-   Precis (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compulsory-subjects/english-precis-composition/precis/)
-   -   Precis Practice 1 (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compulsory-subjects/english-precis-composition/precis/3991-precis-practice-1-a.html)

A Soul Friday, June 09, 2006 04:44 PM

Precis Practice 1

HI All,
as u all know that Precis is the most important part of English Compostion paper. & it need ot of practice. so here i want to start some Precis practice thread. Here i m posting a precis You all are invited to solve this precis & post it in reply to this thread. I m sure it will help alot.

[B][I][SIZE="2"]MAKE A PRÉCIS OF THE FOLLOWING PASSAGE IN ABOUT ONE THIRD OF ITS LENGTH. Suggest a suitable title also.[/SIZE][/I][/B]

We should face facts as they exist.We are multilingual,it is true,and a very poor country too.The fear of getting employment or not getting employment springs, out of that poverty of ours.But once we took courage in both our hands and began to work,poverty would vanish,and then those languages which have created a narrow regional spirit instead of being the curse tht they seem to us today,would function as magnificent vehicles of expression for the rich variety of cultural patterns and modes of living and thought that we have developed.Let us hope that day dawns very soon.A regional langugage as the medium of instruction can facilitate the process of education.It helps the child to learn with ease and interest.But if it is thrust on an unwilling minority used to another allied language. it can vitiate the very process of education.It is supposed to help and would create difficulties of a socio-political nature.

humayun "The King" Friday, June 09, 2006 05:34 PM

Realy Nice Work You Started Miss Rabia Khan. I tried to make precis of the passage. It will help me a lot as i am weak in Precis writing.

Title :- Regional language and its role in Development

Preics:
Facts cannot be ignored. As our country is poor, but we can alleviate poverty by hard work and determination. As we are also multilingual, we should hope that regional languages help in better way educational process. But if it is misused, it can stop the educational process and can make difficulties for society.

Total Passage 165: 165 words
1/3:55 Words
Prescis: 54 Words

111 Friday, June 09, 2006 09:49 PM

[SIZE="1"][B][SIZE="2"]Title:- Regional Languages...Current Hurdles and Future Prospects[/SIZE][/B][/SIZE]

[B]Realistically analyzing, poverty is at the bottom of all our fears about future.However,our hardwork can lead us to prosperity.Consequently, regional languages that are today's hazards will turn into tomorrow's weapons to portray true spirit of our cultural lives.In educational sphere,imposed teaching in regional language bears negative results that can be positive otherwise.

(57 words)[/B]

A Soul Saturday, June 10, 2006 12:15 AM

[B]Title:- Regional Language & its role in country’s Development[/B]

Multilingual and poor status of our country is a fact.Our determination and courage can alleviate poverty and can change the controversial outlook of regional languages.
Regional Language,as medium of instruction, can enhance child's learning power and can be of great help in educational system.But any misuse of it will end up in harmful consequences.

Muskan Ghuman Saturday, June 10, 2006 01:54 PM

[B]Multilingualism---a blessing or a curse[/B]

In our country, poverty & multilingualism are facts.But our courage can crush poverty i.e the base of all fears & with this the multilingualism will emerge as an expression of our traditions & culture.As an instrument of education, regional language can be helpful but its enforcement on unwilling people would be problamatic only.

55 words.

Qurratulain Saturday, June 10, 2006 11:30 PM

[B][CENTER]Multilingualism, the root cause of Poverty[/CENTER][/B]

By realizing the fact of being a multilingual and a poor country, we find that the root cause of our poverty is 'multilingualism'. We can join hands to alleviate poverty by ignoring the multilingualism. Regional languages bridge the gap between the eudcational requirements and child's learning, but using them for political benifits vanish their essence.

