-   General Science & Ability (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compulsory-subjects/general-science-ability/)
-   -   most repetitive questions (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compulsory-subjects/general-science-ability/127654-most-repetitive-questions.html)

Amreenmir Friday, July 03, 2020 08:18 AM

most repetitive questions

Can someone please share the most repetitive questions in the past 10 years???

MonstarAshar Friday, July 03, 2020 09:59 AM

The syllabus for GSA, like all other subjects, was overhauled for CE-2016. As such, we only have last 5 years of relevant material.

The only trend as of this year is that Science part (minus the maths portion) ALWAYS contain questions regarding the Scientific or natural phenomenon of the preceding year. For example, in 2015 October earthquake hit Pakistan. So in CE-2016 questions regarding Earthquake (example Richter scale, depth, intensity, locus shockwave etc) were asked. Building on this, you can assume that for CE 2021, questions regarding virus, eclipse etc will definitely be asked.

Likewise, once you put the past papers (2016-2020) and the syllabus side by side, and mark the areas of the syllabus of each year, you'll start to see a pattern in the questions presented in the GK-1(GSA) paper. Also, as a general rule of thumb question/areas questioned in the last years paper are 98% of the time not asked for the next year's paper. Building on both these strategies, you can almost cut down the syllabus in half.

Muhammad Ali Chaudhry Saturday, July 04, 2020 09:20 AM

I just read comments of brother ashar and I disagree with second and third part. It's always better to prepare whole syllabus., specially for General science and ability.
Many times it happens that an examiner repeats questions for consecutive years.
In 2014 Punjabi paper , there were two questions asked which were asked before in 2013. One of my friends, well, he left those topics and then it was quite difficult for him to handle that paper. He passed but got low marks.
Main thing is this that if there is even 2 percent of chance of questions getting repeated again,as said by Ashar ,still we must not leave any topic. Becasue no one knows that if this 2 percent chance comes turns into reality ,then maybe you will be in some trouble. And you will only realize this thing in examination room. Not before that.
It happens sometimes that they surprise you with same questions that were asked in past year. And sometimes ,well mainly this thing is for PMS exams ,that nearly whole paper of past immediate year repeats. And same can happen in CSS exams too.
You can find repeated questions of EDS- that is science part of the paper ,in general science and ability section of this forum.
And it's good if you prepare those topics related to current issues as said in above post.and there is a chance that they will be asked. Basically ,it's a smart work . But still it's not a definite thing that these topics will be asked.Anyone can't be hundred percent sure. So ,still it's better to prepare whole syllabus.

MonstarAshar Saturday, July 04, 2020 10:37 AM

[QUOTE]In 2014 Punjabi paper , there were two questions asked which were asked before in 2013.[/QUOTE]

First, your opinion is welcome but it is based on old data. Analysis of 2014 or 2013 Punjabi or whichever subject's paper doesnt apply. I've specifically mentioned the past 5 year's syllabus, just because of this. The only trend established as of yet has been mentioed

[QUOTE]It happens sometimes that they surprise you with same questions that were asked in past year.[/QUOTE]

Second, yes you are correct that no one can predict the paper as the examiner has a tendency of balling a yorker or bouncer without due notice.

[QUOTE]It's always better to prepare whole syllabus., specially for General science and ability.[/QUOTE]

Third, we are not all Atif Ameer (2nd position 2018 CE) who can spend more than 3 years preparing each and everything. I didnt tell him to skip all the syllabus, I told him to analyse the past papers and syllabus side by side. Each section of the syllabus has atleast 2-3 questions. As such, one can skip the Biology portion for example, if one can prepare the rest of the syllabus studiously.

[QUOTE]Basically ,it's a smart work [/QUOTE]
[QUOTE]Anyone can't be hundred percent sure[/QUOTE]

100% true.

