-   General Science Notes (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compulsory-subjects/general-science-ability/general-science-notes/)
-   -   Seniors please guide me, I'm a beginner . . (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compulsory-subjects/general-science-ability/general-science-notes/71092-seniors-please-guide-me-im-beginner.html)

Hira Memon Monday, November 19, 2012 05:27 PM

Seniors please guide me, I'm a beginner . .

I have a book of Maktab-e-Faridi, then I have solved pass papers by Dogar publishers and I'm also adding up to my notes by downloading relevant material from internet. Is that a good enough procedure to prepare for EDS exam or do i need to consult some more books?? One thing that I've found is the material in these books is a bit outdated with numerous grammatical and typo errors. Seniors do you think such books are trustworthy for such a competitive exams???

Please please seniors help. I'm freaking out. Only 2 months and 10 days are left, and I have taken this decision on the eleventh hour on my father's wish to attempt the exam. Even if I'm doing it for family, I wana give my best shot.

Any kind of help regarding notes or subject selection is appreciated.

Kindly respond at your behest.

Regards Hira

sidra siyal Monday, November 19, 2012 05:51 PM

[QUOTE=Hira Memon;513972]I have a book of Maktab-e-Faridi, then I have solved pass papers by Dogar publishers and I'm also adding up to my notes by downloading relevant material from internet. Is that a good enough procedure to prepare for EDS exam or do i need to consult some more books?? One thing that I've found is the material in these books is a bit outdated with numerous grammatical and typo errors. Seniors do you think such books are trustworthy for such a competitive exams???

Please please seniors help. I'm freaking out. Only 2 months and 10 days are left, and I have taken this decision on the eleventh hour on my father's wish to attempt the exam. Even if I'm doing it for family, I wana give my best shot.

Regards Hira[/QUOTE]
Dear I followed Kashmiris' EDS book in CE 2012...just only with that one book, I scored 75 marks.I would suggest not to waste your time reading error full material.

Bilal Hassan Monday, November 19, 2012 06:16 PM

First thing i wanna say is that make your father's dream your own, you would not be able put your best effort until you do that.....
Second thing is that your books are enough to prepare that subject, review last year's papers and you will go through insha Allah

alihashmatkhoso Monday, November 19, 2012 06:29 PM

[QUOTE=Hira Memon;513972]I have a book of Maktab-e-Faridi, then I have solved pass papers by Dogar publishers and I'm also adding up to my notes by downloading relevant material from internet. Is that a good enough procedure to prepare for EDS exam or do i need to consult some more books?? One thing that I've found is the material in these books is a bit outdated with numerous grammatical and typo errors. Seniors do you think such books are trustworthy for such a competitive exams???

Regards Hira[/QUOTE]
as time is very short i would suggest you that you must purchase notes of Mian Shafeef, no need of any book.......best of luck

Hira Memon Monday, November 19, 2012 06:30 PM

thanks Sidra. i'll get a kashmiri book soon :)

@ Ali hashmat . . kindly teme from whr can i get these notes??

alihashmatkhoso Monday, November 19, 2012 07:08 PM

[QUOTE=Hira Memon;513999]@ Ali hashmat . . kindly teme from whr can i get these notes??[/QUOTE]
where are u from ? notes are available at tahir photo copy punjab university....

ashfaq mushtaq Monday, November 26, 2012 11:07 PM

sidra would u like to tell me that only 1 book is enough for EDS..which u have mentioned above or i have to buy or collect materail from other resources ,,,kindly guide me . ...

Shikva Tuesday, November 27, 2012 12:54 AM

Kashmiri book is enough for this short time.
But if you want to study in deatil
go for Faridi Publishers -> EDS Encyclopedia by Dr.Rab Nawaz Samu (Leave the irrelevant portions,I mean which are not in our syllabus)

Good luck

ashfaq mushtaq Thursday, November 29, 2012 06:27 PM

actually i have no background of science ...
:con
but i have done m.a in english literature ...i think EDS will confuse me ..what should i do????
is it better to join an acdmy for this subject?

out of place Friday, November 30, 2012 12:02 AM

Regards Hira[/QUOTE]

You have already studied enough. Now , all you need to do is the following:

Buy, kashmiri's book for EDS and skim through it to know if there is anything in that book that you don't know. If there is, study it..Kashmiri almost encompasses the syllabus for EDS in CSS. And yes, in most cases, kashmiri is enough.
Besides, try and solve the mcqs of the past 25 years.
Yes, make use of internet wherever necessary..

[QUOTE=ashfaq mushtaq;519348]thanks

actually i have no background of science ...
:con
but i have done m.a in english literature ...i think EDS will confuse me ..what should i do????
is it better to join an acdmy for this subject?[/QUOTE]

Take it easy.
If you have time at your hand, start off with O Level and A level books of physics, bio and chemisty. In these books, read only those parts which are relevant to CSS syllabus. This will help you in acquiring some basic knowledge of the relevant topics. After doing so , hit off with Kashmiri..
No, I don't really think you need to go to any academy for EDS..In case you don't understand any particular topic, try to seek help from some engineering or mbbs student whom you know or seek some help from internet. This will do. There will only be few topics for which you might need some external help. The rest of the course, you will be able to understand on your own from the sources that I mentioned above.

05:01 AM (GMT +5)