-   Grammar-Section (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compulsory-subjects/english-precis-composition/grammar-section/)
-   -   correct the following sentence (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compulsory-subjects/english-precis-composition/grammar-section/82201-correct-following-sentence.html)

alihashmatkhoso Sunday, July 21, 2013 02:31 PM

correct the following sentence

[B]
1. The prime minister was accompanied with the members of his cabinet.
2.His lecture was accompanied by subtle analysis of concept..
3. he is annoyed at his younger brother.
4. there are two nurses to attend at this patient.
5.the district magistrate has authority on the committee.
6. many parents are blind on the fault of their children.
7. he communicated his opinion with me.
8.life is compared with a battle.
9. i shall confer on him about important topics.
10. i cannot entrust my property with my uncle ...

:waiting [/B]

Jolie Dame Sunday, July 21, 2013 03:54 PM

1. The prime minister was accompanied by the members of his cabinet.
2. His lecture was accompanied with subtle analysis of concept.
3. He is annoyed with his younger brother.
4. There are two nurses to attend this patient.
5. The district magistrate has authority over the committee.
6. Many parents are blind for the fault of their children.
7. He communicated his opinion with me.
8. Life is compared to a battle.
9. I shall confer him about important topics.
10. I cannot entrust my property to my uncle.

kandhroqadeerahmed Sunday, July 21, 2013 04:28 PM

1. The prime minister was accompanied with the members of his cabinet.
The prime minister was accompanied by the ministers of his cabinet.
2.His lecture was accompanied by subtle analysis of concept..
His lecture was accompanied with subtle analysis of concept.(Here "accompany" means to supplement and it will be followed by "with")
3. he is annoyed at his younger brother.
He is annoyed with his younger brother
4. there are two nurses to attend at this patient.
There are two nurses to attend to this patient.
5.the district magistrate has authority on the committee.
The magistrate has authority over the committee.
6. many parents are blind on the fault of their children.
Many parents are blind to the faults of their childrens.
7. he communicated his opinion with me.
He communicated his opinion to me.
8.life is compared with a battle.
Life is compared to a battle. (copmared to= balancing sth to sth,, Compared with= liken)
9. i shall confer on him about important topics.
I shall confer with him about important topics.
10. i cannot entrust my property with my uncle ...
I cannot entrust my property to my uncle.

Correction in the note of sentence no 8.
(copmared to= liken; to regard sth similar to other e.g "America is compared to China" it means both the countries are regarded as similar,, Compared with= balancing sth to sth; find differences or similarity e.g "He compared gin with rum" it means gin and rum are two different alcohal drinks .)

[QUOTE=Jolie Dame;628455]1. The prime minister was accompanied by the members of his cabinet.
2. His lecture was accompanied with subtle analysis of concept.
3. He is annoyed with his younger brother.
4. There are two nurses to attend this patient.
5. The district magistrate has authority over the committee.
6. Many parents are blind for the fault of their children.
7. He communicated his opinion with me.
8. Life is compared to a battle.
9. I shall confer him about important topics.
10. I cannot entrust my property to my uncle.[/QUOTE]
To Jolie Dame
Plz correct prepositions in sentence no 4,6,7 and 9..See my sentences.

Jolie Dame Sunday, July 21, 2013 05:48 PM

We will use preposition after "attend"...?

alihashmatkhoso Sunday, July 21, 2013 06:29 PM

[B][COLOR="DarkGreen"]correction, if any one have any confusion or objection pertaining to these sentences, one can post his/her objections.... [/COLOR][/B]

[B]1. The prime minister was accompanied by the members of his cabinet.
( reason accompanied by (for living things) and accompanied with (for things)

2..His lecture was accompanied with subtle analysis of concept..

3.he is annoyed with his younger brother. reason annoyed with (for a person) annoyed at (for something)

4. there are two nurses to attend on this patient. reason(attend on for service) and attend to (duties, lessons, works.)

5..the district magistrate has authority over the committee. reason authority on for (subject) and authority over (for legal or moral)

6.. many parents are blind to the fault of their children. reason ( blind to for mentally and blind of for physically)

7.. he communicated his opinion to me... reason (communicate with to make correspondence ) and communicate to ( to convey)

8...life is compared to a battle. reason compare to( for dissimilar things and compare with for similar things..

