03:36 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Datesheets and Results > Previous CSS Results and Datesheets > CSS 2012 Exam

Old Saturday, July 13, 2013
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2012- Roll No 08568

sadia hussain will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by Psycho Empire View Post
Sadia:
Written : 638
Interview:214
Total : 852
Merit no : 243

After taking this exam my belief in fate and destiny has strengthened to its maximum.
exactly, its plain luck, i know many people who work harder than me but were not able to make it to interview.written resulst came as a very pleasant surprise for me,i was not expecting to clear it in first attempt, and that too when i was not so serious about it, i remember i was blank when i saw public.ad question paper, but still managed to score 64. and being a m.phil in media studies was confident to score 70+ in journalism but could only get 58, it was only after written result when i raised the bar for myself, but ....so yes, you are absolutely right in your belief and i second that.

and while taking the exam i never ever thought a single mark could make such a HUGE difference, i took it way too lightly,....but yes its a lesson learned the hard way

Last edited by Arain007; Saturday, July 13, 2013 at 11:50 AM. Reason: merged
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2012 Roll no. 10987 Merit 101

Psycho Empire will become famous soon enough

Now, one thing that I really don't understand: subjects for which I was well prepared proved to be fiasco; whereas, the subjects for which I really didn't study proved comparatively better.
Example;
First of written and interview: after taking written exam I knew well that I won't be able I score good. Given the tough competition in FATA in previous years it was futile to hope for a seredipity. I prepared really well for written; papers went really bad. I gave a damn about interview, I scored well, I believe.
Then in geography, paper 1 was My strength, and paper 2 was Achilles heel.
Scored 54 in paper 1 and 59 in paper 2.
Worked really hard for Pak affairs( as it was the first subject that I started work on); didn't study a single day for current affairs.
Pak affairs: 40; current affairs : 42
Never went blank for Islamiat , scored 67.
Seniors told me that English was my strength, scored 42 in essay.
I DO NOT take responsibility for bad score in pushtu. Prepared well, attempted well, scored 43. Poor score for a regional language.
US HISTORY, ah, after that paper , I came to know that I'm not going to make it. I was well prepared( keeping papers of last 10 years in mind) and was able to attempt 2 1/2 questions.
Psychology was my last paper. It was really easy, but by that time I had lost all hopes. Geography was my forte, and it had deceived me; opted Us history for its respective and selective study approach ; it ditched me. So what was I to expect from Poor Psycho. Didn't even bother to revise it, and to my surprise it was the easiest paper, brimming with the most expected questions. Had I revised it once, I would have done wonders, still scored 120 ( a poor score given this year scoring Trend). iLife take responsibility for my failure to do well in psychology, after all CSS is a game of nerves , and I lost it by the time I entered the hall for the last time for attempting psychology.mea culpa.
But what about other papers. Was it fated to be like this? I don't understand. Mysterious are the ways of heavens.
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2012- Roll No 08568

Wink

Now, one thing that I really don't understand: subjects for which I was well prepared proved to be fiasco; whereas, the subjects for which I really didn't study proved comparatively better.
Example;
First of written and interview: after taking written exam I knew well that I won't be able I score good. Given the tough competition in FATA in previous years it was futile to hope for a seredipity. I prepared really well for written; papers went really bad. I gave a damn about interview, I scored well, I believe.
Then in geography, paper 1 was My strength, and paper 2 was Achilles heel.
Scored 54 in paper 1 and 59 in paper 2.
Worked really hard for Pak affairs( as it was the first subject that I started work on); didn't study a single day for current affairs.
Pak affairs: 40; current affairs : 42
Never went blank for Islamiat , scored 67.
Seniors told me that English was my strength, scored 42 in essay.
I DO NOT take responsibility for bad score in pushtu. Prepared well, attempted well, scored 43. Poor score for a regional language.
US HISTORY, ah, after that paper , I came to know that I'm not going to make it. I was well prepared( keeping papers of last 10 years in mind) and was able to attempt 2 1/2 questions.
Psychology was my last paper. It was really easy, but by that time I had lost all hopes. Geography was my forte, and it had deceived me; opted Us history for its respective and selective study approach ; it ditched me. So what was I to expect from Poor Psycho. Didn't even bother to revise it, and to my surprise it was the easiest paper, brimming with the most expected questions. Had I revised it once, I would have done wonders, still scored 120 ( a poor score given this year scoring Trend). iLife take responsibility for my failure to do well in psychology, after all CSS is a game of nerves , and I lost it by the time I entered the hall for the last time for attempting psychology.mea culpa.
But what about other papers. Was it fated to be like this? I don't understand. Mysterious are the ways of heavens.
Can't agree more, but I somehow had an idea that my written score must be between 650-660 , and for interview I set a target of 180,....and scored 198, people around me made me believe that if I made it to interview, there is no way pissible I would lose it here,....ah my bad ......I speculated that if I will score 820+ total marks, I will get allocation in one group or another,( deep down I wished for a miracle, which could land me in my preferred group, )but thats the worst I was prepared to settle for, and here I am today, with 850+ and without any chances of allocation :-D
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2012 Roll no. 10987 Merit 101

