08:48 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Cadres and Training Programmes > Specialized Training Program (STP) > Office Management Group

Old Saturday, June 22, 2013

Sociologist PU is a name known to allSociologist PU is a name known to allSociologist PU is a name known to allSociologist PU is a name known to allSociologist PU is a name known to allSociologist PU is a name known to all

I was happy at that time and i am also happy now. Happiness is a state of mind
41st CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2012 Merit 131

aminshah101 has a spectacular aura aboutaminshah101 has a spectacular aura aboutaminshah101 has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by Sociologist PU View Post
The issue of survival with low salary arise when we start thinking of ourselves as above the ordinary people. There are many employees who have less then the salary of BPS-17 officer and living happily in Islamabad.

So my advice is again that we should limit our desires and should cut our cloth according to our size. There is no limit for desires and such people with unlimited desires are always unhappy, even in BPS-22.

Well, i have spent some years in Islamabad in BPS -17 and i had no problem that arise due to low pay ! I used to travel on public transport and was enjoying it. I had rented a room (being single) and shared it with colleague. For dinner, we had discovered a Briyani House, and breakfast/lunch at office canteen. We used to spent weekend at home (Lahore) and we used to avail lot of leave (C/L, LFP, R&R, Medical) So the time passed smoothly
Well sir, don't you think there should be a difference between a living of Grade 7 clerk and Grade 17 CSP? I know the wants are unlimited but needs are still necessary. Plus, there are few realities one cannot deny.

Going on Public Transport:. Secretariat is a red zone. So no public transport would be going there. And walking in a lounge suit (which is perhaps the dress code for Executives besides Shalwar Qamiz and waist coat), in the hot months of May-August, would pose a really nice outlook at work .

Going home on weekends:. A ticket of even Skyways now costs a minimum of Rs. 700 one way. So making it in a month would make it Rs. 5600/-.

Residence: Now, even a hostel on shared basis, without AC costs a minimum of Rs. 12,000/- if we include Messing. If it is Air Conditioned, the minimum jumps up to 18,000/-

Social Life: Would'nt it be a pity that when people, or even juniors come over to meet their colleague, they find him in a hostel with a student where he cannot even offer any hospitality to them? Social needs is one of the most important for any human being.

Marital Status: Well sir, you are single then but many people, like me would be married. I have a 2.5 years old daughter. The bare minimum expenses, if I don't give anything to my wife or at home, would be Rs. 5000/-

Transportation: The minimum cost, even of Public transport must be Rs. 50/- one way, as it was Rs. 30-35/- in 2009 when I studied there. So it makes a minimum of Rs. 2200/- per month. If I go by Taxi, it would jump to Rs. 8,000/- minimum and in case of own car, even on CNG, Rs. 5,000/-.

Please note that the minimum basic total, if I do not include expenses of my home at Lahore (not even my wife and any luxuries of my daughter), would be Rs. 24,800/-. I have not included any expenses like Laundry, Mobile, Internet etc. And I do not think I have mentioned anything that can be classified as luxury.

Now, the issue is not to nullify your tips or saying it is impossible. But the prime issue is that the level of status expected to be associated with a Civil Servant, viz a viz his pay shows a great disparity.

I definitely appreciate your thoughts but we cannot hide ourselves from reality. I do not advocate that same facilities should be given to each officer because facilities go hand in hand with the nature of job and that's quite justified too.

I just want to say that a Civil Servant should be facilitated to an extent where he can survive and have a social standing which Government of Pakistan has associated with them. It will not only act as a motivational tool but at the same time would form the basis of elimination of corruption at mass level. At least, the corrupt would no more be able to justify their deeds.

In this case, I think that Hiring is a good move given by Government of Pakistan. Besides hiring, if they can facilitate in means of discounted utility bills and transportation, the dilemma of OMG and alike services can be eradicated to much extent.

Basic needs can be fulfilled in 2 ways ...... you can take lunch from office canteen or you can order from McDonlad. Similar is the case of other daily needs like transport, accomadation etc. that can be fulfilled either way. It is upto you how you will fulfill them

In start every job has problem that are solved with the passage of time. So, no worry and go ahead. You will not be dying of starvation in islamabad.
Either way needs elaboration sir . I don't find it reasonable that a CSP stays at Bari Imam. It is excellent with regards to spiritual and mystic point of view but might not sound great with regards to social norms of the service.

