-   English (Precis & Composition) (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compulsory-subjects/english-precis-composition/)
-   -   Problem with my English (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compulsory-subjects/english-precis-composition/112646-problem-my-english.html)

jamalnasir Friday, November 04, 2016 06:32 PM

Problem with my English

After starting my thread in prestigious CSS forum for sit-in in front of FPSC offices, some respected members criticised my English. Although I write articles in World Times magazine and was initially approved for "The Atlantic magazine", but didn't went further because I started preparation for interview because I was confident that I would pass written part of CSS, but unfortunately flunked in English.

When here I was criticized I sent my some précis and comprehensions to my friends who are native English speakers, from the UK and the US, who studied from prestigious universities like John Hopkins University and Oxford, for their comments. They all said that there is no such problem in my English for which I should be failed. Don't know did they give fair reply or they said so that I don't be depress?

I request to senior members and CSPs that please comment that is there really any problem in my English and how it can be solved?

My request is that don't give such comments " Yes your English is weak" or "You don't know the basics of English". Please comment where is the problem, of which level and how it can be solved.

Here I am sharing my 2016 précis and comprehension.

Original text of précis:

During my vacation last May, I had a hard time choosing a tour. Flights to Japan, Hong Kong and Australia are just too common. What I wanted was somewhere exciting and exotic, a place where I could be spared from the holiday tour crowds. I was so happy when Joan called up, suggesting a trip to Cherokee, a county in the state of Oklahoma. I agreed and went off with the preparation immediately.
We took a flight to Cherokee and visited a town called Qualla Boundary Surrounded by magnificent mountain scenery, the town painted a paradise before us. With its Oconaluftee Indian Village reproducing tribal crafts and lifestyles of the 18th century and the outdoor historical pageant Unto These Hillsplaying six times weekly in the summer nights, Qualla Boundary tries to present a brief image of the Cherokee past to the tourists.
Despite the language barrier, we managed to find our way to the souvenir shops with the help of the natives. The shops are filled with rubber tomahawks and colorful traditional war bonnets, made of dyed turkey feathers. Tepees, cone-shaped tents made from animal skin, are also pitched near the shops. "Welcome! Want to get anything ?" We looked up and saw a middle-aged man smiling at us. We were very surprised by his fluent English. He introduced himself as George and we ended up chatting till lunch time when he invited us for lunch at a nearby coffee shop.
"Sometimes, I've to work from morning to sunset during the tour season. Anyway, this is still better off than being a woodcutter ..." Remembrance weighed heavy on George's mind and he went on to tell us that he used to cut firewood for a living but could hardly make ends meet. We learnt from him that the Cherokees do not depend solely on trade for survival. During the tour off-peak period, the tribe would have to try out other means for income. One of the successful ways is the "Bingo Weekend". On the Friday afternoons of the Bingo weekends, a large bingo hall will be opened, attracting huge crowds of people to the various kinds of games like the Super Jackpot and the Warrior Game Special. According to George, these forms of entertainment fetch them great returns.
Our final stop in Qualla Boundary was at the museum where arts, ranging from the simple hand-woven oak baskets to wood and stone carvings of wolves, ravens and other symbols of Cherokee cosmology are displayed.
Back at home, I really missed the place and I would of course look forward to the next trip to another exotic place.

My Précis:

Title: The nostalgia of Cherokee

Précis:
Author writes that in previous May vacation when he wanted to go to a placid place, his friend Joan called him to go to Cherokee. Going by air, they toured Qualla Boundary town of Cherokee, wedged in alpines. It seemed like three centuries in past. Nevertheless of different languages, they found market where there were handicrafts. A young man named George astonished them by welcoming in good English, who invited for lunch. George told that he was a woodcutter and his side business was of a guide. He further told that Cherokees do different businesses, like organising Bingo weekend where people go to play games. Before departure they went to a museum. After return, author was suffering the nostalgia of Cherokee.

