12:11 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Datesheets and Results > Previous CSS Results and Datesheets > CSS 2008 Exam

View Poll Results:
0 0%
Voters: 0. You may not vote on this poll

Old Wednesday, June 17, 2009
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason:

AmBrosiaL EloQuence will become famous soon enoughAmBrosiaL EloQuence will become famous soon enough

aoa.

i jus want everybody to pour in info regardin the preferences of the first 30 women in punjab (css 2008)

i emphasize "the first 30 women" and not the first 30 ppl in merit order.

and more exclusively i wan to ask if their is some lady (among the top 30 women) who has given police in her first 4 options?

i ll highly obliged as u pour in considerately generous responses.

want to invite ur serene opinions and knowledge-based comments on the above question that says wether women exclusively opt for police as they undertake css exam or not. if yes wuts the trend generally and in 2008 specifically.

hey afrms, am mubarak and oders do come up wid thoughtful opinions.

regardz
ambrosial elooquence

plz ignore if um being any trouble.

Last edited by Mumtaz Hayat Maneka; Thursday, June 18, 2009 at 01:07 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to AmBrosiaL EloQuence For This Useful Post:
Faisalmemon (Thursday, June 18, 2009)
Old Wednesday, June 17, 2009
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 1,681 Times in 873 Posts
AFRMS has much to be proud ofAFRMS has much to be proud ofAFRMS has much to be proud ofAFRMS has much to be proud ofAFRMS has much to be proud ofAFRMS has much to be proud ofAFRMS has much to be proud ofAFRMS has much to be proud ofAFRMS has much to be proud of

Originally Posted by AmBrosiaL EloQuence
aoa.

i jus want everybody to pour in info regardin the preferences of the first 30 women in punjab (css 2008)
plz ignore if um being any trouble

Well i am i think 29th or 30 in Punjab,after counting myself in the list my eyes are pretty much like this smily .
My 4th preference was Police .1st was DMG, 2nd Customs and 3rd FSP.
You are not at all a touble dear Amna how can i ignore you dear.

Originally Posted by AmBrosiaL EloQuence
aoa
want to invite ur serene opinions and knowledge-based comments on the above question that says wether women exclusively opt for police as they undertake css exam or not. if yes wuts the trend generally and in 2008 specifically.

hey afrms, am mubarak and oders do come up wid thoughtful opinions.
I think some of the girls do opt for police,i also developed this craze for uniform after my cousine joined Army.She looked so cool in that uniform.
I dont know the trend regarding its preference order,i also wanted some info about this,now that you started this thread lets see what others have to say.
I think its not as high as DMG,Customs or FSP in the preference order of girls because of the pressure and responsibilty that come with police.
The current security situation in Pakistan has made Police and DMG to be really demanding and challenging departments.
For boys Police is THE group they want to join,but for girls its lower in preference order as compared to other groups,that what i think.

Last edited by Mumtaz Hayat Maneka; Thursday, June 18, 2009 at 01:08 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to AFRMS For This Useful Post:
Faisalmemon (Thursday, June 18, 2009)
Old Thursday, June 18, 2009
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2008 - Merit 120

Adil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really nice

amna ji, though i do not have the direct answers to your queries, here is what i have got for u.

a friend of mine in 36th ctp told me that there are three women (all from punjab) in his batch who opted for police. and one of them even got an open merit seat.

it is a well known fact that dmg and psp are the toughest groups from service point of view. the officers serving in these groups have to carry the entire load of districts over them when they're in the field. they also have to ensure constant blessings of local politicians over them if they wish to save their postings. and when these officers are sent to report to the headquarters (s&gad and cpo), they really have to flex their muscles to influence the appointing authority to get a posting again. this is at least how it works in sindh. i am not sure about other provinces.

besides, officers in these two groups can be sent to far-flung areas of pakistan. the very thought of this sends shock waves down my spine. moreover, women serving in these departments have to work with male staff and deal with public (mostly men). all this makes the job really tough for them. on a lighter note, i heard an instance of a female officer getting her driver changed just because she thought he constantly stared at her. :P

also, a woman working in psp or dmg can not have a smooth married life. it is bound to obstruct it one way or the other.

despite all this, i do not understand what thoughts do women have before they opt for demanding services like psp and dmg.

