Thursday, April 18, 2024
05:11 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Compulsory Subjects > English (Precis & Composition) > Expansion/Paragraph

Old Monday, March 16, 2009

dr.atifrana is a jewel in the roughdr.atifrana is a jewel in the roughdr.atifrana is a jewel in the rough
Default Seniors Kindly check my Paragraph's Questions answers

EXAMINATION 1990

2. Read the following passage carefully and answer any four questions given at the end as briefly as possible. 10
Mountbatten was taking his family to Simla to snatch a few days’ rest. He had brought with him a copy of the Draft Plan for the transfer of power (which he had sent to London for approval). Menon had come up and they were expecting Nehru for the weekend. Mountbattcn was delighted that Edwina (his wife) and Jawaharlal had taken to each other so much. It could
only help his work, and it seemed to do them both so much good.
Nehru himself had been in fine form. Mieville and George Nicolis (Principal Secretary to the Viceroy and Deputy Personal secretary to the Viceroy respectively) had shown some -dismay at Viceroy’s openness with the Indian leader but Mountbatten chose to ignore them. Despite his continuing optimism for the Plan, Menon's contention that it would not be well received by the Congress had given him more than usual pause for thought. After dinner on Saturday night, he invited Nehru in the Viceregal Lodge for a nightcap. The Viceroy handed Nehru his drink, and then quite suddenly crossed the room to the safe and unlocked it, taking out the Draft Plan handed him the papers (giving free run his instinct whatever the result). Nehru took the Draft Plan eagerly and sat down with it. immersing himself in it immediately. Mountbatten watched him... The Indian had stopped reading the
Plan, and was riffling angrily through the final pages. His face was-drawn and pale. Mountbatten was shaken. He had never seen Nehru so furious.
Nehru made an effort to control himself.... ‘I will try to summarise my thoughts tonight and leave you a note of my objections. This much I can tell you now: Congress will never agree to plan of India’s fragmentation into a host of little states'. The following day, the Viceroy sat on the secluded rear terrace of Viceregal Lodge while V. P. Menon read over Nehru’s promise memorandum of objections. ‘Mr. Nehru only questions certain Section of the Plan, said Menon.‘Yes — the key ones!’ snapped Mountbatten. ‘Look we have tO redraft and resubmit immediately,- in the light of his comments. Can you do it?” ‘Very well, Your Excellency,’ said Menon. ‘..-... I want it (the fresh draft) by six O’clock this evening.’
a) How did Lord Mountbatten view the relationship between his wife, Lady Edwina and Jawaharalal Nehru? -
b) How did the officers on the staff of Lord Mountbatten view his close relationship with Nehru and what was Mountbatten’s reaction to it? -
c) Why did Lord Mountbatten show the Draft Plan to Nehru?
d) Did Lord Mountbatten show the Draft Plan to Quaid-e-Azam? If not, what will -the showing of secret Draft Plan to Nehru alone will be called?
e) What motivated the drawing up of a fresh Plan for transfer of power?
f) Within what time was the fresh plan prepared and by whom?
g) Was the person who drew up the fresh plan, under orders of Mountbatten, a neutral and impartial person, not connected with any Indian community?
a)Mountbatten with open mindedness accepted the friendship between Edwina and Nehru, and thought it conducive for attaining his political means.

b)The officers on the staff of Mountbatten were very much disappointed on Mountbatten’s openness with Nehru. But Mountbatten ignored their views.

c)He was sure that his plan would be accepted by the congress, but when the Menon contended that Congress would not accept such draft, he showed it to Nehru to see his response on it so that he could knew the Congress view on it beforehand.

d)No, he did not show the draft to Quaid-i-Azam .His concealing of the draft from Jinnah and only showing that to Nehru reveals that he wants to take Congress into confidence before Muslim league’s approval.

e)His apprehension that the draft might be rejected by Congress motivated him to make a new draft that would be acceptable to Congress.
Menon was assigned the task of preparing a fresh draft plan and he had to prepare by six O’ clock that evening.

f)No, he had drafted the new draft plan under the orders of Mountbatten who was inclined to Hindu Indian community.

rgds
Atif Rana
Old Tuesday, March 17, 2009
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2008 - 4th in Sindh UrbanMedal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

Arif Rao is a jewel in the roughArif Rao is a jewel in the roughArif Rao is a jewel in the rough
Default @dr.atifrana

Dear Dr Sb,
you have made a fine attempt indeed. Just after a quick reading I came to following points:

d) I think a proper name should have been given to Batten's plan (e.g. treacherous or betrayal to the Muslims' cause)

e)His apprehension that the draft might be rejected by Congress motivated him to make a new draft that would be acceptable to Congress.
whose apprehensions?
dr.atifrana (Tuesday, March 17, 2009)
Old Tuesday, March 17, 2009

dr.atifrana is a jewel in the roughdr.atifrana is a jewel in the roughdr.atifrana is a jewel in the rough

