01:27 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Compulsory Subjects > Current Affairs

Old Tuesday, May 01, 2007
38th CTP (ITG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Merit 527

athena is on a distinguished road

I was trying to figure out how to jumpstart my preperations for exams.so far had been making a routine of reading dawn cover to cover..and was ready to take on writing....ill get down on researching these topics pronto! thanx again!

Last edited by Sureshlasi; Saturday, January 12, 2008 at 01:58 AM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to athena For This Useful Post:
roijen (Monday, January 02, 2012), satti sahab (Sunday, May 30, 2010)
Old Tuesday, May 01, 2007

M.A.N will become famous soon enough

the very next important step is regarding Reading a News paper

step 1) you should have an eye for the hot topics[or the topics which are most probably to come in the examination]

...question is how to achieve that.....hmmm

solution) .....Just go through past 5 years papers and you will get the mind set of the examiner.......see simple as that.....

step 2) Reading a News paper is not very easy for a starter.....
...question is how to get command over International affairs

solution
i) Start reading 1st page and the editorial page of Dawn....
ii) The left top most Editorial in the dawn has a paramount importance....
it has all what you need......but what is the enigma in it....

I will reveal this enigma tomorrow inshallah.....but i need a positive response once again.......

M.A.N

Last edited by Sureshlasi; Saturday, January 12, 2008 at 01:59 AM.
The Following 24 Users Say Thank You to M.A.N For This Useful Post:
aasim aslam abbasi (Monday, November 12, 2012), aghaadnan (Monday, February 17, 2014), aminakhurshid (Tuesday, January 16, 2018), Badar Munir (Monday, October 26, 2009), cssravian (Monday, June 18, 2012), Faheem Sattar (Friday, November 23, 2012), humayonpervaiz (Friday, May 19, 2017), imhussain (Saturday, October 06, 2012), innocentdoll (Thursday, January 03, 2013), khushe (Monday, October 10, 2011), LonelyEngineer (Friday, February 01, 2013), LUTUF ALI (Saturday, July 12, 2014), masad (Saturday, June 05, 2010), mazar (Wednesday, January 26, 2011), mna46 (Friday, August 06, 2010), Naheedmir (Wednesday, October 28, 2020), Nisbah Nazir (Saturday, September 01, 2012), Nosheen Bukhari (Saturday, November 23, 2013), Rao Umair (Thursday, July 29, 2010), serisssh (Thursday, September 22, 2011), umer shakeel (Tuesday, August 18, 2015), Waseemtabish (Monday, October 14, 2013), Young Hafiz (Monday, October 28, 2013), zara.meer (Sunday, September 27, 2009)
Old Sunday, May 06, 2007

Yasser28 is on a distinguished road
Arrow Suggestion: News Paper Reading

Attention Sweet Fellows!

We the aspirants of CSS cannot but too much depend upon a standard news paper;and it is rightly so. But we need to know how we can improve our reading and make it a rewarding experience maximally.I would here refresh certain points in your intellect houses, i.e., minds.

Let me be brief:

1) Read Dawn critically not passively

[COLOR="DarkOrchid"]Emphasis should be on Opinion and Editorial pages.I think we should be guard on to save our time. For this my suggestion should be that we should not read front pages or intenational pages just for news.We can save time by watching some good tv channel,e.g., BBC for international news and Aaj tv and Geo, etc., for domestic news. They are often enough for news.[/COLOR]

2) Read Dawn's Letters to the Editor

There are often very great debates going on there.You occasionally get many points to take notes for yourself from a small piece of writing.Do remember many people do not read these letters and hence waste very invaluable stuff.

3) Dawn's "Encounter" page on every Saturday and "Economic and Business Review" section on Monday.

In these pages there are pearls of analysis and knowledge.You can ignore them only at a very high cost.

4)We are often ill-advised to ignore The News.

The News on Sunday has a section "Political Economy",only a non-serious CSS aspirant would won't read it and not take notes from it.

5) And not the least rather it is all-embracing: search for some academic writing on important issues for Pak. and Current Affairs.

You can contact to any of your acquaintances(of M.phil or Ph.D) to get knowledge about how you can get them.I am quite confident that if you read one good research paper on any given topic,it can prepare you to deal with that theme from varied dimnesions. I will dwell on the point (5) later if anybody needs my guidance.

And finally criticism on my suggestions is more than welcome.

Bye with wishing you the best of luck.