9..i shall confer with him about important topics. reason(confer on (to give) confer with (a person)

10.. i cannot entrust my property to my uncle ... reason (entrust to (in case of things and entrust with for a person )[/B]

alihashmatkhoso Sunday, July 21, 2013 11:37 PM

[B][B]
[COLOR="Navy"]correct the following
[/COLOR][/B]
1.where are those fifty rupees i lent you?
2. twice three are six
3. the army was defeated and fled
4.if i were him, i wouldn't do it
5.haseeb is our mutual friend
6.one must keep one's words
7. i have met him last month
8. he is very keen to go abroad
9.we have ordered for many books
10 .Shakespeare is compared to virgil...[/B]

Jolie Dame Monday, July 22, 2013 11:52 AM

[I]Where are those fifty rupees which I had lent you?[/I]

2. twice three are six
[I]Twice three is/make six[/I]

3. The army was defeated and fled
[I]The army fled after defeat.[/I]

[I]If I were him, i woudn't have done it.[/I]

5. haseeb is our mutual friend
Cant find mistake in it. i think it's right.

[I]One must keep one's word.[/I]

[I]I met him last month.[/I]

8. he is very keen to go abroad.
Don't know

[I]We have ordered many books.[/I]

10 .Shakespeare is compared to virgil
[I]Shakespeare is compared with Virgil[/I]

kandhroqadeerahmed Tuesday, July 23, 2013 12:19 AM

Alihashmat "attend to" will be used in sentence no 4. Attend to means care(refer to oxford dictionary 7th edition). The patient needs care not service.

alihashmatkhoso Tuesday, July 23, 2013 04:27 PM

[QUOTE=kandhroqadeerahmed;628940]Alihashmat "attend to" will be used in sentence no 4. Attend to means care(refer to oxford dictionary 7th edition). The patient needs care not service.[/QUOTE]
[B]there are two nurses attend on this patient, here we are talking about nurses and nurses have to provide their service. thus it should be on not to and further, first confirm dictionary either it is authentic i mean either it is a original oxford dictionary or sindhi oxford dictionary.... check it again

stay blessed [/B]

alihashmatkhoso Tuesday, July 23, 2013 04:44 PM

[QUOTE=alihashmatkhoso;628588][B][B]
[COLOR="Navy"]correct the following
[/COLOR][/B]
2. twice three are six
3. the army was defeated and fled
5.haseeb is our mutual friend
8. he is very keen to go abroad
10 .Shakespeare is compared to virgil...[/B][/QUOTE]
[B][COLOR="DarkGreen"]correction [/COLOR][/B]
[B][COLOR="Navy"]1.where is that fifty rupees i lent you?
Reason (when we talk about we consider it to be a single thing(an amount ) not fifty separate things…)
2. twice three is six
Reason (this mean product of three multiply by two so the subject is singular and are should be is)
3. the army was defeated and made to flee
Reason( was defeated is passive voice which must be followed by passive voice thus it is made to flee or put to flee)

4.if i were he, i wouldn't do it
Reason( the complement of verb (to be) when expressed by a pronoun, should be in the subjective case )

5.haseeb is our common friend
Reason (mutual is feeling the same thing emotion or doing same thing to or for each other so we can say mutual respect not mutual friend

6.one must keep one's word
Reason( one’s word is correct idiom)

7. i met him last month
Reason (when definite time is given , we use past indefinite tense )

8. he is very keen on going abroad
Reason (keen is always followed by a preposition or which in turn , is followed by ing form of the verb

9.we have ordered many books
Reason(no preposition after order )

10 .Shakespeare is compared with virgil..
Reason (compare with is use for similar things )
[/COLOR][/B]

kandhroqadeerahmed Tuesday, July 23, 2013 11:56 PM

[QUOTE=alihashmatkhoso;629169][B]there are two nurses attend on this patient, here we are talking about nurses and nurses have to provide their service. thus it should be on not to and further, first confirm dictionary either it is authentic i mean either it is a original oxford dictionary or sindhi oxford dictionary.... check it again

stay blessed [/B][/QUOTE]
It's childish what you said about authentication. I already told you to refer to Oxford 7th ediction dictionary but you tried to take the mickey out of me. Anyways, you are requested to post those sentences you yourself are aware of them. Stay blessed.

