-   Grammar-Section (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compulsory-subjects/english-precis-composition/grammar-section/)
-   -   Error correction (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compulsory-subjects/english-precis-composition/grammar-section/66505-error-correction.html)

alihashmatkhoso Wednesday, August 01, 2012 05:05 PM

Error correction

[B][COLOR="Purple"]
1-I have no any friend
2-He gets a less salary
3-Of the two plans this is the best
4- He is becoming strong everyday
5-Much efforts bring their reward
6- we should love the God
7-Man is a member of the society
8-your lovely friend
9-Ganges is a river
10-He is wiser than me[/COLOR][/B]

[B][COLOR="blue"]correct these sentences[/COLOR][/B]

Shaw Wednesday, August 01, 2012 08:08 PM

[QUOTE=alihashmatkhoso;461145][B][COLOR="Purple"]
1-I have no any friend
2-He gets a less salary
8-your lovely friend
9-Ganges is a river

[B][COLOR="blue"]correct these sentences[/COLOR][/B][/QUOTE]

[B][COLOR="DarkSlateGray"]1. I do not have any friend.
2. He gets a small salary.
3. Of the two plans, this is better.
4. He is becoming stronger everyday.
5. Lots of efforts/Tough effort bring them reward.
6. We should love God.
7. Man is a member of society.
8. Your loving friend.
9. The Ganges is a river.
10. He is wiser than I.[/COLOR][/B]

Farrukh Aziz Wednesday, August 01, 2012 08:19 PM

1-I have no any friend
2-He gets a less salary
8-your lovely friend
9-Ganges is a river

Correction:
1-I have no friend or I have not any friend or I do not have any friend.
2-He gets a small salary.
3-Of the two plans this is the better.
4- He is becoming stronger everyday.
5-Many efforts bring their reward.
6- We should love God.
7-Man is a member of society.
8-Your loving friend.
9-The Ganges is a river.
10-He is wiser than I am.

cssravian Wednesday, August 01, 2012 11:25 PM

1-I have no any friend
2-He gets a less salary
8-your lovely friend
9-Ganges is a river

I have no friend.
He gets a less amount of salary
In these two plans this one is the best.
He becomes stronger day after day.
A lot of efforts bring their reward
We should love God.
A man is the member of a society.
Your's lovely friend.
The Ganges is a river.
He is wiser than I.

Saqib Riaz Thursday, August 02, 2012 01:02 AM

1-I have no any friend
2-He gets a less salary
8-your lovely friend
9-Ganges is a river

[B]1. I don't have any friend
2. He gets low salary
3. Out of these two, this is better plan.
4. He becomes stronger day by day
5. A lot of efforts bring them reward.
6. We should love GOD
7. Man is the member of the society
8. Your loving friend
9. The Ganges is a river
10. He is wiser than I [/B]

alihashmatkhoso Thursday, August 02, 2012 07:00 PM

[B][COLOR="Navy"]CORRECT SENTENCES ARE[/COLOR][/B]

[COLOR="Purple"]
1-I have no friend
2-He gets a small salary
3-Of the two plans this is the better
4-He is becoming stronger every day
5- Much effort brings its reward
6-We should love God
7-Man is a member of society.
8-your loving friend
9-The Ganges is a river
10-He is wiser than i [/COLOR]

alihashmatkhoso Thursday, August 02, 2012 07:08 PM

[B][SIZE="4"][COLOR="Black"]
Frrukh-8
Shaw-8
Cssravian-4
Saqib-4[/COLOR][/SIZE][/B]

cssravian Thursday, August 02, 2012 08:22 PM

@alihashmatkhoso would you like to explain your correction of tenses with an authentic source of Grammar rules.

alihashmatkhoso Thursday, August 02, 2012 08:25 PM

[QUOTE=cssravian;461688]@alihashmatkhoso would you like to explain your correction of tenses with an authentic source of Grammar rules.[/QUOTE]
yes, point out those sentences which you needed for explanation...

cssravian Thursday, August 02, 2012 08:29 PM

[QUOTE=alihashmatkhoso;461692]yes, point out those sentences which you needed for explanation...[/QUOTE]

Which you know please explain.