55 words

A Soul Saturday, June 10, 2006 11:46 PM

Precis Practice 2

Hello,
this is 2nd exercise for precise. it's little bit lengthy than first one. i hope it will also be attempted by many aspirants. Best of Luck

[B][I]MAKE A PRÉCIS OF THE FOLLOWING PASSAGE IN ABOUT ONE THIRD OF ITS LENGTH. Suggest a suitable title also.[/I][/B]

To thread the path of Philosphy is to seek after truth and follow a way of life.Before a man sets out on the quest after truth,he must fulfil certain conditions.First,there must be descrimination between the real and the unreal.The statement means,not that a man must possess complete knowledge of absolute reality,which is attained only after long practice of meditation,but that he must unfailingly subject the nature of things to a rigid analysis by descriminating between what is transitory and what is abiding or between what is true and what is false.The second condition is detachment from selfish enjoyments of life.The aspirants must learn the highest good is realiszed not through wordly pleasures,but through a continuous search for the infinite,the enduring joy.This ideal of renunciation must be realised by a gradual purification of the seeker's heart and mind.A third condition is that the student must acquire tranquility of mind,slef control,patience,poise,burning faith in in things of the spirit and self surrender.These are called the six treasures of life. The thirst for release is the fourth condition.Deliverance from spiritual darkness,entrance upon the path of illumination comes only through annihilation of the false ego.When the ego dies,all troubles cease says Sri Ramakrishna. Such a condition of being does not imply the lose of one's individuality,for we can lose nothing tht is real.Kalidasa,the great poet and dramatist,has beautifully expressed this truth.He says that the ideal of renunciation consists in owning the whole world while disowning ones own self.(280 words)

Jia Khalid Sunday, June 11, 2006 02:52 PM

Regional Languages;Both sides of the mirror

Precis:

We should embrace the reality of being a multilingual and poor nation.With the help of our courage we can eradicate poverty and regional languages can be used as a strength to voice our culture and traditions.Regional languages play a pivotal role in streamlining and promoting education, however their imposition is bound to create problems.

56 Words.

Muskan Ghuman Monday, June 12, 2006 02:01 AM

[B]Conditions for the Search of Truth[/B]

Quest after truth leads toward philosophy. For pursuit of truth, knowledge of meditated reality is not enough but man should possess analytical ability by differentiating between mortal & immortal or factual & fake things. Secondly, by the purification of soul he must discover that good can be comprehended only through the quest after immortal joys & not by mortal pleasures of life. Attainment of six treasures of life is third & crushing of ego is fourth condition. Obliteration of ego is not lose of identity but it liberates from darkness & brings towards enlightenment.

(94 words)

111 Monday, June 12, 2006 09:47 AM

[B][COLOR="SlateGray"]Title:- [U]The True Spirit of Philosophy[/U]

Acquaintance with Philosophy is to put life on the right track.This urge is conditioned .Firstly,attainment of this goal is possible only by having the power to distinguish between apparent and actual.Secondly,priority must be given to immortal on mortal by the denunciation of epicureanism.Thirdly, possession of six golden mutually agreed principles of life is must.Fourthly,there is dire need of readiness for enlightened spiritual transformation by undermining self-importance.While securig self-respect,self-denying life is declared by both Sri Ramakrishna and Kalidasa as the way of achieving eternal happiness .

(93 words)[/COLOR][/B]

Jia Khalid Monday, June 12, 2006 12:35 PM

The truth about Philosophy

The knowledge of philosophy can be attained by searching for the truth however before doing so one must be able to distinguish between fact and fiction.The catharsis of the body and mind leads to disregard for all worldly pleasures bringing infinite joy to the individual.There are 6 pivotal qualities which must also be possessed if one is to start on this quest.Finally destruction of one's ego for the achievement of absolute enlightenment helps in winning over the world by giving up the self and prepares the individual for the quest of the truth.

