-   Essays (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compulsory-subjects/essay/essays/)
-   -   Books are my friends that never fail me(My attempt in PMS) (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compulsory-subjects/essay/essays/65784-books-my-friends-never-fail-me-my-attempt-pms.html)

Farrah Zafar Monday, July 16, 2012 05:09 PM

Books are my friends that never fail me(My attempt in PMS)

[SIZE="4"]I'm posting in section of Essay as it is appropriate place for it so I don't expect it to be moved in PMS section.

I wrote 7 pages and 2 of outline.Overall it can be considered 10 pages as there were some extra lines too.I'm not happy for its length.However I'm hoping for the best.

Besides,I think I have skipped some points as I couldn't remember them.

[SIZE="5"][U][CENTER]Books are my friends that never fail me - Thomas Carlyle
[/U][/SIZE]

[/CENTER]When I'm hurt ,they console me
When I'm dejected,they encourage me,
When I'm sad,they make me smile,

Proudly and happily let me tell thee,
books are my friends that never fail me

--->Who is a friend?

--->Requisites of a good friend (help,entertain,encourage etc)

"A man is known by his company"

--->comparison of books and friends

--->books as different kinds of friends

~religious books,
~informative books,
~biographies
~entertaining books,
~educational books
~historical books
~literary books

--->Books are part of literature,some genre;

~poetry
~drama
~novel
~criticism etc

--->Literature and reality

Oscar wilde says, "Life should follow literature"

--->Role of books in development of personality

It is said,"Personality depends upon character,character depends upon thoughts and thoughts depend upon people we meet"
So people whose friends are books have pure and mature thoughts.

--->Books are guiding stars

--->Some books help in studies

As Bacon says in his essay "Of Studies",

Some books are to swallow,some are to chew and a few are to digest.

--->Some books entertain.

e.g Oscar Wilde's "Importance of being Earnest".This book not only satirizes the aristocratic class but also entertains the readers.

--->Some books share experiences

e.g biographies of famous people.Abraham Lincoln shared his experiences and presented golden tips to lead good life.

--->Some books give way to catharsis.They discuss delicate emotions and feelings of love.

~e.g books of poetry

~Poem by Prabhakar bangurde

--->Some books teach moral lessons

~Dr.faustus by Marlowe tells that if a man runs after materialistic pursuits and is mad for power and money,he is damned eternally.

~Heart of darkness by Conrad exposes the exploitation of black people by the white men.

~He says,"Power corrupts man and absolute power corrupts absolutely"

Then he presents the character of Mr.Kurtz who is incarnation of evil and meets an unpleasant end.

~Keats emphasizes on value of truth.He says,

"Beauty is truth,truth beauty,that's all ye know on earth and all ye need to know"

--->Conclusion

~Books are the best companions.

ہم نشین ہو کتاب سے
اس سے بہتر کوئ رفیق نہیں

"Be in company of books as they are the best companions"

I'm doubtful about the urdu couplet because I read it long ago during my school days.

Kindly comment on my outline.
[/SIZE]

sumia Monday, July 16, 2012 05:49 PM

Pretty good outline....! Best ov luck...By the way.. I too
attempted this essay....!

SamiPerhar Monday, July 16, 2012 07:09 PM

its a good attempt...... its make me in doubt whether i could pass the essay paper..

andleeb Akhter Monday, July 16, 2012 09:37 PM

@Farah
Paper dekhty he mujy andaza tha k tum yahi essay choose kero gi..:)
Anyhow it's a very good outline before checking your essay line i too tried it roughly but a very good and mature attempt by you..
One thing which i wana mention here...This is a good attempt but your CSS essay line was superb dear....After reading that outline i was afraid that examiner will not give me passing marks even....:) it was such a nice attempt.
Wish you all the best for CSS and for PMS too:)

usman khalid Wednesday, July 18, 2012 04:31 PM

Simply splendid! You have won the heart of the examiner by writing the poetic verses of Thomas Carlyle in the very beginning and then writing an urdu couplet while concluding.

siddiqui88 Wednesday, July 18, 2012 07:26 PM

Good attempt. Wish you the best for result. :)
Meray khyal se Urdu shair youn hai..." Hum nasheeni agar kitaab se ho, Is se behtar koi rafique nahi ."

khan Shaheer Wednesday, July 18, 2012 08:15 PM

Innovative and creative approach you've adopted, its outstanding. As it was a literary essay so in my views some literary topics are missing like it would be a good addition to include literature details of distinguished languages of the World. Anyhow, various quotes has pretty good impressions and will inspire the examiner. May ALLAH bless u with success. AMEEN.