[QUOTE]So ,still it's better to prepare whole syllabus.[/QUOTE]
[B]Maths = ALL syllabus ; Science = Can skip a few unimportant topics[/B]

Last, kya mein aur aap hi hotay hain forum pay warna tou ye jaga qabaristan ban gae ha :D

Muhammad Ali Chaudhry Saturday, July 04, 2020 12:44 PM

[QUOTE=MonstarAshar;1112543][CODE][QUOTE]First, your opinion is welcome but it is based on old data. Analysis of 2014 or 2013 Punjabi or whichever subject's paper doesnt apply. I've specifically mentioned the past 5 year's syllabus, just because of this. The only trend established as of yet has been mentioed[/QUOTE][/CODE]

This thing has nothing to do with change of syllabus. You can take example from papers from recent years too. Let me give you one , if you go through past papers of psychology for year 2016 and 2017. Then ,you will come to know that questions on personality , disorders and leadership got repeated in same manner,like the thing that examiner asked was exactly the same. So , this thing is not just for past years.
Suppose if this person skips these three topics ,then how he will be able to manage . Three questions are a lot. And you can check papers of other subjects too.
This thing has nothing to do with change of grouping of subjects. And basically syllabus has not changed that much. They have just expanded the syllabus and written all topics so that it get easy for aspirants to know which topics to prepare .
[QUOTE]Third, we are not all Atif Ameer (2nd position 2018 CE) who can spend more than 3 years preparing each and everything. I didnt tell him to skip all the syllabus, I told him to analyse the past papers and syllabus side by side. Each section of the syllabus has atleast 2-3 questions. As such, one can skip the Biology portion for example, if one can prepare the rest of the syllabus studiously.
[/QUOTE]

Suppose if I skip biology portion and then 30 to 40 percent of the paper is being asked from this section,as it has happened before. Then ,what I will do ? Now I am doomed , and I can't do anything rather than thinking that I could have done that portion.
And it's just a change in grouping of subjects basically. And they have expanded the syllabus. Still one can get guided regarding these matters by old papers.
There is still ample time at their disposal to study .They can do each and every part of syllabus. It's not like a month or two remaining.

[QUOTE][B]Maths = ALL syllabus ; Science = Can skip a few unimportant topics[/B][/QUOTE]

No brother. There is not any topic which is not important. Specially for science portion. Because the pattern of this portion is such that they can ask a lot of questions and they can put together different topics in one question. So even if there is choice available. Still, one will not be able to attempt all questions other than the ones that he or she left as per choice available.

[QUOTE]Last, kya mein aur aap hi hotay hain forum pay warna tou ye jaga qabaristan ban gae ha :]
[/QUOTE]

In Shaa Allah aenge aur log BHi aur aa rahe Hain. Kaafi halchal hai forum pe ma Shaa Allah. Actually mostly members post nhi krte. They just keep on reading different stuff or searching forum. Those times were awesome when there used to be some amazing members and specially discussion section was full of comments and intelligent opinions. But , I think still har cheez usi caliber ki hai,bass log change hogae Hain.
Hamai continue rkhna chahye because maybe we can afford academies and all that stuff but there are a lot of people who can't and for them this forum is there only hope . And I think this forum serves its purpose greatly. I see many people clearing exams due to this place.

Regards :)

Rida Ejaz Tuesday, October 27, 2020 03:06 PM

1-[B]physical sciences[/B]
a-Renewable and Non-renewable energy resources (2020, 2019)
b-earthquake (2020,2016)
c-Tsunami ( 2018,2016)

2- [B]Biological sciences[/B]
a-Viruses (Dengue in 2016, polio in 2018, hepatitis in 2020)
b- VItamins (2016,2019)

3- [B]Environmental sciences [/B]
a- Acid rain (2017, 2018)

4-[B] IT[/B]
a- Fibre OPtics (2016, 2018,2019,2020)
b-GPS (2020, 2016)

Marata Tuesday, October 27, 2020 10:05 PM

Please guide me the specific book for EDS that cover the whole course. When i read one specific book then obviously i will prepare concise notes from the book, i will get help from internet as well.

Naheedmir Wednesday, October 28, 2020 02:01 AM

@Muhammadali,
Thanks a lot for sharing your precious experiences on this forum. I am also of the view that we should not leave a single topic while preparing for the exam. It is a different thing that we consult the previous 5 years' papers and get to know the idea of repeated questions.
It's a simple idea that a detail-oriented preparation of one topic proves to be helpful even in other topics and subjects.

07:16 AM (GMT +5)