96 words

Qurratulain Monday, June 12, 2006 05:08 PM

[CENTER][B]In the search of truth[/B][/CENTER]

The essence of Philosophy aims to seek after truth by fulfilling certain conditions. First to discriminate between the real and unreal, and true and false. Second to search for the highest good through infinite, enduring joy. Third to possess the six treasures of life, i.e. tranquil mind, self-control patience, poise, burning faith and self-surrender. Fourth to attain spiritual illumination by annihilation of the false ego. For Sri Ramakrishna the died ego doesn't meant lost individuality at all. And in Kalidasa's words the ideal of renunciation consists in owning the whole world while disowning ones own self.

96 words

Abdullah Tuesday, June 13, 2006 01:17 AM

The journey to truth

Philosophy leads to truth ; which owns some prerequisites.Firstly to tell the real from unreal, a clear distinction of eternal and ephemeral, instead of long considerations, should be there.Secondly spritual purgation delivers us from wordly pleasures.As a third step learning through peace, control , composure , adherence to spirit and self denial through mind and soul are the main imperatives.At last abandoning self love and snobbish nature leads to success as said by Ramakrishna and losing self ego doesn't deprive one of self respect. Artisans like Kalidasa assert the wordly detachment as the eternal conquest of this world.

Qurratulain Tuesday, June 13, 2006 01:41 AM

@alamgirian

Its good to see your post after a long time. Hope yu've done good with precis paper.
Your Precis, no doubt is exquisite.

@Rabia Khan
Thnx a lot Ms. Rabia for initiating such good activity. I've done both the exercises, so now i want another one. hope you'll consider my rquest.

A Soul Tuesday, June 13, 2006 04:04 PM

Precis Practice 3

[SIZE="3"][B][U][FONT="Arial Black"]Precis Practice 3[/FONT][/U][/B][/SIZE]

The essence of poetry is that it deals with events which concern a large number of people and can be grasped not as immediate personal experience but as matter known largely from heresy and presented in simplified and often abstract forms. it is thus the antithesis of all poetry which deals with the special, individual activity of the self and tries to present this as specially and as individually as it can. The poet who deals with public themes may himself be affected, even deeply, by contemporary events at some point in his own being, but to see them in their breadth and depth he must rely largely on what he hears from other men and from mass instruments of communication. From the start his impulse to write about them is different from any impulse to write about his own affairs. It may be just as strong and just as compelling, but it is not of the same kind. He has to give his own version of something which millions of others may share with him, and however individual he may wish to be, he cannot avoid relying to a large extent on much that he knows only from second hand.
Fundamentally this may not matter, for after all what else did Shakespeare do: but the political poet does not construct an imaginary past, he attempts to grasp and interpret a vast present. Between him and his subject there is a gap which he can never completely cross, and all his attempts to make events part of himself must be to some extent hampered by recalcitrant elements in them, which he does not understand or cannot assimilate or find irrelevant to his creative task. in such poetry selection which is indispensable to all art, has to be made from an unusually large field of possibilities and guided by an exacting sense of what really matters and what does not. On one side he may try to include too much and lose himself in issues where be is not imaginatively at home, on the other side he may see some huge event merely from a private angle which teed not meab much to others. Political poetry oscillates between these extremes, and its history in our time has been largely attempts to make the best of one or the other of them
or to see what compromises can be made between them.

Abdullah Tuesday, June 13, 2006 08:22 PM

The Subjective and Objective facets of Political Poetry

The real spirit of potery is based on collective thinking and attitudes instead of personal caprices.A poet might be effective in terms of his personal opinion of public matters but the mass social interaction is as necessary as his personal experience of the events. Despite his personal view of the events he can't express them witout being subjected to the two way communication process.
Though shakespeare didn't adhere to this, yet for political poetry , it should be real present instead of emotional past , which might entail cognitive dissonance in a poet's mind; for objectivity largely refutes his personal thinking .His poetical ideas fluctuate between the hectic inclusion of objective reality and his personal views of paltry public importance. And the political poetry is a balance between these two extremes.

