03:05 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Datesheets and Results > Previous CSS Results and Datesheets > CSS 2010 Exam

Old Wednesday, March 17, 2010
PMS - S&GAD
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: Css 2010 - Roll no 5865PMS / PCS Award: Serving PMS / PCS (BS 17) officers are eligible only. - Issue reason: 2011 - Merit No. 43

rishzzz is just really nicerishzzz is just really nicerishzzz is just really nicerishzzz is just really nicerishzzz is just really nice

dear dont worry, same was here in lahore in my centre, i didnt find any 2 ppl doing this sharing part, rather there used to be little jokes around when the left row of girls while hiding their sheets, tore there ans sheets....hahaha
it was too ridiculous, the guy after my roll no and beofr my number, we used to have great company after paper on the part of concoiusness girls wr having hahaha...

sherry.j is on a distinguished road

About this cheating MCQs practice, i had to change 2 centers during my 1 week examinations. I didn't notice any such practice in my earlier hall. But during my last three papers, that too in FPSC headquarter, students were indulging in this cheating stuff, aweful was that. Since the hall was really huge, I believe more invigilators were supposed to take care of each row.

Saad Khan will become famous soon enough
Allah is always with honest and hard working people.
He always gives the reward of hard work.This is
my personal experience and our belief too.
Cheaters always fail in the end.
Our prayers are always with you.
Good luck.
Waqar Abro (Wednesday, March 17, 2010)
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Roll no 7322

kukikhel is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by sherry.j View Post
CSS examinations- a great experience.
First you get to learn so much about your own self, your own tendency, your aptitude and also your weaknesses.

Starting from the exam anxiety, I suggest please don't listen to anyone before or after your paper, every one is sharing their own experience and that might shatter your confidence. Believe in yourself.

If you have no writing practice on blank sheets, grab some normal plain pages and do practice on them before hand. Else you are definitely going to mess up your paper. There was this teacher of mine in my MBA who used to ask us to submit our weekly short assignments "Hand written" and on "A4 sheets" (plain printing papers), so it really helped me in CSS exams

Always make sure that your paper is really presentable, use blue, black markers and pointers. Like there was this guy sitting beside me in sociology paper, he was eating sheets literally and he was attempting the paper with only a blue pen. Also the writing was like as if the words are flying. Logically thinking paper should be attempted in a way so that you make it easy for examiner to check and evaluate you. (keeping in mind he has thousands of papers to check)

Also go through question paper twice, thrice or even more. stick to what is actually asked in the paper, else it would be really hard to wrap the answer. And more importantly divide your time for each question. Else last questions suffer a lot.

1 thing that really helped me in papers was that, i used to write a rough outline of each question on the last page. Then it was really easy for me to attempt my questions easily.

And everyone please, now is the time you read more and more newspapers, research studies etc. Because FPSC has changed the paper pattern for most of the subjects, every other paper seemed like the test of your current Affairs knowledge.
MASHALLAH, aap top kero ge
The Following User Says Thank You to kukikhel For This Useful Post:
sherry.j (Wednesday, March 17, 2010)

nageen will become famous soon enough
Default My Experience

I really enjoyed taking two papers a day, that too in consecutive days.Before exams I was really tense about my schedule but during the exams I didn't find it tough.

My findings after the first attempt:

1-If one is satisfied with one's preparation then appearing in Css exam is really fun.One must only be in need of reviewing everything with a bird's eye view.
2- I noticed that during paper I was able to recall many points, I couldn't revise before the paper.
3- Regarding time management :
I didn't find it hard too, because except the Essay and English Precis' paper all the other papers have one Objective question and 30 minutes are allowed for it. Most of the candidates solve it within 20 minutes. So ,the remaining 4 questions can easily be attempted in 160 minutes.

My overall attempt wasn't good cuz I wasn't well prepared .Except the two English papers I'm not much satisfied with the rest but still this attempt was a boost to my confidence.

Thanked 1,143 Times in 374 Posts
DEADLYDOCTOR is just really niceDEADLYDOCTOR is just really niceDEADLYDOCTOR is just really niceDEADLYDOCTOR is just really nice

do believe yourself ,in your instincts but never get over confident
it decreases concentration and u lose your focus
practice again and again even if you know everything
only one way out and that is hard ,difficult to earn
don't look for easy ways or short cuts,may help but cannot be trusted and may leave you nowhere despite all prep
Shooting Star (Friday, March 19, 2010)

sherry.j is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by kukikhel View Post
MASHALLAH, aap top kero ge
Thank you kukikhel. May Allah bless me with enough marks.

Still i am really nervous, this was my first time, and i have attempted paper as I felt them to be attempted.

and yes best of luck to you too, with your final selection
Old Thursday, March 18, 2010
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Roll no 7322

kukikhel is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by sherry.j View Post
Thank you kukikhel. May Allah bless me with enough marks.

Still i am really nervous, this was my first time, and i have attempted paper as I felt them to be attempted.

and yes best of luck to you too, with your final selection
Nervousness to hotee hay aur ager forum per aap kisi say bhee pata karay to 2009 ka sab sa nervous aur impatient candidate may hee tha.. poora Pakistan may nay impatience aur nervousness may top kia hay 2009 may.

kher jokes apart, INSHALLAH acha hee ho ga aap ka result.

