Thursday, April 18, 2024
10:22 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Cadres and Training Programmes > Specialized Training Program (STP) > Office Management Group

Old Monday, August 19, 2013
41st CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2012 Merit 131

aminshah101 has a spectacular aura aboutaminshah101 has a spectacular aura aboutaminshah101 has a spectacular aura about
Cool Work Environment of OMG Group

Assalam o Alaikum everyone,

Well, this thread is meant to question as well as discuss the work environment of Office Management Group and the ways to tackle complex issues that may arise. Replies from Seniors are much needed.

So to begin with, I question the following:

1. What is the standing of a fresh OMG officer posted as Section Officer after STP on the following issues?

a) Does he get a separate "closed room sort" office with Air Conditioner?

b) Does he get basic facilities at office like Telephone, Computer/Laptop with Internet etc.?

c) Does he works by himself or has he got some staff under him?

d) In case of any reporting staff, how much employees are directly under his control and what authority he enjoys over them?

e) What is authority of a Section Officer on the whole?

f) Since Secretariat has all the big guns sitting out there, so chances of office politics may be high and the staff of some Senior Officials may exploit their probable nuisance. You know shikayati and reporting culture etc. How to tackle with them?

Kindly provide your replies with regards to Islamabad Secretariat as well as any Secretariat. Waiting and thanks in advance .
imrancl (Saturday, October 19, 2013)
Old Monday, August 19, 2013
40th CTP (FSP)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 104. CE 2012 - Merit 56

sarfaraz shami has a spectacular aura aboutsarfaraz shami has a spectacular aura aboutsarfaraz shami has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by aminshah101 View Post

Well, this thread is meant to question as well as discuss the work environment of Office Management Group and the ways to tackle complex issues that may arise. Replies from Seniors are much needed.

1. What is the standing of a fresh OMG officer posted as Section Officer after STP on the following issues?

b) Does he get basic facilities at office like Telephone, Computer/Laptop with Internet etc.?

d) In case of any reporting staff, how much employees are directly under his control and what authority he enjoys over them?

f) Since Secretariat has all the big guns sitting out there, so chances of office politics may be high and the staff of some Senior Officials may exploit their probable nuisance. You know shikayati and reporting culture etc. How to tackle with them?

Kindly provide your replies with regards to Islamabad Secretariat as well as any Secretariat. Waiting and thanks in advance .
work environment is not much bad in OMG.

A. You do get separate room with ac in almost 90% of cases very early. However in some ministries like ministry of defence is bit different.

B.yes telephone, computer and internet is available.
C. He gets at least 3 staff members, an assistant, steno and naib qasad.

D. Staff is directly under his control. Authority is just like other departments in government.

E. On the whole no authority.

F. That depends upon your capabilities.

CSS officer is no doubt a prestegious one in society but reservations re always there. True authority and nusiance belongs to psp/dmg.
aniya warraich (Monday, September 09, 2013), fromQAU (Saturday, September 28, 2013), SehrishKanwal (Monday, August 19, 2013)
Old Thursday, September 26, 2013
40th CTP (OMG)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 333

fromQAU will become famous soon enoughfromQAU will become famous soon enough
Exclamation

Sir, I have found you the most worried of all and it has been so since an era. Is it not better that you don't join OMG? most probably, you must wait for your CE-2013 result. i wish you best of luck. In sha Allah, you will get a better group next time. moreover, with such a mental aptitude, i dont think that you would even be able to do your ctp with any reasonable satisfaction as, i guess, you would surely be undergoing an inferiority complex in front of the psp/dmg fellows there. Be bold my dear friend. you are going to be a civil [SERVANT], not a civil [RULER].

Secondly, to all those people who have been allocated in OMG, i would like to say that you guys are the most privileged people for its not easy to pass such a tough competitive exam and get allocated. among 12 executive groups that the Civil Services / Bureaucracy offers, you have landed in 6th or 7th one, that is OMG. just go through the posts of our dear seniors who have explained the positives of this group here in various posts/threads. i would just add one thing to what my seniors have pointed out. it is that all the OMG officers whom i have met until now, seem totally satisfied after a service of some 7 to 8 years when they are promoted to Deputy Secretary. only an initial period of 7 to 8 years is a bit tough due to some workload and lesser authority.