A Soul Wednesday, June 14, 2006 04:26 PM

Welldone All,
you all are doing well. i will continue our this practice if such gd response will be there. i hope u all will keep practicing here as Precis is very imp part of English (comp) paper
i m here posting my attempt

[FONT="Arial Black"][B][U]Précis: - Philosophy of Truth[/U][/B][/FONT]

Truth can be attained by Philosophy after fulfilling certain conditions. A person who wants to seek truth must have ability to differentiate between original & artificial also between temporary & eternal things without having complete knowledge of absolute reality. A truth seeker should also have self control & peace of mind which have importance in life. A truth seeking aspirant can enter in path of illumination by destruction of its false ego. A truth seeking aspirant should prepare himself for losing self identity & achieving world.

111 Wednesday, June 14, 2006 11:07 PM

[COLOR="SlateGray"][B][U]Title:-Contours of Political Poetry[/U][/B][/COLOR]

[B][COLOR="SlateGray"]Keeping aside selfdom,brief and simple reflection of mass's savor of life is exactly what mark the poetry to which self-centered poetic creation is contrariety .Dependence on outside elements is inevitable for authentic poetical elaboration, even if poet himself has witnessed any happening .
.Obvious touch of individuality from poet's part is bound to get along with others informative resources too.
Unlike Shakespeare ,focal point of a political poet is current happenings .However, his all efforts to bridge the gulf that lies between him and his subject,encounter some factors that are immpossible to be accpeted unquestionably.So, it makes him cautiously choosy,though,sometimes It leads him to practice his poetical abilities on alien grounds and to unnecessarily magnification of an issue. Today's political poetry is characterized by these two extremes and of their fusion.[/COLOR][/B]

[B][COLOR="SlateGray"]words 135[/COLOR][/B]

Muskan Ghuman Thursday, September 14, 2006 07:45 PM

Precis Practice 4

One of the fundamental facts about words is that the most useful ones in our language have many meanings. That is partly why they are so useful: they work overtime.Think of -all the various things we mean by the word “foot” on different occasion: one of the lower extremities of the human body, a measure of verse, the ground about a tree, twelve inches,- the floor in front of the stairs. The same is true of nearly every common noun or verb.
Considering the number of ways of taking a particular word, the tusk of speaking clearly and being understood would seem pretty hopeless if it were not for another very important fact about language. Though a word may have many senses, these senses can be controlled, up to a point,by the context in which the word is used. When we find the word in a particular verbal setting we can usually decide quite definitely which of the many senses of the word relevant. If a poet says his verse has feet, it doesn’t occur to you that he could mean it’s a yard long or is threelegged (unless perhaps you are a critic planning to puncture the poet with a pun about his “lumping verse”). The context rules out these maverick senses quite decisively.

(Words = 214)

I M Possible Friday, September 15, 2006 02:19 PM

[B]Multiple meanings of words and their uses:[/B]

It is a verity that a particular word has more than one valuable meaning. Multiple meanings of a word make it desperate to use. Albeit a word has many senses that can be hold by using it in an appropriate manner. But a critique can use these ambiguous meanings of words to censure over the writings. The perspective tells that these sorts of words should be used determinedly.

---------------------------------
I am not that good in making precis.
So i am sure u ppl wont miss the chance to critcize.

Muskan Ghuman Friday, September 15, 2006 08:51 PM

[B]Relevancy of words with context[/B]

In a language useful words have multi-meanings. For example the word “foot” has different senses on different occasions, and this is true in most of words. Multi-meanings create difficulty in perceiving the real sense but viewing the context facilitates in this. So, to comprehend the relevant sense its context and verbal setting are considered. When poet talks of his verse having feet, it is not about length but a poetic term is used.