Farrah Zafar Wednesday, July 18, 2012 08:47 PM

[QUOTE=sumia;454464]Pretty good outline....! Best ov luck...By the way.. I too
attempted this essay....![/QUOTE]

Thanks. I would like to see your outline :)

[QUOTE=SamiPerhar;454487]its a good attempt...... its make me in doubt whether i could pass the essay paper..[/QUOTE]

O don't worry dear ! Insha Allah you will pass:vic

[QUOTE=andleeb Akhter;454556]@Farah
Paper dekhty he mujy andaza tha k tum yahi essay choose kero gi..:)
Anyhow it's a very good outline before checking your essay line i too tried it roughly but a very good and mature attempt by you..
One thing which i wana mention here...This is a good attempt but your CSS essay line was superb dear....After reading that outline i was afraid that examiner will not give me passing marks even....:) it was such a nice attempt.
Wish you all the best for CSS and for PMS too:)

Regards[/QUOTE]

Thanks dear.Same to you:)

Asal mein topic pe depend krta hai,us mein bohat kuch tha likhnay ko, 2 dimensions theen;suffering soul and scientific age.books mein sirf books e books theen :D

[QUOTE=usman khalid;455323]Simply splendid! You have won the heart of the examiner by writing the poetic verses of Thomas Carlyle in the very beginning and then writing an urdu couplet while concluding.[/QUOTE]

Thanks Usman.But the beginning lines were my own creation not by Thomas Carlyle:pp
aur Urdu couplet ghalat ho gya :(

[QUOTE=siddiqui88;455395]Good attempt. Wish you the best for result. :)
Meray khyal se Urdu shair youn hai..." Hum nasheeni agar kitaab se ho, Is se behtar koi rafique nahi ."[/QUOTE]

Thanks dear.Yeah,you are right.Mujh pe b ye inkeshaf ho gya tha lekin "ab pachtaway kia hovat jab chirryan chugg gayeen khait :blink

[QUOTE=khan Shaheer;455412]Innovative and creative approach you've adopted, its outstanding. As it was a literary essay so in my views some literary topics are missing like it would be a good addition to include literature details of distinguished languages of the World. Anyhow, various quotes has pretty good impressions and will inspire the examiner. May ALLAH bless u with success. AMEEN.[/QUOTE]

Yeah I also realized later that I should give examples of Urdu and punjabi books too but at that time one can't think much.

Good Luck !

courageneverdies Wednesday, July 18, 2012 08:49 PM

Brilliantly put. I - though I am no one to judge this - can't point out any flaw or lacking. If I were to attempt this essay, I would have referred to Bacon too. Best of luck.

usman khalid Wednesday, July 18, 2012 09:19 PM

[QUOTE=Farrah Zafar;455422]

Thanks Usman.But the beginning lines were my own creation not by Thomas Carlyle:pp
aur Urdu couplet ghalat ho gya :(

[/QUOTE]

Come on!!! You have so masterfully mixed the essay topic line with your own creation that its difficult to differentiate between the two :)

jahan tk shair ghlat honay ki baat hy to is main choti si hi mistake hy or wo bhi pehlay misray main baki to theek hy to is se itna farq to nhi prta. mai nay 2008 main essay main aik shair likha. aik to shair ghlat likha upar se Altaf Hussain Hali ki bjay Iqbal se mansoob kr dia... but pass ho gia. :) So don't worry.

04:24 AM (GMT +5)