Final selection,, bas dua keejiye. Written bhee duawo per hee pass kia tha. Saray forum walay meray liye dua maang rahay tha
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kukikhel For This Useful Post:
sherry.j (Thursday, March 18, 2010)
Old Saturday, March 20, 2010

Thanked 1,143 Times in 374 Posts
DEADLYDOCTOR is just really niceDEADLYDOCTOR is just really niceDEADLYDOCTOR is just really niceDEADLYDOCTOR is just really nice

one thing i cannot understand
if english papers are so easy,while compulsory helpful
then many are going to pass which seems difficult
now optional suffered alot
as history papers,geography,sociology and other mostly opted optional are not much scoring papers.now it looks combinations are going to suffer also
what fpsc is doing is not understandable to me
3 questions arise after css2010
english papers stand for 70% of css,other compulsory 15%,optional last 15%
so those who pass english are hopefuly going to pass.what about other subjects?
now merit is going to form on ideal combination.what is an ideal combination?
what is the criteria of fpsc for all subjects?one easy ,one much difficult,checking of paper lenient or strict
seriously while seeing my css2010 attempt i was and still thinking about these.
and fpsc is going towards its previous trend that was before 2004
hopefully who are sure about english paper they are going to be through.
lets see
one more thing rest for 3-4 weeks have a blast and then start again for 2011 attempt after all u never know,because if u fail it has to taken and hopefully if u pass then u are not sure whether u be selected or not
collect your energy and get focussed
Noor_2009 (Saturday, March 20, 2010), Shooting Star (Saturday, May 15, 2010)
Old Saturday, March 20, 2010

diesek is on a distinguished road

This was my first attempt at the CSS 2010 papers. The first thing I have to say that is that CSS is certainly not what is hyped up to be. If one has enough time and is dedicated enough, one can do very well.

I finished my studies at the end of November 2009 and decided to attempt CSS exams by the next month. I knew there was not enough time for a comprehensive preparation but felt I could use the beneficial experience of this exam in the CSS 2011 exams. There was not enough time so I tried to read as much as possible without taking notes (as doing so would consume much of my time). By the time that Exams started, I still had not started studying Economics and Statistics but as I studied these subjects at university and exams for these subjects were in the last week, I was able to attempt them to a satisfactory level. There is a possibility that I might pass the exams but simply passing was never my goal. I expect to perform to level of my expectations in the next batch of exams.

Now, coming to my thoughts about the exams:

1. English Essay is probably the toughest part of the entire exams. Most people are able to pass other papers but seem to have very low scores in English Essay or fail at it. I have seen people who have been educated in Western systems and yet have failed in English Essay exams. The reason being is that examiners are looking for the old English style. Furthermore, examiners are looking for a well structured essay which balances strengths and weaknesses of a topic. I attempted the Terrorism topic in the exam and feel that I'm likely to fail in the exam. I had not attempted writing much before the exams. I think people need to attempt 10-20 essays do improve their writing skills somewhat. They say "Practice makes perfect."

2. MCQs are the toughest part of the paper. While you might be able to prepare answers for certain topics for Section B of exams, MCQs test the deepness of your knowledge. Also, MCQs are bound to confuse and when tested, remain confident and answer what you think is correct. i.e. For International Relations - CTBT was signed in 1996. 1996 was not in choice but 1995 was. I chose 1995(as it was closer to 1996). WRONG! ... Stay confident and believe in yourself.

3. The Pressure of these exams is one of the best experiences you can get in your life. Having 8 consecutive papers in 4 days can be a draining experience. There is stress, not enough sleep, and not enough time to study. Yet, this is all done on purpose! The life of CSP officers can be just as busy and stressful and you should be able to cope with such things. This experience teaches you much and makes you realize that you have more stamina than you give yourself credit for. i.e. I sleep atleast 6 hours before an exam. That strategy went out the window with these exams and to my surprise I was able to perform better in my last few days. I would recommend you to never take the stress of these exams negatively. These are exams for which only 2% of candidates are successful in the end. These exams bring the cream of the crop of Pakistan to government service and if you want to be successful at this, you need to work harder than you have ever worked before. In the end, this will only lead to self improvement.

4. Make Notes! – If you don’t, you will realize soon that you start forgetting many things that you read only a while ago. Notes enable you to remember the most important of points. Notes keep the mind organized and enable you to answer your questions in a structured form.

5. Try to find a CSS partner – Having a friend who you can study with gives enormous benefits. It allows you to be motivated, have fun, and enables you to explore areas you would not explore with self study.

6. Don’t become a recluse – Don’t sit in your room all day studying. Find time to do other activities. Have fun. Do what you like. Take part in physical activities. I regularly jogged in the morning before exams and I felt it gave me additional energy.

7. Read Newspapers and articles. With the trend of general questions in papers in the past few years, reading papers has become more necessary. Don’t forget to read editorials.

I am by no means an authority on CSS Exams. I might not even pass this year’s exams but these are some of the things that I have learned this wonderful experience. As long as you are able learn from your mistakes, you can achieve a lot. Now there is a year to prepare for the next exam and no excuses left, so work needs to be done!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to diesek For This Useful Post:
Muser (Friday, June 11, 2010)