Wednesday, April 17, 2024
04:39 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Compulsory Subjects > Current Affairs

Old Tuesday, December 17, 2013
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 1,879 Times in 593 Posts
Naveed_Bhuutto is a jewel in the roughNaveed_Bhuutto is a jewel in the roughNaveed_Bhuutto is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by exclusively View Post
@ Naveed Bhutto

I have prepared these topics scholarly and in highly detailed manner...

1. Pakistan’s Geostrategic Position/Gowadar Port

2. Kashmir Problem (including suggestion-studied it from a research paper with geographical components)

3. Indopak Water Disputes/Water crisis

4. US-Exit strategy from Afghan in 2014 /FATA/Terrorism

I have also covered many other topics but the above would be lethal weapons for fetching good marks... I will have to prepare remaining 6 more topics, my main focus are on those hot topics which are containing maps to attempt...

And please suggest me how to work on Central Asia and South Asia in context of Great Game and Oil Politics. I mean to say how to relate the maps. I have been thinking on since you said that you had drawn maps on first pages in CA and PA papers. Now I have prepared maps but how to draw it on the very first page of PA/CA. Give me hint, I consider you my guru/teacher in CA/PA paper, and inshallah I will follow your strategy..

Please let me know some other topics which are considered the hottest topics for our upcoming attempt?

If you can take out five ten minutes for me to attempt a question which containing map as a sample, I will highly be thankful to you for such a nice kindness

Good job Exclusively
Regarding your question for drawing maps for central and South Asia, yes you can draw a map for South Asia which is very easy, when ever tgere is a question on SAARC or South Asian politics. Becuase you can show almost 5 countries in subcontinent map with a lil alteration(India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal and Bhutan). Baqi countries k lyie thori si mehnat or karni parhti hai.

Regarding Central Asia it would be very difficult to draw its map but if you can do it, that will be a plus. Go through Great Games, creation of OPEC and Yuom Kirpur war in orser to better understand the oil politics and politics of capturing CAR's resources.

Regarding how to draw a map on the 1st page of answer copy I would say k only do it if you can draw the maps neatly. And how to draw them, suppose there is a question again on kashmir issue.

Draw a Map of Kashmir and illustrate is geo-strategic location with division of its various parts

i.e.
Azad Kashmir
jammu and Kashmir
Aksai Chin
ShahksGam
Gilgit Baltistan

And then on the next page start your answer by illustarting that map, it can be the disputed areas, it can be the gep-strategic importance of map or the wars, fought between Pak, India and China on disputed Kashmir.

Regarding Important topic you already have prepared them dear .... Baqi I have a feeling the mstly the questions this time will be general in nature. But Afghan Exit and it Impact, Changing Trend ls of Pak US relation, Iran nuclearization, US Iran ties and Nato supplies for me are issues that needs to be looked forward this time around. (apart from that list of imp topic that i have already shared on forum)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Naveed_Bhuutto is a jewel in the roughNaveed_Bhuutto is a jewel in the roughNaveed_Bhuutto is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by Ammara Khan88 View Post
Thanks for the suggestions. Now can you tell me what is the art of writing an essay? As a matter of fact, i know the rules of essay but i would like to know anything new from your side(if any). Let me know another thing, we are suppose to give critical analysis at the end of each answer, right? Now tell me what should be the sequence of different heading like (Intro+ body+ Critical Analysis+Conclusion) OR (Intro+body+Conclusion+ Critical analysis)???
Here is the link to learn the Art of Essay Writing
http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compu...y-writing.html

Here is the corre t method to answer any question

1. Introduction
2. Background (If required)
3. Body (divide the body of your answer further in 5 to 7 headings at least)
4. Critical Analysis (if demanded)
5. Conclusion.
Ammara Khan88 (Tuesday, December 17, 2013)

Thanked 1,290 Times in 783 Posts
exclusively has a spectacular aura aboutexclusively has a spectacular aura aboutexclusively has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by Naveed_Bhuutto View Post
Good job Exclusively
Regarding your question for drawing maps for central and South Asia, yes you can draw a map for South Asia which is very easy, when ever tgere is a question on SAARC or South Asian politics. Becuase you can show almost 5 countries in subcontinent map with a lil alteration(India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal and Bhutan). Baqi countries k lyie thori si mehnat or karni parhti hai.

