09:56 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Datesheets and Results > Previous CSS Results and Datesheets > CSS 2012 Exam

Old Friday, July 12, 2013
43rd CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 140

Fahad M Mirza is on a distinguished road
Question Advice for a loser qualifier here, please...

Hi... I'm a CSS-2012 qualifier who actually failed on May 20th 2013 once the final results were displayed... My first attempt, 2 months of study with dedicated passion and all... Was totally confident I would make it, but... Anyways, my DMC is here below:

Essay: 42
Precis & Composition: 48

Everyday Science: 63
Pakistan Affairs: 42
Current Affairs: 24

Islamyat: 70

Business Administration: 78
Forestry: 62
Journalism: 65
History of Pakistan & India: 130 (60+70)
Muslim Law & Jurisprudence: 38

Viva: 193

Total Marks: 855
Merit: 222... ... ...

Since after this humiliating result, I would love to have the suggestions from the winning qualifiers in this context, as I have already wasted my time for this year thinking I would make it (till May 20th), now am appearing for CSS-2014, inshAllah... And now they tell us there will be a screening test first, so that might have another quota system... So to sit in the exams, you qualify another exam first...

Luck has never been smiling on me for past few years, and some consider it a valuable asset for making it to the Civil Services Academy *sigh*...

Any suggestions, please...?? Please...??
41st CTP - PSP (1st KPK)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2012 Merit 14

omerkhan is on a distinguished road

I have been through a similar, or rather a worse experience. It's difficult to cope with for a couple of months following the result, but there's nothing to worry. I will just give some stats about my attempts:

1st attempt (2010):
Total marks: 807
Merit # 324

2nd attempt (2012):
Total marks: 948
Merit # 14

So, keep your neves strong, work hard and ask for Allah's help. When you are aspiring for something, don't worry about the time. As they say, it's better late than never. But you must strive to get it, so that there are no regrets later on
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to omerkhan For This Useful Post:
ACROBATIC (Monday, December 01, 2014), Ahmedmalik (Friday, July 12, 2013), Antalpur (Sunday, October 16, 2016), Fahad M Mirza (Friday, July 12, 2013), Maidah shaikh (Sunday, December 01, 2013), sadia hussain (Saturday, July 13, 2013), Saqib Bangash (Saturday, July 13, 2013)
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2012 Roll no. 10987 Merit 101

Psycho Empire will become famous soon enough

Fahad:
Are u cursing your luck or boasting it? I mean, no offence, but were you really expecting to get through this exam with a preparation of mere two months, for which aspirants prepare for years. Did you want to achieve the best this country can offer with a hard work of sixty days. Well, I agree, there are examples who have done well with a preparation of two or three months but there a legion of those who couldn't get allocated after three attempts, and believe me, one is serious about CsS if he appears thrice for this exam.
So, brother, I'm sorry if I sounded harsh but it was just meant to make ou look at the flip side of the coin: you passed this exam with a preparation of just 2 months. So if you give it 6 months, you surely can ace it. Secondly, your interview score tells that panel was pleased with you, given the low scoring trend of this year.
So, be grateful to Allah, say astaghfar for being ingrate, and brace yourself for the next attempt. Inshallah, one day we'll be reading your success story on this forum.

Omar:
Brother , you need to start a thread on your preparation and attempt for English essay as well as composition. Truly impressive.

Last edited by Arain007; Saturday, July 13, 2013 at 11:51 AM. Reason: merged
The Following User Says Thank You to Psycho Empire For This Useful Post:
Fahad M Mirza (Friday, July 12, 2013)
43rd CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 140

Really grateful for your motivation, sir... That's a great success story, MashAllah...

InshAllah am appearing again and would love to know the change and shift you made in order to achieve these marks, especially for compulsory subjects... Will be grateful and thanking you in advance...

Originally Posted by Psycho Empire View Post
Fahad:
Are u cursing your luck or boasting it? I mean, no offence, but were you really expecting to get through this exam with a preparation of mere two months, for which aspirants prepare for years. Did you want to achieve the best this country can offer with a hard work of sixty days. Well, I agree, there are examples who have done well with a preparation of two or three months but there a legion of those who couldn't get allocated after three attempts, and believe me, one is serious about CsS if he appears thrice for this exam.
So, brother, I'm sorry if I sounded harsh but it was just meant to make ou look at the flip side of the coin: you passed this exam with a preparation of just 2 months. So if you give it 6 months, you surely can ace it. Secondly, your interview score tells that panel was pleased with you, given the low scoring trend of this year.
So, be grateful to Allah, say astaghfar for being ingrate, and brace yourself for the next attempt. Inshallah, one day we'll be reading your success story on this forum.
Sir my intentions were not to curse or boast anything from my side, especially at this stage... I have been preparing for a year, two months old dedicated study like leaving the job and just sticking in a room sort of thing, not to study all from scratch...

