01:24 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Compulsory Subjects > Essay > Essays

Essays Essays here

Old Friday, March 10, 2006
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2008 - Merit 120

Adil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really nice

Salaam,

Miss Qurat, many a thanks for the feedback. Please elaborate the phrase 'semi comprehensive'. I would be thankful.

I think I have suffered to much misery in this thread. This is the reason I have stopped arguing over it and Waqas bhai didn't get an answer (though I have a solid one).

Your query has been received today. I will answer it in a day or two. Not now!!

Adil Memon
Police Service of Pakistan (P.S.P)
37th Common Training Program
Old Friday, March 10, 2006
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Medal of Appreciation

Khuram is on a distinguished road

In my assessment, KBD is a 'Techno-Political' issue. Matter, as officially has been told, can be settled only after 'political' consensus. Political points of views are very un-clear. There is need to form two committees for the review of this issue namely (i) political committee and; (ii) technical committee.

The role of political committee should be to organize, in the form of a comprehensive report, all the different points of views, both in favor and opposite ones, of all the different political factions.

The technical committee should prepare a pure technical report. Report of 1st committee then should be analyzed on the basis of this technical report. Answers to all the technical type political concerns should be found in that technical report. Further inquiry for any outstanding political concern also should be done.

If this project found to be technically feasible, then it must be constructed. Yes in a ‘democratic’ country, decisions ought to be taken by people and not by technocrats but people should base their decisions on technical reports in the technical matters, rather than on ‘technical’ concerns of the non-technical politicians and other people relating to different professions.

If according to technical report, some of the political concerns really found to be crucially disadvantageous for any segment of people, then it would be better that we should spend our energies in thinking about other options.

Thanks!
Old Saturday, March 11, 2006
Abdullah

@ khurram Bhai......brother i fully agree to your ideas

@ qurratuAin,,,,,well sister you have meddled into a hornet's nest because

there are a lot of provincially emotional takers around

but i would like to mention a few points to have some limited answers to your intriguing queries

@NFC well after the promulagation of 1973 constitution there have been 3 NFC awards in total i.e 1979, 84 and 91 and the three awards failed to get any tangible shape and got quashed in the way and were not implemented ,,,those were 79, 84 and 2k .........

well now the question arisies as to wat r the reasons which r creating all this fuss over this not-so-difficult issue....well among the three materialized awards 1991 award by the nawaz govt is considered to be the most viable and unanimously accepted award , bcoz in that award it was for the first time that provincial concerns were addressed with unanimity i.e royality and gas surcharge etc.........

in the rest 2 it was population that was the sole criteria 4 distribution........
and the customs were excluded from the divisible pool.....besides sales tax was completely federalized .......

in zia's era and afterwards the total provincial share was 37.5 @ divisible pool.... this was the vertical trickling of the funds to the provinces ,and was opposed by the all the provinces in general and by Sind in particular ...so Dr mehboob (zia's finance minister) promised to increase the provincial share from 37.5 to 47.5 % ,but got practical shape after a lapse of almost 20 years in musharraf's regime and the the provinces insistence upon taking rest of 2.5 % has been committed by the govt to give them in next 5 years at a frequency of 0.5%/year..............

But besides this vertical transfer of funds .............there s also horizontal distribution ,to which provices are still at loggerheads.......because the distribution criteria hasn't been agreed upon by the provinces....punjab ehorts for population as the basis,,,sind for revenue,,NWFP for poverty and Baluchistan for area

@KalaBagh its the same homologuos deficit-de-trust stigma among the federating units which is keeping the govt from initiaiting the dam construction ......well the pro-dam and the anti-dam drum beaters have a countless # of arguments and counter-arguments in the favour and opposition of the dam repectively,,,,,,i would not go into the statistics and empirical analysis of the dam , for they have already been discussed quite comprehensively by tabassum and adil........ the two most bragged about dams now a days are KBD and Bhasha......both these dams have got subtle differences by a short head.....the main difference is that KBD site has annual flow of 90MAF @ its location and Bhasha has 50MAF....and Bhasha is mostly dependent upon the piedmont glacier thawing ...whereas KBD has a lot of tributries in addition to the melted snow waters,,,,,, Sind's most stood out objection over this dam is its construction within the Punjabi Territory, which is justified to some extent ,,,,,,, there has been a solution offered by some political circles , and that is to hand the Mianwali district to the NWFP in order to appease the sindhi brothers .........and one more thing @the technical report headed by ANG Abbasi ; though the katzara has been deemed the most feasible one but none among the committe members has opposed any dam, except some differences upon the degree of viability ......so its only our untoward trust-drained history which is taking its painfull toll upon us.......

@Reasons of KBD and NFC deadlocks......the answer is simple and comprehensible,,,,,,in the words of SJ Burke its only our own transferring this country into an institutional graveyard which has made us come home to roost ....i hope you understand this well ....and i'm admit my rhetoric might be brimfull of shortcomings,,, so if there r any plz mention them.....
with regards
Old Sunday, April 23, 2006

Jawaria Tareen is on a distinguished road

seems like I missed a very important discussion.Anyhow, its a very well written paper. Bravo Mr.Adil.
But I would like to give you a suggestion! whenever writing such a controversial paper, the writer should put him or herself as a third person.Also since you are presenting the issue at a national stage,you should stand as a third person.
I know how you would be feeling after recieving some positive and some over negative comments.But its a part of work.Keep working to show your best of best

Hope to join any upcoming discussion.......
Allah Hafiz
Jawaria
Old Monday, May 01, 2006
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2008 - Merit 120

Adil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really nice

MADAME JAVERIA,

Salaam,

Thanks for your gracious feedback.

Your suggestion has been received formally. I will work out on that side.

Regarding the misery part, I actually meant that, for me, the topic had now turned 'trite' for discussion. Hence, I wanted to take a break. I was never being intolerant to dissent, but, tired of it.

Adil Memon
Police Service of Pakistan (P.S.P)
37th Common Training Program
Old Tuesday, May 02, 2006

sardarzada11 is on a distinguished road
Unhappy

hmmm

really a burning issue

i don't think ke koi bhii GOVT is project ko complete ker paye ge

lakin jo bhii hoo mere khayal main tu yeh project Pakistan ke favour main he jaata hai baqi Allah behter jaanta hai aur woh jo is ke favour main nahiii

plz pray,
Sardarzada
God is dead! God remains dead! And we have killed him! How shall we console ourselves, the most murderous of all murderers? The holiest and the mightiest that the world has hitherto possessed, has bled to death under our knife....
Old Sunday, December 16, 2012

Erum Qureshi is on a distinguished road
Default What a technical morning I had today :)

Assalam o Alikum

Hoping for well of all and sundry

Today, i started my studies with reading about KBD ultimately finding this thread. Without loosing my interest and falling into any fuss, I enjoyed this technical morning a lot.
I want to express my gratitude to the genius of the forum who debated such a controversial issue in-depth by analyzing it with respect to several aspects. The main thing to be appraised is the due respect and love maintained while arguing at such a burning matter. I am thankful to all of the members posting here, specially Mr. Aadil and Mr. Tabassum to present such a rich content that even after 6 years of creation of this thread, I am finding it useful for my preparation.
I don't know if any of you will read this post, but just wanted to share my thanking feelings to you guys. You people really deserved to be a CSP.
Please pray for my success.

May Allah bless all of us. Ameen