[B](Words 73)[/B]

Criticism after some more participations.

sahirzzz Thursday, October 12, 2006 06:34 PM

fundamentally more useful words have multiple meanings like the words "foot".more meanings a words have more useful it is. their meaning can be differentiated and controlled in different contextual use in many situations. understanding of context may vary for different people like a poet and a critique. but the radical and mavrick senses a critique may extract are sool ruled out.

total words 62

Muhammed Usman Thursday, January 18, 2007 05:58 PM

to seelct a right language as a medium of expression and instruction is very important for a poor and multilingual country like pakistan. we need to get our act together to settle this issue of lanaguage barrier and should opt a language which can take us through

words ( 46 )

title : - " Importance Of Lanaguage "

HayatKhan Monday, June 18, 2007 09:51 AM

Precis

Hope that all the members of this forum will be in good health InshAllah.
I have made a very feeble attempt to write a precis plz check it and guide me to correct it.

[CENTER][COLOR="RoyalBlue"]MULTILINGUAL A CURSE OR A BLESS[/COLOR][/CENTER]
If we think realistically, we are confronted with several problems. But if think positively we can change these problems into opportunities. Multilingual which is considered to be a curse can lead us to new lands of development and opportunities. It is true that children can easily learn new things in their mother tongue but it can not be enforced in the same way every where.

zahidee Sunday, July 29, 2007 03:19 AM

aoa
please check and guide me in writing precis.im invoice in writing precis this is my firststep in css preperation

[B][U][COLOR="Blue"]Multilingual and Contry's Progress:[/COLOR][/U][/B]

The author says that the fact is that we are living in very poor country which is multilingual.But workhard and determination can elimnate our poverty for this purpose regional language can be play vitalrole in our cultural and economic development. if we give education to our child in regional then it would very feasible to our child explore newthing and keep maintain his intrest in education.On the other hand misuse of regional language would be harmful for educational system and country's progress

secondopinion02 Monday, July 30, 2007 07:28 PM

from 2005 paper

[B]1. Make a précis of the given passage and suggest a suitable heading (20 +5)[/B]

Basically, psychoses and neuroses represent man’s inability to maintain a balanced or equated polarity in conducting his life. The ego becomes exclusively or decidedly one sided. In psychoses there is a complete collapse of the ego back into the inner recesses of the personal and collective unconsciouses. When he is repressed toward fulfilling some life goal and where he is further unable to sublimate himself toward another goal, man regresses into goal structures not actually acceptable to himself or to the society. Strong emotional sickness of the psychotic type is like having the shadow run wild. The entire psyche regresses to archaic, animal forms of behaviors. In less severe forms of emotional sickness there may be an accentuated and overpowering use of one of the four mental functions at the expense of the other three. Either thinking, feeling, intuiting or seeing may assume such a superior role as to render the other three inoperative. The persona may become so dominant as to create a totally one-sided ego, as in some forms of neurotic behavior. All in all, whatever the type of severity of the emotional disorder, it can be taken as a failure of the psyche to maintain a proper balance between the polarities of life. Essentially, psychoses and neuroses are an alienation of the self from its true goal of self actualization. In this sense the culture is of no consequence. Emotional disorder is not a question of being out of tune with one’s culture so much as it is of being out of tune with one’s self. Consequently, neurosis is more than bizarre behavior, especially as it may be interpreted by contemporaries in the culture. This interpretation avoids the sociological question of what is a mental disorder, since form of behavior which is acceptable in one culture may be considered neurotic in other culture. To Jung, the deviation from cultural norms is not the point. The inability to balance out personal polarities is. (325) / 3 = 108.33

ANS:

[B][U][CENTER][SIZE="3"]Misconception about Psychotic Disorders[/SIZE][/CENTER][/U][/B]
Psychoses and Neurosis are divergence from self as well as society. The personality sets in a disharmonious relation with the world and becomes wild in its behavior. Consequently, one becomes so erratic in such disorders that people relate these abnormalities with deviance from the cultural norms; however, the truth is opposite to this common belief and perception. A conduct of psychotic disorder might be tolerable in one culture but be weird in another. Therefore, experts do not believe in association of culture and psychotic disorders. According to them, the incapacity of equating self with the realities of life is the real cause of the psychotic disorders. (106 words)

sam_diya Tuesday, August 07, 2007 08:05 PM

title;psychosis,mental not a cultural problem.