Khair, its a professional offer and one has to take decision in "Take It or Leave It" form. Civil Service has a defined structure and definite set of rules. So it cannot be bargained on case to case basis.

Originally Posted by waqarm44 View Post

Congratulations to all those allocated in office management group
This is one of the best groups in css cadre because
1) Promotion structure is refined.
2) Deputation in CDA, Passport and immigration, Prime minister secreteriat, PRSP, NRSP, SOFTA, BISP, Foreign embassies, are quite possible if you decide to get them and do your full effort. Not a big issue. On all these deputation u get vehicle, accommodation, double salary. Many officers are serving as deputy secretary in provinces.
3) Regarding foreign visits and courses this group is at number 2 position after PAS. You earn as well as learn there.
4) Regarding problem of rapid transfers this group is the best because you live in Islamabad all the life.
5) There are many housing societies like Cabinet Division Employees co-operative housing societies who provide plots for employees in ministries on installments while providing registration at the time of down payment.
6) Regarding career the new federal secretary establishment is from OMG. Everyone from OMG will be able to get 21 and some will retire in 22.
7) Being section officer one plays his role in decision making process while working in federal controlling authority having guidance from secretaries and ministers; OMG officers become more refined officers in their careers.
8) Many OMG officers worked as AC, DC in districts but they are not getting these posts now because Local Government system is not under implement. As soon as LG system will be functional OMG officers will serve in districts however in pleasure of political persons.
9) The pay issue could be resolved if your better half is earning half. You can even save a few bucks every month. The people who don't like to get benefits in PAS also have this problem. Pay is same there. The people who take benefit of their seat in OMG and misuse their positions also earn money but not good reputation.
10) SO general in ministries also get vehicle.
11) Serving as PSO to minister will also enable you to have some extra privileges.
12) Tensions in Police and DMG are much more than this group. For an honest person this the best group to serve.

I assure you that this group is a wonderful one but if you are lucky enough, hard worker, humble and social. Last year 8 doctors(MBBS) joined this group and people who talk against it know little about it. I am not in favor of comparing groups but without any bias i rated it above PMS and after DMG, Police, IRS Customs and FSP: Plz no debate on this issue ). Hard work is the key to success and all groups are good enough to provide you a base where you can get best chances to serve the nation.
That's really a great picture of the group I must say . Well, what tickled me the most are point number 3, 5 and 10. If this is a true picture, then the issue stands resolved to much extent I believe.

Well, can you please tell the staff under an SO???
isha saeed (Saturday, June 22, 2013), Jetpack2 (Saturday, June 22, 2013), sarfaraz shami (Monday, June 24, 2013)

isha saeed has a spectacular aura aboutisha saeed has a spectacular aura about

I was happy at that time and i am also happy now. Happiness is a state of mind
State of mind is result of Sakoon and facilities
If someone has pressure of expenditure, how he feel happy sir:P
stay happy

Originally Posted by aminshah101 View Post
Well sir, don't you think there should be a difference between a living of Grade 7 clerk and Grade 17 CSP? I know the wants are unlimited but needs are still necessary. Plus, there are few realities one cannot deny.

Going on Public Transport:. Secretariat is a red zone. So no public transport would be going there. And walking in a lounge suit (which is perhaps the dress code for Executives besides Shalwar Qamiz and waist coat), in the hot months of May-August, would pose a really nice outlook at work .

Going home on weekends:. A ticket of even Skyways now costs a minimum of Rs. 700 one way. So making it in a month would make it Rs. 5600/-.

Residence: Now, even a hostel on shared basis, without AC costs a minimum of Rs. 12,000/- if we include Messing. If it is Air Conditioned, the minimum jumps up to 18,000/-

Social Life: Would'nt it be a pity that when people, or even juniors come over to meet their colleague, they find him in a hostel with a student where he cannot even offer any hospitality to them? Social needs is one of the most important for any human being.

