-   Essay (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compulsory-subjects/essay/)
-   -   Hints For Beginners On Essay-writing (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compulsory-subjects/essay/6583-hints-beginners-essay-writing.html)

Sureshlasi Tuesday, December 05, 2006 04:09 AM

Hints For Beginners On Essay-writing

[SIZE="4"][U]HINTS ON ESSAY-WRITING[/U][/SIZE]

AS WE KNOW THAT ESSAY WRITING IS MOST DIFFICULT TASK FOR CSS EXAM,AND MOST OF ASPIRANTS TRAPPED IN THIS COMPLICATION SO AS TO I REVEAL SOME KNOWLEGE WHICH I GET FROM A EFFICACIOUS BOOK FOR PREPARATION.THIS HINTS MAY HELP BEGINNERS TO CLEAR THEIR CONCEPT ABOUT ESSAY WRITING

GENERAL PREPARATION-
One of the chief diffiult most of us feel is the lack of matter.we do not easily find anything to say about a subject.this is natural,because our experience and general reading are limited.but it may b remedied by reading,and by training the power of observation.

READING
in order to write an essay the student must have something to write about and so he must endeavour to store his mind with ideas by reading.BECON SAYS "reading maketh a full man";that is a person who reads much and widely stores his mind with a large variety of facts,thoughts,illustrations and general informations.if you want to write good essays you must acquire love to reading...not simply reading stories for amusement,but reading good books of historey, travel, biography and science.fill your mind with fine thoughts and accurate information. by doing so you will become "a full man" ,and "a full man" can always find plenty to say on most subjects.

OBSERVATION
observation contributes alot in our day to day knowledge.All knowledge does not come from books.we may learn much from the life around us--what we see and hear observe for ourselves.Keep eyes and ears open ,and learn from your own experience.practical writing short descriptions of what you see in building,street scenes,trees and flowers,hillsand valleys,the habit of animals and birds.dont b content with reading other people`s description of such things but see them for yourself.it is surprising what a lot may b learnt from personal observation.

CONVERSATION
books are written by men and women;and if we can learn from the books they write ,we can learn also from the words they say,listen to the people`s conversation get them to talk to u about the things they know,and discuss subjects that interest u with your friends.in this way,also,you may learn much.
A writer reads,observe and gets people to talk and in these ways he is always enriching his mind with ideas and knowlege ."we can take the example of journalists. they exercise lots of things for accumulating information to complete their theme of writing as like them we also have to persist for gather copious knowledge for writing by discriminated ways"

DEFINING THE SUBJECT
It is very important that u should have a clear and accurate conception of the subject of the essay before you attempt to write on it....what exactly it is and (equally important)what it is not.some subjects are so simple that you can scarcely make a mistake about them ..for example,"the influence of railway traveling on paksitani social life."
Neither the subject is railway travelling nor it is the railway system of pakistan still less the invention of the locomotive engine,and the history of railways.Yet some students,carelessly reading the subject,might easily take up a large part of their essay with such topics,you must come to the point at once and start away with the real subjects,which in this case is the different ways in which the habit of travelling by train is changing the social customs of the people of paksitan.it is therefore very necessary that u should define the subject clearly in your own mind or you may waste much time and paper in writing on more or less irrrelevant matters.

COLLECTING MATERIAL
when u have got the clear idea of yr subject,the next step will b to think of that what can u say about it.some subject are so simple that a little reflection should supply u with suffcient matterial for a short essay but,for others,special information will b needed for which u may have to do some special reading,if u have to write about the some historical subjects and extra knowledge seeking subject.u have to get hold of some books and subject up.but in any case,do not attempt to write the essay before u have given some time to thinking over what can say on the subject.the common habit of beggining to write down the first thing that omes into one,s head,without knowing what is to come next,is fatal to good essay-writing.
As u think over the subject,ideas,facts and illustrations will pass through yr mind.but if u done catch them as they come,u may forget them just when u want them.so as u catch birds and put them in a cage,(mean to say pick the idea and paste it on the piece of paper),catch and cage these fleeting thoughts by jotting them down on a piece of paper just as they come in to yr mind,without troubling yrself at this stage about their order or suitablity,u can examine the birds thus caught at ur leisure later.
When u think u have colleted enough material of yr essay,or u cant think of any more points,read over the notes u have jotted down to select points most suitable for yr purpose (pick and choose more important and more efficacious point for yr essay).u may find what they worth.u may find that some are mere repetitions of others and others may b simply illustraions to b thought under main heads.this process of selection will probably suggest to u in a general way the line of thought u may follow in the essay.