Total words: 120

Comprehension 2016

Original text:

The New Year is the time for resolution. Mentally, at least most of us could compile formidable lists of ‘do’s and ‘don’ts’. The same old favorites recur year in and year out with the children, do a thousand and one job about the house, be nice to people we don’t like, drive carefully, and take the dog for a walk every day. Past experience has taught us that certain accomplishments are beyond attainment. If we remain deep rooted liars, it is only because we have so often experienced the frustration that results from failure. Most of us fail in our efforts at self-improvement because our schemes are too ambitious and we never have time to carry them out. We also make the fundamental error of announcing our resolution to everybody so that we look even more foolish when we slip back into our bad old ways. Aware of these pitfalls, this year I attempted to keep my resolution to myself. I limited myself to two modest ambitions, to do physical exercise every morning and to read more in the evening. An overnight party on New Year’s Eve provided me with a good excuse for not carrying out either of these new resolutions on the first day of the year, but on the second, I applied myself assiduously to the task. The daily exercise lasted only eleven minutes and I proposed to do them early in the morning before anyone had got up. The self-discipline required to drag myself out of bed eleven minutes earlier than usual was considerable. Nevertheless, I managed to creep down into the living room for two days before anyone found me out. After jumping about in the carpet and twisted the human frame into uncomfortable positions. I sat down at the breakfast table in an exhausted condition. It was this that betrayed me. The next morning the whole family trooped into watch the performance. That was really unsettling but I fended off the taunts and jibes of the family good humoredly and soon everybody got used to the idea. However, my enthusiasm waned, the time I spent at exercises gradually diminished. Little by little the eleven minutes fell to zero. By January 10th I was back to where I had started from. I argued that if I spent less time exhausting myself at exercises in the morning. I would keep my mind fresh for reading when I got home from work. Resisting the hypnotizing effect of television, I sat in my room for a few evenings with my eyes glued to a book. One night, however, feeling cold and lonely, I went downstairs and sat in front of the television pretending to read. That proved to be my undoing, for I soon got back to the old bad habit of dozing off in front of the screen. I still haven’t given up my resolution to do more reading. In fact, I have just bought a book entitled ‘How to Read a Thousand Words a Minute’. Perhaps it will solve my problem, but I just have not had time to read it.

Questions:

1. Why most of us fail in our efforts for self-improvement?

2. Why is it a basic mistake to announce our resolution to everybody?

3. Why did the writer not carry out his resolution on New Year’s Day?

My answers:

Answer 1. Most of us fail in self-improvement because we cannot manage time to implement on our plan of self-improvement. On the other hand we reveal our plan by telling to others, when we cannot carry on it properly we completely abandon it while being ashamed.

Answer 2. It is a basic mistake to announce our resolution to everybody because if we could not implement it properly and deviate from our resolution, then instead of bucking us up, they start taunting and teasing, due to which we completely relinquish our resolution.

Answer 3. The writer could not carry out his resolution on new year's day because he attended an overnight party on new year's evening and made it his excuse for not waking up early in the morning on the first day of the new year so he skipped his planned routine on the very first day of the year.

Greenboat Friday, November 04, 2016 08:08 PM

I have read your precis. It is well attempted; must be passed. Your title is also apprpriative and you did not make mistake in the very first sentence as well. The flow and vocabulary is better but it could have been even more better if you had usedsome idioms. The standered of vocabulary is fine. Baki I will comment on your comprehension later on.

Candidates are delibrately criticizing you, your composition is not thut bad. In my opinion you are slaughtered in the buthering tradition of FPSC.

As far as you are talking about highly qualified candidates who assesed your composition and papers, they all are right. My friends including M.Phil English literature, another candidate graduated from abroad reputed institution with distingsioned and many others were brutally buthered in composition paper. On the other hand, below average candidates managed to pass composition. This is all fragile assesment done by FPSC and nothing else.

If you have attempt at your dispodal, I would suggest you to go for it, prepare well. In Pakistan, CSS means to gamble your life.

infinite optimism Friday, November 04, 2016 08:55 PM

Dear!let me be very specific.Vocabulary is not that impressive.Besides,i found some terror,tell me if they are typing mistakes.

Qualla boundary,a town(comma is missing)

Nevertheless of different languages(contradicting adverb,cant see any use here,also Comma after nevertheless is not there)

Told that(tell is a transitive verb,not an intransitive)

As i have already commented on your essay in JWT magazines.Your essay was very good in terms of writing.

infinite optimism Friday, November 04, 2016 09:08 PM

A memoir of a visit.