Farrukh Aziz Thursday, August 02, 2012 08:38 PM

kindly explain

Dear AliHashmat Khoso I have studied in "Oxford Practice Grammar" that both the forms "than me" and "than I am" can be used. Both are accurate. But you have explained it as "than I" .So I am rather confused about it.Kindly elaborate. Regards

alihashmatkhoso Thursday, August 02, 2012 10:38 PM

[QUOTE=Farrukh Aziz;461701]Dear AliHashmat Khoso I have studied in "Oxford Practice Grammar" that both the forms "than me" and "than I am" can be used. Both are accurate. But you have explained it as "than I" .So I am rather confused about it.Kindly elaborate. Regards[/QUOTE]
no dear i is right, i did same mistake in bukhari's academy. sir bukhari sahb point out that. further if you have exploring the world of english, then please go through it.....

alihashmatkhoso Friday, August 03, 2012 07:55 PM

[COLOR="Navy"][B][SIZE="4"]CORRECT THE FOLLOWING SENTENCES[/SIZE][/B]
[/COLOR]

[COLOR="Purple"][B]
1-My tooth is paining
2-He gave a speach
3-Columbus invented America
4-He lived there for a day
5-He made a goal
6-HE did not fault
7-Open the light
8-I won him in the race
9-He plays good
10-He took out his shoes[/B][/COLOR]

khankhajjak Friday, August 03, 2012 08:12 PM

1-My tooth is [B]aching[/B]
2-He gave a [B]speech[/B]
3-Columbus [B]discovered [/B]America
4-He lived there for a day (no idea)
5-He [B]scored [/B]a goal
6-HE did not [B]find [/B]fault
7-[B]switch on[/B] the light
8-I won [B]to [/B]him in the race
9-He plays [B]well[/B]
10-He took [B]off [/B]his shoes

Farrukh Aziz Friday, August 03, 2012 08:37 PM

[B]1-My tooth is aching.
2-He made/ delivered/gave a speech.
3-Columbus discovered America.
4-He stayed there for a day.
5-He scored a goal.
6-He did not have fault. (what is the nature of this sentence? I have not got it properly.)
7-switch on the light
8-I won from/ against him in the race
9-He plays well.
10-He took off his shoes.[/B]

alihashmatkhoso Saturday, August 04, 2012 04:40 PM

[B][COLOR="Lime"]CORRECT[/COLOR][/B]

[COLOR="DarkGreen"][B]
1-My tooth is aching
2-He made a speech
3-Columbus discovered America
4-he stayed there for a day
5-He scored a goal
6-He committed no fault
7- Switch on the light
8-I beat him in the race
9-He plays well
10-He took of his shoes [/B][/COLOR]

Farrukh Aziz Saturday, August 04, 2012 07:47 PM

10-He took of his shoes.

Dear, for my money, it should be "off" in place of "of" in the above sentence, shouldn't it?

alihashmatkhoso Saturday, August 04, 2012 08:00 PM

[QUOTE=Farrukh Aziz;462481]10-He took of his shoes.

Dear, for my money, it should be "off" in place of "of" in the above sentence, shouldn't it?[/QUOTE]
yes dear it is typing mistake. sorry and furrukh post here sentences for correction......