Regarding Central Asia it would be very difficult to draw its map but if you can do it, that will be a plus. Go through Great Games, creation of OPEC and Yuom Kirpur war in orser to better understand the oil politics and politics of capturing CAR's resources.

Regarding how to draw a map on the 1st page of answer copy I would say k only do it if you can draw the maps neatly. And how to draw them, suppose there is a question again on kashmir issue.

Draw a Map of Kashmir and illustrate is geo-strategic location with division of its various parts

i.e.
Azad Kashmir
jammu and Kashmir
Aksai Chin
ShahksGam
Gilgit Baltistan

And then on the next page start your answer by illustarting that map, it can be the disputed areas, it can be the gep-strategic importance of map or the wars, fought between Pak, India and China on disputed Kashmir.

Regarding Important topic you already have prepared them dear .... Baqi I have a feeling the mstly the questions this time will be general in nature. But Afghan Exit and it Impact, Changing Trend ls of Pak US relation, Iran nuclearization, US Iran ties and Nato supplies for me are issues that needs to be looked forward this time around. (apart from that list of imp topic that i have already shared on forum)
Once again thank you so much

I am following your style in attempting US History, CA and PA papers. I really like your way of presentation..

Today I have practiced the map of FATA, that how it is affecting our country. The FATA are bordered by: Afghanistan to the west, the North-West Frontier Province and the Punjab to the east, and Balochistan to the south.

I have just crammed this map

If a question is asked about war on terror or even drone attack, then I will be relating this map that how militants perform their activities from this place according to the geostrategic position of FATA and how both Afghanistan and Pakistan have been affected....Done it!

Now my question is that should I draw my map on the very first page before introduction or after introduction. Usually, we always attempt geo strategic position after introduction.. For example, there is a question about Kashmir conflict and its impacts, now I will be attempting this question like this way:

Introduction

Geostrategic Position of Kashmir
Under this outline I draw my map and discuss each and every thing about it that how it affects or related to the India, Pakistan and China and bla bla bla..then

Historical Background of Kashmir

Measure taken by International Community

Kashmir conflict-so far unresolved
I will be discussing its causes in subheadings as well

Effects
socioeconomic and political impacts on India, Pakistan, whole region/south Asia, Central Asia, China, World politics (Trade, commerce, pipelines lines, coastal areas to other countries etc..)

Present Scenario
Now Naveed Sir, as per my understanding, we always discuss present scenario after the introduction like we do in our essay paper, but now I have changed the strategy of it, I think it would be much better to discuss it after effects, then present scenario and in last hurdles and suggestions till conclusion (in conclusion I have collected some quotations, sayings to sum up the topics)

Another way

Introduction

Present Scenario

Historical Background

Geostrategic Position..........Has it been rightly placed?

Measures taken by International community

Measures taken on the regional level

Hurdles

Suggestions

Conclusion

These are the two ways, please let me know which one is the best one in context of Map drawing. I know every question has its own nature, but I just want to know about your style that how did you perform your paper. Please let me know with outlines, I would be thankful to you again for such a nice help..

Thank in anticipation..

Originally Posted by exclusively View Post
Once again thank you so much

I am following your style in attempting US History, CA and PA papers. I really like your way of presentation..

Today I have practiced the map of FATA, that how it is affecting our country. The FATA are bordered by: Afghanistan to the west, the North-West Frontier Province and the Punjab to the east, and Balochistan to the south.

I have just crammed this map

If a question is asked about war on terror or even drone attack, then I will be relating this map that how militants perform their activities from this place according to the geostrategic position of FATA and how both Afghanistan and Pakistan have been affected....Done it!

Now my question is that should I draw my map on the very first page before introduction or after introduction. Usually, we always attempt geo strategic position after introduction.. For example, there is a question about Kashmir conflict and its impacts, now I will be attempting this question like this way:

Introduction

Geostrategic Position of Kashmir
Under this outline I draw my map and discuss each and every thing about it that how it affects or related to the India, Pakistan and China and bla bla bla..then

Historical Background of Kashmir

Measure taken by International Community

Kashmir conflict-so far unresolved
I will be discussing its causes in subheadings as well

Effects
socioeconomic and political impacts on India, Pakistan, whole region/south Asia, Central Asia, China, World politics (Trade, commerce, pipelines lines, coastal areas to other countries etc..)

