01:31 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Datesheets and Results > Previous CSS Results and Datesheets > CSS 2009 Exam

Old Tuesday, May 12, 2009
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Roll no. 2638Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Elite CSP Medal: Members who previously received (CSP Award  and Member of the Year Award ) OR (CSP award + Gold Medal + Medal of Appreciation) are eligible for this award. - Issue reason: Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 3,870 Times in 1,441 Posts
Raz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant future

Originally Posted by ramshakhan
@ All members and moderators

Asalam o alikum,

here on mother's day, I am sending the wishes of a "MAA" (my mother) She is saying all the best to all of u in respective field of life. Especially Mohsin, Raz, MMM,and Dr.Atif Rana. (She is known to all of you as sometimes she use to visit forum with me.) Hearties wishes for all from her and me too
Ramsha ji my confidence has been enhanced becuase now I have two momz who are praying for me. Is there any thing more than this happiness that my success is being wished by two great mothers at a time.

Pay my regards to my sweet mom.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Raz For This Useful Post:
ramshakhan (Tuesday, May 12, 2009)
Old Friday, May 15, 2009
Khadim-e-Fareed
Moderator: Ribbon awarded to moderators of the forum - Issue reason: Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: Roll Number 3208-CSS 2008Best Moderator Award: Awarded for censoring all swearing and keeping posts in order. - Issue reason: Best Mod 2009Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: 2009Elite CSP Medal: Members who previously received (CSP Award  and Member of the Year Award ) OR (CSP award + Gold Medal + Medal of Appreciation) are eligible for this award. - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 1,189 Times in 442 Posts
Mumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to behold

Originally Posted by ramshakhan
@ All members and moderators

Asalam o alikum,

here on mother's day, I am sending the wishes of a "MAA" (my mother) She is saying all the best to all of u in respective field of life. Especially Mohsin, Raz, MMM,and Dr.Atif Rana. (She is known to all of you as sometimes she use to visit forum with me.) Hearties wishes for all from her and me too
Thank you very much Ramsha, I am highly honoured. I am a firm believer in the fact that prayers can change one's destiny and i hope your mother's prayer will augur well for me. I believe that all i have achieved so far is due to the blessings of Allah, panjtan Pak, Baba Fareed shakarganj and the prayers of my well wishers. I hope you get all you want from this life.

Best Regards
navera88 (Friday, April 16, 2010), ramshakhan (Friday, May 15, 2009)
Old Wednesday, April 24, 2013

sid mughal is on a distinguished road
Default is this information still valid for css 2014?

Originally Posted by Raz View Post
Mercantile Law

Asalam-o-Alaikum dear members.

This was my last paper, my last attempt, and CSS-2009’s last paper as per schedule.
Mercantile Law paper was comparatively easy because there was a good mix of the theoretical questions and practical case studies.
I scored 15 MCQ correct, 1 incorrect, and 4 in doubt.
Part-II comprised 4 questions of 20 marks each from Contract Act 1872, covering topics of Agreement vs Contract; Coercion; gratuitous acts;and Pledge. (This was the great favor by the paper setter to the candidates because most of the candidates do cover Contract Act thoroughly).
One could attempt the entire 4 question only from Contract Act.
One question was covered from Sales of Goods Act 1930.
One question was covered from Companies Ordinance as usual.
Final question covered Negotiable instruments Act 1881 and Arbitration Act.

I attempted Q:2, Q:3, and Q:5 from the Contract Act. And Q:7 from Sales of Goods Act.
Over all my paper consisted of three case studies of which 2 case studies are 100% correct and third one is correct but not with strong evidences. Third case study was little bit irrelevant in our Pakistani Law and that carried controversial judgments and uncertainty from the Indian Judges. (I am talking about the exercise of coercion by Husband through the threat of committing suicide). I have replied in affirmative as intended by the examiner but my argues were not so much strong in this case. Probably I may loose 5 marks out of 10 marks in this case study.
Rest all the case studies, and remaining questions were correct and satisfactory.

Well, before attempting paper I was very uncertain about Mercantile Law paper because this paper is very risky (hero or Zero). But today’s paper proved to be a lucky one, Insha Allah this may fetch good marks.

Tips:
Do cover following four areas:
1) Contract Act: Must
2) Partnership Act: Must
3) Sales of Goods Act: Must
4) Companies Ordinance relevant sections only (Formation of company starting from the promoter’s stage till the commencement of business covering Prospectus, statement in leu of prospectus, MOA, AOA etc; some sections regarding “Company Name” selection; some sections on alteration of MOA, and AOA; some sections on the meetings. Enough)

Optional areas:
1) Negotiable Instruments Act
2) Insurance
3) Arbitration

Easy and Quick Method to pass the paper with good marks:
1) Cover Contract Act (including Agency, Bailment & Pledge, Indemnity and Guarantee)
2) Cover Companies ordinance relevant selected section only. Because one question is always covered from Companies ordinance.
3) Arbitration Act (Because it is very short and mostly one question is always covered from Arbitration)
4) Either Sales of Goods Act or Partnership Act (Any one)

Merits of this quick strategy:
a) Time saving, lesser tension, easy revision
b) Gain good marks (arround 70)

Demerits of quick strategy:
a) Loose some MCQs which are covered from all the topics. Your selective study will not be able to answer all the MCQs
b) No Guarantee for excellent marks like 80+ marks.