both psychosis and neurosis are mental disorders and barriers to routine life.however psychosis ia at extreme as it diminishes one,s ego making him completle useless to society.one of his mental functiocs overpowers rest of the three.neurosis is somtmies assosiated with cultrural problems,however it has nothing to do with culture,rather with persons faliour resulting the collapse of his personality.

silverado Friday, February 01, 2008 01:09 PM

precise of the passage

[SIZE="6"]Rigional languages nad its role[/SIZE]
[SIZE="2"]Poverty is a curse in a developing countries, the reason is illitracy backed by multilingualism.It can be vanished by providing a true spirit of education which is possible only when regional languages are made the medium of instruction, otherwise it is, and will, create social problems which affects social life. [/SIZE].

[FONT="Fixedsys"]I tried to do justice with the passage up to my level and if i have some mistakes in precise, I am open to constructive criticism.:clap [/FONT]

Sabah Hunzai Sunday, June 22, 2008 01:30 PM

man's quest for truth

A philosopher seeks to unveil the truth to find a meaningful way of life, in doing so, he should consider certain facts; firstly he should have a good sense of subjective as well as objective truths. secondly, he should give priority to eternal joy over the worldly one. thridly, he should seeks for coming out of spiritual imprison through denying to his/her false ego, and according to Sri Ramakrishna and Kalidasa one can come out of this imprisonment throught denouncing self ego.

total words 82.
Dear all specially Seniors.
this is my first attempt to make a precise, so i would welcom your comments and suggestons for my improvement.
looking forward for ur feedback.

irfan_ali Tuesday, August 05, 2008 03:26 PM

The Real Essence of Philisophy

Learning truth is the real essence of philosophy. Its first prerequisite is to distinguish between the reality and myth, to the extent as necessary for the life. Secondly, one must cut temporaray worldy desires and search which can give long lasting joy.Which slowly brings peace in mind and soul. Peace in mind , self control, patience , poise and burning faith are six treasures of life, at third and crushing the ego at fourth.Obscuring ego builds one's identity and make him aware of reality.

irfan_ali Wednesday, August 20, 2008 10:35 AM

A general misconception

Psychoses is a type of mental failure, whereas, neuroses is associated with cultural deviation (a misconception): a norm may be accepted in one society but not in other. Both affect the personal and social life of humans. In psychoses humans become unconscious of their self-esteem and there objectivity is curbed. In addition, there goals are not accepted by society and even by themselves. They may become wild in their behavior or their mental functions may disorder. But there is misconception that these disorders are more dependent on cultural norms which questions about the deviance. In a nutshell, this all affect humans ability to maintain a balance in the polarities of life.

N.Oad Monday, November 29, 2010 08:10 PM

Issues with above percis

One of major rule is not to use first person pronoune.. but I see most of guys using first person.. which seems a major draw back. Just to let you know...

Naveesh

muhammad imran sethi Monday, November 29, 2010 08:21 PM

precis2005

A delicate balance between conflicting demands at different levels of mind is what maintains sanity.This is the function of ego.When either ego stops functioning at the level of consciousness or different defence stategies fail to fill the void of ego,mental illnesses ranging from psychosis to neurosis result.Again in these disorders one mental capability dominates at expense of others.Therefore a person is unable to make balanced judgment.In the ultimate analysis mental disorders represent cessation of efforts towards realization of self.Thus seemingly abnormal overt behaviour in a particular culture may not necessarily represent a mental illness.

esha zaid Saturday, March 05, 2011 12:01 PM

influence of different languages

with the passage of time,we should finish poverty by hard working.regional language should be imposed instead of allocating modern language.the time is going on fastly.we should educate children in their ease language

06:25 PM (GMT +5)