Thirdly, for God sake, dont run after POWER and PERKS. we have to build this poor country, poorly developed country, poorly groomed nation etc. we are the only ones who have been assigned a task to do this job. i dont know how such power-hungry people will serve our nation. they just need power and authority, cars, bangalows, AC rooms etc. why dont they get satisfied with just a little authority and service that our country expects from them? why dont they understand that we need to develop as fast as other countries have been doing so? do we need to just sit in cars, bangalows and AC rooms? if you possess this kind of mentality, then please dont abuse corrupt politicians like zardari or nawaz or whosoever you keep on using harsh words for and for God sake, dont join civil services if you are this kind of man. we have had enough. now lets only be the CIVIL "SERVANTS" rather than CIVIL RULERS.
sorry if my post breaks the rules of the business or hurts anyone.

Last edited by fromQAU; Thursday, September 26, 2013 at 07:50 PM.
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to fromQAU For This Useful Post:
Ammara Khan88 (Monday, October 21, 2013), Amna (Friday, September 27, 2013), Bozdar Iqbal (Friday, September 27, 2013), Despicable (Saturday, September 28, 2013), koolestmaverick (Thursday, September 26, 2013), pureapak (Saturday, September 28, 2013), rayma qaiser (Thursday, September 26, 2013), Shooting Star (Friday, September 27, 2013)
Old Friday, September 27, 2013
41st CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2012 Merit 131

aminshah101 has a spectacular aura aboutaminshah101 has a spectacular aura aboutaminshah101 has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by fromQAU View Post
Sir, I have found you the most worried of all and it has been so since an era. Is it not better that you don't join OMG? most probably, you must wait for your CE-2013 result. i wish you best of luck. In sha Allah, you will get a better group next time. moreover, with such a mental aptitude, i dont think that you would even be able to do your ctp with any reasonable satisfaction as, i guess, you would surely be undergoing an inferiority complex in front of the psp/dmg fellows there. Be bold my dear friend. you are going to be a civil [SERVANT], not a civil [RULER].

Secondly, to all those people who have been allocated in OMG, i would like to say that you guys are the most privileged people for its not easy to pass such a tough competitive exam and get allocated. among 12 executive groups that the Civil Services / Bureaucracy offers, you have landed in 6th or 7th one, that is OMG. just go through the posts of our dear seniors who have explained the positives of this group here in various posts/threads. i would just add one thing to what my seniors have pointed out. it is that all the OMG officers whom i have met until now, seem totally satisfied after a service of some 7 to 8 years when they are promoted to Deputy Secretary. only an initial period of 7 to 8 years is a bit tough due to some workload and lesser authority.

Thirdly, for God sake, dont run after POWER and PERKS. we have to build this poor country, poorly developed country, poorly groomed nation etc. we are the only ones who have been assigned a task to do this job. i dont know how such power-hungry people will serve our nation. they just need power and authority, cars, bangalows, AC rooms etc. why dont they get satisfied with just a little authority and service that our country expects from them? why dont they understand that we need to develop as fast as other countries have been doing so? do we need to just sit in cars, bangalows and AC rooms? if you possess this kind of mentality, then please dont abuse corrupt politicians like zardari or nawaz or whosoever you keep on using harsh words for and for God sake, dont join civil services if you are this kind of man. we have had enough. now lets only be the CIVIL "SERVANTS" rather than CIVIL RULERS.
sorry if my post breaks the rules of the business or hurts anyone.
REQUEST AND EXPECTATIONS: I hope moderators and my seniors have enough courage to retain this reply of mine because deleting a reply to this personally harsh, rather rude, reply would definitely be a clearly biasedness of their part. Moving on with the reply.

My dear Sir,

This is a Public discussion Forum, not a Public Insult Forum. With due respect, before commenting on my traits, first tell me what do you know about me, beyond what I have mentioned here or on a Social Portal.

First of all, tell me where did I say I won't be serving people and would keep myself confined to a closed cabin. Where did I say I am someone superior? Where did I say I definitely need a car or I will die in desperation if I don't get one?

And about asking for a home, I have old parents, a wife and a kid to feed. So under a salary (that we all know is meager and keeping in mind that Government Officers do get a residence), I don't find it a crime to ask about it. And secondly, I am not asking any senior to vacate his house for me. It is a matter of concern to me and I am supposed to take care of my family responsibilities too.

Now talking of Servants and Rulers, I think Politicians are more relevant as Public Servants as they are selected through People Mandate and rely on their votes. I am selected through a Competitive Exam, by the Grace of Allah, Prayers of my family, friends and buddies out here and in the end, through my own abilities. I am least interested to be a Ruler else I would have contested elections and would rather prefer to be a Leader, which I have been throughout my life and have formally become in Public Sector. You, me and all other CSS Officers are Leaders and not Servants who need to influence and motivate through our own examples. And I hope you understand the difference between a Ruler and a Leader.

