09:45 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Compulsory Subjects > Essay

Old Friday, December 01, 2017
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2017 - Roll no. 16770

fawadhash is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by checkmywork View Post
What are your patterns and strategies to write introduction?
Can you please guide me how did you control your nerves in essay and precise paper? And also during the preparation process.
For essay introduction, you can give background of the issue and end your introduction with your thesis statement and how the following paragraph will help in proving that thesis statement.
As for nerves, it entirely depends on you. If you consciously try to control your thinking you can. For essay, just consciously keeping reminding to control yourself during brainstorming and outline phase. Once you are done with that, your mind would be ease for rest of 2:30 hours. For precise first do short easily doable questions and then after quickly finishing them, do precise and comprehension, the more time you have for precise and comprehension, the calmer your nerves would be.

And sorry for delay, I intended to answer this twice yesterday but something came up both times and I have to leave my pc.
Ajiz o Gunahgar (Friday, December 01, 2017)

Ajiz o Gunahgar is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by fawadhash View Post
For essay introduction, you can give background of the issue and end your introduction with your thesis statement and how the following paragraph will help in proving that thesis statement.
As for nerves, it entirely depends on you. If you consciously try to control your thinking you can. For essay, just consciously keeping reminding to control yourself during brainstorming and outline phase. Once you are done with that, your mind would be ease for rest of 2:30 hours. For precise first do short easily doable questions and then after quickly finishing them, do precise and comprehension, the more time you have for precise and comprehension, the calmer your nerves would be.

And sorry for delay, I intended to answer this twice yesterday but something came up both times and I have to leave my pc.

Nice dear.... Thanks for that....
Hai log wohi Jahan mein ache
Ate hein jo kam doosron k...

Norymberskie is on a distinguished road

I don't understand why people should feel nervous during exams. It is a burden that many people bring upon themselves. I have in my life failed exams. In fact I have been kicked out of my masters degree because of failing a subject 3 times. Yet at no point have I felt nervous or worried about my result. What's the point? If I look back at my academic career, I do not see how being nervous would have helped me pass the exams I failed. It is simply a psychological blockade that people buildup in their brains.

The worst thing that will happen to you is you fail the essay paper. Now I agree its a bad thing and your whole CSS preparation is down the drain if that happens, but tell me one good reason how worrying about it will help you pass? It will not. Only good preparation will help you pass, which I am sure you are already doing. So when you have the pen in hand, consider yourself the best writer in the world and do not worry about the negative consequences. That is for the examiner to worry about.
checkmywork (Saturday, December 02, 2017)
Old Sunday, December 17, 2017

Mehwishsahar is on a distinguished road

fawadhash ,Norymberskie plzzzz guide me i also very tenz dont know how to jot down ideas on paper in essay
Old Sunday, December 17, 2017

Anum Zara is on a distinguished road

I have a serious problem. I have written two essays. Each essay took a whole day. Whenever, I start writing, my mind stops working and I start thinking about sentences. Write and erase. I think I can not write an essay in three hours. How can I overcome this issue?
Others have given you brilliant tips already. I just want to share my experience. In my last attempt I had less than a month to prepare all the subjects so, I did not have time to practice any essay. I was not even aware about the kinds of essays. I had read only 3-4 essays written by a CSP. 3 out of 4 were written in cause-effect-remedy style and one was argumentative. I knew I have to make outline and after that I had to write accordingly as much as I can. I was also aware that introduction and conclusion are most important. I spent good 40-50 minutes for choosing topic, brainstorming and making a rough outline. I left around 4 pages for outline and introduction. Started writing middle paragraphs. I kept adding to my rough outline. At the end, I concluded my essay and I made sure it was crux of my entire essay. After that, I came back to outline. I wrote it neatly and it was already organized. The last thing I wrote was introduction. At that time, whole concept of my essay was crystal clear in my mind. I started with topic sentence, I had given some background, elaborated some keywords, few sentences were according to outline and after that, last sentence was my thesis statement. I tried to give clear idea and direction to my essay in the thesis statement. Here are some of the tips that will surely help you.
1- Do not waste your entire day on essay. Instead, try to write only 5 full essays on different days in defined time limit of three hours.
2- Do not worry about material. There will be more than one essays on which you can write. Just identify the one on which you can write best. Topics are either related to current affairs or from other subjects. Students do have material for essay. Worry about it less and worry more about other things.
3- No need to select different essay just write differently.
4- Carefully read the topic. Identify key points. Do justice to all.
5- Some can be written in more than one styles. So, choose carefully.
6- Write ideas according to style.
7- Organize your ideas.
8- I like to write outline and intro at last. Check if suits you. Otherwise follow the usual method. I do make rough outline with lead pencil and erase it at end after writing neat one.
9- Write according to outline. Do not write anything which is not in outline.
10- About essay length, no one really count words. In my opinion 14-18 pages including outline are enough. Length of outline should be 1.5-2.5 pages depending upon your writing speed and number of words pr line. I have really good writing and my writing speed is also good. However, I write less words per line as I write bigger words. My essay was about 20 pages long including 4 pages of outline and introduction. I will recommend you to write at least 14 pages. I have seen people passing with even less than 10 pages. They were exceptions and their essays were too good that length did not matter there.
11- Focus more on outline, intro and conclusion. They should be flawless.
12- Organize your essay well
13- Ideas should be clear and coherent
14- Discussed ideas should be relevant
15- Do not write irrelevant stuff just for the sake of filling pages
16- It all comes to understanding of topic and identifying the key points. If you have done that part well, you will not face any problem and can smoothly write you essay after organizing your ideas.
17- No need to waste time on more than 5 full essays. Write on most anticipated topics. Rest practice outlines, intros and conclusions.
18- Mind only stops when one does not clearly understand the topic. Essays are not straightforward and often have many key points. You just need to write the most important and relevant ones. For example: In argumentative essay, 12- 20 arguments are enough. If you will choose the topic to which you can do justice, it will not give you any problems to write that many points.
19- Identify your strength. If you have less ideas, make lengthy paragraphs. If you have more ideas, write shorter paragraph. Start each paragraph with topic sentence. ive at least 2 arguments for that idea in shorter paragraph and then conclude it. Increase length of paragraph by giving more arguments.
20- Read your essay at end. Correct as many mistakes as you can. At least outline, intro and conclusion should be flawless.
21- Do not write contraction and short forms in essay.
22- Write your essay in simple possible language. Focus on conveying your ideas effectively. I used layman language and ended up getting pretty good score in essay.