LOGICAL ARRANGEMENT
Now should b ready to decide on the line of thought oss the essay i.e., the logical order in which u can arrange the points u have selected.the necessity if thus arranging yr thoughts according to some ordinary plan cant b too strongly insisted upon.without it,the essay will probably b badly arranged,rambling,disproportioned and full of reptitions and irrelevancies.

MAKING THE OUT LINE
Bearing yr subject definitely in yr mind and with yr purpose clearly before you,sketch out a bare outline of the main heads, under which u will arrange yr various materials in a natural,logical and convincing order.......from a brief introduction till an effetive conclusion.

FALLING IN THE OUT LINE
Having thus mapped out the main points with which u are going to deal,arrange the ideas you have collected each under its proper main head,rejecting all those not really relevant to yr subject ot which simply repeat other thoughts and taking are that each really belongs to the division in which u place it.
You will now have a full out line,which is to b a guide to u in writing the essay.but this is not the essay,but only its well-articulated skeleton.u must now clothe the skeleton with flesh,and most difficult of all breathe into it the breath of life,before u all yr production an essay

NOTE: IT IS NOT THE COMPLETE MATTER I HAD TO CUT THE CONVERSATION BECAUSE OF DEFICIENCY OF TIME.INSHALLAH I WILL CONTINUE THIS CONVERSATION AS SOON AS POSSIBLE

Miss_Naqvi Wednesday, December 06, 2006 12:20 AM

Its really Commendable :clap :clap

Inshallah I will add some more valuable points to it but now its time to leave.

I M Possible Wednesday, December 06, 2006 11:43 AM

Guidelines are functional ones but the main point is to practise. The more you will practise, the more you will learn from your own efforts. Always practise on true guidelines.

Desert Fox Wednesday, December 06, 2006 04:46 PM

My hint is one and only one write an essay in such a way so that a layman can also understand it.

An Essay is for layman, report is for an expert

Sureshlasi Thursday, December 07, 2006 05:26 AM

[B][U]WRITING THE ESSAY[/U][/B]

[B]1.PARAGRAPHS[/B]

Every essay should b divided into paragraphs,and each point should have at least one paragraph to itself.An essay not thus paragraphed looks unattractive and not easy to read.

A paragraph is a group of related sentences that develop a single point.In constructing a paragraph these principles should b kept in view:

(1).UNITY.........The paragraph must treat of one subject only
(2).VARIETY.....Paragraph should not all b of the same length or of the same monotonous structure
(3).LOGICAL SEQUENCE OF THOUGHTS
(4).TOPICAL SENTENCE.......The most important sentence of a paragraph are the first and the last.In many paragraphs,the first sentence states the subject and is called the topical sentence (or key sentence).The concluding sentence may sum up effectively what has been said in the paragraph.

2.STRUCTURE OF AN ESSAY

We may divide an essay into three parts:

(1).THE INTRODUCTION
(2).THE SUMMARY OR THE BODY OF ESSAY
(3)THE CONCLUSION,THE BACK DOOR OR EXIT

In arranging the body of the essay observe proportion that is let each part have due weight given to it.If the subject is "The good and bad influence of newspaper,"do not devote three quarters of the essay to good influence and so leave only a quarter for the bad.Closely follow your full outline throughout.(give same importance to both subject most of students feel that they had good paper inspite of it they cant get good marks but they dint focus on their mistake usually they defined one side of the subject and leave the other.we must remove our misconception first and focus on subject astutely).