Present Scenario
Now Naveed Sir, as per my understanding, we always discuss present scenario after the introduction like we do in our essay paper, but now I have changed the strategy of it, I think it would be much better to discuss it after effects, then present scenario and in last hurdles and suggestions till conclusion (in conclusion I have collected some quotations, sayings to sum up the topics)

Another way

Introduction

Present Scenario

Historical Background

Geostrategic Position..........Has it been rightly placed?

Measures taken by International community

Measures taken on the regional level

Hurdles

Suggestions

Conclusion

These are the two ways, please let me know which one is the best one in context of Map drawing. I know every question has its own nature, but I just want to know about your style that how did you perform your paper. Please let me know with outlines, I would be thankful to you again for such a nice help..

Thank in anticipation..
Even i don't learned to draw map of Fata so agood job really.
Map can be drawn on the 1st page or even after intro in somewhere between. Draw it where ever you feel comfortable. I drew maps in CA/PA/geo paper on the very 1st page of my copy.

Now your 2nd question... The order to answer a question

Introduction
Background is always given after intro
Then Present Scenario
Causes
Consequences
Remedies
Critical Analysis
And finally the Conclusion. (This is the correct order for headings, not only in CA but other papers as well)
exclusively (Tuesday, December 17, 2013)

agnes is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Naveed_Bhuutto View Post
Even i don't learned to draw map of Fata so agood job really.
Map can be drawn on the 1st page or even after intro in somewhere between. Draw it where ever you feel comfortable. I drew maps in CA/PA/geo paper on the very 1st page of my copy.

Now your 2nd question... The order to answer a question

Introduction
Background is always given after intro
Then Present Scenario
Causes
Consequences
Remedies
Critical Analysis
And finally the Conclusion. (This is the correct order for headings, not only in CA but other papers as well)
if we draw world map n point out countries on it rather than drawing their maps separately what do you say about this?
Old Wednesday, December 18, 2013

Originally Posted by fouzia23 View Post
if we draw world map n point out countries on it rather than drawing their maps separately what do you say about this?
Yes you can do that when you are quoting various countries but it would really be difficult to be specific and point out a country on such a small scale map specially when it comes to one specific location.
Old Thursday, December 26, 2013

sadafnoorelahi will become famous soon enough

kindly naveed sir, help me with this question. i am unable to find a single suitable article in jwt or else where.please comment and give suggestions

How will "Arab spring" effect the political and security environment in the Arab World?

The "Arab spring" has blossomed and exploded for want of democracy and freedom. (bernado vali)

introduction

Arab spring refers to the series of protests and demonstrations that took place in middle east and north africa, which dismantled the control of authoritative rulers. The movement was initiated in Tunisia following the immolation of an self-employed graduate. protests ensued and spreads like a wild fire in neighbouring countries of north Africa and arab. Zain ulabideen, the ruler of Tunisia fled. Hosni Mubarak of Egypt resigned, muammer qadafi was lynched.

Global Effects of arab spring

• It has inspired series of protests in Caucasian, middle east, asia and even eurpean countries
• The bid to statehood Palestinians was also prompted by arab spring when years of talks failed to produce conducive results
• Occupy wall street and global protests of October 2011 were also instigated by arab spring and they spread to Europe and asia.
• It has also prompted change in intersection in art and politics in Tunisia post 2011.

Possible impact of arab spring

The impact in political and security environment shall be perceived w.r.f to the islamists that garnered much support in electoral process in Tunisia and Egypt in 2011 and 2012 respectively. Even in Libya, alliance of national forces managed to win over muslim brotherhood in 2012, yet there policies too are very much inspired from islamist groups. Islamists refers to the actors who believe that human conduct should be in accordance to sharia. Since, interpretations of sharia are diverse, therefore these islamists also have distinct modus operandi.

In view of the fact, it is believed that future implications on security would be :

• These islamist groups would organize public and private life in accordance to Islamic principles such as prohibition of alcohol, gambling, relations between opposite sexes etc. These would not necessarily effect security situation of neighbouring muslim countries.

• Nonetheless, stringent policies may prompt individuals to migrate from their countries to neighbouring countries. This would be effected by the attitude of the recipient country, which might be attracted to capital or talent.

• Critics are also apprehensive that the rise of power of the islamists in the concerned countries may replicate the “muslim cold war” era of gamal abdul Nasser of Egypt.

