11:56 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Datesheets and Results > Previous CSS Results and Datesheets > CSS 2011 Exam

Old Tuesday, December 14, 2010
39th CTP (PCS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Merit no 233

dr adnan rana will become famous soon enoughdr adnan rana will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by Sandhurst View Post
I am not sure where Dharejo ji got his information from.

There is hardly a housing colony for customs officers. So his information about houses and servants is absolutely incorrect. Yes they do get cars which are mostly non-custom paid (NCP) vehicles which they use but no other extra-ordinary infrastructure or facilities are available. During raids, they get staff like superintendent etc. but so do IRS Officers who have support of uniformed inspectors and powers to arrest and confiscate. There are colonies for senior level IRS Officers in Islamabad, Lahore and Karachi. Also, for the junior level officers, houses are easily available in Rawalpindi, Multan, Faisalabad, Gujranwala, Sialkot, Sukur, Quetta, Hyderabad and Abbottabad and Transit Accommodations are being built at Islamabad, Quetta and Hyderabad in first phase of an IMF funded project. In smaller stations like Islamabad, Rawalpindi, Gujranwala, Sialkot, Multan, Quetta, Sukkur, Abbottabad and Bahawalpur, even BS-17 officers of 36th common have been given vehicles.

The reality is that Pakistan Customs Service is now on the decline. Many of its brightest officers have opted for IRS. Also, whereas 32nd common of former income tax group (now IRS) was promoted to BS-18, 6 months back, their customs colleagues are still languishing in BS-17. This has severely affected the promotion prospects of Pakistan Customs Service (PCS) Officers in the near future. Whereas, there are only 147 approved seats of BS-18 in PCS, the current number of officers serving in PCS in BS-18 are 178. This means that those officers who are freshly recruited to BS-17 will have to wait 7 or 8 years for promotion to next grade. The approved cadre strength of IRS in BS-21 is 44 which is even more than DMG.

The anti-smuggling powers delegated previously by Pakistan Customs (PCS) to Pakistan Rangers and FC and withdrawn in view of expansion of PCS in border regions have also been returned to Pakistan Rangers and FC which signifies that there is no scope of further expansion in customs seats in the near future.

In the long term, Pakistan Customs Service will no longer remain a revenue collection agency because revenue from customs and regulatory duties is already being phased out under the WTO regime. Instead, it will have a more focussed and narrow role of border-protection and anti-smuggling. As compared to PCS, the newly created IRS will have better opportunities and unparalleled powers. This is particularly the case because Reformed GST is about to be approved which will mean even greater powers for IRS.
dear everything you said is absolutely right but let me tell you one thing that inspite of all this ATTRACTIVE PICTURE of IRS....allocations of 2009 and 2010 clearly shows that candidates preferred CUSTOMS even over FORIEGN SERVICE.this is so because IRS ,LL be better option in future but not right now.

Sandhurst is on a distinguished road

IRS was not offered for 2010 exam. It was not even created at the time written 2010 exam was conducted. For those who have cleared the 2010 written exam, they might get option for IRS before their interview.

We are only talking about 2011 preferences and I am giving my opinion on that. 2011 exam is still in the future and allocations for 2011 may be made somewhere in late 2011 or 2012. By the time, the css-qualified officers from 2011 exam join the field after completing ctp and stp, it would be 2013 so it is logical that 2011 aspirants plan their preferences in accordance with the realities in the field.

I think arguments should be supported by some evidence instead of merely asserting that a particular group is better than the other just because in the past it was considered better.
38th CTP (PAAS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Merit 210