Assalam u Aleykum,

@Arif Rao
Sir,thanks for the appreciation.It will be very helpful for us if you(CSS Qualifiers ) give us due concentration).plz, can you suggest ,how should we divide our time for solving different questions in this paper.
And what is most important in this paper.

whose apprehensions?
sir, I was actually pointing to Mountbatten when I used pronoun (his).
Old Wednesday, March 18, 2009
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 1,681 Times in 873 Posts
AFRMS has much to be proud ofAFRMS has much to be proud ofAFRMS has much to be proud ofAFRMS has much to be proud ofAFRMS has much to be proud ofAFRMS has much to be proud ofAFRMS has much to be proud ofAFRMS has much to be proud ofAFRMS has much to be proud of

salam
@dr atif rana.
well its a good attempt,this is a relatively easy paragraph,but i think you have done well.keep on practicing that is the key to getting good score in english.lets see how you do from 2000-2008 comprehensions.
best wishes for your preparation.
Old Thursday, March 19, 2009

@afrms
Thank you ,sir for the admiration.Now ,I have solved the questions from 2000 paper.After solving I reach to the conclusion that this section of the paper is not so easy as I considerd it so.Kindly check it, I will be anticipating your comments.Other CSS qualifiers are also requested to make suggestions.

2. Read the following passage and answer the questions given at the end in your own words. (20)
The vitality of any teaching, or historical movement, depends upon what it affirms rather than upon what it denies, and its survival and continued power will often mean that its positives are insufficiently regarded by opposing schools. The grand positives of Bentham were benevolence and veracity: the passion for the relief of man’s estate, and the passion for truth. Bent ham’s multifarious activities, pursued without abatement to the end of a long life, were inspired by a "dominant and all-comprehensive desire for the amelioration of human life"; they were inspired, too, by the belief that he had found the key to all moral truth. This institution, this custom, this code, this system of legislation-- does it promotes human happiness? Then it is sound. This theory, this creed, this moral teaching – does it rightly explain why virtue is admirable, or why duty is obligatory? The limitation of Bentham can be gauged by his dismissal of all poetry (and most religion) as "misrepresentation’; this is his negative side. But benevolence and veracity are Supreme Values, and if it falls to one of the deniers to be their special advocate, the believers must have long been drowsed. Bentham believes the Church teaches children insincerity by making them affirm what they cannot possibly understand or mean. They promise, for example, to fulfill the undertaking of their god---parents, that they will "renounce the devil and all his works, the pomps and vanity of this wicked world" etc. ‘The Devil" Bentham comments: " who or what is he, and how is it that he is renounced?" Has the child happened to have any dealings with him? Let the Archbishop of Canterbury tell us, and let him further explain how his own "works" are distinguished from the aforesaid "Pomps and Vanity". What king, what Lords Temporal or Spiritual, have ever renounced them? (Basil Willey)

(a) What does the writer mean by the following expressions:

Multifarious activities, amelioration of human Life, it is sound, be their special advocate, Renounce the devil, drowsed, gauged, aforesaid.

On what grounds does Bentham believe that the Church Teaches children insincerity?
Ans:Bentham believes the Church teaches children insincerity because it makes them affirm what they cannot possibly understand or mean.

(c) What is Bentham’s philosophy based upon?
Ans:He says that the vitality of any teaching, or historical movement, depends upon what it affirms rather than upon what it denies, and its survival and continued power will often mean that its positives are insufficiently regarded by opposing schools.

What according to the writer is Bentham’s limitation?
He in his philosophy sets certain limitations which are_ if any institution,any custom, any code or any system of legislation promotes human happiness then it is correct ;and if any theory ,any creed or any moral teaching rightly explains that why the vitue is admired or why duty is obligatory, then it is true and all else is misrepresentation.