About my inferiority complex and stay in CSA, I have 4+ years of experience in renowned names of Pakistan. I am not joining Civil Services right from my home. I have also graduated from the same place on which you have named your login. I have enough courage and confidence to face even the President of United States even without clearing CSS, what to talk of PAS/PSP officers. Its all about personal priorities my dear. But perhaps people with Such Strange Judgement Skills coin such queries of mine as Hunger for Power

http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-inter...s-here-34.html

This is the link to my interview. During my conversation, I clearly indicated my preference and interest. If you cannot find it, refer to my answers to Mr. Ghalib ud din. I am joining Civil Services because primarily I find it as a stable, progressive, enriching, rewarding and a structured career, apart from Social Prestige and higher Power to help a common man. At least, I am honest in expressing my intentions and am very much clear about my professional aims.

I never give these apparently fake claims of being a "True Servant" to the people because if serving people is only reason of your joining Civil Services, you could have done that being a Doctor, Engineer, Teacher and even Moderator on this forum. They all serve, guide and help people and maybe are may better humans that we 2. So please don't throw stones at others when you yourself live in a glass house.

And if you are least interested to know (which I most probably would hear from you), then kindly don't comment any further regarding my personality. You can say anything about any issue but sir, you have absolutely no right to comment about anyone's personality.

I am a son of DMG officer and a brother of two. CSS is nothing new to me. OMG is. All I was asking in this particular post was a conducive work environment, which varies from person to person.

This country is rather tired of such people who criticize for the sake of criticism. Who don't have a solution to a problem but would not refrain from criticizing those who have what it takes to overcome such obstacles.

Now getting down to Zardari and Nawaz, when did I abuse them? Moreover, even if people do, they vote for them so they have every right to say about them. I, like you am not elected by them. So please understand the difference between the 2.

Regarding my Common Training and my choice to wait for 2013 result, I think that is my personal matter and I can better decide about it. With respect to this, I would appreciate comments only when I invite them. I wrote OMG in my priorities that's why I am into it. I did not want to be in Information Group at all so did not write it altogether. But having said that, I cannot deny that PAS is my top priority while OMG was 9th. And hence, I never said that if I don't get PAS, I won't join Civil Service. All 12 cardres are equally important in Government machinery that is why they are there but personal priorities vary from person to person.

So is it my mistake if I am trying to get my top priority? It is not only car and house. I have my own Ma Sha Allah and am not desperate for them. CSS might be dream for someone but for me, its a professional career. I am equally interested in improving Pakistan and for this purpose, I opted Civil Service as my PROFESSION; nothing else. It is not end of life for me.

We both share the same aim to helping people out and improve the progress of this country, the only difference is that I refrain from commenting on people about their personal life when I know little about them. Even in this entire post, I have not commented anything upon your mentality or your other issues but I have only replied to your rude comments about me.

In the end, I expect the moderators to show impartiality towards this issue. Either both posts should be kept, or both be deleted. And if only my post is deleted, then I may please be personally informed to leave because I don't want to be an object of humiliation for people out here while others watch fun over this activity.

Last edited by aminshah101; Friday, September 27, 2013 at 01:38 PM.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to aminshah101 For This Useful Post:
aneelbachwani (Friday, July 18, 2014), daniyalahmed (Friday, September 27, 2013), Nosheen Bukhari (Sunday, September 29, 2013)
Old Saturday, September 28, 2013
40th CTP (OMG)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 333

fromQAU will become famous soon enoughfromQAU will become famous soon enough

I have really felt these comments bro. I can read between the lines.

How can one just log on to this forum and say anything he wants about someone's personality?

Brother, I am sorry if you have taken it to heart and if yoy are feeling deep about it. please dont take them personal and cool down. the issue lies here in your questions that invited my response.

Brother, these are the questions that anyone of us, even our seniors, and almost everyone can easily feel what they aim at? You should have asked about the nature of responsibility and functions of a Section Officer and his duties, etc. but by those above mentioned questions, you seem to be particular about some specific things that i would not mention here once again because you feel hurt. You are my elder brother, I m sorry if my that previous post hurt you. please cool down.
Old Saturday, September 28, 2013
41st CTP (OMG)

Originally Posted by fromQAU View Post
Brother, I am sorry if you have taken it to heart and if yoy are feeling deep about it. please dont take them personal and cool down. the issue lies here in your questions that invited my response.