About controlling nerves, it is upto you really. Try to relax as much as you can. Try not to overburden yourself. Do not leave anything for last moment study. Finish everything. However you can revise outlines of most important topics on exam day. I will advice you to stop reading at least half an hour before your exam. Have tea or coffee before exam if you can even dark chocolate is effective for calming nerves. Just think you have studied enough and you only need to use your knowledge effectively.
I had bad headaches in previous attempt so, I used to take woo aspirin tablets before all examinations and 2 before sleeping as well. To calm my mind I used different methods and even dared to used them in examination like listening music, tilawat, watching an episode of any season up to 40 minutes daily.
Apart from studying, keeping yourself composed and relaxed is another battle. Date sheet of this year is hell better than previous year since compulsory papers are one on each day. Good sleep of 6-8 hours is important to prepare you for next day papers. Without that, you will be total mess.

About precis paper, this paper has more time as compared to length of questions. I remember finishing it an hour before finished time. I started with small objective type. After that, I came to comprehension and translation. Precis was last question. Leave the questions which demand creativity, skills and thinking for end. At end, you will get relaxed and will be able to solve them calmly.
Aanwar (Monday, December 18, 2017), AFIA KHANN (Wednesday, December 20, 2017), checkmywork (Monday, December 18, 2017), Mehwishsahar (Monday, December 18, 2017), Waleed92 (Wednesday, February 14, 2018), zeresh (Wednesday, December 20, 2017)
Old Monday, December 18, 2017

siddiquiali is on a distinguished road

I have been writing an essay on every weekend now.However, it takes me the whole day to do so. I make the outline and write the intro well in time. The problem arise when I write my body paragraphs, I have to look up things (facts, quotes, examples) on the internet to support my arguments. How to solve this problem and be able to write in 3 hours?
Old Monday, December 18, 2017

checkmywork is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by siddiquiali View Post
I have been writing an essay on every weekend now.However, it takes me the whole day to do so. I make the outline and write the intro well in time. The problem arise when I write my body paragraphs, I have to look up things (facts, quotes, examples) on the internet to support my arguments. How to solve this problem and be able to write in 3 hours?
just
before writing, collect material
The Following User Says Thank You to checkmywork For This Useful Post:
siddiquiali (Tuesday, December 19, 2017)
Old Tuesday, December 19, 2017

Anum Zara is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by siddiquiali View Post
Beginners should collect data before writing any essay. Do not calculate data collection time. At start, this process takes time. With passage of time, you will read news papers, journals, research papers and articles etc. (Both national and international) With extensive study, your knowledge will improve. This will help you not only in essay paper but in couple of other subjects as well. For data collection, consult all these resources. Also you can search data or even essays on particular topics on internet. Moreover, CSSFORUM is a great source. Check quality essays written by seniors and CSP's. Do not copy them. Use them as data resource. Make your own outlines and introduction. They will help you surely. Reading is the key to success here. The more you will read, the more you will have knowledge which you can utilize and can differentiate your essay from others.

During exams or during revision routine, you will already have enough material to write a quality essay. Data collection or reading takes a lot of time. Only calculate time of your actual essay writing. You should be able to write essay of around 2500-3000 words within 3 hour time limit.
siddiquiali (Tuesday, December 19, 2017)
Old Friday, February 02, 2018

siddiquiali is on a distinguished road

What to do if you don't have data/stats to support your point during the exam? Should one simply explain the point logically without any data or is it better to not write that point at all?
Old Wednesday, February 14, 2018

zulqarnayn is on a distinguished road

90% candidates (including me) have the same problem. 3 hours are not enough to write an essay comprising of 3000 words. But no one can do anything about it. it is may be the CRITERA of FPSC.

I have managed to overcome this problem by composing the essays in the MS word file and then try writing on the paper while watching it on the screen of your computer. This exercise will help your writing speed. Once your speed in increased. you can write 3000 words in 3 hours.

Though, it takes 4 hours for me to write a 3000 words essay :p
LightSwitch (Thursday, February 15, 2018)