The author's holiday dilemma came to an end when he,along with his friend,visited Qualla Boundary,The beautiful scenes were depicting the culture of the 18th century.,with mountains and old villages.They met George whose shop was ridden with primitive gadgets,such as bayonets and tomahawks.He told the tourists about Bingo Weekend,a show arranged to earn money during tourism slump.Their last destination was an art museum.The visit left him with a lot of memories.

Orig=144
Precis=76

This is a meagre effort on my part.You guys can comment on it.

Greenboat Friday, November 04, 2016 09:11 PM

[QUOTE=infinite optimism;983820]The author's holiday dilemma came to an end when he,along with his friend,visited Qualla Boundary,The beautiful scenes were depicting the cultures of the 18th century.,with mountains and old villages.They met George whose shop was ridden with primitive gadgets,such as bayonets and tomahawks.He told the tourists about Bingo Weekend,a show arranged to earn money during tourism slump.Their last destination was an art museum.The visit left him with a lot of memories.

Orig=144
Precis=76

This is a meagre effort on my part.You guys can comment on it.[/QUOTE]
Is your vocabulary impressive?

To be very honest I liked his precis than that of yours.
YOUR title is also not artistic one.
How many marks did you attain in composition?

infinite optimism Friday, November 04, 2016 09:12 PM

[QUOTE=Greenboat;983804]I have read your precis. It is well attempted; must be passed. Your title is also apprpriative and you did not make mistake in the very first sentence as well. The flow and vocabulary is better but it could have been even more better if you had usedsome idioms. The standered of vocabulary is fine. Baki I will comment on your comprehension later on.

Candidates are delibrately criticizing you, your composition is not thut bad. In my opinion you are slaughtered in the buthering tradition of FPSC.

As far as you are talking about highly qualified candidates who assesed your composition and papers, they all are right. My friends including M.Phil English literature, another candidate graduated from abroad reputed institution with distingsioned and many others were brutally buthered in composition paper. On the other hand, below average candidates managed to pass composition. This is all fragile assesment done by FPSC and nothing else.

If you have attempt at your dispodal, I would suggest you to go for it, prepare well. In Pakistan, CSS means to gamble your life.[/QUOTE]

Studying from abroad does not mean that you will have greatest writing skills.There are no statistics to back your claim.I have seen many students graduating abroad and they look upon Pakistani students with contempt.You should have found better reasons to excuse.

infinite optimism Friday, November 04, 2016 09:15 PM

[QUOTE=Greenboat;983823]Is your vocabulary impressive?

To be very honest I liked his precis than that of yours.
How many marks did you attain in composition?[/QUOTE]

I have not attempted yet,Mr Abroad Pakistani.I was not comparing.Comment on his vocabulary was my own opinion.

infinite optimism Friday, November 04, 2016 09:18 PM

Sorry errors,not terror:dd

Greenboat Friday, November 04, 2016 09:26 PM

[QUOTE=infinite optimism;983826]I have not attempted yet,Mr Abroad Pakistani.I was not comparing.Comment on his vocabulary was my own opinion.[/QUOTE]

By the way I am not abroad Pakistani. I am just a simple Pakistani.

I just gave my opinion what I felt realisticaly. I am not authority at all, you can disagree with me. Probably you dont have idea that what kind of efforts he made. I DONT KNOW who is he? But looking at his write up, which itself tells the story of slaughtering.

Wese apko idea nahi abhi ke bilawaja fail hokar kya feel hota hai jab sari efforts ek pal me khak me miljati hain. Abhi ap ek do attempt dain phir apko FPSC walo ka pata lagna hay then I will ask you!

infinite optimism Friday, November 04, 2016 09:47 PM

[QUOTE=Greenboat;983832]By the way I am not abroad Pakistani. I am just a simple Pakistani.

I just gave my opinion what I felt realisticaly. I am not authority at all, you can disagree with me. Probably you dont have idea that what kind of efforts he made. I DONT KNOW who is he? But looking at his write up, which itself tells the story of slaughtering.