Farrukh Aziz Saturday, August 04, 2012 08:28 PM

[SIZE="6"]Correct the following:[/SIZE]

[B]1. She exclaimed surprisingly saying that she has lost her job and has fallen in a fix.
2. The Pakistan army invaded Indian army in 1971.
3. The Assistant Commissioner of Thul has built this monumental tower in collaboration of ASP.
4.As soon as I rolled up, I saw her embrace him.
5. Bird in hand is worth two in bush.
6.We import machineries from Punjab to Sindh.
7.He absented from the class.
8.SSP Sukkur, Pir Muhammad Shah, is Dabang of Sindh.[/B]

Farrah Zafar Saturday, August 04, 2012 09:33 PM

[QUOTE=Farrukh Aziz;462498][SIZE="6"]Correct the following:[/SIZE]

[B]1. She exclaimed surprisingly saying that she has lost her job and has fallen in a fix.
[/QUOTE]

She exclaimed surprisingly that she had lost her job and had fallen in a fix.

[QUOTE]2. The Pakistan army invaded Indian army in 1971. [/QUOTE]

The Pakistan army had invaded Indian army in 1971.

[QUOTE]3. The Assistant Commissioner of Thul has built this monumental tower in collaboration of ASP.[/QUOTE]

The Assistant Commissioner of Thul has built this monumental tower in collaboration with ASP.

[QUOTE]4.As soon as I rolled up, I saw her embrace him.
[/QUOTE]

As soon as I rolled up, I saw her embracing him.

[QUOTE]5. Bird in hand is worth two in bush.[/QUOTE]

A bird in the hand is worth two in the bush

[QUOTE]6.We import machineries from Punjab to Sindh.[/QUOTE]

We import the machineries from Punjab into Sindh.

[QUOTE]7.He absented from the class.[/QUOTE]

He absented himself from the class.

[QUOTE]8.SSP Sukkur, Pir Muhammad Shah, is Dabang of Sindh.[/B][/QUOTE]

[B]SSP Sukkur, Pir Muhammad Shah is Dabang of Sindh.[/B]

Ali Mallah Sunday, August 05, 2012 01:47 AM

[QUOTE=Farrah Zafar;462529]
We import the machineries from Punjab into Sindh.[/QUOTE]

I think machinery should be used instead of machineries, as machinery means components of machines and collection of machines.

Farrah Zafar Sunday, August 05, 2012 01:12 PM

[QUOTE=alimallah;462630]I think machinery should be used instead of machineries, as machinery means components of machines and collection of machines.[/QUOTE]

I also thought to replace machineries but couldn't get the reason.Your point is right.

alihashmatkhoso Sunday, August 05, 2012 01:53 PM

3. The Assistant Commissioner of Thul has built this monumental tower in collaboration of ASP.
8.SSP Sukkur, Pir Muhammad Shah, is Dabang of Sindh.[/B][/QUOTE]
1-She exclaimed surprisingly saying that she had lost her job and had fallen in a fix.
2-Pakistan army invaded Indian army in 1971.
3-Assistant Commissioner of Thul has built this monumental tower in collaboration with ASP.
4- no sooner I rolled up, I saw her embracing him.
5-A bird in the hand is worth two in the bush.
6-We import machinery from Punjab to Sindh.
7-He absented in the class.
8-SSP Sukkur, Pir Muhammad Shah is Dabang of Sindh.

Farrukh Aziz Sunday, August 05, 2012 04:23 PM

[SIZE="5"]All the respectable members are requested to participate in Correcting sentences.[/SIZE]

Saqib Riaz Sunday, August 05, 2012 04:37 PM

6.We import machinery from Punjab to Sindh.

1,She exclaimed surprisingly that she had lost her job and fallen in a fix.
2. The Pakistan Army had invaded Indian army in 1971.
3. The assistant commissioner of Thul has built this monumental tower in collaboration with ASP
4. As soon as I rolled up, I saw her embracing him
5. A bird in hand is worth two in bush
6, We imported machineries from Punjab into Sindh
7. He absented himself from the class
9. SSP Sukar, pir Muhammad Shah is Dabang of Sindh

mushtaque ahmed solangi Sunday, August 05, 2012 05:52 PM

please correct it

The camel is ____________ ship of the desert.

