-   Pakistan Customs Service (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-cadres-training-programmes/specialized-training-program-stp/pakistan-customs-service/)
-   -   Which one should be preferred? (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-cadres-training-programmes/specialized-training-program-stp/pakistan-customs-service/73020-one-should-preferred.html)

Z Bokhari Monday, December 31, 2012 01:27 AM

Which one should be preferred?

Respected CSP's,

kindly guide me. between IRS and Customs, which group should be preffered and why? I have to finalize my preferrences and need guidance.

sikander kalhoro Monday, December 31, 2012 02:18 AM

Customs ,Verily !

Z Bokhari Monday, December 31, 2012 01:13 PM

[QUOTE=sikander kalhoro;534951]Customs ,Verily ![/QUOTE]
Reason?

Zirwaan Khan Monday, December 31, 2012 02:16 PM

Understood hai Reason , : Laxmmi (Speed Money )

Z Bokhari Monday, December 31, 2012 02:51 PM

[QUOTE=Zirwaan Khan;535062]Understood hai Reason , : Laxmmi (Speed Money )[/QUOTE]

Sir, what if somebody is not after money? anyother concrete reason? I've heard that many powers of customs have been transferred to IRS and that customs is now on the decline. is this right?

sikander kalhoro Monday, December 31, 2012 04:37 PM

[QUOTE=Z Bokhari;535079]Sir, what if somebody is not after money? anyother concrete reason? I've heard that many powers of customs have been transferred to IRS and that customs is now on the decline. is this right?[/QUOTE]

dear , custom is the department that has lack of powers as compare to IRS .

but if one wants money and infinite money , he/she must prefer customs

sarfaraz shami Monday, December 31, 2012 10:28 PM

Customs without any doubt.
1. Customs is a law and enforcement agency.
2. Customs has own police stations and prisons.
3. Customs has much wider role including protection of borders from illegal trade.
4. More facilities in customs including house and car facility. Even land cruiser, has personally witnessed it during official visit to custom house.

disadvantage
Promotion is slow.

usman khalid Monday, December 31, 2012 11:11 PM

Both are very good services/groups. To me, Custom is not that much attractive as it used to be after inception of IRS. Sales Tax and Excise Tax functions have been taken away from customs and transferred to IRS. The underlying reason behind this is administrative efficiency but aspirants may feel IRS more attractive due to this. However, Customs (PCS) still continues to be one of the top preferences of CSS aspirants. Basic salary is double in both PCS and IRS but Custom officers also get easy money. In terms of promotion prospects, IRS seems better. Preference of one group over other depends upon individual interest and aptitude.

Taimoor Gondal Monday, December 31, 2012 11:28 PM

[QUOTE=Z Bokhari;534942]Respected CSP's,

kindly guide me. between IRS and Customs, which group should be preffered and why? I have to finalize my preferrences and need guidance.

Regards.[/QUOTE]

I am sure following thread would help you in this regard.

[url]www.cssforum.com.pk/css-cadres-training-programmes/specialized-training-program-stp/police-service-pakistan/57659-q-group-preferences-pros-cons-different-groups-services.html[/url]

06:22 PM (GMT +5)