mb raja dharejo is on a distinguished road

I dnt want to ague just for the sake of discussion.. If u r calling a three house collection, a colony then u r right.. Please visit Income Tax Colony in the model Town Lahore.. toote phoote gharon ki daastan nazar ajaegi Sir.. phr shayad kuch facts n figures or honge aap k.. us k ilawa please visit Custom House just opposite to Liberty on Jinnah Flyover Road n also visit Commissioner Income Tax Office at McLeod Road.. There is a huge difference between figures/written material n reality in real life.. I am not saynig k i m right and u r wrong, because i really honor k every person has his/her own perception n point of view. So u hav innate right for it.. But i will advise to visit these areas or phr dekhen k 2-3 saalon man (jo ap keh rahe han) kuch badalne k imkaan ho sakte han or agar kuch samajh aae to hamen bhi zarur bataeyega. shayad ap ki creativity or figures kuch badal saken.. or haan ap ne kaha evidence den apko baaten na karen is liye ham koi baat nahin karte bas apko itni guzarish ha k ap kindly Income Tax House of Custom house ka visit karen or wahan ki reality dekhen or puchen or phr sune bhi lekn plz kisi ko snub mat kijiyega shayad log aamne saamne bardasht na karen ku k aj kal pakistan k halat bare sensitive han. kon kahan aggressive hojae pta nhi chalta.. tc bestEST of luck..
38th CTP (ITG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Merit 70

Umair Akbar is on a distinguished road

@Sandhurst:

Can I have your email address or Cell Number...???

Sandhurst is on a distinguished road

@mb raja dharejo

I am very familiar with all those colonies and I don't know, again, what made you think that any of the colonies are in a dilapidated condition.

In fact, I also suggest you to visit the Inland Revenue Officers' Colony in Gulberg, Lahore besides the one in Model Town. I have always found them neat and clean and well-maintained. Also, for your kind information, a new project by the name of Allama Iqbal Apartments has also been commenced next to Directorate of Training & Research (Inland Revenue) at Allama Iqbal Town, Lahore which is aimed at junior officers. Customs House in Lahore is located next to the Regional Tax Office Building at the intersection of Nabha Road and Syed Mauj-e-Darya Road, Lahore and its no better than the Regional Tax Office, Lahore. In fact there are 7 customs offices in and around Lahore and none of them is located anywhere near Liberty. These include:

Customs House, Lahore (Nabha Road, Lahore)
Customs Air Freight Unit, Lahore Airport
Moghalpura Dry Port Lahore
Container Freight Station (CFS),Thokar Niaz Beg, Lahore.
Railway Station, Lahore
Collectorate of Customs GPO, Lahore
Collectorate of Customs Check Post Wagha, Lahore

You can also find their addresses here:

http://www.fbr.gov.pk/newcu/Collecto...ahore/main.htm

The Inland Revenue office at MacLeod Road, is a former circle office and strictly speaking at one stage it was being phased out before realising its importance for enforcement purposes and therefore it was eventually retained. Its condition is due to its uncertain status in recent past when it was being considered for closure. I have never known about any Customs House located in or near Liberty. Although I am aware that a Taxpayer Facilitation Centre under IRS operates there which is in a sublime state. Also, you have quoted examples from only one city. I also urge you to consider visiting other offices like RTO Karachi, LTU Karachi and LTU Islamabad. In fact RTO Karachi has its own website with a picture gallery which you can view at:

http://www.rtokarachi.gov.pk/rtogallery.asp

The IRS Officers Colony at G-10, Islamabad is one of the most well-maintained and prestigious official colonies in the whole of Islamabad.

Also, FBR Headquarters are now dominated by IRS Officers with majority of BS-21 Members belonging to IRS. Most of the chiefs (BS-20) including Chief Management is also an IRS Officer.

I have not snubbed you. I just suggested to support your arguments with facts/evidence as this will be a natural expectation of your seniors from you when you join the Common Training Program.

In any case, we are talking about CSS Exam of 2011 and past preferences do not matter with changed circumstances and in particular when IRS did not exist previously. Conditions have already changed and IRS without a shadow of doubt is in the top three tier. If anything, in 2/3 years with RGST in place in one form or another it should be challenging the top two for candidates' top preference.

@Umair

Dear, I don't disclose my cell no. or email address on public fora. If you leave your email address here, I will myself come in contact with you.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Sandhurst For This Useful Post:
Bilal Zamir (Wednesday, December 15, 2010), muhammad rameez (Wednesday, December 15, 2010), Umair Akbar (Wednesday, December 15, 2010)
Old Wednesday, December 15, 2010
38th CTP (ITG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Merit 70

Umair Akbar is on a distinguished road

@Sandhurst:

Fair Enough Brother..!!!! My email address is ******@hotmail.com. I will be looking forward..!!!!!

