04:05 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Compulsory Subjects > English (Precis & Composition) > Precis

Old Thursday, February 11, 2010

Azhar Hussain Memon will become famous soon enoughAzhar Hussain Memon will become famous soon enough
Smile Please check my Precis

Q. Make a precise of the following passage in about one third of its length and suggest a suitable heading.

It was not from want of perceiving the beauty of external nature but from the different way of perceiving it, that the early Greeks did not turn their genius to portray, either in colour or in poetry, the outlines, the hues, and contrasts of all fair valley, and hold cliffs, and golden moons, and rosy lawns which their beautiful country affords in lavish abundance.

Primitive people never so far as I know, enjoy when is called the picturesque in nature, wild forests, beetling cliffs, reaches of Alpine snow are with them great hindrances to human intercourse, and difficulties in the way of agriculture. They are furthermore the homes of the enemies of mankind, of the eagle, the wolf, or the tiger, and are most dangerous in times of earthquake or tempest. Hence the grand and striking features of nature are at first looked upon with fear and dislike.

I do not suppose that Greeks different in the respect from other people, except that the frequent occurrence of mountains and forests made agriculture peculiarly difficult and intercourse scanty, thus increasing their dislike for the apparently reckless waste in nature. We have even in Homer a similar feeling as regards the sea, --- the sea that proved the source of all their wealth and the condition of most of their greatness. Before they had learned all this, they called it “the unvintagable sea” and looked upon its shore as merely so much waste land. We can, therefore, easily understand, how in the first beginning of Greek art, the representation of wild landscape would find no place, whereas, fruitful fields did not suggest themselves as more than the ordinary background. Art in those days was struggling with material nature to which it felt a certain antagonism.

There was nothing in the social circumstances of the Greeks to produce any revolution in this attitude during their greatest days. The Greek republics were small towns where the pressure of the city life was not felt. But as soon as the days of the Greeks republics were over, the men began to congregate for imperial purposes into Antioch, or Alexandria, or lastly into Rome, than we seek the effect of noise and dust and smoke and turmoil breaking out into the natural longing for rural rest and retirement so that from Alexander’s day …… We find all kinds of authors --- epic poets, lyricist, novelists and preachers --- agreeing in the precise of nature, its rich colours, and its varied sounds.

Art and Early Greek
The early Greeks did not take attention to the art but the old people enjoyed the nature of art, the nature was also dangerous because of fierce animals and rough weather because they harmed them, the Greek was also same, the feelings for see was so called same but see proved that it was source of greatness. The Greek art was taking attention into material nature but the Greek people were not feeling the pressure of urbanization but very soon people sought the effect of pollution after the period of Alexandria. All types of authors agreed into the nature of art.

415-101

Plz kindly check and help me in this regards

Azhar Hussain Memon
Old Friday, February 12, 2010
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: Css 2010 - Roll no

KAWISH will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by Azhar Hussain Memon View Post
Q. Make a precise of the following passage in about one third of its length and suggest a suitable heading.

[LEFT]
Art and Early Greek
The early Greeks did not take attention to the art but the old people enjoyed the nature of art, the nature was also dangerous because of fierce animals and rough weather because they harmed them, the Greek was also same, the feelings for see was so called same but see proved that it was source of greatness. The Greek art was taking attention into material nature but the Greek people were not feeling the pressure of urbanization but very soon people sought the effect of pollution after the period of Alexandria. All types of authors agreed into the nature of art.

415-101

Azhar Hussain Memon
aoa i found u good at recieving criticism through ur last posts,im here w/ anotherone w/h i hope is going to be productive...
first of all do the precis by rules.here are some basic rules:
a-the thought in precis must express the thought of the original para,in ur own words,n for doing so u must have the correct understanding of the para
b-the thought in precis should nowhere be broken
c-there must be a coherency in the sntences.means sentences should be linked w/ eachother
d-correct use of language n grammer

re read the para n produce again.there are many gramatical mistakes in ur precis,practise correction of errors as i suggested earlier.regards
Old Friday, February 12, 2010

Azhar Hussain Memon will become famous soon enoughAzhar Hussain Memon will become famous soon enough

Kawish! i am thankful of your help and positive response, but can you point out me where i have mistaken in my precis, it will more benificial for me. because i will directly see where i mistook. plz kindly reply soon

Azhar Hussain Memon
Old Saturday, February 13, 2010
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: Css 2010 - Roll no