Last Island Wednesday, July 24, 2013 12:18 AM

[QUOTE=kandhroqadeerahmed;629387]It's childish what you said about authentication. I already told you to refer to Oxford 7th ediction dictionary but you tried to take the mickey out of me. Anyways, you are requested to post those sentences you yourself are aware of them. Stay blessed.[/QUOTE]

Here, "Attend on" is the correct phrase.

alihashmatkhoso Monday, August 05, 2013 02:03 AM

correct the following

[B]1-the company has cut away our sui gas connection..
2-let us do out the evil customs
3- he is always at my back and calls
4- he has turned dawn three applicants
5-i have a good doctor attending at me
6-the committee is divided on this issue.
7-riches has wings
8- he did many mischiefs
9- chief justice gave him many advices.
10-six miles are a long distance .. [/B]

comp Engr Monday, August 05, 2013 02:31 AM

zohaib babar

[QUOTE=alihashmatkhoso;634460]correct the following

2-
7-riches has wings
8- he did many mischiefs
10-six miles are a long distance .. [/B][/QUOTE]

Salam

He did many mischieves.
Chief Justice Has given him much advises.
He has turned down three applicants.
Riches have wings.
Six miles are long distance.
I have a good doctor to examine me.
The company has cut off our sui gas connection.
The committee is divided regarding this issue.
He always calls me back.

Farrukh Aziz Monday, August 05, 2013 03:06 AM

7-riches has wings
8- he did many mischiefs

[B][SIZE="3"]1. not sure--------- "Cut away" seems correct, or merely "cut our sui gas"
2. Let us [COLOR="Blue"]do away[/COLOR] the evil customs.
3. He is always at my [COLOR="Blue"]beck and call.[/COLOR]
4. He has [COLOR="Blue"]turned down[/COLOR] three applicants.
5. I have a good doctor[COLOR="Blue"] attending to[/COLOR] me (or without preposition it is also correct)
6. The committee [COLOR="Blue"]are[/COLOR] divided on this issue.
7. Riches [COLOR="Blue"]have[/COLOR] wings.
8. He did/made much mischief. (Mischief is an uncountable noun)
9. The chief justice gave him much/a great deal of/ a lot advice.
10. Six miles [COLOR="Blue"]is[/COLOR] a long distance.[/SIZE][/B]

Jolie Dame Monday, August 05, 2013 11:00 AM

7-riches has wings
8- he did many mischiefs

1-the company has cut away our Sui gas connection.
2-let us do away with the evil customs (an idiom)
3- he is always at my beck and call (its an idiom)
4- he has turned down three applicants
5-i have a good doctor attending on me (as you told previously, for services we use "attend on")
6-the committee are divided on this issue (When collective nouns are used for separate members, they take plural verb)
7- riches have wings (wealth, money, resources, riches followed by plural verb)
8- he did many acts of mischief (some nouns take suitable words)
9- chief justice gave him many pieces of advice (pieces of advice is a suitable word rather than advices)
10-six miles is a long distance (chay meel lamba fasla huta hai not chay meel lambay faslay hutay hain)

alihashmatkhoso Tuesday, August 06, 2013 03:10 AM

[B]
1-the company has cut off our sui gas connection..( cut of means ,to destroy, to stop)
2-let us do away the evil customs ( do away means to remove, to vain)
3- he is always at my back and call ( an idiom )
4- he has turned away three applicants (turned away means to dismiss)
5-i have a good doctor attending on me (already explained )
6-the committee is divided on this issue.( When collective nouns are used for separate members, they take plural verb)
7-riches have wings ( riches is always plural )
8- he did manypf act mischief ( there is not any word like mischief )
9- chief justice gave him many peace of advice.(above same reason )
10-six miles is a long distance ..( here we are talking about the distance not separate miles thus it should be singular)
[/B]

[B][SIZE="3"][COLOR="Green"]well done
Jolie Dame,Farrukh Aziz and com engr .indeed good work kindly check your errors
stay blessed
[/COLOR][/SIZE][/B]

alihashmatkhoso Tuesday, August 20, 2013 07:36 PM

correct the following

[B]
1.L.A. Hill wrote a best book
2.little money is better thing
3. he got cent percent marks.
4. she is regarded the tallest woman in the street.
5. you had better to stop talking
6.he shaved himself in the morning
7. who do you want to see
8.the two brothers hated one another
9.people should love each other
10. one must do his duty . [/B]

aniqa hashmi Tuesday, August 20, 2013 07:41 PM

members we use "AN" with vowels and "A" with rest of vowels. but with word university we use A instead of AN. why is it so?