Last edited by Shooting Star; Thursday, March 08, 2012 at 03:26 PM. Reason: avoid red color
The Following 35 Users Say Thank You to Yasser28 For This Useful Post:
Abrar Javed (Wednesday, February 20, 2013), aghaadnan (Monday, February 17, 2014), aliahmadafridi (Monday, June 16, 2014), alidomino (Sunday, January 27, 2008), Asm Muzafar (Tuesday, April 09, 2013), bluntman (Tuesday, September 24, 2013), cssravian (Monday, June 18, 2012), doli (Monday, December 05, 2011), Faheem Sattar (Friday, November 23, 2012), humayonpervaiz (Friday, May 19, 2017), iqrajanjua (Tuesday, September 10, 2013), iqrameer (Monday, February 24, 2014), jahanzaib khan kakar (Thursday, September 19, 2013), kamran kundi (Thursday, September 13, 2012), Man Jaanbazam (Tuesday, March 19, 2013), masad (Saturday, June 05, 2010), mazar (Wednesday, January 26, 2011), nadiamughal (Sunday, June 17, 2012), naveed khan (Friday, November 09, 2012), Nosheen Bukhari (Saturday, November 23, 2013), Raxa Hussain (Friday, August 23, 2013), Riaz Ahmed Alizai (Sunday, May 23, 2010), roijen (Monday, January 02, 2012), Rush (Tuesday, March 19, 2013), saad kamal (Friday, December 05, 2014), saadi butt (Thursday, September 15, 2011), sathiorajab (Sunday, January 04, 2015), serisssh (Thursday, September 22, 2011), shapar (Friday, November 13, 2009), Shariq (Monday, July 15, 2013), shona angel (Saturday, June 19, 2010), sidra rana (Monday, December 15, 2014), umer shakeel (Tuesday, August 18, 2015), Virtue seeker (Tuesday, November 15, 2016), Waseemtabish (Monday, October 14, 2013)
Old Monday, May 07, 2007

DamDamDeeDee is on a distinguished road

@Yasser28

1) Read Dawn critically not passively
Excellent point that has been raised by you.
2) Read Dawn's Letters to the Editor

3) Dawn's "Encounter" page on every Saturday and "Economic and Business Review" section on Monday.
One has no right to go for CSS if one fails to develop interest in these two pages .
4)We are often ill-advised to ignore The News.
So I was ill-advised
5) And not the least rather it is all-embracing: search for some academic writing on important issues for Pak. and Current Affairs.
It is the most valuable advice by you.

DDDD
bluntman (Tuesday, September 24, 2013), Chap X (Sunday, March 20, 2011), raviz (Thursday, May 29, 2014), saad kamal (Friday, December 05, 2014), shezzdp (Monday, April 22, 2013), Waseemtabish (Monday, October 14, 2013)
Old Monday, May 07, 2007

Hello DDDD,

Thanks for ranag barangi appreciation.

Let me defend my Letters suggestion. I,personally,first of all read Letters to the Editor if I've Dawn in my hands since it is the only Pakistani paper which has some very good stuff,terse and argumentative in a brief space.And its contributors are often technocrats of former State Bank Governor ilk for example.

May you forget sour memories see good dreams.

...Yasser
bluntman (Tuesday, September 24, 2013), saad kamal (Friday, December 05, 2014)
Old Tuesday, May 08, 2007

Arrow Enigma Revealed

@Yasser28
Good Analysis
@dddd nd @yasser
come on guys i demanded the critical analysis of the first editorial but not this stuff.....

and now coming towards that enigma....hmm

Enigma Revealed....

1st point) The first para of the Dawn's editorial comprise of the immediate current news and related information to the topic......

2nd point) 2nd para contains background of the news[1 week to 1 year or more]

3rd point) ....i am leaving 4 u members...
c ya.....plz
Old Tuesday, May 08, 2007

@ Very Dear M.A.N

3) Dawn's "Encounter" page on every Saturday and "Economic and Business Review" section on Monday. @dddd nd @yasser
come on guys i demanded the critical analysis of the first editorial but not this stuff.....

We, I mean DDDD and I, were treating with my post about enhancing our news paper reading skills; and to read this Encounter page was one of my suggestions.

And let me add something that Dawn has 4 or 5 editorials daily. The first one,no doubt, is the most important dealing with so-called "higher politics" but the second and third are very good barometer of social sector changes,social development, etc., and students who have opted Sociology should give them a penetrating reading.The 4th editorial is credited to its writer though it reflects Dawn's policy. The 5th one is usually picked from foreign press and deals with some important but ignored area.

Enigma Revealed....

1st point) The first para of the Dawn's editorial comprise of the immediate current news and related information to the topic......