KAWISH will become famous soon enough

[B][COLOR="RoyalBlue"]Q
Art and Early Greek

415-101

i was in a hurry earlier.anyhow here's ur reply
im going to describe the thought f the para,match this thought w/ ur precis,then you ll find ur precis indeed say nothing at all of that kind niether it is giving any meanings.....
a-the para is about the earlier times when nature was just an ordinary thing for people,so ordinary n common that people never had any appriciation for its beauty.(it is same thing that when in our lives we have too much of a thing we take it for granted n never appriciat it)
but after Alexenderian era when civilization got urbanised,people encountered banes of a city life then they began to appriciate nature.
does ur precis say anything of kind???
b-second regarding ur grammatical mistakes e.g ur first sentence may be you want to say that the Greeks did not paid attention to art,dear first of all the sentence is wrong n secondaly here is again misunderstanding of the idea in the para.the para is not saying that they did not give attention to art,but that their artistic work did not portrate anything of nature,in the next paragraph the reason of this lack of interest in nature is described i.e too much of a natural life and so on......
now re write your precis pls.appriciate me by this way
thnx n good luck

NOTE:i could have made a precis,but that wont help.its more like dictating someone.Regards
Azhar Hussain Memon (Saturday, February 13, 2010)
Old Saturday, February 13, 2010

Sabah Hunzai is on a distinguished road

[LEFT]It was not from want of perceiving the beauty of external nature but from the different way of perceiving it, that the early Greeks did not turn their genius to portray, either in colour or in poetry, the outlines, the hues, and contrasts of all fair valley, and hold cliffs, and golden moons, and rosy lawns which their beautiful country affords in lavish abundance.

Primitive people never so far as I know, enjoy when is called the picturesque in nature, wild forests, beetling cliffs, reaches of Alpine snow are with them great hindrances to human intercourse, and difficulties in the way of agriculture. They are furthermore the homes of the enemies of mankind, of the eagle, the wolf, or the tiger, and are most dangerous in times of earthquake or tempest. Hence the grand and striking features of nature are at first looked upon with fear and dislike.

Art and Early Greek

415-101

Azhar Hussain Memon

before making prcise please read the passage several times, atleast more than half of aloted time should be given to read the passage untill the central idea is clear to you.

just re-read the para where i have bolded the word "NEVER" for which you went against the point of the para. you said old people enjoyed the art....

central idea after a quick glance. (sorry, due to pausity of time)

Greeks, having different perspective for viewing things, had not developed a taste for art.
Primitive people couldn't appreciate the wonders of nature, because they were exposed to the natural hazards.
Greeks too were exposed to these perils of nature.
once Greeks came out of towns and exposed to different civilizations, they took an all pervasive approach to the Art.
Azhar Hussain Memon (Saturday, February 13, 2010)
Old Saturday, February 16, 2013

Ayesha Chemist is on a distinguished road
Default Nature and Greek Artists

Title , Nature and Greek Artists

People perceive nature in different ways. In the begning Greeks were not behind capturing beauty of Nature,found abundantly around them.Earlier people consider nature wonders as a blockage towards humankind progress while Greeks dislike nature fantasies as they consider it wastage.They remain inert towards nature allurement untill lived in rural areas. But as soon as they moved to noisy and smoky city civilization , they developed nature enchantment. And that brings an era of all kind of nature praising artists production.
Old Wednesday, May 29, 2013

JUNAID Z is on a distinguished road

precis 2004

We're dealing with a very dramatic and very fundamental paradigm shift here. You may try" to lubricate your' social interactions with personality techniques and skills, but in the process, you may truncate the vital character base. You can't have the fruits without the roots. It's the principle of sequencing: Private victory precedes Public Victory. Self-mastery and self-discipline are the foundation of good relationship with others. Some people say that you have to like yourself before you can like others. I think' that idea has merit but if you don't know yourself, if you don't control yourself, if you don't have mastery over yourself, it's very hard to like yourself, except in some short-term, psych-up, superficial way. Real self-respect comes from dominion over*self from true independence. Independence is an achievement. Inter dependence is a choice only independent people can make. Unless we are willing to achieve real independence, it's foolish to try to develop human relations skills. We might try. We might even have some degree of success when the sun is shining. But when the difficult times come - and they will - We won't have the foundation to keep things together. The most important ingredient we put into any relationship is not what we say or what we do, but what we are. And if our words and our actions come from superficial human relations techniques (the Personality Ethic) rather than from our own inner core (the character Ethic), others will sense that duplicity. We simply won't be able to create and sustain the foundation necessary" for effective interdependence. The techniques and skills that really make a difference in human interaction are the ones that almost naturally flow from a truly independent character. So the place to begin building any relationship is inside ourselves, inside our Circle of Influence, our own character. As we become independent - Proactive, centered in correct principles, value driven and able to organize and execute around the priorities in our life with integrity - we then can choose to become interdependent - capable of building rich, enduring, highly productive relationships with other people.

my precis:
Interpersonal skills cant be linked with personality tactics rather it is liked
with the character of the person. To have preferable relation person needs to be himself otherwise people will figure out the hypocrisy. He might get successful in his act for time being but it wont be long lasting. To have effective relationship person needs to be organized in his preferences and should deliver honestly.
topic: Effective interpersonal skills

please guide me this is my first precis