alihashmatkhoso Tuesday, August 20, 2013 07:47 PM

[QUOTE=aniqa hashmi;639328]members we use "AN" with vowels and "A" with rest of vowels. but with word university we use A instead of AN. why is it so?[/QUOTE]
[B]on the score of its pronunciation, [/B]

isha saeed Tuesday, August 20, 2013 08:34 PM

[QUOTE=aniqa hashmi;639328]members we use "AN" with vowels and "A" with rest of vowels. but with word university we use A instead of AN. why is it so?[/QUOTE]
[B][I]Because Urdu main jo [U]U[/U] ki voice dy un ky sath [U]an[/U] ni lagaty.
jesy[U] Europe.[/U]
Hope you got it.[/I][/B]

Bilal Hassan Tuesday, August 20, 2013 08:53 PM

[COLOR="Blue"][SIZE="3"][B]
Dear it was an old practice to use An only with vowels, which is wrong.....
We use An with those words that are spoken from the throat, now these words that are spoken from the throat may take vowels like orange or consonants like M.A Economics.....

So dear now use An with those words that come from the throat, irrespective of whether those start with a vowel or a consonant.

Stay Blessed.[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR]

alihashmatkhoso Tuesday, August 20, 2013 11:38 PM

correct hte following .....
[B]1.L.A. Hill wrote a best book
10. one must do his duty .
[/B]

Farrukh Aziz Wednesday, August 21, 2013 07:41 AM

[B][FONT="Comic Sans MS"][SIZE="3"]1. L.A. Hill wrote the best book or a very good book.
2. A little money is a better thing.
3. He got hundred percent marks. [COLOR="RoyalBlue"](Dear, As far as i have heard, Cent percent is not used by the native speakers, rather it common in India ad Pak.)[/COLOR]
4. She is regarded as the tallest woman in the street.
5. You had better stop talking.
6.He shaved in the morning. [COLOR="RoyalBlue"]("Shave" doesn't tend to be used with the compound personal pronoun--reflexive pronouns) [/COLOR]
7. Whom do you want to see?
8.The two brothers hated each other.
9.People should love one another.
10.One must do one's duty.[/SIZE][/FONT][/B]

Please correct me if i am wrong.

alihashmatkhoso Thursday, August 22, 2013 12:17 PM

[QUOTE]1.L.A. Hill wrote a best book
10. one must do his duty .[/QUOTE]

[B]1.L.A. Hill wrote a very good book ..... reason (no supperlative degree without comparison )
2. A. little money is better thing reason (little means hardly any or not much it has negative meaning so it should be a little )
3. he got full marks. reason (cent percent is uses for interest in bank thus it should be full )
4. she is regarded as the tallest woman in the street. reason ( regard always followed by as)
5. you had better stop talking reason ( to is forbidden after had better )
6.he shaved in the morning reason ( no refaxive pronoun after shave )
7. whom do you want to see reason ( here we are talking about object thus it should be whom)
8.the two brothers hated each other reason ( another for more than two things)
9.people should love one another reason (each other for only two things )
10. one must do one's duty . reason ( it is wrong to use his after one. one's is correct )

stay blessed [/B]

Jolie Dame Sunday, September 01, 2013 09:24 PM

1. The lake freezed rapidly.
2. The firm was unwilling to forego its usual commission.
3. We watched the lambs gamble on the green.
4. He belonged to the gild of carpenters.
5. He hadn't ought to have spoken.
6. Is this his half-brother.
7. Hay! Watch out for the car.
8. This is the historical spot where he was shot dead.
9. We bought a Japanee printer.
10. Fresh flowers smell sweetly.

umarabbas Sunday, September 01, 2013 11:36 PM

[QUOTE=Jolie Dame;644156]1. The lake freezed rapidly.
2. The firm was unwilling to forego its usual commission.
3. We watched the lambs gamble on the green.
4. He belonged to the gild of carpenters.
5. He hadn't ought to have spoken.
6. Is this his half-brother.
7. Hay! Watch out for the car.
8. This is the historical spot where he was shot dead.
9. We bought a Japanee printer.
10. Fresh flowers smell sweetly.[/QUOTE]

(1) The lake froze rapidly
(2) The firm was not willing to forego its usual commission (unwilling is an adjective: unwilling accomplice, unwilling partner etc.)
(4) he belonged to the guild of the carpenters
(5) he ought not to have spoken
(6) is he his half-brother? or are you his half brother
(7) Hey! watch out for the car.
(9) We bought a Japanese printer
(10) Fresh flowers smell sweet.