The paragraph should b well constructed and should b related to one another according to the direction of your out line and as far as possible, the connection between one and another should b shown.Avoid "padding and keep to the point".padding kill the interest of reader just reveal yr main points straightly without circumlocution.

Avoid the use of unnecessary words.In reversing yr essay,Look our for useless repetitions and redundant expressions,and strike them out.Whether repetition and redundant expressions enlarge the size of essay but it befoul the beauty of essay .

Match the words to the sense and adopt the style the subject matter.Dont write frivolously on a serious subject,or ponderously on a light and humorous subject.

The conclusion........As the introduction should arouse interest,the conclusion should satisfy it. An effective and satisfying end to an essay is an important as an interesting begining.An abrubt ot feeble ending may spoil the whole effect of the essay.(many student gets zero marks in essay and they become strange of it .the reason for getting zero mark is nointerest in introduction and conclusion,yr essay introduction should arrange as like that reader compelled to read the complete essay).

A good essay may b consist of
(a).a summing up of the arguments of the essay
(b).final conclusion drawn from the subject matter
(c).a suitable quotation
(d).a sentence that strickingly express the main point you want to drive home.

Finally a few words about you style of writing........to acquire a simple,direct and forceful style in writing calls for constant practice.It does not come "by nature".As a poet says:

"True ease in writing comes from art,not chance;
As those move easiest who have learned to dance"

The secret of clear writing is clear thinking.So b perfectly clear about what u want to say and then say it....as directly,as simply,as concisely as possible.Be direct:use short sentences in preference to long and involved periods.Be simple:Do not attempt any oratory or flowery language(which i used to attempt lolz)but use simple words and constructions and avoid elaborate and superfluous words;say what u want to say as tersely as is consistent with making your meaning clear.Never use two words where one (the right one)will do.Be natural:dont try to imitate any author,s style,however eloquent ,but be yourself

Atlast i would like to say that all the above hints will b helpful but it worths nothing without practice.So try to write different essays on different topics by using above hints and always remember:
"PRACTICE MAKE MAN PERFECT"

BEST OF LUCK................

Sureshlasi Friday, December 08, 2006 02:08 AM

[QUOTE]My hint is one and only one write an essay in such a way so that a layman can also understand it.

An Essay is for layman, report is for an expert[/QUOTE]

i m completely agree with yr comment " formation of essay should b very simple that layman can understand it easily" but bro first of all it is must to learn the formation then u may exert to make it easier.one cant persist for car racing without knowledge of car driving.

[QUOTE]Guidelines are functional ones but the main point is to practise. The more you will practise, the more you will learn from your own efforts. Always practise on true guidelines[/QUOTE]

bhai jaan, i have no words for appreciate u because yr efforts are always marvelous and deserves appreciation

Sureshlasi Thursday, March 22, 2007 05:42 PM

@ Mr Attitude

Thank u for appreciation. I have posted hints for precis writing. U may explore it at following link

[url]http://www.cssforum.com.pk/compulsory-subjects/english-precis-composition/7588-hints-begginers-precis-writing.html[/url]

akhtar mehmood Wednesday, April 04, 2007 10:04 PM

Dear seniors i need ur kind attention and some help regarding books for the preparation of urdu general and islamic studies.
hoping to get an early response.

Sureshlasi Thursday, April 05, 2007 12:52 AM

@ Moderatortaj

Thank u very much for motivating me. We are so glad to find our crown

@ akhter mehmood

Firstly m` always around to help u. I can counsel u books for Islamic studies

1. Islami Nazria hiyat by prof. Khursheed ahmed
2. Islamic articles on friday in dawn

Raja4u Saturday, April 28, 2007 07:15 PM

English Literature

colud any expert of English Literature would suggest me the essential books and related books only?:wub:

samighumro Wednesday, September 26, 2007 04:12 PM

hi mr: suresh,
i appreciate your efforts regarding such a useful guidance for new commers. but bro please tel me the way to practice the essay no doubt this whole process answers my querry but even then i wana ask u fronm where should i start?

