04:47 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Compulsory Subjects > Essay > Essays

Essays Essays here

Old Monday, July 16, 2012
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 4,047 Times in 1,576 Posts
Farrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud of
Default Books are my friends that never fail me(My attempt in PMS)

I'm posting in section of Essay as it is appropriate place for it so I don't expect it to be moved in PMS section.

I wrote 7 pages and 2 of outline.Overall it can be considered 10 pages as there were some extra lines too.I'm not happy for its length.However I'm hoping for the best.

Besides,I think I have skipped some points as I couldn't remember them.

Books are my friends that never fail me - Thomas Carlyle

When I'm hurt ,they console me
When I'm dejected,they encourage me,
When I'm sad,they make me smile,

Proudly and happily let me tell thee,
books are my friends that never fail me

--->Who is a friend?

--->Requisites of a good friend (help,entertain,encourage etc)

"A man is known by his company"

--->comparison of books and friends

--->books as different kinds of friends

~religious books,
~informative books,
~biographies
~entertaining books,
~educational books
~historical books
~literary books

--->Books are part of literature,some genre;

~poetry
~drama
~novel
~criticism etc

--->Literature and reality

Oscar wilde says, "Life should follow literature"

--->Role of books in development of personality

It is said,"Personality depends upon character,character depends upon thoughts and thoughts depend upon people we meet"
So people whose friends are books have pure and mature thoughts.

--->Books are guiding stars

--->Some books help in studies

As Bacon says in his essay "Of Studies",

Some books are to swallow,some are to chew and a few are to digest.

--->Some books entertain.

e.g Oscar Wilde's "Importance of being Earnest".This book not only satirizes the aristocratic class but also entertains the readers.

--->Some books share experiences

e.g biographies of famous people.Abraham Lincoln shared his experiences and presented golden tips to lead good life.

--->Some books give way to catharsis.They discuss delicate emotions and feelings of love.

~e.g books of poetry

~Poem by Prabhakar bangurde

--->Some books teach moral lessons

~Dr.faustus by Marlowe tells that if a man runs after materialistic pursuits and is mad for power and money,he is damned eternally.

~Heart of darkness by Conrad exposes the exploitation of black people by the white men.

~He says,"Power corrupts man and absolute power corrupts absolutely"

Then he presents the character of Mr.Kurtz who is incarnation of evil and meets an unpleasant end.

~Keats emphasizes on value of truth.He says,

"Beauty is truth,truth beauty,that's all ye know on earth and all ye need to know"

--->Conclusion

~Books are the best companions.

ہم نشین ہو کتاب سے
اس سے بہتر کوئ رفیق نہیں

"Be in company of books as they are the best companions"

I'm doubtful about the urdu couplet because I read it long ago during my school days.

Kindly comment on my outline.
The Following 17 Users Say Thank You to Farrah Zafar For This Useful Post:
Abid khan Achakzai (Tuesday, July 30, 2013), adeel abdullah (Thursday, December 20, 2012), Alvi (Monday, November 26, 2012), Anam pervaiz (Wednesday, December 19, 2012), Anees Khan (Thursday, July 19, 2012), bl chughtai (Wednesday, July 18, 2012), decentguy (Monday, October 29, 2012), EXCLUSIVE (Thursday, July 19, 2012), khan Shaheer (Wednesday, July 18, 2012), madiha alvi (Friday, April 04, 2014), mano g (Friday, July 20, 2012), pisceankhan (Thursday, August 14, 2014), Raat ka musafir (Saturday, October 26, 2013), Samina Malik (Friday, July 20, 2012), SamiPerhar (Monday, July 16, 2012), Shahzad Sial (Friday, July 20, 2012), zuhaib ahmed (Wednesday, July 18, 2012)
43rd CTP (PAAS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 141

sumia is on a distinguished road

Pretty good outline....! Best ov luck...By the way.. I too
attempted this essay....!

SamiPerhar will become famous soon enough

its a good attempt...... its make me in doubt whether i could pass the essay paper..
Farrah Zafar (Wednesday, July 18, 2012)
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2012- Roll No 13813

andleeb Akhter has a spectacular aura aboutandleeb Akhter has a spectacular aura about

@Farah
Paper dekhty he mujy andaza tha k tum yahi essay choose kero gi..
Anyhow it's a very good outline before checking your essay line i too tried it roughly but a very good and mature attempt by you..
One thing which i wana mention here...This is a good attempt but your CSS essay line was superb dear....After reading that outline i was afraid that examiner will not give me passing marks even.... it was such a nice attempt.
Wish you all the best for CSS and for PMS too

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to andleeb Akhter For This Useful Post:
Farrah Zafar (Wednesday, July 18, 2012), SamiPerhar (Monday, July 16, 2012)
Old Wednesday, July 18, 2012
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 22Elite CSP Medal: Members who previously received (CSP Award  and Member of the Year Award ) OR (CSP award + Gold Medal + Medal of Appreciation) are eligible for this award. - Issue reason: Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: 2012

Thanked 2,147 Times in 983 Posts
usman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant future

Simply splendid! You have won the heart of the examiner by writing the poetic verses of Thomas Carlyle in the very beginning and then writing an urdu couplet while concluding.

