04:27 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Compulsory Subjects > Essay

Old Thursday, June 09, 2005
34th Commons (PAAS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: Account and Audit

Nauman will become famous soon enoughNauman will become famous soon enough
Default Length of the essay

Aoa 2 every1!

I have done BE from NUST and plan to take CSS 2005 inshaAllah.
During Matric and f.sc., teachers always used to concentrate and emphasize on length of the topic.
What I want to know is that does the length of the essay really matter or if even a well-presented, short and concise essay can also earn good marks?
Anyone having previous years experience may please reply.

Nauman

Last edited by Princess Royal; Monday, June 15, 2009 at 12:46 AM.
Old Friday, June 10, 2005
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2008 - Merit 120

Adil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really nice
Default I'll try to reply...

Dear Nauman,
Although I haven't qualified CSS and haven't either appeared in it. But the guidance I am receiving from people is that according to them the CSS Essay should be point to point and well-explained. Although the minimum size according to them was 3000 words. This was the suggestion of some technical and qualified people. And normally when you'll get to writing an essay, you'll realise that you'll cross that limit easily!

Further any book of CSS essays will give you a good idea.

Adil Memon

Originally Posted by Nauman
Aoa 2 every1!
I have done BE from NUST and plan to take CSS 2005 inshaAllah.
During Matric and f.sc., teachers always used to concentrate and emphasize on length of the topic.
What I want to know is that does the length of the essay really matter or if even a well-presented, short and concise essay can also earn good marks?
Anyone having previous years experience may please reply.
Nauman
chnaumanzafar@hotmail.com
0300-9544361

Adil Memon
Police Service of Pakistan (P.S.P)
37th Common Training Program
Old Friday, June 10, 2005
Administrator

Thanked 2,445 Times in 282 Posts
Argus is a splendid one to beholdArgus is a splendid one to beholdArgus is a splendid one to beholdArgus is a splendid one to beholdArgus is a splendid one to beholdArgus is a splendid one to beholdArgus is a splendid one to behold

(One of the post by Miss Mediha,2001 topper)

ASA
Since i took my O'levels, we were trained to think out and outline our essay before writing.. i think that is indeed a very healthy way of writing, and it makes the essay coherent, flowing and well connected and very readable.
Also, another point on the essay that i would like to give out is that please, dont write a 'run of the mill' essay and go on for pages and pages and pages with empty rhetoric.. that is NOT what is required.
I wrote my essay on 'On tolerance' and believe me, my essay was philosophical, factual and opinionated on what i felt. AND, it wasn't for 20 pages.. I think it went the length of about 15 pages MAX..
think out the essay well, be careful in chosing a topic and write from the heart (but nothing that makes u sound like a rebel without a cause)

Last edited by Argus; Friday, June 10, 2005 at 11:17 AM.
Old Monday, November 21, 2005

Umar Hayat is on a distinguished road
Thumbs up Plz tell me the way of getting these megazines

aoa, hope everyone is fine,

can anyone guide me the way of getting these megazines?

1- Strategic Studies Digest Quartely Digest(issued by Strategic studies
Centre, Islamabad)
2. National Development and Security Quartely Digest(issued by Friends
Association Of Mirza Aslam Baig, rawalpindi)
3. Economist Magazine.
Old Wednesday, December 07, 2005

Naeem Ahmed is on a distinguished road

Salam,

I also need to know that..... is there anyone who could tell us ?
Old Friday, March 17, 2006
Sara

Question Need Guidance

Well folks I appeared in CSS-2005 n flunked in essay paper with a shamefully low score .... any how i find it a good opportunity to discuss wt i did in the paper ... quite intrestingly i also found the paper easy at that tyme because the topics were all pretty topical ones ... i wrote my essay on the social prob of pak .. hmm i worte around 10 to 11 pages n wrote from all aspects ..but i dont know why i cudn't get thorugh ... any one senior here who can help me out for this paper n guide me abt how to attempt it ... well as far as the intellectual prop for essay is concerned i learnt abt it dat u shud know some major pointers abt the current affairs n u got to reproduce those pointers in a rather more elaborate way in the paper of essay .. so i didn't do any isspecial preption for this paper n thought i wud write on the spur of moment ... but dat exp kind of proved unsuccessful ... so guyz i'm askin u to guide me how to go abt this paper n wt to do dis tyme… besidez some one mentioned to me to adorn the paper with quotationz … hmm is dere any book to get these quotation n besidez what exactly quoting a quotation meanz …like abt poverty or population any literary quotation will sound a rather out of frame thing … any how I’m waiting for ur guidance …….
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2008 - Merit 120

Adil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really nice

Salaam,

Please tell us the the points (as an outline) that you discussed in the essay along with your attained marks!