@ amna ji, afrms; please enlighten me as well.

regards,

Adil Memon
Police Service of Pakistan (P.S.P)
37th Common Training Program
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Adil Memon For This Useful Post:
Amjad Aman (Saturday, June 20, 2009), Faisalmemon (Thursday, June 18, 2009), Muhammad Imran Qureshi (Thursday, June 18, 2009), shabeersethar (Thursday, August 06, 2009), zaheer baloch (Thursday, June 18, 2009)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2008 - Merit 120

Adil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really nice

Perhaps I didn't set the right tone when I was asking the question. I have received the following reply on my email.

Hello Mr Memon

I am a regular visitor of css forum though not a proper member, ur post "ladieeeezzz....attention plzzz" caught my attention(as i am a lady n av attempted th papers of 2009). frankly speaking i m shocked by the approach most of the guys take regarding women's deptts and allocations. just a reminder.."this is the 21st century" women have taken up jobs like GD Pilots and paragliders(yes i am talking abt pakistan)...most of the girls are well aware of th peculiarities of the deptts they've put on their preference lists..be it psp or dmg...if v av opted to serve our country by joining th civil services v r well prepared of th challenges ahead...so it was ur poor perception abt th ladies that they r unaware of th hurdles that lie before them after joinin th mentioned 2 deptts...
quoting u"a woman working in psp or dmg can not have a smooth married life"...well today in pak, women working anywhere other than their homes cannot have a smooth life..thx to the male chauvinist society v live in...!!!...v can touch th skies in technology and advancements...but what lies embedded in th very mind set of man cannot b changed so easily..!!!
lastly i wuf like to giv u some understanding of what thoughts do women have before they opt for demanding services like psp and dmg: these thoughts r of determination towards their aim in life...courage to serve their country...desire to b part of a solution or change...confidence over their capabilities to face horrofic challenges...i can add atleast a 100 more reasons...(except th craze for uniform as qouted by AFRMS!..)...

hope that my mail wud add a little to ur imagination regarding women in this field.
I wish to clarify that my intention was not to offend female candidates by questioning their judgment. My concern is serious and genuine. I want to know what do female candidates plan before they opt for service likes PSP and DMG. Do they keep in mind all the realities I mentioned? Do they really know how hard government service in these two groups can be?

A public apology to the enraged lady!

Adil Memon
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Adil Memon For This Useful Post:
Asifr (Wednesday, August 12, 2009), dr.atifrana (Thursday, June 18, 2009)

dr.atifrana is a jewel in the roughdr.atifrana is a jewel in the roughdr.atifrana is a jewel in the rough

Amina,
In my personal opinion, if a reasonable environment develops in pakistan and men begin to give due respect to women and women also live under the constraints mentioned in Islam , then there is no ambiguity in serving of women in such depts.But this is utopia.Under present circumstances when talibans , extremists, and chavionists are every where and looking for their prey it is really difficult for women to face such hardships.But I like and want women to touch skies and occupy all fields of life and try to help in the amelioration of the poor state of the poor strata of our society and exterminate crimes and criminals.Amina, not all the males are chavionists.And infact Adil only tried to show the hurdles women face in such depts.Sister Amina, men are not your(women) enemies before they are men they are your brothers and father .So We also want you to have a successfull life.But you should be able to distinguish between man and beast.

Thanks and regards
Old Friday, June 19, 2009
Provincial Civil Service
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: PMS / PCS Award: Serving PMS / PCS (BS 17) officers are eligible only. - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 2,335 Times in 569 Posts
Xeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdom
Default @Ladies - think over it.

Legend Police Officer - Malalai Kakar

The heroic Afghan policewoman was targeted by the Taliban.

In the no man's land of Kandahar province in Afghanistan, Malalai Kakar was like a feminist action hero. Swathed in her burka and carrying a Kalashnikov in her hand and a 9-millimeter pistol on her hip, the region's top female police officer -- and mother of six -- apprehended thieves, killers and wife beaters. Once, in a shootout with a dozen Taliban fighters, she and three male officers held their own until the Taliban fled. Another time, she burst into a home, knocked down the husband and rescued a woman and child the man had kept chained in a cage. Back at the station, Kakar mediated neighborhood disputes and even marital disagreements.

It's hard to state what was more important, Lt. Col. Kakar's status as the highest-ranking female police officer or her work as the head of the department's crimes against women division. Although she was routinely accompanied by her brother for propriety's sake, Kakar's work violated the sensibilities of ultraconservative Afghan men; she insisted on defining rapes, assaults and beatings as crimes, not as cultural and religious traditions. Unfortunately, with the resurgence of the Taliban, crimes against women have returned with a fury. Kakar, who knew the danger, pitted herself against the terrorists. Last week, after ordering her to quit police work "or else," the Taliban assassinated her. It announced the event with joy.