Wese apko idea nahi abhi ke bilawaja fail hokar kya feel hota hai jab sari efforts ek pal me khak me miljati hain. Abhi ap ek do attempt dain phir apko FPSC walo ka pata lagna hay then I will ask you![/QUOTE]

You slammed my precis without giving any reason.I have already lauded his effort on his essay in JWT.But you are whining and moaning,being an extra sentimental.So now, i can guess why you have been failed,because of being whiny,for Objectivity and backing your arguments are key in CSS.You criticized my effort,again without any reason,to show that you are sympathetic towards him,i guess that was the only reason.You are commenting uselessly.

Greenboat Friday, November 04, 2016 11:25 PM

[QUOTE=infinite optimism;983820]The author's holiday dilemma came to an end when he,along with his friend,visited Qualla Boundary,The beautiful scenes were depicting the culture of the 18th century.,with mountains and old villages.They met George whose shop was ridden with primitive gadgets,such as bayonets and tomahawks.He told the tourists about Bingo Weekend,a show arranged to earn money during tourism slump.Their last destination was an art museum.The visit left him with a lot of memories.

Orig=144
Precis=76

This is a meagre effort on my part.You guys can comment on it.[/QUOTE]

First of all I am also new in the horizon of CSS exam. You yorself asked for assessment about your meager effort. You yourself mean it. Please read my comments and yoy will find the meaning in between lines what I said. If you are again asking to assess your piece of writting. Then Ok, let's take a look at your blunders in composition;

As I stated above your title is neither appropriative nor artistic one. It is not a mare memoir of author, it comprises whole scenario of a civilization and its cultural tradition along with other things. Your title is relavent but not comprehensive.

Your first compond sentence is wrong.

[I]The author's holiday dilemma came to an end when he,along with his friend,visited Qualla Boundary,The beautiful scenes were depicting the culture of the 18th century.,with mountains and old villages[/I].

Itna barra sentense hota hay kya woh bhi ghalat? Take a look at it, how many mistakes are there including puntuations?
[I]
The beautiful scenes were depicting the culture of the 18th century.,with mountains and old villages[/I]

Again wrong sentense; the sentense is not conjucted correctly.

[I]
They met George whose shop was ridden with primitive gadgets,such as bayonets and tomahawks[/I].

They met with George hoga.

[I]He told the tourists about Bingo Weekend,a show arranged to earn money during tourism slump[/I].

He told is wrong. You can not narrate here with TOLD.

I think it is enough and am not going to assess your write-up more.

Please don't take my words on heart. You wanted me to do that. If had I intention to criticize you, I would have done it in the very first comment. I am a new aspirant like you, I am also in learning stage. Instead of making wrong judgments, we should help out one another because no one is perfect in anything.

infinite optimism Friday, November 04, 2016 11:51 PM

[QUOTE=Greenboat;983855]First of all I am also new in the horizon of CSS exam. You yorself asked for assessment about your meager effort. You yourself mean it. Please read my comments and yoy will find the meaning in between lines what I said. If you are again asking to assess your piece of writting. Then Ok, let's take a look at your blunders in composition;

As I stated above your title is neither appropriative nor artistic one. It is not a mare memoir of author, it comprises whole scenario of a civilization and its cultural tradition along with other things. Your title is relavent but not comprehensive.

Your first compond sentence is wrong.

The author holiday dilemma came to an end when he,along with his friend,visited Qualla Boundary.The beautiful scenes were depicting the culture of the 18th century,with mountains and old villages

Itna barra sentense hota hay kya woh bhi ghalat? Take a look at it, how many mistakes are there including puntuations?
[I]
The beautiful scenes were depicting the culture of the 18th century.,with mountains and old villages[/I]

Again wrong sentense; the sentense is not conjucted correctly.

[I]
They met George whose shop was ridden with primitive gadgets,such as bayonets and tomahawks[/I].

They met with George hoga.

[I]He told the tourists about Bingo Weekend,a show arranged to earn money during tourism slump[/I].

He told is wrong. You can not narrate here with TOLD.

I think it is enough and am not going to assess your write-up more.