Excellent Strategy for scoring 80-90 marks:
At least go through the whole syllabus for once. After one reading make some topics as your favorite topics out that whole syllabus. And these favorite topics should be (Contract Act, Partnership Act, Sales of Goods Act, and Companies Ordinance). Attempt these favorite topics in the Part-II. Where as your first complete reading of the whole syllabus can help you in scoring well in MCQs and short questions.

My study material:
1) Bare Acts (Essence of the Law)
2) Luqman Baig (Best one: Comprehensive, reader friendly and relevant to Pakistani paractices)
3) M.C. Shuckla (Best one, standard book)
4) P.P.S. Gogna ( Explanatory, easy and comprehensive)
5) M.C. Kuchhal (Good one but not so reader friendly)
6) CA. Study Text (To the point and short one but lacks some crucial details)
7) Companies Ordinance (Easy and to the point, just demands two to three hours for the relevant sections).
8) Arbitration Act summary from Net.

Suggestion to aspirants:
1) Bare Acts for revision during exam days
2) Luqman Baig (Main book for reference).
3) Companies ordinance
4) Arbitration Act
5) Life insurance from any other relevant book.
6) And if you have further time: Do cover each chapter end Practical problems of M.C. Kuchhal for getting grip over case studies. Do go through case studies from M.C. Shukla

Please pray for my better result.

@ RAZ

i found your information very good... i want to know this information still valid for css exams 2014?
i have no idea of solving case studies, but good grip over theoratical portion as i have done bcom
please guide me in prepration...
thankss
Old Tuesday, July 23, 2013
44th CTP (PAAS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2015 - Merit 86

KHANSHAHRUKH is on a distinguished road
Default Percentage

what percentage u got in A&A paper?

Originally Posted by Raz View Post
@reformer

Thank you for honest wishes. Reformer, I was waiting for this day to make good loss which I have been carrying from EDS paper. I wanted to compensate that paper and I did it today. Insha Allah accountancy and auditing paper will enhance my merit.

Paper-1: 100% correct in Part-II (Q:2, Q:3, and Q:6)
Fortunately I did not overwrite even a single figure in the complete paper. This was just because of prudent attempt. I knew I have enough time to manage the paper so I used it in constructive way by avoiding any blunder. Used working notes in Q:3, and Q:6. Use working notes in such question because by doing that you can minimize the chances of mistakes and can create your best image before the paper checker, you can earn good marks even if you answer is wrong provided you have done good working to support you answer. Use pencil (Katchi pencil) while writing main figures like GP, NP, Profit and Loss footing, and Balance sheet footing, when You verify your answer and conclude that your answer is correct than remove that pencil work and write it in ink (or ball point, marker). By doing this probability of cutting/overwriting etc can be minimized.

Make friendship with following topics: Final Accounts (Heart of Paper-1), Ratio analysis (Mind of this paper), Budget specially cash budget (Pocket of this paper), Bad debts, and depreciation (supporting tools), partnership (for emergency), Single entry (for IQ), and Non-trading accounts (for rainy day).

Now you can decide about the important topics by seeing their above mentioned description.

Do go through theory: That helps you in MCQs and short notes. (Get help from Gupta, and M.A. Ghani). Its my observation that one learns these concepts at the time of practicing on the practical problems. I have learnt most of the concepts during my routine schedule. I don't find any note/concept/topic in all the past papers of CSS Accountancy paper which is difficult for me to explain or define with suitable examples. This question is halwa.
Don't worry I will be posting some most expected concepts very soon. This is my responsibility to help you people.

Though I know have grip over partnership accounts but I often avoid this topic to attempt because probability of making mistakes is relatively high in this topic. It is better to get grip over final accounts, ration analysis, budgeting, depreciation and single entry. If cover these topics you won't face problem in Paper-1

How was my paper:
Almost 18 MCQs correct and 2 in doubt. Apart from MCQs, all other questions were 100% correct (Dead sure). And I enjoyed a lot by writing on the short notes section. Good exercise.

I don’t believe that short notes have reduced the high marking score trend. You know why, because total marks are 3 per short note. I am firm believer of the practice that don’t leave any margin for the examiner to swallow your marks in these notes. Make these notes all encompassive by inserting maximum relevant information within reasonable length. Try your best to hijack all these 3 marks and make a tuff situation for the examiner to penalize you even with 0.5 marks. Don’t leave any corner weaker in these notes. Follow it, Insha Allah your paper won’t allow space for the examiner to snatch even a single mark.

Expected marks: Not less than 90 (Not more than 95).