Political concerns of arab spring on arab world

• The increasing influence of islamist groups in the arab spring inflicted countries has escalated tensions related to political form of government. Critics are wary that whether islamist would allow democracy to develop roots or it would be displaced by authoritan regime.

• Another political concern is that the muslim countries may unite and may turn out to be a formidable opposition to the west, although the possibility of such an option are rare.
Old Friday, December 27, 2013

Default My Complete Notes

@Sadaf and all other aspirants, I hope this will help you to prepare Arab Spring in a better manner.

Arab Spring - My Short Notes

Major Changes

Regime change: Egypt, Tunisia, Libya and Yemen
Regime Change On the way: Syria
Major political reforms: Morocco
Substantial reforms: Jordan, Bahrain and Algeria;
Minor reforms: Saudi Arabia, Oman and the Palestinian Authority.

Causes Of Arab Revolt

1. Prolong Dictatorship
  2. Absolute monarchy
  3. Human rights violations
  4. Government corruption
  5. economic decline
  6. unemployment
  7. extreme poverty
  8. Famine
  9. Declining Education and increasing Illiteracy

Civil Conflict States

• Bahrain
  • Egypt
  • Tunisia
  • Syria
  • Libya
  • Yemen
Stable States

• Oman
  • UAE
  • Qatar
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Jordan
  • Algeria
  • Iran
  • Kuwait
  • Morocco

Effects of Revolt

• Living standards
  • Literacy rates
  • Increased availability of higher education
  • Human development index
  • Better understanding between government and the people

Tunisia Revolt

• President of Tunisia- Zine al-Abidine Ben Ali, ruled Tunisia for over 25 years and forced from power
  • Revolution
  • Protestor’s suicide (angry with the governments neglect for human welfare)
  • Over 300 citizens died during the revolution
  • Revolution goals- to end poverty, unfair treatment of citizens, gain human rights and political power for the people
  • Musical influence- El General
  • President and wife sentenced to 35 years in jail

Egypt Revolt:

• President Mubarak- ruled Egypt for 30 years
  • Resigned Feb. 11th, 2011
  • Country was governed by the military throughout his reign
  • Revolt Againts
  • High poverty rate
  • Low literacy of population
  • High unemployment
  • 18 days of protest
  • The Facebook Revolution of the Youth;
  • Social networking, Internet, and Intranet;

Libyan Revolt

• 1969- overthrow of the monarchy
  • Led by Colonel Muammar Gaddafi, in power for 40 years
  • Dictatorship- only 1 political party allowed
  • August 2011- Gaddafi fled Tripoli
  • Captured in October and killed
  • ational Transitional Council- revolution leaders and current government of Liyba
  • Most people live in overcrowded cities
  • 1 in 5 people are farmers, but only 1% of the land is farmable
  • Government very controlling- little freedom

Algerian Revolt

• President of Algeria- Abdelaziz Bouteflika
  • Pressured to change the Constitution and limit Presidential power
  • Issues with the government and the people had been brewing for over 19 years
  • Revolution Triggered by high food prices, starvation
  • Small population (elite) controlled the government
  • Riots and protests occurred throughout the country
  • In February, Bouteflika promised changes and freedom of the press.

Yemen

• On March 20, 2011, Ali Abdullah Saleh fired his entire cabinet to try to appease protestors. Signed over power to his deputy on April 23 but refused to hand over power, after ruling for 33 years (took power in 1978).
  • Saleh was injured in a rocket attack, sustained massive burns and was treated in Saudi Arabia.
  • He did not formally step down until last week and new elections have not yet been held. Saleh's deputy Abd-Rabbu Mansour Hadi is the only candidate, in the future elections.

Syria

• Massive repression and death in the thousands as Bashir Al-Assad attempts to hold onto power.
  • Cities of Homs, Damascus, and Hama saw the most intense fighting and deaths in the early days. The Syrian opposition received recognition by many in the world in 2013.
  • Complications: Syria/Israeli borders. Role of Syria in Lebanon, and the Lebanon/Israeli borders (role of Hezbollah), floods of refugees into southern Turkey.

International Reaction to Arab Spring

UN : sanction to Libya
Arab league : accept a mediation by Hugo Chavez
NATO : attack in Libya are assimilated to a crime against humanity
South Korea launched tracts on north Korea about the Arab Spring
US : position of army near the Libyan coast
EU : sanction on Libya, embargo
anum balouch (Monday, February 10, 2014), sadafnoorelahi (Friday, December 27, 2013)