Please don't take my words on heart. You wanted me to do that. If had I intention to criticize you, I would have done it in the very first comment. I am a new aspirant like you, I am also in learning stage. Instead of making wrong judgments, we should help out one another because no one is perfect in anything.[/QUOTE]

Except for punctuation mistakes, which are typing errors,nothing made sense to me.Thank you anyway,looking forward to discussing things with you.
By the way,have you ever heard of interrupters,extra information which can be put after a comma.Do tell me how the first sentence is wrong.

The author holiday dilemma came to an end when he,along with his friend.visited Qualla Boundary.The beautiful scenes were depicting the culture of the 18th century,with mountains and old villages.

Punctuation errors have been removed,now tell what is wrong?

infinite optimism Saturday, November 05, 2016 12:02 AM

Sorry to Jamal Nasir brother for keeping his thread hostage!

infinite optimism Saturday, November 05, 2016 12:26 AM

Being too specefic is not necessarily artistic.

Meet is both int and tran verb,meet sb,check dictionary.

jamalnasir Saturday, November 05, 2016 01:43 AM

Many thanks my dear brothers Greenboat and infinite optimism for analysing my writings. Dear I have already said in other threads that CSS forum is the best platform to learn something, instead of quarreling with one another we should learn something from it.

@Greenboat dear next time I'll try to use idioms in it. Waiting for your comments on comprehension.

@Infinite optimism brother thanks for commenting on my World Times essays and these are not typing mistakes, it's almost same of that which I wrote in the exam. As you are suggesting, now I'll also focus on punctuation. Brother, original text was of 436 words, it was required to make précis of 120 words or less, so I made of 120 words. I don't know from where you got the text of 144 words and made the précis of 76 words. Don't you think that your précis is too short, it should be one third of the original text? If you made from 144 words then it should be of 48 words and you should use synonyms, but you used original words.

Can some CSPs or King makers like Raz or Last Island give comment about it?

infinite optimism Saturday, November 05, 2016 02:03 AM

[QUOTE=jamalnasir;983863]Many thanks my dear brothers Greenboat and infinite optimism for analysing my writings. Dear I have already said in other threads that CSS forum is the best platform to learn something, instead of quarreling with one another we should learn something from it.

@Greenboat dear next time I'll try to use idioms in it. Waiting for your comments on comprehension.

@Infinite optimism brother thanks for commenting on my World Times essays and these are not typing mistakes, it's almost same of that which I wrote in the exam. As you are suggesting, now I'll also focus on punctuation. Brother, original text was of 436 words, it was required to make précis of 120 words or less, so I made of 120 words. I don't know from where you got the text of 144 words and made the précis of 76 words. Don't you think that your précis is too short, it should be one third of the original text? If you made from 144 words then it should be of 48 words and you should use synonyms, but you used original words.

Can some CSPs or King makers like Raz or Last Island give comment about it?[/QUOTE]

My mistake,the original text was 433 words long.Yes,i realized that my precis was too short.As far as original words are concerned,if each word has to be omitted,i will take care of that.However,in my view,it is debatable.

How many attempts are you left with?we will surely dissect topics in great details down the road.

As you said,if CSPs are available to comment on our efforts,it would be a huge help.

Jawad Khalid Saturday, November 05, 2016 02:37 AM

"Although I write articles in World Times magazine and was initially approved for "The Atlantic magazine", but didn't went further because I started preparation for interview because I was confident that I would pass written part of CSS, but unfortunately flunked in English."

Brother I don't think I can guide you properly but i would like to point out a mistake. There is something wrong with your grammar.
In the above sentence you have written "didn't went", this is grammatically wrong. You should have written "didn't go". I have read your other posts as well and I can't explain you your mistakes but there is definitely something wrong with your sentence structure.
I advise you to go to a professional English Language teacher who can guide you in a better way. I don't want to discourage you in anyway but you definitely need to seek professional guidance.

jamalnasir Saturday, November 05, 2016 02:51 AM

@Infinite optimism I Have last chance to appear, but haven't yet planned for the last attempt.

@Jawad Khalid thanks for pointing it out. It was not my error, but it was a blunder. As everyone knows that second form of verb is not used with "didn't". It's one of the basic rules, but I'm surprised how I comitted that mistake? I'll take care of it Inshallah.

