-   Precis (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compulsory-subjects/english-precis-composition/precis/)
-   -   Query about Précis Writing. (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compulsory-subjects/english-precis-composition/precis/108735-query-about-page-ranking-cis-writing.html)

ShakaibHaider Thursday, April 14, 2016 02:25 PM

Query about Précis Writing.

Dear Members, I want to know that if précis para contains 2 paragraphs, then will we have to make its précis in two or single paragraph?
Waiting for your response.

nawepukhtoon Thursday, April 14, 2016 03:45 PM

[quote=shakaibhaider;927882]dear members, i want to know that if précis para contains 2 paragraphs, then will we have to make its précis in two or single paragraph?
Waiting for your response.[/quote]

no, a precise must be expressed in a single paragraph. If there are two or more paragraphs, you have to find out the single idea contained in those paragraphs. Usually the first and last sentences of the paragraphs are very importatant in this regard because these sentences connect one paragraph with another

Farooq baloch Thursday, April 14, 2016 09:43 PM

[QUOTE=ShakaibHaider;927882]Dear Members, I want to know that if précis para contains 2 paragraphs, then will we have to make its précis in two or single paragraph?
Waiting for your response.[/QUOTE]

Generally while making a précis we are not bound to apply the technical rules of paragraph writing , however it depends upon the nature of précis As sometimes précis contains more than one controlling idea or topic sentence...

ShakaibHaider Thursday, April 14, 2016 09:55 PM

[QUOTE=Farooq baloch;928008]Generally while making a précis we are not bound to apply the technical rules of paragraph writing , however it depends upon the nature of précis As sometimes précis contains more than one controlling idea or topic sentence...[/QUOTE]

Sir, you mean to say that précis in one paragraph is recommended?

Farooq baloch Friday, April 15, 2016 09:32 AM

[QUOTE=ShakaibHaider;928014]Sir, you mean to say that précis in one paragraph is recommended?[/QUOTE]

Of course the tumb rule is to summarize it in a single paragraph .As There could be two or more paragraphs in the original text. While making the précis, try to write all the ideas in one paragraph.

sukaiyna Friday, April 22, 2016 03:30 PM

plz guide me for precis and tell me specific way to prepare for it.

nawepukhtoon Friday, April 22, 2016 04:55 PM

[quote=sukaiyna;929987]kya form jarhy hain abhi css 2017 kay kindly tell me about the detail if anybody know about it .[/quote]

no it will be in december

sarji Wednesday, May 04, 2016 09:18 PM

precis

Helo to everyone, in precis how can we indentify, which point is important and
which is not, becuase I try practice but still can not grasp its methed fully.

sarji Wednesday, May 04, 2016 09:19 PM

precis

Hello to everyone, in precis how can we identify, which point is important and
which is not, because I try practice but still can not grasp its method fully.

inaaan Wednesday, May 04, 2016 09:32 PM

[QUOTE=sarji;934115]Hello to everyone, in precis how can we identify, which point is important and
which is not, because I try practice but still can not grasp its method fully.[/QUOTE]
First you need to find out the main controlling idea then identify the points which justifies or support the controlling idea.

05:51 AM (GMT +5)