05:22 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Compulsory Subjects > English (Precis & Composition) > Grammar-Section

Old Wednesday, September 04, 2013

niazikhan2 has a spectacular aura aboutniazikhan2 has a spectacular aura about
Exclamation Synonyms,antonyms and idioms,Seniors please Guide

AOA..i sift through past 20 years papers of English but none similarity i got in papers related to synonyms and idoms. It seemed tough.Seniors and CSPs please guide where it should be prepared..i am worried about it..
Old Thursday, September 05, 2013

Hifsa Iqbal is on a distinguished road
Question Seniors please guide us!

Same is what I noticed also regarding Eng paper!
Old Saturday, September 07, 2013

niazikhan2 has a spectacular aura aboutniazikhan2 has a spectacular aura about

@Hifsa ..please search it out and take guidance from some where else and inform please @*********@gmail.com or this forum.

Last edited by Arain007; Saturday, September 07, 2013 at 09:47 AM. Reason: share contact info through profile only
Old Sunday, September 08, 2013
42nd CTP (IRS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2013 - Merit 75

Syeda Bukhari is a jewel in the roughSyeda Bukhari is a jewel in the roughSyeda Bukhari is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by niazikhan2 View Post
AOA..i sift through past 20 years papers of English but none similarity i got in papers related to synonyms and idoms. It seemed tough.Seniors and CSPs please guide where it should be prepared..i am worried about it..
Regarding synonyms there is no confirm rule, increase your vocabulary by reading newspaper and you may buy some good vocabulary book and learn daily some words (Whatever number you can learn easily). For Idioms consult "Exploring the world of English" by "Syed Saadat Ali Shah" and learn 10-20 idioms daily, you will learn many till the final exam.
Wish you luck!
Old Sunday, September 08, 2013

Thanked 1,290 Times in 783 Posts
exclusively has a spectacular aura aboutexclusively has a spectacular aura aboutexclusively has a spectacular aura about

In my first attempt I could not manage to solve even a single idiom perfectly. May be I did only two idioms rightly. Apart from that only 3 synonyms went right. Now I have made the plan of this paper and I am working on it in current days:- ; please correct me if I am derailed...

1. I am practicing (not remembering by heart) 4000 idioms from diffient boosk. Means my target is to know 4000 thousand idioms, I have crossed 700 number of idioms and still going towards my target (I am not following Exploring the world of English because it is not good as per in the current CSS trend, its just outdated, none idiom came from it since 4 to five years I think, that's why I am using idioms' dictionary and net... That is done..........

2. For Synonyms I have made my own notes of it with etymology. I repeat more than 250 synonyms on daily basis. Because I cant take anny risk in my upcoming attempt. My target is to know more or less 2500 synonyms, but so far antonyms have not been started, I shall do them after completing synonyms. Is it a good way? I am just reading words, and their roots...

3. As far as Pair of Words are concerned I have solved 1972 to 2012's Pair of Words, these are totaly 700+ pairs. Is it enough?

4. I am good at narration and correction, I manage to do all of these rightly in my CSS-2013's paper.

5. For precis, to be honest, I have just learnt its way how to solve it, didn't practice even a single paragraph of it, but will try to solve it as it contains 22-25 marks.

6. For Expansion, It is more or less easy because if you have done a lot of idioms, then there would be ease in it, because most of the expansions are based on idioms.

7. Last but not the least, for comprehension, I think it is easer than those of other portion. But I shall practice it insh'Allah.

This is my strategy to handle this paper. If I am derailed please do tell me so that I can be aware of it to go on right path.

Thanks in anticipation....

Regards:
The Following User Says Thank You to exclusively For This Useful Post:
bluntman (Thursday, September 12, 2013)
Old Monday, September 09, 2013

Hifsa Iqbal is on a distinguished road
Unhappy idioms and SYNONYMS

@ Exclusively
according to my opinion,you are going in a right direction.
May Allah bless you with success
I second your opinion for Exploring the World of English
but dear is there any trick for learning idioms and synonyms,or is it just a game of fluke..? as im not geting them merely by reading..
The Following User Says Thank You to Hifsa Iqbal For This Useful Post:
exclusively (Monday, September 09, 2013)

Imrantm is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by exclusively View Post
In my first attempt I could not manage to solve even a single idiom perfectly. May be I did only two idioms rightly. Apart from that only 3 synonyms went right. Now I have made the plan of this paper and I am working on it in current days:- ; please correct me if I am derailed...

