CSS Forums Friday, May 24, 2013
12:01 PM (GMT +5)

Home   Beginner's Guide   Rules   Syllabus   Past Papers   CSP Members  

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Compulsory Subjects > English (Precis & Composition) > Grammar-Section

Reply Share this thread on: Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook     Submit Thread to del.icio.us del.icio.us     Submit Thread to Google Google     Submit Thread to Digg Digg     Submit Thread to StumbleUpon StumbleUpon    

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old Sunday, August 19, 2012

Farrukh Aziz will become famous soon enough

Thanks a lot Zuhaib Bhai . I will try to tell you the source regarding it soon Inshallah.Kindly take part in others given above Regards..

Ahmed Faisal has a spectacular aura aboutAhmed Faisal has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by humma khan View Post
police is a collective noun,. so how are could b used ??
if we consider police as a organization of number of people we must use "ARE"
as when we think of individual,s business we use
My business is good now a days.
but when we take it as collective, we use:
The Business of Textile are bad now a days.
"Our Lord, give us the good in this world and the good in the hereafter." (Al-Qur'an, 2:201).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
The Following User Says Thank You to Ahmed Faisal For This Useful Post:
seher bano (Wednesday, August 22, 2012)

shah has a spectacular aura aboutshah has a spectacular aura aboutshah has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by Ahmed Faisal View Post
if we consider police as a organization of number of people we must use "ARE"
as when we think of individual,s business we use
My business is good now a days.
but when we take it as collective, we use:
The Business of Textile are bad now a days.
As per functional english rules police is proper noun (name of organization) and sometimes as collective noun according to usage but in both cases use "is" with police .
for instance ; police is corrupt .
we don't write it as police are corrupt .
we use are with policemen not with police
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
The Following User Says Thank You to shah For This Useful Post:
Waqas77 (Saturday, October 13, 2012)

bl chughtai is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Farrukh Aziz View Post
Correct All of the sentences given below:

1. Have you heard a story about a girl having no shade?
2. This was the first time I saw her in Lahore during a party arranged by our
company.
3. "No matter wherever the notorious dacoit goes, I will catch him." says,SSP
Sukkur, Pir Muhammad Shah.
4. Nowadays, the more students are coming from Sindh and from interior
Punjab to Lahore to join preparatory academies for CSS.
5. You know, I have been married to you for ten years but still I have not
understood what kind of person are you?
6. A great deal of time and money I will need in future to bring this project to
a close.
7. He cannot speak English fluently yet after all these years of study.
8. Both ASP and Assistant Commissioner of Thul were not present in the
reception given in honour of the newly elected MPA.
its a humble request to you to give only five sentences for correction as the people who are liked me whose grammer is not much batter can take part easily on daily bases.i hope you will understand.

Farrukh Aziz will become famous soon enough

Ok but this time do participate in these. And other members why are you so reluctant?

Ahmed Faisal has a spectacular aura aboutAhmed Faisal has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by shah View Post
As per functional english rules police is proper noun (name of organization) and sometimes as collective noun according to usage but in both cases use "is" with police .
for instance ; police is corrupt .
we don't write it as police are corrupt .
we use are with policemen not with police
Some nouns with a singular form, referring to groups of some kind, can be used with either a singular or plural form of the verb:
e.g. The Council has(or have) postponed a decision on the new road.

We use a singular verb if the focus is on the institution or organization as a whole unit, and a plural verb if the focus is on a collection of individuals. Often you can use either with very little difference in meaning, although in formal contexts (such as academic writing) it is more common to use a singular verb. Other words like this, sometimes called collective nouns, included army, association, audience, class , cub, college, committee, community, company, crew, crowd, department, electorate, enemy, family, , government, press, public, university , and the names of specific organization such a the bank, BBC etc...