Last edited by usman khalid; Wednesday, July 18, 2012 at 04:34 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to usman khalid For This Useful Post:
43rd CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 163

siddiqui88 is just really nicesiddiqui88 is just really nicesiddiqui88 is just really nicesiddiqui88 is just really nice

Good attempt. Wish you the best for result.
Meray khyal se Urdu shair youn hai..." Hum nasheeni agar kitaab se ho, Is se behtar koi rafique nahi ."
The Following User Says Thank You to siddiqui88 For This Useful Post:

khan Shaheer is on a distinguished road

Innovative and creative approach you've adopted, its outstanding. As it was a literary essay so in my views some literary topics are missing like it would be a good addition to include literature details of distinguished languages of the World. Anyhow, various quotes has pretty good impressions and will inspire the examiner. May ALLAH bless u with success. AMEEN.
The Following User Says Thank You to khan Shaheer For This Useful Post:
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 4,047 Times in 1,576 Posts
Farrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud of

Originally Posted by sumia View Post
Pretty good outline....! Best ov luck...By the way.. I too
attempted this essay....!
Thanks. I would like to see your outline

Originally Posted by SamiPerhar View Post
its a good attempt...... its make me in doubt whether i could pass the essay paper..
O don't worry dear ! Insha Allah you will pass

Originally Posted by andleeb Akhter View Post
@Farah
Paper dekhty he mujy andaza tha k tum yahi essay choose kero gi..
Anyhow it's a very good outline before checking your essay line i too tried it roughly but a very good and mature attempt by you..
One thing which i wana mention here...This is a good attempt but your CSS essay line was superb dear....After reading that outline i was afraid that examiner will not give me passing marks even.... it was such a nice attempt.
Wish you all the best for CSS and for PMS too

Thanks dear.Same to you

Asal mein topic pe depend krta hai,us mein bohat kuch tha likhnay ko, 2 dimensions theen;suffering soul and scientific age.books mein sirf books e books theen

Originally Posted by usman khalid View Post
Simply splendid! You have won the heart of the examiner by writing the poetic verses of Thomas Carlyle in the very beginning and then writing an urdu couplet while concluding.
Thanks Usman.But the beginning lines were my own creation not by Thomas Carlyle
aur Urdu couplet ghalat ho gya

Originally Posted by siddiqui88 View Post
Good attempt. Wish you the best for result.
Meray khyal se Urdu shair youn hai..." Hum nasheeni agar kitaab se ho, Is se behtar koi rafique nahi ."
Thanks dear.Yeah,you are right.Mujh pe b ye inkeshaf ho gya tha lekin "ab pachtaway kia hovat jab chirryan chugg gayeen khait

Originally Posted by khan Shaheer View Post
Innovative and creative approach you've adopted, its outstanding. As it was a literary essay so in my views some literary topics are missing like it would be a good addition to include literature details of distinguished languages of the World. Anyhow, various quotes has pretty good impressions and will inspire the examiner. May ALLAH bless u with success. AMEEN.

Yeah I also realized later that I should give examples of Urdu and punjabi books too but at that time one can't think much.

Good Luck !
The Following User Says Thank You to Farrah Zafar For This Useful Post:
SamiPerhar (Wednesday, July 18, 2012)
44th CTP (PAAS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2015 - Merit 160Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason: Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

Thanked 1,161 Times in 660 Posts
courageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to behold

Brilliantly put. I - though I am no one to judge this - can't point out any flaw or lacking. If I were to attempt this essay, I would have referred to Bacon too. Best of luck.

The Following User Says Thank You to courageneverdies For This Useful Post:
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 22Elite CSP Medal: Members who previously received (CSP Award  and Member of the Year Award ) OR (CSP award + Gold Medal + Medal of Appreciation) are eligible for this award. - Issue reason: Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: 2012

Thanked 2,147 Times in 983 Posts
usman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant future

Originally Posted by Farrah Zafar View Post

Thanks Usman.But the beginning lines were my own creation not by Thomas Carlyle
aur Urdu couplet ghalat ho gya

Come on!!! You have so masterfully mixed the essay topic line with your own creation that its difficult to differentiate between the two

jahan tk shair ghlat honay ki baat hy to is main choti si hi mistake hy or wo bhi pehlay misray main baki to theek hy to is se itna farq to nhi prta. mai nay 2008 main essay main aik shair likha. aik to shair ghlat likha upar se Altaf Hussain Hali ki bjay Iqbal se mansoob kr dia... but pass ho gia. So don't worry.

Last edited by usman khalid; Wednesday, July 18, 2012 at 09:29 PM.