Would appreciate if you can provide any assistance regarding my compulsory subjects... Thanks...

Originally Posted by Psycho Empire View Post
Fahad:
And am truly grateful for the motivation... Definitely I will be giving all my chances, inshAllah...

Just a little know-how and tips, that's all...

Last edited by Arain007; Saturday, July 13, 2013 at 11:52 AM. Reason: merged

Hassan Babu is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by omerkhan View Post
I have been through a similar, or rather a worse experience. It's difficult to cope with for a couple of months following the result, but there's nothing to worry. I will just give some stats about my attempts:

1st attempt (2010):
Total marks: 807
Merit # 324

2nd attempt (2012):
Total marks: 948
Merit # 14

So, keep your neves strong, work hard and ask for Allah's help. When you are aspiring for something, don't worry about the time. As they say, it's better late than never. But you must strive to get it, so that there are no regrets later on
very nice umer bhai....
you opt accountancy please guide regarding this subject

mehak Shahzad is on a distinguished road

dear, if i may not be too blunt then kindly improve your english composition as well as essay writing.. dnt sigh untill you the very next chance of an opportunity..
*best of luck *
The Following User Says Thank You to mehak Shahzad For This Useful Post:
Fahad M Mirza (Friday, July 12, 2013)
43rd CTP (OMG)

Exactly, inshAllah... But what would be the key elements, like what should an essay have for scoring in CSS...? I wrote on Democracy this time...
41st CTP - PSP (1st KPK)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2012 Merit 14

omerkhan is on a distinguished road

@ Psycho Empire: Thanks brother. That's a good idea, but right now I am myself reflecting on what exactly were the ingredients that led to high scores in essay and composition. Because I think I must be very sure about the technical aspects of writing before I guide others

@ Fahad: Now that you already have a reasonable preparation, I would suggest just build up on it. For each subject, read a couple of more books, cover topics that you had skipped or not read in detail, remove your confusions, attempt past papers, get them checked by someone for professional feedback/second opinion, collect facts and figures, quotations, etc. In other words just polish your preparation, subject by subject.

@ Hassan Babu: For Accounting, it was basically my A'levels study that helped. However, I would recommend the following: Business Accounting I and II by Frankwood for Financial Accounting, Cost Accounting by Matz and Uzry, Introduction to Business by Saeed Nasir, Income Tax Ordinance 2001 (selected sections as per syllabus), B.Com book for Auditing.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to omerkhan For This Useful Post:
Fahad M Mirza (Friday, July 12, 2013), Hassan Babu (Saturday, September 28, 2013), Rida Malik (Friday, November 29, 2013)
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2012- Roll No 08568

sadia hussain will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by Fahad M Mirza View Post
Hi... I'm a CSS-2012 qualifier who actually failed on May 20th 2013 once the final results were displayed... My first attempt, 2 months of study with dedicated passion and all... Was totally confident I would make it, but... Anyways, my DMC is here below:

Essay: 42
Precis & Composition: 48

Everyday Science: 63
Pakistan Affairs: 42
Current Affairs: 24

Islamyat: 70

Business Administration: 78
Forestry: 62
Journalism: 65
History of Pakistan & India: 130 (60+70)
Muslim Law & Jurisprudence: 38

Viva: 193

Total Marks: 855
Merit: 222... ... ...

Since after this humiliating result, I would love to have the suggestions from the winning qualifiers in this context, as I have already wasted my time for this year thinking I would make it (till May 20th), now am appearing for CSS-2014, inshAllah... And now they tell us there will be a screening test first, so that might have another quota system... So to sit in the exams, you qualify another exam first...

Luck has never been smiling on me for past few years, and some consider it a valuable asset for making it to the Civil Services Academy *sigh*...

Any suggestions, please...?? Please...??
i can so relate to your feelings , while reading your post , i felt as if, someone is writing on my behalf.

i have almost similar score,
written : 655
viva : 198
total : 853
merit : 234

just a difference of 2 marks and 12 positions down, wow that speaks alot about the competition we are in.....
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2012 Roll no. 10987 Merit 101

Psycho Empire will become famous soon enough

Sadia:
Written : 638
Interview:214
Total : 852
Merit no : 243

After taking this exam my belief in fate and destiny has strengthened to its maximum.
The Following User Says Thank You to Psycho Empire For This Useful Post:
sadia hussain (Saturday, July 13, 2013)

css 2012, css 2014 guide, dmc