Sadia:
I'm sorry for you. You seem to hail from panjab. You people have really tough competition this year. I'm lucky in this regard-- most probably will land in IRS.
Merit no 100 seems to be our topper( GBFATA). Anyway, I ain't joining this year.
I hope it was your first attempt. If so, you better not lose heart and buckle up for 2014. Inshallah, you'll do better. And I liked one thing about you: you are fine with any group. So inshallah an improvement of 2 marks per subject will buoy u up to a better occupational group.
Good luck.
The Following User Says Thank You to Psycho Empire For This Useful Post:
sadia hussain (Saturday, July 13, 2013)

was
Sadia:
I'm sorry for you. You seem to hail from panjab. You people have really tough competition this year. I'm lucky in this regard-- most probably will land in IRS.
Merit no 100 seems to be our topper( GBFATA). Anyway, I ain't joining this year.
I hope it was your first attempt. If so, you better not lose heart and buckle up for 2014. Inshallah, you'll do better. And I liked one thing about you: you are fine with any group. So inshallah an improvement of 2 marks per subject will buoy u up to a better occupational group.
Good luck.
No its not like I lack ambition or something, ultimate dream is to ne a PAS officer IA, why I was ok with any group this time around was just because I knew I didnt put in the hard work this exam demands, I studied for 4 months only, and that too when i had to cope with deadlines of my final project of my degree . IA will give my best shot in 2014, thanks alot for ur wishes and motivation
The Following User Says Thank You to sadia hussain For This Useful Post:
Psycho Empire (Sunday, July 14, 2013)
Old Monday, July 15, 2013
43rd CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 140

Fahad M Mirza is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by sadia hussain View Post
i can so relate to your feelings , while reading your post , i felt as if, someone is writing on my behalf.

i have almost similar score,
written : 655
viva : 198
total : 853
merit : 234

just a difference of 2 marks and 12 positions down, wow that speaks alot about the competition we are in.....
I can sense that, pretty close to the chest, especially when talking to family members and friends who used to say, ;bas ab kya reh gaya hai, samjho hogya bas'... But then again, it's a Competitive Exam, not a Qualifying Exam... Survival of the fittest... I do believe inshAllah there will be a day we all would be discussing this issue at CSA, Lahore with a hearty laugh... Still a lot more to do with refining... All the best for CSS-2014, inshAllah...

@Psycho Empire:

Sir as my DMC displays my score for Muslim Law and Jurisprudence, which subject can you recommend from your experience and knowledge that can be switched with it...? Am not very good with languages, and have no clue how can I write in Punjabi even when my Islamyat is in English... What can you suggest, keeping all the other subjects intact...?

Last edited by Arain007; Monday, July 15, 2013 at 11:38 AM. Reason: merged
The Following User Says Thank You to Fahad M Mirza For This Useful Post:
sadia hussain (Monday, July 15, 2013)

@ fahad
Wish you very best of luck, may you shine bright in next attempt
In last attempt I didn't paid enough attention to compulsory subjects, specially eds, it really got capacity to make or break
my biggest nightmare at the moment is, I have been lucky to pass essay this time, only with 40 marks, (didn't prepared it all, my first essay for CSS was on the exam day in the examination hall) don't know if I can bag the same luck in next attempt or not :-/
The Following User Says Thank You to sadia hussain For This Useful Post:
Ahmed Faisal (Monday, July 15, 2013)