Waseem Riaz Khan Wednesday, September 26, 2007 05:47 PM

nice effort!
since the result of this year has shown the importance of essays so it would be considered good if you pay more heed towards style and language
i have some queries in my mind regarding essay writing
1.you have asked not to imitate any author's style.....there are many writers writing editorials for DAWN...and have got beautiful style of writing,will it be not appropriate to copy their method of using words..not complete style
let me give you an example i have collected many essays on ENERGY or ENERGY-related topics and at end i intend to pile them....so what do you suggest
2.moreover, u have asked not to use a complex language........could you please send us any paragragh for the sake of example
DAWN can be considered as model??????

mashal khan Wednesday, October 10, 2007 01:19 AM

Essay Writing Is One Of The Most Crucial Task,i Will Follow Your Golden Steps.keep It Up.

Sureshlasi Wednesday, October 10, 2007 07:20 AM

@ Waseem and Tauqeer

It`s good to follow illustrious author`s style. No one got his own style, Probably caught by practising famous authors. I`ve read in an article, which was related to Writing style, It was revealing the hints of acquiring astoning writing style. According to it, Be inspired of a famous author such as Shakespeare, Wordsworth etc. Go through their all material; which would help you. Apply them in your daily writing So on....

But one must discriminate the writing material. Like some articles are full of slangs and futile stuff. It worths nothing for your future endeavours. Dawn is considerable source for it but It has nothing concerned with English improvement. So better to follow native author writing style. Atlast, allow me to add an adage; " I had nothing my own but hired from world colours".

Take care,

Allah Nagheban,

khuda bux Sunday, October 21, 2007 04:26 PM

Thanks alot ! suresh
i have cleared my problem after printout and reading your HINts ON ESSAY-WRITING. i apperciate you and you pray for me for my CSS-2008 attempt.
best regards

ashfaq_dir Tuesday, December 11, 2007 03:18 AM

being deeply perplexed by the problem of essay writing,i am still helpless to get any one who can clearly go on revealing the fact as to what should be the construction of the introductory paragraph of an essay?i in fact laud the wonderful job undertaken by your goodself but still i wonder for a peculiar idea about introductory opening since the building is built on the base and every thing in it is directed from the base.i would like to enquire about the very begining and the last sentence of the opening para.moreover whether to give the history about the subject,if any,in the initial setup or then in the forthcoming body is my secondary query.one thing more that confounds me is if easy must be concise and direct how can the reader be able to study the related facts and ideas about the subject that may have a bearing over it whether directly or indirectly.guidlines on above are solicited from successful and experienced genius.
one thing that we all have to learn is that" the word impoosible is not found in my dictionary" napolean'.we all should stick to one thing and that is perseverance.

Huriya Thursday, December 13, 2007 10:08 AM

great job sureshlasi sahab.. that's great...
i just want to ask our seniors used to tell that they used roughr paper(answer sheets back side) to make out line or do brain storming... than put a cross on that page and start from first page of answer sheet with some qoutation or cathcy sentence
secondly.. few tell that outline shall be made on first page
which is the right way?

and adding urdu ashar is ok?? if added their english translation is must??

please do answer these questions

sajid_ali Thursday, December 13, 2007 01:00 PM

I think it will be helpful to get tips on writing the essay, but i want to know what actully is tested in essay writing to asses the good essay.

Huriya Thursday, December 13, 2007 10:51 PM

dear sajid they have 3 major concerns
1- language
2- content
3- presentation

others are free to add more

Bushra Javed Sunday, January 06, 2008 01:46 AM

its really helpful for me but tell me from where i can get the litrature regarding any topic?
wat should i consult for essay writting?

madiha rizwan Monday, April 21, 2008 04:06 PM

hi how is every one.
can any body guide me how i prepare english essay
how many words in the essay

Sureshlasi Tuesday, April 22, 2008 03:50 PM

@ Madiha

Hello dear,
Fit and sound by the grace of Allah pak.