Brother, these are the questions that anyone of us, even our seniors, and almost everyone can easily feel what they aim at? You should have asked about the nature of responsibility and functions of a Section Officer and his duties, etc. but by those above mentioned questions, you seem to be particular about some specific things that i would not mention here once again because you feel hurt. You are my elder brother, I m sorry if my that previous post hurt you. please cool down.
Brother, I did feel your comments at that time and was very much shocked that's why wrote a long essay. But now I think it was a misunderstanding at both ends. I am sorry too and please, No Hard Feelings

About my such apparently absurd queries, I had some unpleasant experiences at my current job which location was HQ. Since the first posting of OMG is most likely in Secretariat, which is again an HQ type environment, so got concerned.

Computer Telephone etc.: For instance, when I was in Events & Services Section, I definitely required a phone or an official cell to coordinate with all people. Till an year, the phone or an official mobile facility or even an official extension was not given while older clerks were enjoying priviliges. I had to call them all through my own cell and my private number became a public property .

Then at one time, I had to prepare Security contracts and Tenders. But my entire section had no Computer. And other Sections obviously had their own assignments. So work got delayed.

Closed Office with AC: We had an open seating in my current job and I had a closed office in bank. It was a generic query which relates to physical conducive environment for better work performance.

In addition to that, at times you are doing confidential/sensitive assignments so if you are doing them in an open seating, it is more likely to leaked out

Staff and Their Reporting: I did have 4-5 people as subordinates but my immediate Senior always claim them to be his subordinates (whereas I claimed that they were my juniors and if my immediate senior has some issue, he should ask me and not my subordinates directly). Just like if a Dy. Secretary claims that an Assistant reporting to SO is his Assistant, not SO's

But another time, I had 3 people who were directly under my reporting channel.

Authority: Something I do expect after almost 4 years of my career and a thing I require to shape up things in a better way for improved service delivery .

I hope you got my point. Maybe I got so dried up here due to non-cooperation regarding the provision of these basic things, that I got concerned about them in my new job too . You are my brother . We are one family and would In Sha Allah remain that way .

Originally Posted by pureapak View Post
No offense please
It was a heated conversation between two of us and it now stands resolved. Perhaps, it was misunderstanding at both ends. We both are one family and are just like brothers. At times you even have heated moments with your own brothers so it was just a moment that passed

Last edited by aminshah101; Saturday, September 28, 2013 at 09:21 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to aminshah101 For This Useful Post:
pureapak (Saturday, September 28, 2013)
Old Sunday, October 20, 2013
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 70

NASR KHAN is a glorious beacon of lightNASR KHAN is a glorious beacon of lightNASR KHAN is a glorious beacon of lightNASR KHAN is a glorious beacon of lightNASR KHAN is a glorious beacon of lightNASR KHAN is a glorious beacon of light
Cool Hoshyar Bash!!!

nojawano, hosla karo
abhi to CTP or STP baki hain, wo ker k sab lag pata jaye ga
just keep your nerves under control and be relax n calm. remember "never give up" baki gari bangla sab ko mil he jana hy ek na ek din
i wish you all very best of luck

Nasrullah Yousafzai
The Following User Says Thank You to NASR KHAN For This Useful Post:
aniya warraich (Thursday, October 24, 2013)
41st CTP (OMG)

Sir, actually thori misunderstanding ho gayi thi. Now everything is under control .

I don't know when CTP will commence. . Even my 3 months notice has come to an end and still a month of idleness...
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 70

NASR KHAN is a glorious beacon of lightNASR KHAN is a glorious beacon of lightNASR KHAN is a glorious beacon of lightNASR KHAN is a glorious beacon of lightNASR KHAN is a glorious beacon of lightNASR KHAN is a glorious beacon of light

Sir, actually thori misunderstanding ho gayi thi. Now everything is under control .

I don't know when CTP will commence. . Even my 3 months notice has come to an end and still a month of idleness...
Ya dear I went through the posts, and I am very pleased to see the mature behavior of both of you gentlemen.
And CTP is about to commence so just enjoy your last few days with your family, as very soon you will be grilled in Civil Services Academy, Walton Campus.
Hope to see you there then InshaAllah

Nasrullah Yousafzai

Matee ur Rehman is on a distinguished road
Default Civil Services for Females

All Seniors please answer my query. My sister is working as Assistant in civil secretariat but she has very bitter experience to work with Males. She often claims that her own clerk do not pay heed to her assigned work while he is under him moreover, she says that when mobile number are given for official use it is misused by her own colleagues...no cooperation is found ...now she is preparing for CSS but little bit afraid from such behavior. I want to ask who are working as CSS officers whether it is suitable for female .......