08:24 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Compulsory Subjects > Pakistan Affairs

Old Tuesday, September 03, 2013
42nd CTP (PSP)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2013 - Merit 62

umarabbas has a spectacular aura aboutumarabbas has a spectacular aura aboutumarabbas has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by ADQUSIT View Post
Salam. If i start Aligarh, so it is as lengthy that it does not go off, so if i give too much time only to Aligarh and Sir Syed, so how i will cover other things, and even other subjects. This problem is not only related to Aligarh, or Shah Wali Ullah, but all such lengthy and bulky things. Kindly guide me that how to make it solve and put it in my mind.
Dear you need to develop a stamina. Your ability to assimilate any information will increase over the passage of time. What you need to understand is that PA is basically history (a few questions of current affairs as well: like the energy crisis). You won't be able to appreciate it if you don't understand it right from beginning. it's like a jigsaw puzzle. If one piece is missing, the whole picture would not make sense. let me give you an example:

1- 1857: Muslims eventually loose "political and executive power in the subcontinent". For centuries they have ruled the subcontinent and exercised political, executive and economic authority. They have lost their power now. why did 1857 take place? there were various reasons for that.
2-Okay Muslims are not more the executive of the country. it had its own implications. In order to counter that 3 different schools of thought came to the fore. (1) wanted to shun away the western everything and go back to the roots of Islam to regain Executive power and glory [Deoband, etc.] (2) wanted to stick to the western everything and beat the British in their own game [Aligarh]. (3) a mixture of both (Nadva)
3-What were sir syed's main points: Muslims should take education seriously. They should understand that they can not compete the British in an open and merit based system. Therefore the need the education. Till the time they are politically strong enough they should remain aloof from politics because every political party would confront the government at the end of the day. Be loyal to the British so as to gain their protection and spare themselves of the eternal dominancy by the Hindu

And the list goes on. The whole point is to create a flow. unless you are able to achieve that, it will be difficult.

Example number 2:

Why was Muslim League pro-British in 1907 but in 1911 it became anti-establishment? Do you know that the Muslim intelligentsia was divided over the creation of Muslim League (For Example: Sir Agha Khan was against the creation of Muslim League and so were several other prominent Muslims (especially from the UP)? Do you know that the Simla Deputation and the Leaders of Bengal had nothing in common? Why did Jinnah not join Muslim League before 1913 and not before? Khilafat Movement eventually killed Indian Nationalism and why was Jinnah against it? It was on the suggestion of Sir. Sikandar Hayat that the Simon Commission had no Indian member (there were reasons for that).

rather than going for an altogether ratta, develop concepts and then you would not have to remember any dates, any personalities, any reasons. I am available for any help that you or anybody else may need in this regard.
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to umarabbas For This Useful Post:
ADQUSIT (Tuesday, September 17, 2013), EngrMzeeshan (Wednesday, October 11, 2017), musmanyousaf (Tuesday, December 19, 2017), Tehman Khan (Wednesday, September 04, 2013), ZahidJutt (Saturday, September 21, 2013)
Old Tuesday, September 17, 2013

ADQUSIT is on a distinguished road

So you mean to say Umar Bhai that i need to pick it like a flowing story, that how one thing started and how it indulged into the next one and by this way the flow will be sitting in my mind. Did i get you?
42nd CTP (PSP)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2013 - Merit 62

umarabbas has a spectacular aura aboutumarabbas has a spectacular aura aboutumarabbas has a spectacular aura about

So you mean to say Umar Bhai that i need to pick it like a flowing story, that how one thing started and how it indulged into the next one and by this way the flow will be sitting in my mind. Did i get you?
Precisely! You should have a thorough grip of all the causes, events, etc for the whole duration that is covered by the syllabus. this is the only way where you won't have to go for a ratta
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to umarabbas For This Useful Post:
ADQUSIT (Tuesday, September 17, 2013), musmanyousaf (Tuesday, December 19, 2017)