Adil Memon
Sara

Default Re

Well …I wont be able to exactly reproduce the outline here but broadly speaking it was like that I discussed following issues under social probz (I wrote the essay in one long protracted form but here I am writing the points under n social n economic headers) … illiteracy, poverty, corruption, extremism, unemployment, decaying civic sense among people, population n then coming to eco probz … agricultural decadence, industrial backwardness, lack of investment, inflation, NFC issue, water issue ….after highlighting the probz , I discussed the remedies to overcome these probz, I also discussed Islamic aspect in the sense how Islam can offer a salvation e.g. the system of zakat to counter concentration of wealth in the hands of few privileged ones…. by and large I wrote like this, apart from that I must tell you that I wrote around 10 to 11 sheets … dats all , plz lemme know if this much length is considered too brief for essay paper or not , hmm… as far as the score goes it was only 24 L .. the interesting part was that I had the satisfaction that I had done good enough but the result proved only the opposite !!
Old Saturday, March 18, 2006

Salaam,

I am not the examiner myself, but I opine that you probably didn't attempt the paper they wanted you to.

1) I think you discussed useless things in your essay e.g. NFC, water, lack of investment etc. Either I or you have probably misunderstood the topic. I think by socio-economic problems, the examiner means the problems that emerge as a result of interaction between social and economic factors. Like, corruption, health, education, poverty etc. You do not need to discuss the social and economic problems separately.

2) You need not mention the role of Islam in salvation. They didn't ask for it. (This is what I think).

3) The ideal length of an essay is around 20 pages. This might be one of the factors that has entailed your low score.

PS: In case of correction, do write back.

Adil Memon
Old Saturday, March 18, 2006
Abdullah

ms sara ,,,well my analysis might be brimfull of brazenly low-witted mistakes

but , despite all my shortcomings i would say 1 thing...... if you had

discussed all the abovementioned sub-heads as the major constituents of

your essay then how much did you endeavoured to strike a balance to justify

those constiuents in their proportional size.... you need not to be extra

rhetoric while pleading your points, it might digress one of the actual

course,,,i mean there have been people around who wrote "iraq-us " war

under the title "islam vs west"....ok if NFC is the major socio political issue of

pakistan then how much its impacting the holistic socio-ecocnomic

scene.....if i write two pages for NFC and one page over something of more

importance than NFC , just because i know about NFC more than wat i wrote

in the other issue, than i would definitley be inviting a trouble.......one more

thing ;i agree to adil that in this topic its the social turbulence emerging out

of economic set up....and we are to give importance to the social

degradation of our society,,,,,not to mention the technical intricacies

involved in all this mess,,,,,,there are five major social institions of paradigm

importance i.e 1)Family 2) religion 3) politics 4)economics 5)and

education....now i will have to write with a balanced approach as to which

institutional value has to be pursued on priority basis in order to create a

harmonious society living in peace and tranquility........well if i say political

stability is more important than economic prosperity than it would be true

w.r.t macro-economic scenario,,, but it will be wrong w.r.t micro-economic

one........another thing; bringing religion into this topic might not be wrong

(though you people may disagree with me to the fullest)............but we will

have to be cautious as to wat are the threshholds for the religious dogmas

which they shouldn't be transcended, well islam is not just a religion its a

complete code of life , ,,so on and so forth....there could be endless debate

over this socio-institutional conversation......but all you need to know is to

clearly and unequivocally mention the points in their proper proportion....and

last but not the least....writing an essay of 10/11 sheets might not be a bad

idea, its all wat you have written in that....i hope i will be corrected for all

wat i might have been overly judgemental........all the best

Last edited by Abdullah; Saturday, March 18, 2006 at 10:09 PM.