Last edited by Andrew Dufresne; Wednesday, December 15, 2010 at 01:10 PM. Reason: Please share contact info through your profile
The Following User Says Thank You to Umair Akbar For This Useful Post:
Sandhurst (Wednesday, December 15, 2010)
38th CTP (ITG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Merit 62

Bilal Zamir is on a distinguished road

AOA Sandhurst.

It is very interesting to read your posts. The way you have explained about the IRS is truly phenomenal. Please send me your email address for correspondence as I am allocated to this new and expanding service. I shall be thankful to you.

My email is *******@hotmail.com.

Last edited by Andrew Dufresne; Wednesday, December 15, 2010 at 01:10 PM. Reason: Please share contact info through your profile
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Bilal Zamir For This Useful Post:
rishzzz (Friday, April 22, 2011), Sandhurst (Wednesday, December 15, 2010), Sikander-007 (Saturday, December 25, 2010)

zeeshan1001 will become famous soon enough
Thumbs up My preference

1. Police Service of Pakistan
2. District Management Group
3. Pakistan Customs Service
4. Foreign Service of Pakistan
5. Inland Revenue Service
6. Pakistan Audit & Account Service
7. Office Management Group
8. Military Lands & Cantonments
9. Commerce & Trade Group
10. Railway and Transport
11. Postal Group
12. Information Group
Old Thursday, December 16, 2010
38th CTP (PAAS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Merit 210

mb raja dharejo is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Sandhurst View Post
@mb raja dharejo

I am very familiar with all those colonies and I don't know, again, what made you think that any of the colonies are in a dilapidated condition.

In fact, I also suggest you to visit the Inland Revenue Officers' Colony in Gulberg, Lahore besides the one in Model Town. I have always found them neat and clean and well-maintained. Also, for your kind information, a new project by the name of Allama Iqbal Apartments has also been commenced next to Directorate of Training & Research (Inland Revenue) at Allama ...
Sorry for late reply.
Sir g.. MAne yehi kaha tha shayad. k dere is a huge difference between dreams and realities..
aap ne reference diya FBR ki website ka.. is tarah aap Information ministry ki website pe jaen wo aap ko line laga denge offices ki..
I will point one simple figure without any complicated one. that whenever ITG officers were offered for IRS all ITG officers agreed to be merged in that, but only 2-3 officer of Customs gave their consents. While more than 200 Custom officers are still their group because they understand the pros or cons of both department. I think the officers which are present in the Department are the best analytic one. More than me and more than u sir. isi liye mane kaha tha Internet ko chor k kuch time Custom officers or Income Tax officers se mil len. IRS ia a very good group but when there is comparison betwenn two. As far as i am concerned I will go for PCS. Ek baat aakhri or most important, The natural tendency or drift is the best for the moderators. Aap ne to Sir Railway or Postal ko pata nahi kahan puhancha diya ha. But I really appreciate n respect ur point of view
but dont agree with u. thanx tc.

Last edited by Andrew Dufresne; Thursday, December 16, 2010 at 05:42 PM. Reason: Quote
Old Thursday, December 16, 2010
39th CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2010 - Merit 124

ayezzaS is on a distinguished road
Smile go 4 IRS

AA
though this debate is never gona end still as Mb raja said,th best answer wud cme up frm th one who is in th SERVICe rit nw-so dearies my DAD is in IRS-working as DC-IRS in bwp-gona be promoted as Adit.comisner soon i.A ..and according to him MOST of the FBR personnel working in Customs joined IRS this year-in customs other than th abhorrent promotion scenario -th availability of posts too is a question mark-people are many-post are only a few-so its nt at all a good option to opt-secondly,even now they have the judicial authority of arresting those who are TAX-defaulters-so ALL those who work with mt dad say tht IRS has a bright future whereas Customs is in a chaos as far as its future is concerned-
rest is all ur own choice.
good luck!
atifmasood (Monday, December 20, 2010), Sandhurst (Saturday, December 18, 2010)