That's nice. Ok tell me you mentioned earlier that:

rather than going for an altogether ratta, develop concepts and then you would not have to remember any dates, any personalities, any reasons.
so what i would do with bundles of dates?
42nd CTP (PSP)

That's nice. Ok tell me you mentioned earlier that:

so what i would do with bundles of dates?
Well I happen to have appeared in Indo Pakistan 3 times and I still cant recall more than 90% of the dates. the issue is not remembering dates. There are hardly 5 MCQs that will be somewhat related to dates and hardly 2 MCQs where you will need to remember exact dates. In long questions, the days for detailed accounts are long gone. In many questions you can easily get away with months and years for example: you could say in August 1945 this happened or that happened and skip the exact date

Try to stop worrying about the 5% of marks and above all by the time you are done with your revision and review, some dates will settle down in your mind without much of an effort
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to umarabbas For This Useful Post:
abdulrehmankhan (Wednesday, December 11, 2013), ADQUSIT (Wednesday, September 18, 2013)
Old Wednesday, September 18, 2013

Originally Posted by umarabbas View Post
Well I happen to have appeared in Indo Pakistan 3 times and I still cant recall more than 90% of the dates. the issue is not remembering dates. There are hardly 5 MCQs that will be somewhat related to dates and hardly 2 MCQs where you will need to remember exact dates. In long questions, the days for detailed accounts are long gone. In many questions you can easily get away with months and years for example: you could say in August 1945 this happened or that happened and skip the exact date

Try to stop worrying about the 5% of marks and above all by the time you are done with your revision and review, some dates will settle down in your mind without much of an effort
If i could have pressed the thanks button so many times so i would. Bundles of thanks for your kindness and such a generous guidance. I will be in contact with you.
Old Sunday, October 27, 2013

iqrajanjua is on a distinguished road

I start Pak affairs, but don't know where to start
Can any one write down topics of Muslim evolution in sub continent

Old Monday, October 28, 2013
42nd CTP (PSP)

Originally Posted by iqrajanjua View Post
I start Pak affairs, but don't know where to start
Can any one write down topics of Muslim evolution in sub continent

For Pakistan Affairs, you will need to cover the following topics:

(1) Decline of the Mughal Empire: Causes, Rise of Colonial powers
(2) War of Independence: Causes, Events, Reasons of Failure
(3) The Muslim Revivalist Movements of the 18th and 19th century (it would be good if you cover the Hindu Revivalist Movements as well)
(4) Political History of the Subcontinent: Constitutions, Hindi-Urdu Controversy, Formation of Congress, Partition of Bengal, Formation of Muslim League, Delhi Durbar, Era of Hindu Muslim Cooperation (Lucknow Pact etc), the Khilafat Movement, Cripps Mission, Delhi Muslim Proposals, Nehru Report, 14 Points of Quaid, 1937 Elections, 1940 Resolution etc
(5) After Creation of Pakistan: Constitutional Troubles, Early Problems, Martial Laws Events, Creation of Bangladesh
(6) Not just for PA but for Current Affairs, Essays etc you need to cover the following topics as well: Energy Crisis, Water Crisis, Industrial Policy and Problems, Education Policy and Problems, Population Explosion, Rural-Urban Migration, Women Rights, Children Rights, Labor Rights, Land Reforms, Provincialism vs Centralism, Trade with India
(7) Pakistan's Foreign Policy: Role in SAARC, OIC, UN. Bilateral Relations with Afghanistan, China, US, Russia, India, Iran, Turkey, Muslim World, West in General. General Outline of Pakistan's Foreign Policy

Anything above and beyond these topics is a plus point
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to umarabbas For This Useful Post:
Aqazaansari (Saturday, January 20, 2018), iqrajanjua (Tuesday, October 29, 2013), Muhammad Ali Chaudhry (Tuesday, October 29, 2013)
Old Tuesday, October 29, 2013

iqrajanjua is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by umarabbas View Post
For Pakistan Affairs, you will need to cover the following topics:

