01:18 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Compulsory Subjects > English (Precis & Composition) > Precis

Old Friday, September 23, 2011
40th CTP (FSP)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2012 Merit 101

Thanked 1,691 Times in 640 Posts
Roshan wadhwani is a glorious beacon of lightRoshan wadhwani is a glorious beacon of lightRoshan wadhwani is a glorious beacon of lightRoshan wadhwani is a glorious beacon of lightRoshan wadhwani is a glorious beacon of light

ORIGINAL PASSAGE: (words: 335)

Snakes were common about us: snakes of seven or eight different kinds, green in the green grass, and yellow and dusky---mottled in the dry and barren places and in withered herbage, so that it was difficult to detect them. Sometimes they intruded into the dwelling rooms, and at all seasons a nest or colony of snakes existed in the thick old foundations of the house, and under the flooring. In winter they hibernated there, tangled together in a cluster no doubt, and in summer nights they were at home, coiled at their ease or gliding ghost-like about their subterranean apartments. I would lie awake and listen to them by the hour. For although it may be news to some closet ophiologists, serpents are not all so mute as we think them. At all events this kind, the philodryas aestivus—a beautiful and harmless colubrine snake, two and a half to three feet long, marked all over with inky black on a vivid green ground—not only emitted a sound when lying undisturbed in his den, but several individuals would hold a conversation together which seemed endless, for I generally fell asleep before it was finished: a hissing conversation it is true, but not unmodulated, or without considerable variety in it, a long sibilation would be followed by distinctly-heard ticking sounds, as of a husky-ticking clock, and after ten or twenty or thirty ticks another hiss, like a long expiring sigh, sometimes with a tremble in it as of a dry leaf swiftly vibrating in the wind. No sooner would one cease than another would begin; and so it would go on. It was dark in my room, and to my excited imagination, the serpents were no longer under the floor, but out, gliding hither and thither over it, with uplifted heads, in a kind of mystic dance; and I often shivered to think what my bare feet might touch if I were to thrust a leg out and let it hang over the bedside.

PRECIS:

There were different kinds of snakes around me. They were of variety of hue and forms. Some were green, plain and others were dark and spotted. They remained inactive and dormant during winter but moved about in summer. They not only give sounds but also make communications with one another through hushing sounds. As I lay awake in my dark room, I frequently tremble imagining them and I am scared to push my legs down my bed.

HEADING: MY FEAR FOR SNAKES
Old Saturday, September 24, 2011

Thanked 1,387 Times in 547 Posts
SYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to behold

don`t worry roshan i will surely check your precise i am really busy in my projects now a days,plz wait.

Maza deti han zindagi ki thokerin unko,jinhen NAAM-E-KHUDA le kar sanbhal janey ki adat ho.
The Following User Says Thank You to SYEDA SABAHAT For This Useful Post:
Roshan wadhwani (Saturday, October 08, 2011)
Old Saturday, September 24, 2011

Tariqmehsud is on a distinguished road

soory to say bro bt you dont have a fabulous methodology of doing precis ........ :o
Old Sunday, September 25, 2011

sana chudhary is on a distinguished road

[QUOTE=Roshan wadhwani;350440]ORIGINAL PASSAGE: (126 words)

It is not luck but labour that makes men. Luck says an American writer, is ever waiting for something to turn up: labour with keen eye and strong will always turns up something. Luck lies in bed and wishes the postman would bring him news of a legacy; labour turns out at six and with busy pen and ringing hammer lays the foundation of a competence. Luck whines; labour watches. Luck relies on chance; labour on character. Luck slips downwards to self-indulgence; labour strides upwards and aspires to independence. The conviction, therefore, is extending that diligence is the mother of good luck: in other words, that a man’s success in life will be proportionate to his efforts, to his industry, to his attention to small things.

PRECIS:

a famous saying ; A man makes his fate by himself . indeed it is struggle and hard working that makes a man perfect.no doubt a self-made person more diligent and determined than a lucky one.luck provide chances while struggle creat them.therefore a man success depends upon his commitment to work along with his efforts...