(d) In what context has the Archbishop of Canterbury been quoted i.e. is he praised or condemned?He says that the church teaches childern that they should renounce the pomp and vanity of this temporal world then why some of the childern who after getting education from the church and attaining the positions of kings, temporal lords or spiritual lords do not renounce the pomp and vanity of this world that they have learnt from the church. So, in this context he praises as well as condemns the Archbishop .He praises becouse the church renounces the pomp and vanity and condemns because its students follow the pomp and vanity.
a)
Multifarious activities:different types of activities.
amelioration of human Life: betterment of human life.
it is sound: it is good,it is correct,it is right.
be their special advocate:to be their special supporter.
, Renounce the devil: stop following the devil, leave devil,
drowsed:not in senses,sleeeping, not aware.
, gauged:assessed, evaluated
, aforesaid:that has been mentioned or said before.or that has been discussed before.
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2008 - Merit 267 (10th in Baluchistan)

razdar_hai is on a distinguished road
Default Gud Attempt

(c) What is Bentham’s philosophy based upon?
Ans:He says that the vitality of any teaching, or historical movement, depends upon what it affirms rather than upon what it denies, and its survival and continued power will often mean that its positives are insufficiently regarded by opposing schools.
THIS ANS IS INCORRECT....BENTHAMS PHILOSOPHY IS BASED ON THE WELFARE OF THE SOCIETY AND GREATEST HAPPINESS OF THE GREATEST NUMBER....
What according to the writer is Bentham’s limitation?
He in his philosophy sets certain limitations which are_ if any institution,any custom, any code or any system of legislation promotes human happiness then it is correct ;and if any theory ,any creed or any moral teaching rightly explains that why the vitue is admired or why duty is obligatory, then it is true and all else is misrepresentation
DEAR YOUR ANSWER IS VERY COMPLICATED.IT IS NOT NECESSARY TO WRITE EVERY SINGLE WORD OF THE PASSAGE U SHOULD TAKE THE GIST OF IT N CAN WRITE IN YOUR OWN WORDS

(a) What does the writer mean by the following expressions:

Multifarious activities, amelioration of human Life, it is sound, be their special advocate, Renounce the devil, drowsed, gauged, aforesaid.
YOU HAVE GIVEN ONLY THE LITERAL MEANINGS OF THESE WORDS,IT SHOULD BE IN CONTEXT OF THE PASSAGE

Last edited by Shooting Star; Tuesday, May 08, 2012 at 11:55 PM.

@razdar_hai
thank you very much for checking my answers, appreciating my attempt and giving your valuable suggestions.In the first question ,I was really confused .I think people who have studied Bantham can answer it easily, but for me it was very difficult to get the point.
for question in which meanings of expressions is asked ,can you just give me one example ,how should i do it.

Old Friday, March 20, 2009
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

AFRMS has much to be proud ofAFRMS has much to be proud ofAFRMS has much to be proud ofAFRMS has much to be proud ofAFRMS has much to be proud ofAFRMS has much to be proud ofAFRMS has much to be proud ofAFRMS has much to be proud ofAFRMS has much to be proud of

salam
dr atif rana
first let me correct you i am not sir i am miss afrms.
these are not the perfect answers as i have read the para once and come up with this,
this is to show you how can you extract the meaning and make it simple.

church makes them(children) insincere and limits their imagination telling them only what they can uderstand.
bentham's philosohpy is based upon serving humanity,helping humanity his philosophy is for the betterment of society.
the limitation of bentham's philosophy is that it focuses mainly on laws and code that promote human happiness and negates poetry and religion and thinks it to be a misinterpretation

rest is ok you need to make a link of the words with that of the passage.
i am not expert but let me give you few tips.
read the paragraph as many times as you can then read the question.after this try to answer the questions without looking at the passage in your own words.
never use the same expression bring novelty and make it easy.avoid jargons and cliched i.e balanced and simple approach.
you must understand the meaning and what the writer is trying to say.
you need practice and after 5-6 paragraph try to put time limit like 35-40 min and then see how you manage it.
i only practiced one paragraph before my paper ,i had no time you have plenty of time so keep on practicing.tell me what is the time you gave this para.
The Following User Says Thank You to AFRMS For This Useful Post:
dr.atifrana (Friday, March 20, 2009)

Assalam u aleykum
@Miss afrms
I am very happy that you are giving us due consideration, it will surely reward you in this world and in the hereafter.I noted my mistakes in the previous passege and while solving this passage I tried to concentrate on those tips that you told me .kindly check this and opine .It has taken more then 1 hour( exactly if I say, about 1 hr and 25 minuts where as the previous passege took only one hr ).Now I am much worried about what shall I do in exam as this question takes more than 1 hr in average.And kindly suggest some shortcuts for this question. Razdar is also requested to check my passege.