Marital Status: Well sir, you are single then but many people, like me would be married. I have a 2.5 years old daughter. The bare minimum expenses, if I don't give anything to my wife or at home, would be Rs. 5000/-

Transportation: The minimum cost, even of Public transport must be Rs. 50/- one way, as it was Rs. 30-35/- in 2009 when I studied there. So it makes a minimum of Rs. 2200/- per month. If I go by Taxi, it would jump to Rs. 8,000/- minimum and in case of own car, even on CNG, Rs. 5,000/-.

Please note that the minimum basic total, if I do not include expenses of my home at Lahore (not even my wife and any luxuries of my daughter), would be Rs. 24,800/-. I have not included any expenses like Laundry, Mobile, Internet etc. And I do not think I have mentioned anything that can be classified as luxury.

Now, the issue is not to nullify your tips or saying it is impossible. But the prime issue is that the level of status expected to be associated with a Civil Servant, viz a viz his pay shows a great disparity.

I definitely appreciate your thoughts but we cannot hide ourselves from reality. I do not advocate that same facilities should be given to each officer because facilities go hand in hand with the nature of job and that's quite justified too.

I just want to say that a Civil Servant should be facilitated to an extent where he can survive and have a social standing which Government of Pakistan has associated with them. It will not only act as a motivational tool but at the same time would form the basis of elimination of corruption at mass level. At least, the corrupt would no more be able to justify their deeds.

In this case, I think that Hiring is a good move given by Government of Pakistan. Besides hiring, if they can facilitate in means of discounted utility bills and transportation, the dilemma of OMG and alike services can be eradicated to much extent.
well done brother, Budget acha banaya hai appny
stay cool,calm and collective and enjoy life in Federal government
41st CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2012 - Merit 221

shary16 is on a distinguished road

Well, from what i have heard from others OMG group has good promotions, good chance of getting deputations in other departments, and they establish close contacts with ministers and secretaries. It offers courses abroad and generally, is a good group (can be rated at 7th or 8th). the only drawback is the facilities and low authority as Section Officers but the candidates who are appointed through CSS are considered more talented and are respected. I also heard from seniors that Section Officers has complete authority over their own job responsibilities and even secretary cannot nullify what Section Officer has noted. To be realistic, SO will need family support or earning from other sources for survival like a CSP.

salary is less, which is the case with every cadre even PAS.
accommodation in Islamabad, is tough for every officer irrespective of group (except pas and psp).

If someone does not like the group, he has the option to leave it. This is how css is. We know the rules before the exams and they are not bent in favour of anyone after the result announcement.
People who are simple BA pass, would consider this job a blessing who hardly have other opportunities.

Stay blessed, everyone.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to shary16 For This Useful Post:
isha saeed (Sunday, June 23, 2013), mechrose37 (Monday, June 24, 2013)
41st CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2012 Merit 131

aminshah101 has a spectacular aura aboutaminshah101 has a spectacular aura aboutaminshah101 has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by isha saeed View Post
well done brother, Budget acha banaya hai appny
stay cool,calm and collective and enjoy life in Federal government
Well dear, this is as good a budget as that of PML (N) in Federation before an increment or amendments were made .

This is bare minimum. So I believe its a tough call. But still, I believe if you stay consistent, things work out well with the passage of time.
isha saeed (Sunday, June 23, 2013)

Jetpack2 is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by aminshah101 View Post
Well dear, this is as good a budget as that of PML (N) in Federation before an increment or amendments were made .

This is bare minimum. So I believe its a tough call. But still, I believe if you stay consistent, things work out well with the passage of time.
Brother , Why you didn't join SBOTS of state bank, , is it not more better than CSP. Both prestige and status wise.
Old Sunday, June 23, 2013
41st CTP (OMG)

Originally Posted by Jetpack2 View Post
Brother , Why you didn't join SBOTS of state bank, , is it not more better than CSP. Both prestige and status wise.
Well dear, it varies from person to person. State Bank of Pakistan is a wonderful place but I personally prefer in being a CSP.
Old Tuesday, June 25, 2013
40th CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit no 130

waqarm44 is on a distinguished road

My dear brothers and sisters!