2nd point) 2nd para contains background of the news[1 week to 1 year or more]

3rd point) ....i am leaving 4 u members...
c ya.....plz

Let me give my judgemental observation:

My View:The first editorial piece usually comprises on three paragraphs.

1)Paragrph
~the first 3-4 lines give the immediate context or basic news
~the next lines of first para give history or basic demographical features of the issue or the topic being dealt with[it is terminologically called "exposition"]
2) Paragraph
~ the second para starts commenting and develops a point or "thesis";it also develops and explains that thesis.

3) Paragraph

~ the third para presents recommndations or brainstorming points in a logical fashion and hecne it concludes.

My view of Dawn editrial page is like above.

I may expect comments!
muhyuddin (Saturday, January 24, 2009)
Old Wednesday, May 09, 2007

@Yasser28

dear bro
dawn has 2-3 editorials on the left [column]of the editorial page and rest(2 to3) are the articles...

while i appreciate your analysis....

3rd paragraph ) BULLS Eye...you are right...but it also includes future analysis.....

bhai sab i was appreciating your comments not criticizing them
Good Analysis .....i wrote just before that post.....mistake on my part that i wrote my comments just before the post.....

@all
Daily Dawns policy has a paramount importance for the css aspirants[they should have an understanding for it].....According to [B]Seemab far Bukhari[/B

"Daily Dawn is considered as professional, commercial and liberal newspaper"
[Book Journalism for CSS, Page:95]

Last edited by Sureshlasi; Saturday, January 12, 2008 at 02:01 AM.

@Dear M.A.N

dear bro
dawn has 2-3 editorials on the left [column]of the editorial page and rest(2 to3) are the articles...
Dear thanks and regards for everything you have said but let me give my point about editorials again.

Dear brother, Dawn has usually two editorials on the page containing Letters to Editor. Visit Dawn's online edition once now to check this.When you would press the link Editorials and there won't be three short pieces but rather 4 or 5. I am not confusing Opinion here with editorial.

By the way, I presume we should not indulge in this dialectics anymore, what do you think?

Take care sweet fellow.

...Yasser

@ In support of my former post

This the result of May 9,2007 material from the link Editorial of Dawn's online edition.

After Monday’s Judgment
Ill-health & low productivity
Taliban’s ban on music
Factors of imbalances and anomalies: A pre-budget discourse — II
And this

Factors of imbalances and anomalies: A pre-budget discourse — II
has been contributed by Shahid Javed Burki though its first part apppeared as Opinion previously.

However,advance apology for breaching my own commitment of not elongating this debate but it is certanily something of relevance for opters of Journalism.

...Yasser

Last edited by Shooting Star; Thursday, March 08, 2012 at 03:27 PM. Reason: merged.

@Yasser28
Dear you are quite right by the reference you made about the online editin of dawn newspaper....

but these two types of editorials have a lot of difference....

"Editorial is the voice of the newspaper"
[Book: Journalism for all, Mehdi Hassan]

and it is written by the owner of the newspaper or the editor.the other editorials are written by specialzed writers...who have the liberty to expand any additional and some times unneccessary details....so

...coming to my point....

the editorials which i mentioned have all the important facts and figures in precise form....and these editorials not only save our time but also give an insight towards various topics....therefore the importance of the articles[as mentioned by dear yasser][editorials] can not be negated.....but you have to save time..."a stich in time saves nine"......

My experiance [css 2 attempts] tells me to guide you fellows in order to get not only command over the Current affairs but also to get good marks in a shorter period of time....

during examination you can not even go through your register[of current affairs] due to lack of time.....and you have to make a precis of even that register just before C.A paper[atleast 1 week before]....omit all irrelevent details and repeatations

Some Institutions[kips+ officers academy etc] give notes on C.A[just before exams] ....to make new precis notes is a good practice to get these notes and add material from your C.A register as well in order to secure good marks.

now problem lies in the fact how to get extra marks....as many aspirants have these notes..

solution] update those precis notes uptill exam day....and you shall get inshallah 60 + Marks in C.A

Q: "Contemporary affairs" and Current affairs digest[dogar] are good books , should aspirants should go for these books

Ans: It all depends on the aspirant...if he has extra bit of time he can go for these books.

Q: Is a Register for C.A Necessary for css Exam

Ans: C.A Register has 5 pronged benefits for the aspirants...

i- Improves your grammar
ii- Improves your English writing speed
iii- Improves Vocabulary
iv- Current Affairs becomes stronger and stronger
v- writing style of C.A developed

Q: How to develop Analysis techniques and get 12+ marks in each question
solution] would be revealed later
chemguy (Monday, August 29, 2011), Malik Iqbal (Saturday, March 31, 2012)

newspapers