(A) a
(B) an
(C) the
(D) not

Qazi Sunday, August 05, 2012 06:04 PM

[QUOTE=mushtaque ahmed solangi;462829]Choose the correct option.

The camel is ____________ ship of the desert.

(A) a
(B) an
(C) the
(D) not[/QUOTE]

The camel is [B]the[/B] ship of the desert.

Farrukh Aziz Monday, August 06, 2012 02:04 AM

[B]CORRECT ANSWERS[/B]

[B]1. She exclaimed sorrowfully saying that she had lost her job and had fallen in a fix.
2. The Pakistan army attacked the Indian army in 1971. [B](invade is used for places)[/B]
3. The Assistant Commissioner of Thul has built this monumental tower in collaboration with ASP.
4.As soon as I rolled up, I saw her embracing him.
5. A bird in the hand is worth two in the bush.
6. We import machinery from Punjab into Sindh.
7. He absented himself from the class.
8. SSP Sukkur, Pir Muhammad Shah, is the Dabang of Sindh. (Reason:Proper noun (Dabang) used as a common one)[/B]

Farrah Zafar Monday, August 06, 2012 12:28 PM

[QUOTE=Farrukh Aziz;462992][B]CORRECT ANSWERS[/B]

[B]1. She exclaimed sorrowfully saying that she had lost her job and had fallen in a fix.
2. The Pakistan army attacked the Indian army in 1971. [B](invade is used for places)[/B]
3. The Assistant Commissioner of Thul has built this monumental tower in collaboration with ASP.
4.As soon as I rolled up, I saw her embracing him.
5. A bird in the hand is worth two in the bush.
6. We import machinery from Punjab into Sindh.
7. He absented himself from the class.
8. SSP Sukkur, Pir Muhammad Shah, is the Dabang of Sindh. (Reason:Proper noun (Dabang) used as a common one)[/B][/QUOTE]

Have you consulted any book for these answers?

[I][U]She exclaimed sorrowfully [B]saying[/B] that she had lost her job and had fallen in a fix.[/U][/I]

I think [B]saying[/B] should be omitted.

Farrukh Aziz Monday, August 06, 2012 01:26 PM

Yes I have come across this sort of sentences many times.

Farrukh Aziz Monday, August 06, 2012 01:28 PM

Yes we can omit.But if we leave it the same,it is also correct.

Farrah Zafar Monday, August 06, 2012 01:35 PM

[QUOTE=Farrukh Aziz;463130]Yes I have come across this sort of sentences many times.[/QUOTE]

It means you have not checked them specifically from any book.It would be better if you take the sentences from that book which has its correct answers too.

Keep it up !

Farrukh Aziz Monday, August 06, 2012 02:47 PM

[B]Ms. Farah Actually I post only those sentences I am sure about.Otherwise I keep the sentences, that are not known to me, at arm's length. Thanks for your kind suggestion and further i will try to put the proposal given by you into action. Regards[/B]

ssara Monday, August 06, 2012 05:27 PM

[QUOTE=alihashmatkhoso;461145][B][COLOR=Purple]
1-I have no any friend
2-He gets a less salary
8-your lovely friend
9-Ganges is a river

[B][COLOR=blue]correct these sentences[/COLOR][/B][/QUOTE]

1- I do not have friend. or I do not have got friend? I have no friend? (which is correct)

2-He gets a small salary.

3-It is better plan of the two.

4-He has been becoming strongly everyday.

5-Much efforts bring its reward.

6-We should love God.

7-A man is member of society. (Men is member of society)

8-Your loving friend.

9-The ganges is a river.

10-He is wiser than I.
[I][COLOR=YellowGreen][B]
Please do correct If I have attempted wrong and give explanations that where I have done mistake. Thanks.
[/B][/COLOR][/I]
[B][I][COLOR=DimGray]Sweet alihashmatkhoso, Thanks for your invitation and this is the best practice I appreciate you and I am here owing to your invitation.