Gotam Monday, September 02, 2013 02:05 AM

[QUOTE=umarabbas;644203]
(2) The firm was not willing to forego its usual commission (unwilling is an adjective: unwilling accomplice, unwilling partner etc.).[/QUOTE]

The firm was unwilling to [COLOR="Blue"][B]forgo[/B][/COLOR] its usual commission.

Because [B]forgo[/B] means "to do without" or "to abstain" or "to refrain from" and [B][B]forego[/B][/B] means "come before" or "precede" while use of [B][B]unwilling [/B][/B]is correct here.

Jolie Dame Monday, September 02, 2013 02:15 PM

[B]Solution[/B]
1. The lake froze rapidly.
2. The firm was unwilling to forgo its usual commission.
3. We watched the lambs gamboling on the green.
4. He belonged to the guild of carpenters.
5. He ought not to have spoken.
6. Is he his half-brother?
7. Hey! Watch out for the car.
8. This is the spot where he was shot dead or This is where he was shot dead.
9. We bought a Japanese printer.
10. Fresh flowers smell sweet.

Jolie Dame Tuesday, September 03, 2013 12:07 AM

[B](a) His wisdom consisted of his handling the dangerous situation successfully
(b) Many a girls were appearing in the examination.
(c) The vehicles run fastly on the Motorway.
(d) Smoking is injurious for health.
(e) He availed of this situation very intelligently.
(f) The black vermin is an odious creature.
(g) What to speak of meat, even, vegetables were not available now.
(h) No sooner we left our home when it started raining.
(i) Little money I had I spent on the way.
(j) The criminal was sent on the goal.
[/B]

Gotam Tuesday, September 03, 2013 01:07 AM

[QUOTE=Jolie Dame;644580][B](a) His wisdom consisted of his handling the dangerous situation successfully
(b) Many a girls were appearing in the examination.
(c) The vehicles run fastly on the Motorway.
(d) Smoking is injurious for health.
(e) He availed of this situation very intelligently.
(f) The black vermin is an odious creature.
(g) What to speak of meat, even, vegetables were not available now.
(h) No sooner we left our home when it started raining.
(i) Little money I had I spent on the way.
(j) The criminal was sent on the goal.
[/B][/QUOTE]

[B]Corrected:[/B]

a. His wisdom consisted in his handling the dangerous situation successfully.
b. Many a girl was appearing in the examination.
c. The vehicles run fast on the Motorway.
d. Smoking is injurious to health.
e. He availed himself of this situation very intelligently.
f. The black vermin are an odious creature.
g. What to speak of meat, even, vegetables were not available then.
h. No sooner did we leave our home than it started raining.
i. The little money I had I spent on the way.
j. The criminal was sent to the goal.

Jolie Dame Tuesday, September 03, 2013 06:23 PM

[B]Please check my corrections:
[/B]
g. What to speak of meat, even, vegetables are not available now.
h. No sooner had we left our home than it started raining.
i. I had little money that I spent on the way.
j. The criminal was sent to the jail.

alihashmatkhoso Friday, September 13, 2013 11:15 AM

[QUOTE=Jolie Dame;644785][B]Please check my corrections:
[/B]
g. What to speak of meat, even, vegetables are not available now.
h. No sooner had we left our home than it started raining.
i. I had little money that I spent on the way.
j. The criminal was sent to the jail.[/QUOTE]
[QUOTE] I had little money that I spent on the way.[/QUOTE]

[B] I had a little money that I spent on the way.[/B]

[B]reason , little shows negative, meaning or hardly any thing, so it should be a little
[/B]
[B]stay blessed[/B]

04:49 AM (GMT +5)