Greenboat Saturday, November 05, 2016 09:32 AM

[QUOTE=infinite optimism;983857]Except for punctuation mistakes, which are typing errors,nothing made sense to me.Thank you anyway,looking forward to discussing things with you.
By the way,have you ever heard of interrupters,extra information which can be put after a comma.Do tell me how the first sentence is wrong.

The author holiday dilemma came to an end when he,along with his friend.visited Qualla Boundary.The beautiful scenes were depicting the culture of the 18th century,with mountains and old villages.

Punctuation errors have been removed,now tell what is wrong?[/QUOTE]

Again! you made punctuation mistakes in the same sentense, let me do it in my way.

The auther's holiday dilemma came to an end when he visited Qualla boundry along with his friend. The beautiful senses of the nature and their customs were depicting the culture of 18th centuary.

Seniors or any CSP, please tell me if I am wrong?

jamalnasir Saturday, November 05, 2016 10:25 AM

Still waiting for the comments of King makers

Greenboat Saturday, November 05, 2016 10:52 AM

Jamalnasir what was your score in composition? Please tell me in detailed manner that how many syno, anto, grouping words etc did you correct. Then we can understand how much work you need to project on for your upcoming attempt. It will also help newcomers for getting an idea to pass composition?

jamalnasir Saturday, November 05, 2016 11:04 AM

[QUOTE=jamalnasir;975524]Essay 33
Composition 24
EDS 39
Current Affairs 52
Pakistan Affairs 61
Islamic studies 64

International relations Paper A 56
International relations Paper B 50
Public Administration 53
Indo Pak history 63
Psychology 52

Total 623[/QUOTE]

Brother it's my DMC and 13 out of 20 synonyms/antonyms were correct. Don't know about remaining 7

Sarah Mehar Saturday, November 05, 2016 01:19 PM

This precis has no major grammatical mistake.

PRECIS

Last May, the author and his friend, John visited Cherokee county, Oklahoma - a relatively quieter tourist attraction. They went to the beautiful town of Qualla Boundary, where reenactment of 18th century lifestyle in Oconaluftee Village, introduced tourists to Cherokee’s history. The duo stumbled upon a souvenir shop decorated with traditional artifacts and had lunch with George - the outgoing owner of the shop. George was a former woodcutter, who switched to his current profession due to :cr:cr:cr:cr:cr:cr:cr:cr:crwant of income. George told them that aside from trade, the Cherokee earn extra money through small businesses during the tourist season. Finally, they saw some historic articles in a local museum. On his return, the author longed for the place and hoped for a new adventure.

Topic: An Excursion to Cherokee
Words in Precis : 125

Sarah Mehar Saturday, November 05, 2016 01:40 PM

[QUOTE=Sarah Mehar;983942]PRECIS

Last May, the author and his friend, John visited Cherokee county, Oklahoma - a relatively quieter tourist attraction. They went to the beautiful town of Qualla Boundary, where reenactment of 18th century lifestyle in Oconaluftee Village, introduced tourists to Cherokee’s history. The duo stumbled upon a souvenir shop decorated with traditional artifacts and had lunch with George - the outgoing owner of the shop. George was a former woodcutter, who switched to his current profession due to :cr:cr:cr:cr:cr:cr:cr:cr:crwant of income. George told them that aside from trade, the Cherokee earn extra money through small businesses during the tourist season. Finally, they saw some historic articles in a local museum. On his return, the author longed for the place and hoped for a new adventure.

Reply With Quote[/QUOTE]

Sorry for misplaced smileys.

infinite optimism Saturday, November 05, 2016 01:41 PM

[QUOTE=Greenboat;983907]Again! you made punctuation mistakes in the same sentense, let me do it in my way.

The auther's holiday dilemma came to an end when he visited Qualla boundry along with his friend. The beautiful senses of the nature and their customs were depicting the culture of 18th centuary.

Seniors or any CSP, please tell me if I am wrong?[/QUOTE]

Dear!separating the phrase with comma means that it is not required for the sentence to make sense.The Sentence can stand on its own.Putting it at the end give it importance.