please seniors guide me about it ............
Old Sunday, September 25, 2011

vacas is on a distinguished road
Default check my precis

seniors plz check my precis...its my first ever precis attempt...please guide me

Passage: Understanding of dictatorship and democracy are so important in social sciences generally and for us in this book in particular not because of their nature as of two types of governance regime, but because of their nature as of two different systems of property relations and therefore because of all applications, which they create for the state property. The problem with the state property is not only that it is so colossal and influential, but that whosoever controls State property and State revenues simultaneously acquires straightforward exclusive right on utilization of the mechanism of the power and coercion. Furthermore, whosoever controls State property, State revenues and mechanism of power and coercion is the single real informal proprietor of the State, all other people being inadequate, imaginary and idealized proprietors. Who owns or who controls in the State property and first of all who controls those mechanisms of power and coercion is a rather complicated issue thoroughly concealed by the entire social infrastructure throughout the entire human history. Already this fact of concealment is raising or at least should raise a lot of suspicions. Another problem with the state property is that not only it is associated with the largest ever monopoly based on power and coercion, but much more important in fact it is a final instance of power and coercion in any society. The problems with the State proprietorship by and large are underlying the deficiency of any society. With the whole truth about inadequacy of society hurts not only all the non-socialized interest in particular society, but might harm a lot of socialized interest as well. Because of that, too many prefer to think not too much or too deep about such a tricky subject as the State proprietorship and its applications. However since the State is one of the main, the most powerful and the most determinative part of the society, without understanding of the nature of State proprietorship we will never be able understand the nature of any society.
Total Words – 333

Precis: Comprehension of democracy and dictatorship is significant due to their disparate mode of property correspondence for state property. The one who controls the state’s land and income becomes all powerful through employment of might muscle and compulsion and act as absolute monarch. The mysterious question of know how of controller is perplex and is always secreted by whole social structure all over the personage history. This ownership signifies the shortcoming of any society which when further exposed could alienate and tender both non socialized and socialized stake so people prefer not to ponder over this delicate issue. Complete apprehension of state ownership nature is associated only with knowledge of instincts of society. (Total Words – 112)

Title :- Understanding State proprietorship
Old Saturday, October 08, 2011

hadia Khan is on a distinguished road
Default kindly check my precis on the above passage

Precis:
There is the need of hour to understand Democracy and Dictatorship in terms of their influence on the state property. two problems are associated with state property. Those who own the property within a government becomes too powerful and their subject turns to be mere puppet in their hands. They hide the truth from the mob. It reflects the weakness of the society and is a perplexed issue for the whole society. So the state ought to be understood, without that one could not understand the society.
Old Wednesday, October 12, 2011
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 4,047 Times in 1,576 Posts
Farrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud of

Originally Posted by hadia Khan View Post
where are you frends???? check my precis plzz
Dear I don't have enough time to check precis now a days so I will check it on weekend Insha Allah.Wait till then
Old Sunday, October 16, 2011
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 4,047 Times in 1,576 Posts
Farrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud of

Originally Posted by hadia Khan View Post
Precis:
There is the need of hour to understand Democracy and Dictatorship in terms of their influence on the state property. two problems are associated with state property. Those who own the property within a government becomes too powerful and their subject turns to be mere puppet in their hands. They hide the truth from the mob. It reflects the weakness of the society and is a perplexed issue for the whole society. So the state ought to be understood, without that one could not understand the society.
where is "Title" ?

"There" should be replaced by "it".It is the need of hour.

"Mob" doesn't suit here.

nature of state proprietorship should be understood.

I appreciate your attempt but you need to practice it more.

Good Luck.

Originally Posted by vacas View Post
Precis: Comprehension of democracy and dictatorship is significant due to their disparate mode of property correspondence for state property. The one who controls the state’s land and income becomes all powerful through employment of might muscle and compulsion and act as absolute monarch. The mysterious question of know how of controller is perplex and is always secreted by whole social structure all over the personage history. This ownership signifies the shortcoming of any society which when further exposed could alienate and tender both non socialized and socialized stake so people prefer not to ponder over this delicate issue. Complete apprehension of state ownership nature is associated only with knowledge of instincts of society. (Total Words – 112)

Title :- Understanding State proprietorship
Precis's purpose is to make passage easy to understand

You replaced easy word "understanding" with a comparatively difficult word "comprehension" And there are many other such words in your precis.Kindly keep in mind,you have to make things simpler not more complex

Frankly speaking,the original passage was easier than your precis.As it's your first attempt so you can improve it by practice.

Keep it up !

Last edited by Inerrant Inamorata; Tuesday, October 07, 2014 at 12:54 PM. Reason: chain posts
Old Sunday, October 16, 2011

vacas is on a distinguished road

thanks a lot for your suggestions...you are absolutely right, i also felt so when i made it but i just wanted to check that from someone...i will definitely try to be simpler...thanks again..
Old Monday, October 17, 2011

hadia Khan is on a distinguished road

thnx for checking... i wana do more practice, but no one in this forum checked my precis.... what to do?????????