A section officer dispense his duties with the help of one steno, two clerks, one assistant or branch superintendent and one peon however no. of this staff depends upon the work load and nature of job. Every ministry has four to five or more wings, each is headed by a deputy secretary; each wing has three to four sections and every section has a definite on-to-do list with the section officer as the responsible person for that section. Check the web-sites of different ministries: you will have better idea. No doubt it seems to be a clerical job and working environment is not so good as of ACs and DCs but every section officer get a separate place to sit and they have beautifully decorated their compartments as much as i visited them. However files on the table, and Almirah full of files give you a scene of head clerk.
But what you do is important. You are the part of controlling authority of that particular ministry. You give your suggestions and comments on the file of officers of the ministries, your proposals get due consideration, your one good competent note even turn the tides. You not only do the clerical work but also the intellectual one. I was very impressed by that section officer who was wearing an imported suit, which he bought from USA when he was there on an official tour, had an aromatic cigar in his fingers, sitting on a table full of files and he was making some summary with concentration and at the end of that the smile on his face was showing that he had done some thing big; he told me that he was Civil Judge before joining as section officer. Our one other friend earned 2 million in two years by savings from the official tours to foreign countries. He was on foreign tours under capacity building programs.
So my dear fellows allocated in OMG, all praise to Allah, say Shukar for his blessing. Don't be worry on money issues. Buy a second hand car until God make you able to buy a new one. It will cost you 2.5 lakh and dnt be afraid of second hand car. I bought one old khyber that serves me well. Take a little support from family for a year or two. Do some part time job related to your field. And plz plz plz dnt discuss the problems of Civil Servants under the tag of Office Management Group. It is derogatory to the officers of this group. Our seniors are working well to make career prospects even better than today. Dnt worry at all.
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to waqarm44 For This Useful Post:
aniya warraich (Tuesday, June 25, 2013), Descendant of Saul (Tuesday, June 25, 2013), isha saeed (Wednesday, June 26, 2013), mechrose37 (Tuesday, June 25, 2013), Seemab (Tuesday, February 25, 2014)
Old Tuesday, June 25, 2013
41st CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2012 Merit 407

aniya warraich is on a distinguished road

A section officer dispense his duties with the help of one steno, two clerks, one assistant or branch superintendent and one peon however no. of this staff depends upon the work load and nature of job. Every ministry has four to five or more wings, each is headed by a deputy secretary; each wing has three to four sections and every section has a definite on-to-do list with the section officer as the responsible person for that section. Check the web-sites of different ministries: you will have better idea. No doubt it seems to be a clerical job and working environment is not so good as of ACs and DCs but every section officer get a separate place to sit and they have beautifully decorated their compartments as much as i visited them. However files on the table, and Almirah full of files give you a scene of head clerk.
But what you do is important. You are the part of controlling authority of that particular ministry. You give your suggestions and comments on the file of officers of the ministries, your proposals get due consideration, your one good competent note even turn the tides. You not only do the clerical work but also the intellectual one. I was very impressed by that section officer who was wearing an imported suit, which he bought from USA when he was there on an official tour, had an aromatic cigar in his fingers, sitting on a table full of files and he was making some summary with concentration and at the end of that the smile on his face was showing that he had done some thing big; he told me that he was Civil Judge before joining as section officer. Our one other friend earned 2 million in two years by savings from the official tours to foreign countries. He was on foreign tours under capacity building programs.
So my dear fellows allocated in OMG, all praise to Allah, say Shukar for his blessing. Don't be worry on money issues. Buy a second hand car until God make you able to buy a new one. It will cost you 2.5 lakh and dnt be afraid of second hand car. I bought one old khyber that serves me well. Take a little support from family for a year or two. Do some part time job related to your field. And plz plz plz dnt discuss the problems of Civil Servants under the tag of Office Management Group. It is derogatory to the officers of this group. Our seniors are working well to make career prospects even better than today. Dnt worry at all.
I must say this is a real morale booster A sigh of relief
Old Wednesday, June 26, 2013
41st CTP (OMG)

Thats really good. Well, I already own 2 vehicles personally but being married and blessed with an unparalleled gift of child, I dont feel like taking support from family.

But you have given a lot of ideas which can sort things out, e.g. Part time job etc. Thank you very much for the nice piece of information shared.

Sent from my ST21i2 using Tapatalk 4 Beta