Be Blessed......

[/COLOR][/I][/B]

[QUOTE=alihashmatkhoso;462112][COLOR=Navy][B][SIZE=4]CORRECT THE FOLLOWING SENTENCES[/SIZE][/B]
[/COLOR]

[COLOR=Purple][B]
1-My tooth is paining
2-He gave a speach
3-Columbus invented America
4-He lived there for a day
5-He made a goal
6-HE did not fault
7-Open the light
8-I won him in the race
9-He plays good
10-He took out his shoes[/B][/COLOR][/QUOTE]

[COLOR=Blue][B]1-My tooth is aching...( I have toothache)

2-He made a speech.

3-Columbus discovered America.

4-He stayed there for a day.

5-He scored a goal.

6-He had no fault. or He committed no fault.

7-Switch on the light.

8-I beat(beat ka 3rd form to beaten he......kya second form b beat he?) him in a race.

9-He plays well.

10-He took off his shoes.
[/B][/COLOR]

[B][I][COLOR=DimGray]Please do correct, If I am wrong with explanation......

Thanks Regard......
[/COLOR][/I][/B]

[QUOTE=Farrukh Aziz;462498][SIZE=6]Correct the following:[/SIZE]

[B][COLOR=Blue]1.She exclaimed sorrowfully that she had lost her job and had fallen in a fix.

2.(the? I think the nahi aega)Pakistan army attacked the Indian army in 1971.

3.The Assistant commissioner of Thul has built this monumental tower in collaboration wit ASP.

4-As soon as I rulled up, I saw her (for) embracing him.

5-A bird in the hand worth two in bush.

6-We import machinery from (the? the lage ga ya nae for punjab bc it is meaning ful noun) Punjab into/to Sindh.

7-He himself absented from the class./ He absented himself from the class. (Which is right?)

8- SSP Sukkur, Pir Muhammad Shah, is the dabang of Sindh. [/COLOR][/B]
[B][I][COLOR=DimGray]

Please correct the above with a little brief

Thanks.....
Regards...
[/COLOR][/I][/B]

Farrukh Aziz Monday, August 06, 2012 06:56 PM

Correction

[QUOTE=ssara;463253][B][COLOR="Blue"]1.She exclaimed sorrowfully that she had lost her job and had fallen in a fix.

2.(the? I think the nahi aega)Pakistan army attacked the Indian army in 1971.[B][COLOR="Blue"][COLOR="Green"]('The' can be used here because we are referring to Pak army rather than pakistan as a proper noun)[/COLOR][/B][/COLOR]

3.The Assistant commissioner of Thul has built this monumental tower in collaboration wit ASP.

4-As soon as I [COLOR="Blue"]rulled [/COLOR]up, I saw her (for) embracing him.[B][COLOR="Blue"] [COLOR="Green"](I saw her embracing her. for is incorrect)[/COLOR][/B][/COLOR]
5-A bird in the hand worth two in [[COLOR="Green"]COLOR="Blue"]the[/COLOR] bush.[/COLOR]

6-We import machinery from (the? the lage ga ya nae for punjab bc it is meaning ful noun) Punjab into Sindh.[B][COLOR="Blue"] [COLOR="Green"](into is correct. The cannot be used with punjab as it is a proper noun.)[/COLOR][/B][/COLOR]

7-He himself absented from the class./ He absented himself from the class. (Which is right?) [B][COLOR="Blue"][COLOR="Green"](second one is accurate)[/COLOR][/B][/COLOR]

8- SSP Sukkur, Pir Muhammad Shah, is the dabang of Sindh. [/COLOR][/B]
[B][I][COLOR="DimGray"] [B](Right)[/B]

Please correct the above with a little brief

Thanks.....
Regards...
[/COLOR][/I][/B][/QUOTE]
I have also posted the correct answers. You can check them too. Regards

07:11 AM (GMT +5)