Sarah Mehar Saturday, November 05, 2016 01:46 PM

Author writes that [COLOR="YellowGreen"]in previous May vacation[/COLOR] when he wanted to go to a placid place, his friend Joan [COLOR="YellowGreen"]called him[/COLOR] to go to Cherokee. Going by air, they toured Qualla Boundary [COLOR="YellowGreen"]town of Cherokee, wedged in alpines[/COLOR]. It seemed like three centuries in past. [COLOR="YellowGreen"]Nevertheless of different languages[/COLOR], they found market where there were handicrafts. A young man named George astonished them by welcoming in good English, [COLOR="YellowGreen"]who invited for lunch.[/COLOR] George told that he was a woodcutter and his side business was of a guide. He further told that Cherokees do different businesses, [COLOR="Lime"]like organising Bingo weekend[/COLOR] where people go to play games. Before departure they went to a museum. After return, author was suffering the nostalgia of Cherokee.

I have highlighted some of your mistakes. There are sentences, which need revision.
[LIST][*]Instead of 'called him', use 'advised him'[*]Qualla Boundary - a town of ....[*]"Like[/LIST]Organizing a Bingo weekend". Never give examples in precis.

infinite optimism Saturday, November 05, 2016 02:19 PM

Another mistake that i committed too is an absence of article.

It should An author.

Sarah Mehar Saturday, November 05, 2016 02:21 PM

[QUOTE=infinite optimism;983955]Another mistake that i committed too is an absence of article.

It should An author.[/QUOTE]

Please also assess my precis.

jamalnasir Saturday, November 05, 2016 02:57 PM

Thanks sister Sarah Mehar for giving suggestions and attempting précis, but sorry I am not satisfied with it, I think you couldn't comprehended it properly.

infinite optimism Saturday, November 05, 2016 03:08 PM

Reply With Quote[/QUOTE]

Except for john,which should be enclosed in commas-appositive,i didn't find anything wrong.Nice effort!

jamalnasir Saturday, November 05, 2016 06:28 PM

Reply With Quote[/QUOTE]

In précis narration is changed. The whole paragraph is changed from direct to indirect. If there is past simple tense, then it's changed to past perfect.

Wish you all the best

Sarah Mehar Saturday, November 05, 2016 07:24 PM

[QUOTE=jamalnasir;984029]In précis narration is changed. The whole paragraph is changed from direct to indirect. If there is past simple tense, then it's changed to past perfect.

Wish you all the best[/QUOTE]

Thanks for your review. Is changing narration considered wrong in precis? I thought as long as it is in third person then it was considered fine. Moreover, the writer is narrating events of last May so, how can I write its precis in present tens?

Sarah Mehar Saturday, November 05, 2016 07:29 PM

This is a precis of same paragraph by Muhammad Umair, a member of this forum. His attempt is better than mine. He has also changed narration.

Title: Trip to Cherokee.

The Author had a hard time choosing a tour during his vacation last May. After much deliberation and suggestion from his friend, John, he chose to make a trip to Cherokee. They first visited a town, Qualla boundary, whose natural beauty and tribal culture awestruck them. After that they visited the souvenir shop. Shop contained a range of old, tribal products. Shop keeper, who introduced himself as George, welcomed them and invited them for a lunch after a long chat. George apprised them of his hectic routine during the tour season; his past profession; and about local economy, which depended on multiple sources, including entertainment. Author’s final stop was at a museum where a variety of symbols of Cherokee cosmology were displayed.

jamalnasir Saturday, November 05, 2016 07:39 PM

No my sister, I didn't say that it's wrong to change narration. I said that in précis it is required to change narration. Means it's necessary to change sentences from direct to indirect. As in original text where there is past simple tense, you have to change it to past perfect, but you didn't change past simple to past perfect.

Sarah Mehar Saturday, November 05, 2016 07:53 PM

[QUOTE=jamalnasir;984057]No my sister, I didn't say that it's wrong to change narration. I said that in précis it is required to change narration. Means it's necessary to change sentences from direct to indirect. As in original text where there is past simple tense, you have to change it to past perfect, but you didn't change past simple to past perfect.[/QUOTE]

I see. Again thanks for your reply. Can you please give me an example from my precis? Is it must to change narration in precis? I mean is it a rule?