(1) Decline of the Mughal Empire: Causes, Rise of Colonial powers
(2) War of Independence: Causes, Events, Reasons of Failure
(3) The Muslim Revivalist Movements of the 18th and 19th century (it would be good if you cover the Hindu Revivalist Movements as well)
(4) Political History of the Subcontinent: Constitutions, Hindi-Urdu Controversy, Formation of Congress, Partition of Bengal, Formation of Muslim League, Delhi Durbar, Era of Hindu Muslim Cooperation (Lucknow Pact etc), the Khilafat Movement, Cripps Mission, Delhi Muslim Proposals, Nehru Report, 14 Points of Quaid, 1937 Elections, 1940 Resolution etc
(5) After Creation of Pakistan: Constitutional Troubles, Early Problems, Martial Laws Events, Creation of Bangladesh
(6) Not just for PA but for Current Affairs, Essays etc you need to cover the following topics as well: Energy Crisis, Water Crisis, Industrial Policy and Problems, Education Policy and Problems, Population Explosion, Rural-Urban Migration, Women Rights, Children Rights, Labor Rights, Land Reforms, Provincialism vs Centralism, Trade with India
(7) Pakistan's Foreign Policy: Role in SAARC, OIC, UN. Bilateral Relations with Afghanistan, China, US, Russia, India, Iran, Turkey, Muslim World, West in General. General Outline of Pakistan's Foreign Policy

Anything above and beyond these topics is a plus point
Thanks for the topics,

I m reading Pak affairs by imitaiz shahid
Is it enough for preparation or I should bought some other Pak affairs book
Old Wednesday, October 30, 2013

alihashmatkhoso has a spectacular aura aboutalihashmatkhoso has a spectacular aura aboutalihashmatkhoso has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by iqrajanjua View Post
Thanks for the topics,

I m reading Pak affairs by imitaiz shahid
Is it enough for preparation or I should bought some other Pak affairs book
do purchase notes of nova academy....
study plan for pak. Aff.
TOPIC NO-1
EVOLUTION AND GROWTH OF MUSLIM SOCIETY IN SUB- CONTINENT
Topic no-2
ROLE OF SUFIS AND SAINTS
Topic no- 3
THE CAUSES OF DICLINE OF MUSLIMS AND RISE OF BRITISH
Topic no-4
SHAIKH AHMED SIRHANDI (MUJJADID ALIF SANI) (1564-6124)
Topic no-5
SHAH WALIULLAH (1703-1762)
Topic no-6
ALIGARH MOVEMENT
Topic no-7
Deoband movement
Topic no-8
NADVATUL ULEMA, LUKHNOW
Topic no-9
RESURGENCE OF MUSLIM POLITICAL FORCES
Topic no-10
Topic no-11
ESTABLISHMENT OF ALL INDIA MUSLIM LEAGUE
Topic no-12
THE PARTION OF BENGAL AND ITS ANNULMENTS
Topic no-13
LUCKNOW PACT
Topic no14
KHALIFAT MOVEMENT
Topic no-15
SIMON COMMISSION
Topic no16
NEHRU REPORT
Topic no17
JINNAH’S FOURTEEN POINTS
Topic no-18
ROUND TABBLE CONFERENCES
Topic no-19
GOVERNMENT OF INDIA ACT. 1935
Topic no- 20
CRIPPS MISSION
Topic no-21
WAVELL PLAN AND SIMLA CONFERENCE
Topic no-22
GENERAL ELECTIONS (1945-46)
Topic no-23
CABINET MISsion
Topic no-24 a
3RD JUNE plan

Ajiz o Gunahgar (Monday, April 16, 2018), iqrajanjua (Thursday, October 31, 2013), sunny volcano (Wednesday, April 16, 2014)