01:40 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Compulsory Subjects > General Science & Ability

Old Tuesday, May 26, 2015

IslamabadKid is on a distinguished road
Post Human Physiology

Could somebody please tell me the extent of "A brief account of Human Physiology"?

What topics one has to prepare regarding the above-mentioned portion of general science(erstwhile Everyday science)?

Could somebody please share the crude list of topics?

AZKAFATIMA is on a distinguished road
Overview of topics included in human physiology

Introduction to the human body and histology;
Peripheral nervous systems;
Cranial nerves;
Neuro- and muscular physiology
Skeletal muscle,
Skeletal system
Muscular system
Heart, lungs,
Cardiovascular system; respiratory system
Anatomy and physiology of the digestive,
Excretory systems.
Endocrine system.
Digestive system
All major parts of humanbody like
Major diseases their causes and effects.
Essential nutrients

Hope it helps.

The Following User Says Thank You to AZKAFATIMA For This Useful Post:
Noore776 (Sunday, June 07, 2015)

Originally Posted by AZKAFATIMA View Post
Overview of topics included in human physiology

Introduction to the human body and histology;
Peripheral nervous systems;
Cranial nerves;
Neuro- and muscular physiology
Skeletal muscle,
Skeletal system
Muscular system
Heart, lungs,
Cardiovascular system; respiratory system
Anatomy and physiology of the digestive,
Excretory systems.
Endocrine system.
Digestive system
All major parts of humanbody like
Major diseases their causes and effects.
Essential nutrients

Hope it helps.

Thanks for sharing. Hell for Engineers. Anyway, challenge accepted.
Old Wednesday, May 27, 2015

Anum Zara is on a distinguished road

Well I think I can help you a little for preparing it to the point for css. The best book for human physiology is by guyton and hall which is very lengthy but there is a summarized book for this book named firdous physiology which is available on almost all medical book shops. That will be more than enough for the exam. Other wise it is a very vast topic.
The Following User Says Thank You to Anum Zara For This Useful Post:
Old Wednesday, May 27, 2015

Post Human Physiology

Originally Posted by Anum Zara View Post
Well I think I can help you a little for preparing it to the point for css. The best book for human physiology is by guyton and hall which is very lengthy but there is a summarized book for this book named firdous physiology which is available on almost all medical book shops. That will be more than enough for the exam. Other wise it is a very vast topic.
Thanks a ton for sharing the name of other author, as I talked about this issue to ALL the doctors of my family, and all suggested me the book authored by "Guyton and Hall" with the following note:
"Iss the asaan aur choti book aur koe ho he nahi sakti. Agar tumhay yeh bhi mushkil lagti hay, then you do not deserve to understand Human Physiology!" with evil-grin.

Thanks again!
Old Thursday, May 28, 2015

AZKAFATIMA is on a distinguished road

I think we not need to concern any medical books for css preparation because its not our field to treat patients. Our field is to treat cities, countries.

In general science, we only have to cover the basic knowledge about human physiology for this the second book is good. The other book i am studying for the whole syllabus of general science is the "gale encyclopedia of science" Its pretty good.
The Following User Says Thank You to AZKAFATIMA For This Useful Post:

Originally Posted by IslamabadKid View Post
Thanks a ton for sharing the name of other author, as I talked about this issue to ALL the doctors of my family, and all suggested me the book authored by "Guyton and Hall" with the following note:
"Iss the asaan aur choti book aur koe ho he nahi sakti. Agar tumhay yeh bhi mushkil lagti hay, then you do not deserve to understand Human Physiology!" with evil-grin.

Thanks again!
Actually I am from family of doctors and I was also a medical student but had to quit due to my severe health issues few years back. I have studied this subject for two years. For medical students yes it is shame to study from any other book. But it is real helpful. I used to study from guyton and hall for concept building as it is very comprehensive book. But after making concept I used to make my notes on firdous physiology for cramming as it was to the point. I had notes of one of the CSP's on this topics which were downloaded by me almost one and half year ago. I will try to find the link or will upload it and share the link very soon In Sha Allah.

There is no need to study from Guyton at all as medical students study it in two years time duration . Its very lengthy and no one is gonna treat any patients and no one will expect that kind of knowledge. Firdous is best.Go for it.

I think we not need to concern any medical books for css preparation because its not our field to treat patients. Our field is to treat cities, countries.

In general science, we only have to cover the basic knowledge about human physiology for this the second book is good. The other book i am studying for the whole syllabus of general science is the "gale encyclopedia of science" Its pretty good.
Exactly! I had to understand few topics; therefore, I had to face few typical awkward situations as well.

As far as Gale encyclopedia is concerned, first of all, thanks a lot for sharing another book's name. Is it available in PDF form? Just to check its contents.

I am only facing problem in biology portion of this whole subject, and the problem is its extent.

P.S: Past papers though seem to have pretty rudimentary stuff relatedto biology. #Observation

Exactly that is why I have recommended firdous as we do not need to study medical books. Its a summary book.

Originally Posted by IslamabadKid View Post
Exactly! I had to understand few topics; therefore, I had to face few typical awkward situations as well.

As far as Gale encyclopedia is concerned, first of all, thanks a lot for sharing another book's name. Is it available in PDF form? Just to check its contents.

I am only facing problem in biology portion of this whole subject, and the problem is its extent.

P.S: Past papers though seem to have pretty rudimentary stuff relatedto biology. #Observation
Tell me the portions in which you are facing problems. I will try to solve the issues
The Following User Says Thank You to Anum Zara For This Useful Post:
sib mah (Thursday, July 02, 2015)