I am just learning to write precis so, please forgive my naivete. Has Mr Umair done it right?

jamalnasir Saturday, November 05, 2016 08:12 PM

It's not necessary to give example, your almost complete précis is in past simple tense. As far as I know it's necessary to change narration. But any senior would guide better for it.

infinite optimism Saturday, November 05, 2016 08:40 PM

What do you think brother after receiving feedback from this forum and other sources?Do you still hold FPSC responsible for your failure?I am asking these questions because after reading your story and so many other about FPSC insensitive marking criteria,it gets extremely demoralizing for new aspirants.

jamalnasir Saturday, November 05, 2016 09:03 PM

@Brother infinite optimism, according to my friends who are native English speakers there are no such blunders in my précis, although I sent this material to my some other friends who are CSPs. Now waiting for their reply. I think they'll reply after a week. By the way if I do highly strict marking and give minimum marks for my paper, then it would be in this way.

Synonyms/ Antonyms: 13

Précis: 10

Comprehension: 10

Correction: 3

Punctuation: 3

Analogy: 4

Narration: 3

Pair of words: 3

Idioms: 3

Translation: 5

Total: 57

Sarah Mehar Saturday, November 05, 2016 09:34 PM

Thanks everyone.

I request other members to please check my precis.

Original text of précis:

During my vacation last May, I had a hard time choosing a tour. Flights to Japan, Hong Kong and Australia are just too common. What I wanted was somewhere exciting and exotic, a place where I could be spared from the holiday tour crowds. I was so happy when Joan called up, suggesting a trip to Cherokee, a county in the state of Oklahoma. I agreed and went off with the preparation immediately.
We took a flight to Cherokee and visited a town called Qualla Boundary Surrounded by magnificent mountain scenery, the town painted a paradise before us. With its Oconaluftee Indian Village reproducing tribal crafts and lifestyles of the 18th century and the outdoor historical pageant Unto These Hillsplaying six times weekly in the summer nights, Qualla Boundary tries to present a brief image of the Cherokee past to the tourists.
Despite the language barrier, we managed to find our way to the souvenir shops with the help of the natives. The shops are filled with rubber tomahawks and colorful traditional war bonnets, made of dyed turkey feathers. Tepees, cone-shaped tents made from animal skin, are also pitched near the shops. "Welcome! Want to get anything ?" We looked up and saw a middle-aged man smiling at us. We were very surprised by his fluent English. He introduced himself as George and we ended up chatting till lunch time when he invited us for lunch at a nearby coffee shop.
"Sometimes, I've to work from morning to sunset during the tour season. Anyway, this is still better off than being a woodcutter ..." Remembrance weighed heavy on George's mind and he went on to tell us that he used to cut firewood for a living but could hardly make ends meet. We learnt from him that the Cherokees do not depend solely on trade for survival. During the tour off-peak period, the tribe would have to try out other means for income. One of the successful ways is the "Bingo Weekend". On the Friday afternoons of the Bingo weekends, a large bingo hall will be opened, attracting huge crowds of people to the various kinds of games like the Super Jackpot and the Warrior Game Special. According to George, these forms of entertainment fetch them great returns.
Our final stop in Qualla Boundary was at the museum where arts, ranging from the simple hand-woven oak baskets to wood and stone carvings of wolves, ravens and other symbols of Cherokee cosmology are displayed.
Back at home, I really missed the place and I would of course look forward to the next trip to another exotic place.

PRECIS

Last May, the author and his friend, John visited Cherokee county, Oklahoma - a relatively quieter tourist attraction. They went to the beautiful town of Qualla Boundary, where reenactment of 18th century lifestyle in Oconaluftee Village, introduced tourists to Cherokee’s history. The duo stumbled upon a souvenir shop decorated with traditional artifacts and had lunch with George - the outgoing owner of the shop. George was a former woodcutter, who switched to his current profession due to want of income. George told them that aside from trade, the Cherokee earn extra money through small businesses during the tourist season. Finally, they saw some historic articles in a local museum. On his return, the author longed for the place and hoped for a new adventure.

Please check if there is any mistake related to narration.

gintino Thursday, November 17, 2016 09:02 PM

Decent precis! If I were the examiner, I would pass it.

And the precis by Umair is good, too. Did you appear in '16?

10:19 PM (GMT +5)