This thread is revealing the guide-lines for the preparation of an essay. Please explore the thread carefully.

You won`t be able to count the words. So dont pay much heed on it. Just figure out the quality of the work.

Take care,

X4ce Saturday, October 04, 2008 11:23 AM

First impression leaves the lasting impression.

So, in my point of view your first paragraph of Essay should be critical & heart-taking.

Your first paragraph should be structured same as all other sub-paragraphs. However, your first paragraph should give a brief overview of your whole essay; which you are just about to attempt. Whereas your sub-paragraphs discuss on a single specific point.

As all other paragraphs, 1st para as well, should be divided into three parts: Introduction, Body & conclusion.

Introduction should be relevant to the topic & may be a quotation. (1 or 2 Lines)

Body should describe what you are about to say in your Essay, in just 3 or 5 lines.

Your brief conclusion, supporting or not supporting the topic & this should interest the reader.

If you make your first paragraph well structured, defined & interesting; then it will surely interest the reader & they will carry on reading.

Then write your sub-paras based on same structure, discussing on single point & supporting your first para conclusion.

&

Pray! (Allah Almighty will surely help you.)

shallowwater Tuesday, September 01, 2009 11:34 PM

@ Senior members.

Is it okay to use headings in an essay?

waiting for your replies.

Arif Rao Thursday, September 03, 2009 12:57 PM

I don't think making headings is a good option in essay writing (though, it's my personal opinion and people may have scored even by adopting the practiceof using headings in an essay).

Blossomberrry Thursday, September 03, 2009 03:35 PM

can ay agile memeber of this forum make the outline of it ??

The topic is

THE POSITION OF WOMEN IN A SOCIETY IS AN INDEX OF ITS CIVILIZATION

This topic is real test of ones cognitive and intellectual caliber as most of topics assigned by members in this forum to make outline are too worn-out or general. if any one makes a profound and vital outline of it on his own , he will surely clear essay paper at one go, i will present mine but first of all, someone has to present that of his to see the contradistinction later on.

Junaid Kamal Wednesday, September 09, 2009 10:21 PM

Hi All... I appreciate all of you for sharing such a valuable information in this forum.
For writing a good essay, i beleive that the first impression (start) of an Essay TAKES THE BREATH AWAY... An essay must have an attracting starting and a good ending...

Best of luck to all of you guys........

"If you want to go for something, you have 1000 ways but if you don't you have 2000 Lame excuses"...

Hi All... I appreciate all of you for sharing such a valuable information in this forum.
For writing a good essay, i beleive that the first impression (start) of an Essay TAKES THE BREATH AWAY... An essay must have an attracting starting and a good ending...

Best of luck to all of you guys........

[QUOTE=Junaid Kamal] "If you want to go for something, you have 1000 ways but if you don't you have 2000 Lame excuses"...[/QUOTE]

gulamgardish Wednesday, October 28, 2009 01:40 PM

U made me your fan... It was full of useful information... which I would give regard... I was studying for this topic for a very long time but i could not get any Idea... It was all about theoratical ideas... Nothing was practical... but Today I could see guidelines from practical view point... Thanx for this great effort

sairaBano Thursday, February 03, 2011 11:38 PM

F0r 2012!

As these post have been made in 2006, can we follow the same for the preparation of 2012 CSS exams?

And second Question is regarding the topics. On which topics should we (aspirants) start working on?

Need your earlier respond!!

Asi01 Thursday, April 07, 2011 08:28 PM

Outlines in ESSays

Thanks for Suggestions,

As mentioned that it is very important to make outlines and than write an essay of topic. I opted an Essay titled " The Pleasures of Reading" and truly speaking without any outline or heading.

So the question to all Csps and Seniors is that If it is asked to make outline in the Essay's paper and one does not make so will he pass the paper or not?

I have been told through one of my Senior friend that there are ten marks of making outline?

Please comment on it?