Fahad:
If I'm asked to make one amendment to structure of CsS exam, I'll do away with optional subjects. The reason is abundantly obvious:one is totally reliant on the scoring trend and the wishes and whims of the paper setter.
Examples are myriad: US history and geography in my case. I opted these two subjects just because of their straight forward, to the point and oft-repeated questions. In 2012, both these papers seemed to be set by an alien- someone who didn't know that besides these two papers we have goth appear for 9 other papers as well. Interestingly, the checker, unlike the paper setter, had mercy on us and was generous enough to give marks which atleast I didn't deserve.
It has almost become a cliche that regional languages are scoring. I prepared well for Pushto , attempted it very well and to my utter dismay ways given 43 marks. So, brother opting subjects is a part of gamble we call Css.
In 2010, those who opted INDO Pak history were ruined despite fact that they were very satisfied with their attempt. Same was the case with ACCOUNTANCY. I believe Omar Khan had been a victim that year.
So , brother, if you allow I'll rephrase your query: what are the better options for CSS 2014.
Now, if you go through International Law, it seems an interesting subject though it needs cramming, I believe. The scoring trend for international law is very good. Now this is the very fact that discourages me from advising this subject to any friend. As they say" every dog has its day", so it seems IL has seen its heydays. Either the paper setter will wake up the candidates to reality by setting a paper that would entail a very deep study to score well, or the checker will be as parsimonious with marks as Scrooge.
Same are my views about JORNALISM. 2010 proved to be doomsday for those who opted journalism. 2011 and 2012 have been kind so the result of 2013 will show that whats the fate of journalism.
Now the case for Sociology is totally reverse: 2012 was not a benevolent year for sociologists. So I hope, it is not penalised any further.
US HISTORY: the paper, like all past years barring 2012, was sweet and simple, living upto it's reputation. Now let's see, what womb of time holds for those who appeared in US history in 2013.
Now there is one important difference between two groups of subjects.
Group 1: sociology, journalism, public administration.
Group 2: history and physical sciences.
You don't need to pay much time for preparation. Even if you are I'll prepared, and even after seeing the paper you are convinced that you don't know answers to most of the questions, you can expect to score well. You see, these are opinion based subjects, and all that matters is your opinion and attempt. Well, no doubt, building a sound opinion entails preparation , but still you won't atleast state at other candidates if you don't know the exact answers. In Us history I managed to attempt only 2 long question and one short question. I really could not attempt any other question. A cousin of mine attempted all 4 question, with the logic that something is better than nothing, his score was worse than mine.
In sociology , a friend of mine swore that he really couldn't grasp the meaning of atleast 18 objectives let alone giving a correct answer. Long questions were attempted as if he were just having a chat with a friend; he had a poor preparation, still he managed to score 49.
One added advantage of group1 is that suppose you are an unlucky guy and no matter what u opt for, you' ll be ruined. In opting group1 subject atleast you wouldn't have lost so much time on preparation. That time can be given to any other subject, say eDs, and low score of the optional can be compensated in EDS. I hope, you ate getting my point.
To cut it short: choose between International Law, journalism and sociology.
PS: these were my two cents based on my own experience and observation. I may be cent percent wrong. I just poured My heart out with no I'll intentions. Use your own judgement , choose one and then stick to it.
The Following User Says Thank You to Psycho Empire For This Useful Post:
Descendant of Saul (Tuesday, July 16, 2013)

Sadia:
I scores 67 in Islamiat and I know I don't deserve it. I know if I appear again I have to prepare well. You see , it was just an easy year for Islamiat.
Now the case of English is very curious. I have seen guys who managed to score in 50s in English composition in 2011 and in single digits, believe me, in 2012.
I scored 42 in English essay and my teachers and elders told me that English is my forte. I never practised writing and On the examination day I came to know that essay writing needs practise. It's not merely about grammar and vocabulary, you need to know how to write, how to arrange ideas, how to prioritise information.
It's just like swimming. I can teach you each and every move of breast stroke outside the pool, but in order to learn it you have to get into water and practise it. Writing is just like dancing, you have to practise it until each move comes naturally.
I remember when I was learning how to drive when I was a kid. I was so enthralled by those who would just talk, look here and there and drive without an effort. It seemed they made no effort, as if every part of their body is synchronised with the vehicle. And now when I myself drive, I'll be talking on phone and driving on most difficult tracks as if it was not I but my body parts- my hands on steering and gear, my foot on accelerator , break pedal and clutch-- are driving. You see, it all took years of practice.
So, for essay, dear, you better develop a habit of writing everyday. Be it a 100 words but do write religiously. I know it's easier said than done, but that would be my two cents regarding essay.
PS: sorry for saying simple things in hundreds of words.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Psycho Empire For This Useful Post:
JS1325 (Tuesday, July 16, 2013), MOHSINALIKHAN (Tuesday, December 17, 2013), sadia hussain (Tuesday, July 16, 2013)
Old Tuesday, July 16, 2013

Very well said thanks alot, will surly work on English essay :-)
And your teachers were justified to suggest English as your forte, you seem to have a command on the language . And ur explanation gives a hint of your sound observation,
I wish very best for you in next attempt and u got a huge score in interview, very well done (y)

css 2012, css 2014 guide, dmc