In some contexts a plural form of the verb is needed. we would say:
The Committee usually raise their hands to vote 'Yes'. (not the committee usually raises its hands.)
as this is something that the individuals do, not the committee as a whole. in others, a singular form is preferred. We would say:
The School is to close next year (not the School are to close...
as we are talking about something which happens to the school as a building or institution, not to the individuals in the schools..
I hope you got it now
"Our Lord, give us the good in this world and the good in the hereafter." (Al-Qur'an, 2:201).
Old Monday, August 20, 2012

shah has a spectacular aura aboutshah has a spectacular aura aboutshah has a spectacular aura about

Some nouns with a singular form, referring to groups of some kind, can be used with either a singular or plural form of the verb:
e.g. The Council has(or have) postponed a decision on the new road.

We use a singular verb if the focus is on the institution or organization as a whole unit, and a plural verb if the focus is on a collection of individuals. Often you can use either with very little difference in meaning, although in formal contexts (such as academic writing) it is more common to use a singular verb. Other words like this, sometimes called collective nouns, included army, association, audience, class , cub, college, committee, community, company, crew, crowd, department, electorate, enemy, family, , government, press, public, university , and the names of specific organization such a the bank, BBC etc...

The Committee usually raise their hands to vote 'Yes'. (not the committee usually raises its hands.)
as this is something that the individuals do, not the committee as a whole. in others, a singular form is preferred. We would say:
as we are talking about something which happens to the school as a building or institution, not to the individuals in the schools..
I hope you got it now
I got your point but brother common usage is somewhat different from functional rules and dear just tell me what is collective noun ? should we use singular helping verb with collective nouns or plural ?
here is another view ; when use "are" with committee it's not as you earlier mentioned the committee usually raise their hands to vote , but dude but it is the committee usually raises its hands to vote . as we are talking about collectively about nouns
we use are when individuals of any collective noun are stressed like ; "the members of the committee usually raises their hands to vote .
brother i am just not firing bazookas in the air have a bit knowledge about the functions rules usages in detail . May be you are right i am wrong

Taimur Khan Wazir is on a distinguished road

1. You speak English good.
2. I didn’t meet nobody.
3. Do you like a glass of wine?
4. The house isn’t enough big.
5.The police is coming.

I think it is like,
1. You speak good English.
2. I didn't meet anybody.
3. Would you like a glass of wine?
4. The police is approaching.

[QUOTE=shah;468497]I got your point but brother common usage is somewhat different from functional rules and dear just tell me what is collective noun ?
collective nouns, included army, association, audience, class , cub, college, committee, community, company, crew, crowd, department, electorate, enemy, family, , government, press, public, university , and the names of specific organization such a the bank, BBC etc...

should we use singular helping verb with collective nouns or plural ?

We use a singular verb if the focus is on the institution or organization as a whole unit, and a plural verb if the focus is on a collection of individuals. Often you can use either with very little difference in meaning

in others, a singular form is preferred. We would say:

we use are when individuals of any collective noun are stressed like ; the members of the committee usually raises their hands to vote .
your this sentence is categorically incorrect, as we say
they go to school ( not they goes to school).
Similar here,
The members of the Committee usually raise their hands to vote. For one thing, there are more than one individuals so we can not use raises but raise.
[QUOTE]

shah:I got your point but brother common usage is somewhat different from functional rules and dear just tell me what is collective noun ?
ahmad:collective nouns, included army, association, audience, class , cub, college, committee, community, company, crew, crowd, department, electorate, enemy, family, , government, press, public, university , and the names of specific organization such a the bank, BBC etc...

shah:should we use singular helping verb with collective nouns or plural ?

ahamd:We use a singular verb if the focus is on the institution or organization as a whole unit, and a plural verb if the focus is on a collection of individuals. Often you can use either with very little difference in meaning

in others, a singular form is preferred. We would say:

we use are when individuals of any collective noun are stressed like ; the members of the committee usually raises their hands to vote .
your this sentence is categorically incorrect, as we say
they go to school ( not they goes to school).
Similar here,
The members of the Committee usually raise their hands to vote. For one thing, there are more than one individuals so we can not use raises but raise.

brother you answered my questions well individually but not in context :
let me make it easy for you; my stress was on individuals and organization so as yours but brother the sentence you mentioned the committee raises their hand to vote in this particular sentence it's all about committee not about members we use are when members of the committee are mentioned in the sentence "hope you got my point now"