Kakar knew the danger -- the Taliban left death threats nailed to her door at night -- but loved the work. She was the first woman to graduate from the region's police academy and had been an officer for seven years when the Taliban came to power. She fled to Pakistan, returning to the force, with the support of her husband, after the Taliban fell. At work, she once said, "I am like a man. I am brave, honest, strong."

Why single out her death in this deadly place? After all, a suicide bomber killed three police officers and three civilians that same day, and in the last three months insurgents have killed more members of Western forces than in almost seven years of war. But Kakar's death, and the Taliban's promise of more assassinations of women who work outside the home, carry unusual significance. Her murder was meant to intimidate and devastate the country's entire population -- an admonition to men who dare support education and employment for their daughters and wives, and a warning to women who leave their homes. For Americans, it is a measure of the depravity of our enemies. For everyone, however, Kakar's life, more than her death, is a reminder that in Afghanistan, where terrorism and crime and religious extremism collide, there are valiant fighters on many fronts.

Documentary: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PLuJGF3-xs4
Artemis (Friday, June 19, 2009)

Artemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to all

It is the true spirit of Islam to have females in every field of life. So when there is any problem for the female population they have females to deal with. In the present scenario when women can't think of going to police stations where else can they go for their complains? It has to be changed and this is a valid way to change it.

Bravo to all ladies who opted for Police Services of Pakistan!

@AmBrosiaL EloQuence
Please ignore me if I this post is irrelevant.
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason:

AmBrosiaL EloQuence will become famous soon enoughAmBrosiaL EloQuence will become famous soon enough

@ affaf

aoa.. hova u? thanx for ur kind response and i completely agree wid wut u jotted in the last linez ov ur post. howeva brave lady if police or wuteva is the group for u i wishu all the very best.

keep in contact
regardz
amna

@ adil memon

aoa adil. howz lyfe?

i completely endorse ur opinion. wut u jotted down is infact the mode ov thinkin ov majority ov the sane ppl around. wut else than "smart" and "thoughtful" can be expected from a person ov ur intellectual stature adil sahab.
thanx once again

regardz
amna

@ atif rana

aoa doc sahab..ur terminologiez like "if" and "utopia" jus made me say wut a reasonable and moderate response!!!

and yes i absolutely agree that not all men are chauvinists..atleast the onez i know are not...

thanx

regardz
amna

@ zia khan

thanx zia khan for enlightenin us in due context.

regardz

@ ms.bushra

aoa bushra. hope everything iz fine at ur end. i respect ur opinion and cheerz for the brave ladiez form ma side too...(by the way um also one ov those who opted for police) hehee. n lemme make clear one thing that um not against the trend ov women optiin for police i only wanted to discuss this publicly so that a dependable opinion can be formed.

thanx loadz
keep in contact

regardz
amna.
The Following User Says Thank You to AmBrosiaL EloQuence For This Useful Post:
Artemis (Friday, June 19, 2009)
Old Monday, June 22, 2009

osama24 is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Adil Memon
they also have to ensure constant blessings of local politicians over them if they wish to save their postings. and when these officers are sent to report to the headquarters (s&gad and cpo), they really have to flex their muscles to influence the appointing authority to get a posting again. this is at least how it works in sindh. i am not sure about other provinces.
Sir, maybe this is how things work in Sindh but I am quite sure this is not how things work in Punjab. Blessings of local politicians are certainly not needed; if anything, the local politicians need your blessings. I wonder if you read a quarter page ad in "Jang" by an MPA of Jhang who complained to the PM, President and the CJP because he was arrested for misbehaving with the DDO-R. There are also reports of how DPO Mandi Bahauddin pays no heed to the local MNA (and Federal Minister) Nazar Muhammad Gondal.
The Following User Says Thank You to osama24 For This Useful Post:
Adil Memon (Monday, June 22, 2009)
Old Monday, June 22, 2009

Default @ osama

sir, i have no idea about how things work in punjab (i was specific about sindh in my assertion). i have randomly heard there is a difference in service cultures across provinces. but i have not had any personal experiences. thank you for sharing the valuable information.

regards,

Adil Memon