions and gatherings. The purpose built training campus of DOT comprises of Lecture Theatres, Conference Room, Computer Labs, Library, Auditorium, Gymnasium, Indoor sports room and fully furnished hostels for the accommodation of probationary officers and other trainees/ delegates. The infrastructure of DOT is fully equipped with latest audio-visual aids and modern equipment. A state of the art sports complex is also under construction. DOT has always hired the services of best professionals from market and from the department to achieve the objective of providing a well trained work force to Federal Board of Revenue.

In addition to being a training institute, DOT is also responsible for conducting local and international tax conferences and tax workshops. In March 2007, a successful International conference of ‘Association of Tax Authorities of Islamic Countries (ATAIC)’ was held at DOT. In the said conference, heads of training institutes (Direct Taxes) of ATAIC seven member countries i.e. Kuwait, Malaysia, Morocco, Pakistan, Sudan, Yemen and Turkey shared and exchanged their experiences. Representatives from ‘International Bureau of Fiscal Documentation (IBFD) and USA (Department of Treasury) attended the conference as observers.

CAREER PATH OF INLAND REVENUE OFFICERS:

Posted as Assistant Commissioners in one of these offices i.e. for instance in RTU (Regional Tax Unit) or in LTU (Large Taxpayers unit) etc. As AC of either RTU or LTU

DESIGNATIONS OF IRS OFFICERS:

BS 17
Assistant Commissioner Inland Revenue / Assistant Director FBR

BS 18
Deputy Commissioner / Deputy Director

BS 19
Additional Commissioner / Additional Director

BS 20
Commissioner / Director

BS 21
Chief Commissioner / Member FBR / Director General

BS 22
Chairman FBR

Further detail on DOT can be obtained from:
http://dgtrdt.gov.pk/
Old Sunday, May 10, 2015
43rd CTP (IRS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 274

amnasharif is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by husseych View Post
Thank you for this information and best of luck for your future training and career. Kindly inform about training and educational opportunities abroad in IRS as well as the promotion system, i.e. are people easily promoted after due duration or one has to wait and only those with political backing are promoted.
Thank you so much for your best wishes. God knows how they are needed!

Let me clarify that I have yet to begin my CTP this year Insha'Allah. As such your questions will be better answered by respected seniors of 42nd Commons and before, especially those who are currently serving in IRS.

I would also like to mention here that quite a few senior bureaucrats belonging to FSP, PAS, PCS, PAAS have all heartily congratulated me on my allocation to this group. I kept IRS as a 4th preference on the advice of a respected PAS Official as well.

Furthermore, I have been told that promotions are swift in this service and IRS officials get ample opportunities to go on foreign trainings as well.

Please check the following link (read it till the end) for further answer to your queries:

http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-cadre...w-bad-irs.html

All the best!
Old Sunday, May 10, 2015

husseych is on a distinguished road

You are welcome. Well, I'm aware that you have just got your final result, I was asking because I thought since you have got allocation you would have gathered this information.
Thanks for your response and looking forward to your's and other CSP's future posts regarding IRS and general things about CTP/STP and services as whole, since very few CSPs are active now on this forum.

Originally Posted by amnasharif View Post
Thank you so much for your best wishes. God knows how they are needed!

Let me clarify that I have yet to begin my CTP this year Insha'Allah. As such your questions will be better answered by respected seniors of 42nd Commons and before, especially those who are currently serving in IRS.

I would also like to mention here that quite a few senior bureaucrats belonging to FSP, PAS, PCS, PAAS have all heartily congratulated me on my allocation to this group. I kept IRS as a 4th preference on the advice of a respected PAS Official as well.

Furthermore, I have been told that promotions are swift in this service and IRS officials get ample opportunities to go on foreign trainings as well.

Please check the following link (read it till the end) for further answer to your queries:

http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-cadre...w-bad-irs.html

All the best!
Old Saturday, November 19, 2016

oani is on a distinguished road

Its very informative for all aspirants
Thanks respected Csp's
Old Sunday, April 23, 2017

Afzal Chaudhry is on a distinguished road

Sir please tell me when interview are being conducted of Inspector IRS ?
Old Monday, July 24, 2017

UK Raja is on a distinguished road
Default Disagree to some part

Very informative indeed, but will humbly disagree, IRS offices are very small almost cabins which is highly disgusting to sit and serve. i have visited RTO Lahore and found 2, 3 officers sitting in one cabin with two tables. Those officers told me that here we are just glorified clerks. you cannot get vehicles before 4, 5 years and that too a cultus. You can please verify these things from a CSP.
Old Tuesday, July 25, 2017

UK Raja is on a distinguished road

Very informative indeed, but will humbly disagree, IRS offices are very small almost cabins which is highly disgusting to sit and serve. i have visited RTO Lahore and found 2, 3 officers sitting in one cabin with two tables. Those officers told me that here we are just glorified clerks. you cannot get vehicles before 4, 5 years and that too a cultus. You can please verify these things from a CSP.
Old Thursday, July 18, 2019

banda e nacheez is on a distinguished road
Default Horizontal Mobility in IRS

Aoa,
Anyone here who can guide me about the horizontal mobility in IRS?
In which departments/ministries people from IRS can move?
Can they join any foreign embassy as attache?