2. Read the following passage and answer the questions given at the end in your own words. (20)

Poetry is the language of imagination and the passions. It relates to whatever gives immediate pleasure or pain to human min. it comes home to the bosoms and business of men: for nothing but what comes home to them in the most general and intelligible shape can be a subject of poetry. Poetry is the universal language which the heart holds with nature and itself. He who has a contempt for poetry cannot have much respect for himself or for anything else. Whatever there is a sense of beauty, or power, or harmony, as in the motion of the waves of the sea, in the growth of a flower, there is a poetry in its birth. If history is a grave study, poetry may be said to be graver, its materials lie deeper, and are spread wider. History treats, for the most part, cumbersome and unwieldy masses of things, the empty cases in which the affairs of the world are packed, under the heads of intrigue or war, in different states, and from century to century but there is no thought or feeling that can have entered into the mind of man which he would be eager to communicate to others, or they would listen to with delight, that is not a fit subject for poetry. It is not a branch of authorship: it is “the stuff of which our life is made”. The rest is mere oblivision, a dead letter, for all that is worth remembering gin life is the poetry of it. Fear is Poetry, hope is poetry, love is poetry; hatred is poetry. Poetry is that fine particle within us that expands, refines, raises our whole being; without “man’s life is poor as beasts”. In fact, man is a poetical animal. The child Is a poet when he first plays hide and seek, or repeats the story of Jack the Giant Killer, the shepherd – boy is a poet when he first crowns his mistress with a garland of flowers; the countryman when he stops he stops to look at the rainbow; the miser when he hugs his gold; the courtier when he builds his hope upon a smile; the vain, the ambitious the proud, the choleric man, the hero and the coward, the beggar and the king, all live in a world of their own making; and the poet does no more than describe what all others think and act. Hazlitt

(a) In what sense is poetry the language of the imagination and the passion?
(b) How is poetry the Universal Language of the heart?
(c) What is the difference between history and poetry?
(d) Explain the phrase: “Man is a poetical animal”.
(e) What are some of the actions which Hazlitt calls poetry and its doers poet?
(f) Explain the followings underlined expression in the passage.
(i) It relates to whatever gives immediate pleasure or pain to human heart
(ii) A sense of beauty, or power, or harmony.
(iii) Cumbersome and unwieldy masses of things.
(iv) It is the stuff of which our life is made.
(v) The poet does no more than describe what all others think and act.

a) In what sense is poetry the language of the imagination and the passion?
Ans:Because poetry depicts your feelings and thoughts.

b) How is poetry the Universal Language of the heart?

Ans:It is the universal language of the heart because every body in this world feels the same feelings of love, hatred , anger or any type of feeling in the same way as others do and almost thinks in the same way as others think although their views differ .And poetry depicts all this.

(c) What is the difference between history and poetry?

Ans:History only records the events and affairs of life and is quite borring and difficult to understand and it does not arouse any feeling.Where as poetry is interesting and depicts your feelings and thoughts.

(d) Explain the phrase: “Man is a poetical animal”.

Ans:The writter says that without poetry man is beast.And it is poetry which develops his thoughts and feelings and ultimately brings him to the status of poetical animal.He was trying to make us understand that if beast knew poetry it would become man.

(e) What are some of the actions which Hazlitt calls poetry and its doers poet?
He calls a child poet when he plays hide and seek or when he repeates some story; he calls the newly wed shepherd_boy a poet when he imagins her wife as a queen;he calls a courtier a poet when he courts his patron and so on.

(f) Explain the followings underlined expression in the passage.

(i) It relates to whatever gives immediate pleasure or pain to human heart
Ans:In poetry a man expresses his thoughts and feelings of happiness or melancholy.

(ii) A sense of beauty, or power, or harmony.
Ans:What ever we sense whether it be of beauty like in growing flower or it be of vigour or harmony like in the too and fro motion of waves in sea ,all is poetry.

(iii) Cumbersome and unwieldy masses of things.
Ans:Here writer explains about history that it is complex and many events are depicted in such way which does not arouse any feeling and are difficult to digest and so causes boredom.

(iv) It is the stuff of which our life is made.
Ans:Here writter says that the history is only the record of our affairs and events .

(v) The poet does no more than describe what all others think and act.[/B]
Here he says that the poet only presents the thoughts and actions of man in his poetry and there is nothing unique in it.

salam
@Dr atif rana
well i am very busy these days i will check your passage Inshallah, like i said earlier that i am not an expert,but i will give you suggestions,i am also a learner like you.i can see your passion and the effort you are putting in by typing it all on forum.May Allah bless you and give you reward for hard work.
yes you are right this part takes lot of time it took me exactly an hour to do comprehension ,if you are well prepared you can do the grammer part like ,pair of words,direct indirect.....in an hour or so.so have to manage the rest in slightly over two hrs so you see you have to manage time ,thats the key.
keep on practicing and take out three hours of your day and take any previous english paper and solve it,this practice will give you exact idea how will you manage the paper in the examination hall.
be prepared never take this paper easy ,best wishes for your preparation.hope others that are preparaing for 2009 will take part in this fruitful activity.
regards.
The Following User Says Thank You to AFRMS For This Useful Post:
dr.atifrana (Friday, March 20, 2009)