Asif Nawaz Abro
Aspirant 2011

Sikander-007 Thursday, April 07, 2011 10:08 PM

@ Brother Asif nawaz abro
Salam.outline becomes the linchpin of an essay if it is asked that you have to provide it.But don't worry it will not carry more than 5-10 marks.If you have provided significant and relevant material in your essay then numbers will flow automatically.Banish fear brother.Inshallah you will pass CSS-exam.
Outline is a hint to the examiner and shortcut for a quick review.Nevertheless it is not the end in itself.It is your complete essay that is going to matter.

competitive mind Monday, December 26, 2011 04:33 PM

any body suggest after outline and introduction heading of outline topic should be underline or go through paragraph without headings?

mano g Monday, December 26, 2011 08:17 PM

[QUOTE=competitive mind;389640]any body suggest after outline and introduction heading of outline topic should be underline or go through paragraph without headings?[/QUOTE]

headings in the essay are highly prohibited.....

doli Thursday, December 29, 2011 05:12 PM

please reply

If we want to share our own experience then how should we write....

for instance ..when a bomb exploded just half a km form my car...

my question is..is it permissible in essay to write first person..means...i,me,mine?

Adeel Ahmed Thursday, December 29, 2011 08:05 PM

[QUOTE=doli;390506]please reply

If we want to share our own experience then how should we write....

for instance ..when a bomb exploded just half a km form my car...

my question is..is it permissible in essay to write first person..means...i,me,mine?[/QUOTE]

Q&A: How to cite a personal experience in MLA format?

[B]Answer by Johnna ( from NET)[/B]

Well, if you are citing your reaction to what you saw, no need to cite it. If you are citing a display or writing or a film you can easily cite it by looking up MLA format and plugging in for film or writing…

doli Friday, December 30, 2011 01:48 PM

thanks for reply but i am sorry i didn't get you?'
do you mean to say i should not write my own observation or experience in my essay?is it?

Sureshlasi Saturday, December 31, 2011 05:51 PM

[QUOTE=doli;390797]thanks for reply but i am sorry i didn't get you?'
do you mean to say i should not write my own observation or experience in my essay?is it?[/QUOTE]

An essay may contain your own experience and suggestion but entire length ll not provide the apposite aspects of an essay. For instance, you can include
your experience as an aspect of Terrorism but you can not complete it through your mere experience. An essay may contain facts and figures, knowledge about subject, history, impacts etc.

Allah nagheban,

Farhaj Thursday, June 07, 2012 12:03 AM

Beginning of Essay Writting Practice?

Dear SureshLasi/ Any other Honourable Senior Members,

I am thankful to you for your kind efforts to make this forum such an informative one. I want to ask you following few questions:-
1. How to start a practice for Essay writting for a new comer? (Zero point start)
2. If we start practicing essay writting then is it necessary to let our work check by someone? because we usually do not find experts physically in hometown or difficult to get time for checking on daily basis.
3. How much grammer effects? I mean how can we evaluate our own writting in terms of grammer, sentence structure, vocabulary used? do we used difficult words in essay?
3. Please suggest us the way of practicing english essay ? I mean how should we start building our vocabulary, how should we write about topics, how should we start..
4. Last but not the least, I am sharing my own experience. I have tried to write down essay on any given topic but found difficulty after writting two three pages. Found myself in no mans land because of no more words available to me to write more, limited ideas and much more. Please suggest how can we give length to our essay.

I hope you got my point. Please take your time and provide valuable inputs for us(Aspirants).

Best Regards,

Farhaj.

ammara waseer Tuesday, July 31, 2012 12:57 PM

my friend says if you wanna attempt essay, first imitate essay then you have to write yourself

Muzzamil Tuesday, September 11, 2012 07:38 AM

Use of Datasheets/Tables in Essay

[FONT="Comic Sans MS"]Dear All,

Assalam O Alaikum,

Can someone guide me about the use of data sheets/tables in Essay writing? Let me know, can we use data sheets/tables in an essay? Waiting for your valuable responses.

Regars,

Muzzamil[/FONT]

08:14 AM (GMT +5)