1. I am practicing (not remembering by heart) 4000 idioms from diffient boosk. Means my target is to know 4000 thousand idioms, I have crossed 700 number of idioms and still going towards my target (I am not following Exploring the world of English because it is not good as per in the current CSS trend, its just outdated, none idiom came from it since 4 to five years I think, that's why I am using idioms' dictionary and net... That is done..........

2. For Synonyms I have made my own notes of it with etymology. I repeat more than 250 synonyms on daily basis. Because I cant take anny risk in my upcoming attempt. My target is to know more or less 2500 synonyms, but so far antonyms have not been started, I shall do them after completing synonyms. Is it a good way? I am just reading words, and their roots...

3. As far as Pair of Words are concerned I have solved 1972 to 2012's Pair of Words, these are totaly 700+ pairs. Is it enough?

4. I am good at narration and correction, I manage to do all of these rightly in my CSS-2013's paper.

5. For precis, to be honest, I have just learnt its way how to solve it, didn't practice even a single paragraph of it, but will try to solve it as it contains 22-25 marks.

6. For Expansion, It is more or less easy because if you have done a lot of idioms, then there would be ease in it, because most of the expansions are based on idioms.

7. Last but not the least, for comprehension, I think it is easer than those of other portion. But I shall practice it insh'Allah.

This is my strategy to handle this paper. If I am derailed please do tell me so that I can be aware of it to go on right path.

Thanks in anticipation....

Regards:
kindly also suggest me any good book/strategy plan to handle the narration and correction as i am quite in both sections

Thanked 1,290 Times in 783 Posts
exclusively has a spectacular aura aboutexclusively has a spectacular aura aboutexclusively has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by Hifsa Iqbal View Post
@ Exclusively
according to my opinion,you are going in a right direction.
May Allah bless you with success
I second your opinion for Exploring the World of English
but dear is there any trick for learning idioms and synonyms,or is it just a game of fluke..? as im not geting them merely by reading..
Don't cram idioms, learn the art of solving.. For idioms oxford idioms' dictionary is the best dictionary. In addition to this, you must consult net, solve not less than 3000 idioms, when you cross 500+ idioms. Then you will automatically will be familiar with idioms as they are just sayings and proverbs. Practice is the best way to grip idioms. Apart from that you need to make your own notes of your idioms. In this regard one thing should be noted that when you attempt an idiom make your own sentences. Because, if you cram bookish idioms, then you won't solve a lot of idioms. As it is my experience. Indeed, it is the best way as much as I have assumed so far.

Originally Posted by Imrantm View Post
kindly also suggest me any good book/strategy plan to handle the narration and correction as i am quite in both sections
For narration there is a book of Elmi. Practice that book. I am sure will be able to do all of the narration asked in exam.

For Correction, solve only past corrections. In this regard, Discovering the world of English is one of the best books. Don't follow Exploring the world of English. As it has become out dated as per my experience.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to exclusively For This Useful Post:
bluntman (Thursday, September 12, 2013), Imrantm (Tuesday, September 10, 2013)
Old Tuesday, September 10, 2013

Imrantm is on a distinguished road
Default Request for publisher/authors names

Originally Posted by exclusively View Post
Don't cram idioms, learn the art of solving.. For idioms oxford idioms' dictionary is the best dictionary. In addition to this, you must consult net, solve not less than 3000 idioms, when you cross 500+ idioms. Then you will automatically will be familiar with idioms as they are just sayings and proverbs. Practice is the best way to grip idioms. Apart from that you need to make your own notes of your idioms. In this regard one thing should be noted that when you attempt an idiom make your own sentences. Because, if you cram bookish idioms, then you won't solve a lot of idioms. As it is my experience. Indeed, it is the best way as much as I have assumed so far.

For narration there is a book of Elmi. Practice that book. I am sure will be able to do all of the narration asked in exam.

For Correction, solve only past corrections. In this regard, Discovering the world of English is one of the best books. Don't follow Exploring the world of English. As it has become out dated as per my experience.
thanks for reply. kindly provide the publishers names/authors names of Elmi practice book and Discovering the world of English .