09:28 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Datesheets and Results > Previous CSS Results and Datesheets > CSS 2017 Exam

Old Tuesday, October 10, 2017

Yousuf Aziz is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Shahkaar View Post
Islamiat has always been one of my favourite subjects. I remember few Quranic verses and Ahadees which helps in citing references.

For Pol Science, I consulted notes prepared by my brother and books available in the market ( Jahangir's + another book whose author I can't recall)
In which language (English or Urdu) you attempted the Islamiat paper?
And which books you consulted for Islamiat and Pak Affairs??

arshacca is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Maddiha nasim View Post
essay...40
precise...44
islamiat...20
eds....35
crnt affair...47
pak affair
journalism...74
gender....65
criminology...57
town planning....49
ir....53
ir...43
Your score is excellent in Journalism, can you please share your strategy for this subject? I have yet to start preparation for Journalism paper for CE 2018 Thanks

arshacca is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Z fraz View Post

This is what happens when you don't spend time on English. In fact, I wan not able to do so. It was my first and last attempt, I had 4 months with full time job, spouse & daughter.
I would advise all aspirants, though I couldn't, to learn GRE vocabulary by heart to fix your 20 mcqs. For essay, if you see topics of CE 17 it seems that IR/Pol sci. has indirectly become a compulsory subject to pass essay; however, can't say about future trend.
I strongly recommend that even if you don't want to join an academy at least get your practice tests examined by an experienced CE english teacher.

The only thing satisfying me right now is that somebody is calling me "topper of optional papers" with average of 72
All the best to those who are left with attempts, you have to put minimum effort for subsequent attempts so don't waste any of it if you are left with.
MashAllah very good score in optional papers but hard luck! Bro I have accounting background I want you to share with me your strategy for these subjects and sources .g Business Administration, Mercantile Law. Thanks

akemcolian is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by aneelbachwani View Post
Which Essay did you attempt? and What was your thesis statement?
I shared my essay approah in the thread *Is colonial mentality impeding Pakistan's progress* There is a lot of material already. You can check that out. Other than that i was rather lucky having recently read Ian Talbot's Pakistan a new history, a few weeks before the exam. The initial chapters deal exclusively with this issue. So those definitely helped a lot with structuring my arguments.

Yousuf Aziz is on a distinguished road

essay...40
precise...44
islamiat...20
eds....35
crnt affair...47
pak affair
journalism...74
gender....65
criminology...57
town planning....49
ir....53
ir...43
Madiha, please share your strategy for IR (esp Paper-1) and Journalism. you consulted which books?

Zainab S is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Demonstrative View Post
@ Zainab S

Your DMC is an ample proof of your hardwork and resolve. So glad that you got through English. Had you not, i'd have been disappointed, honestly. If you could spare a minute, would you mind telling me if you practiced any essays? And did you specifically work on your expression by incorporating catchy words and phrases (not the rare GRE ones which render your expression complex and concomitantly rather bland) ?

Thank you!
Thanks. I have a long way to go.
I did not. I wrote two essays and those were very bad. I digressed a lot and was writing as if I was writing a novel. lol. So, my exam essay was more or less me not repeating my past mistakes. It was also much better than any of my previous attempts.

Secondly, please dont waste your time fretting over expression and catchy phrases. I know, I know! It's an unpopular opinion but try to write very simply and directly. Keep everything short and simple. Be blunt. Do not play around with words. I did that and it did not give me marks. Papers, where I was more direct, gave me marks. your examiner just wants to know whether you know the answers. You do then present them from the get go. That's it. Really!
And as per your comment on bland expressions tu formal writing aisi he hoti hai aur aap ko bhi formally likhna seekhna ho ga bhallay GRE words use na karo per formally likho.

all my opinions. You can disagree.
The Following User Says Thank You to Zainab S For This Useful Post:
Yousuf Aziz (Tuesday, October 10, 2017)

PartyPooper is on a distinguished road

I’m signing off from the forum (permanently), so won’t be able to respond. Posting the DMC here for those who wish to gauge the trend.

Last edited by incounternable; Tuesday, October 10, 2017 at 08:39 AM.

zaindy is on a distinguished road

Essay: 28
Precis/comp: 56

Still so far away from passing essay
But an improvement from the score I got in my first attempt (12). Hopefully in the 3rd try I can get those elusive 12 marks I was short this time.

Shahkaar is on a distinguished road

@Demonstrative

1. I left few of the western philosophers, those who have been included in the revised syllabus. Other than this, I touched the whole syllabus.

2. I wrote the Arabic text as well as the Urdu translation. However, quoting of these verses was according to the need of the question. In caliphate question, I hardly quoted anything, while in Extremism question, I quoted 12 verses and Ahadees.

3. Yes, I have engineering background. I got one part of 5 marks wrong in EDS paper.

@Yousuf Aziz

I attempted Islamiat paper in Urdu. I referred to Hafiz Arshad's book for Islamiat. For Pak Affairs, I consulted notes that my brother gave me.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Shahkaar For This Useful Post:
coolbreeze (Thursday, October 12, 2017), Yousuf Aziz (Tuesday, October 10, 2017)

Señor Apirante is on a distinguished road

essay...40
precise...44
islamiat...20
eds....35
crnt affair...47
pak affair
journalism...74
gender....65
criminology...57
town planning....49
ir....53
ir...43
In which language did you attempt Islamiat ?