05:31 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Datesheets and Results > Previous CSS Results and Datesheets > CSS 2018 Exam

Old Sunday, June 25, 2017

Ali89 is on a distinguished road
Default Subject selection

Dear members i have engineering background, i have short listed 2 groups for optional courses for CE-2018, pleas guide me best option for me

1. International relations.
2. Indo -pak history.
3. International law.
4. Punjabi.
5. Agriculture & forestry.

2. Islamic history.
3. Philosophy.
4. Punjabi.
5. Agriculture &forestry.

Seniors please guide me

mmawaqar is on a distinguished road

@Ali89

I'll suggest you to go for the first group, based on the choice you left for yourself.
The Following User Says Thank You to mmawaqar For This Useful Post:
Ali89 (Monday, June 26, 2017)

Anum Zara is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Ali89 View Post
Dear members i have engineering background, i have short listed 2 groups for optional courses for CE-2018, pleas guide me best option for me

2. Indo -pak history.
3. International law.
4. Punjabi.
5. Agriculture & forestry.

2. Islamic history.
3. Philosophy.
4. Punjabi.
5. Agriculture &forestry.

Seniors please guide me

First group is best for scoring. A big No for group 2. I will also like to give few suggestions.
In group one if you can switch History of Pakistan & India with US history. It will be a better choice and very recommended subject with IR and IL. Otherwise it is good subject and scoring trend is also very high. It can help you in Pak. Aff. to some extent. Both are good.

My other suggestion is about agriculture & forestry. As per previous year marks trend, it is not a scoring subject and was turned out to be a disaster for many candidates. I will highly recommend it to change it with more scoring subjects and according to scoring trend following are my suggestions to you in order with 1 for high recommended and 3 for last preference. All are general subjects. Go through syllabus of all and decide your self.

1- Environmental sciences
2- Public Administration
3- Gender Studies
Ali89 (Monday, June 26, 2017)
Old Monday, June 26, 2017

Default @anum zara

Thanks alot for your valueable suggestions, surely i will reconsider history subject once again, but according to some members environmental sciences and public administration both are little bit techinal subjects and consume more time and require some background knowledge.

and please guide me if i start preparation with one compulsory and one optional with English daily or i should prepare compulsory first then optional. I have only 7 months for preration, or can you suggest a better plan for average student.
Old Monday, June 26, 2017

Thanks alot for your valueable suggestions, surely i will reconsider history subject once again, but according to some members environmental sciences and public administration both are little bit techinal subjects and consume more time and require some background knowledge.

and please guide me if i start preparation with one compulsory and one optional with English daily or i should prepare compulsory first then optional. I have only 7 months for preration, or can you suggest a better plan for average student.
Ali89 yes I have seen a lot of people saying that but I do not know the reason behind it. I am not going to say that my opinion is right and others are wrong but I am going to elaborate a bit more for you. After that you can decide.

In last attempt my optional subjects were IR, Indo Pak History, Pub. Admin., Gender Studies and psychology. I had only 1.5 months to prepare these subjects. I use to study almost 18 hours for these subjects. I have gone through syllabus of all at least once before CE-17. Although I was not well prepared but all my papers went well except one that is public administration. I am also a silent observer of scoring trends from last 7-8 years. I have also gone through previous syllabus of public administration. My paper of gender studies went well. After exams I started analyzing my performance and what is needed to be changed as I am preparing for next attempt and this time it will be with full strike. I talked to few persons who have cleared 2016 written (After change of subjects). They agree with my opinion.
Many students say that GS is very easy and general subject. I do not agree. It is very technical subject and it 's preparation requires a lot of time. First you need to get grip on key terminologies. After that basics concepts are needed to be understood. Lastly one need to prepare many topics in Pakistan's context paying special attention to women related topics. For getting marks you need 2-25 days to prepare it being an average student. Also marks trend is not very high. You can score as high as 65-70 if you are lucky.
About public administration. My paper did not went well because I was unable to study that subject well. Dr. Sultan's book was highly recommended so, I bought it but it was not according to syllabus so, I was only able to cover the topics present in that book. I also had JWT book but I was unable to digest even a single word from it. Also it was not good at all. One cannot prepare that subject from internet as topics were required to prepared in Pakistan's context. Book issue was faced by many people so many have not attempted it. The score was also very low in previous result due to very reason. Otherwise this subject is not technical at all. Now Dr. Sultan's new book is out in the market and it is well written. If one prepares well he can fetch good marks in it as not many are attempting it and it is also a strategy to do things which others are not doing. Scoring trend was a lot better than Agri. & Fore. at least. I am a business graduate. Half of the topics were covered by me in masters. It is easy and not a technical subject. That is why i was my optional as I had short time.
I believe from Ce-18 onward P.A is going to be a very scoring subject.
After exams still no book was available so I switched my subject to ES. I have studied science subjects till my FSC only and I am done preparing ES. It is not technical and can be easily prepared. Also one can score 90 above in it. One book and internet is enough for it. Topics are simple. You are from Engr. background so I think it will be pretty easy for you. It will also help you in GS&A.
My suggestion is to forget about Agr. & Fore. and choose from these subjects. ES is most recommended but you should choose according to your interest and aptitude by keeping scoring trend in mind.

We have 7.5 months till exams. You need to exclude at least 1 month for revision. So technically 6-6.5 months. Every one has his/her own technique. I can give few suggestion.
English (both subjects), CA and PA. These subjects are needed to be prepared 1st and continuously. Write 1 essay on weekly basis and get it checked from a teacher. For 2nd paper, practice precis, translation, comprehension on weekly basis. Work on grammar and topics like change of voice, tenses, narration and finish them as fast as you can. After that divide lists of idioms, pairs, vocabulary etc and start memorizing them. Keep revising them on weekly, monthly basis and a comprehensive revision before examination.
For CA, PA. Prepare them 1st. For current topics stay in touch with dawn and JWT mag.
Along with them take 1 optional or compulsory subject give it 10-30 days depending upon requirement.

You need to make a schedule for the books that how much time is required to prepare a subject. Try to finish in 6 months. Rest spare 15 times as things always do not turn out the way we want. So, it will be like a shock cushion and will give you time to prepare the subject or topics which you were unable to do in given time. You need to solve past papers as well during preparation or you can prepare them in these 15 days if you want. You are an average student so, do not try to prepare notes as time is really short for you. Instead make outlines of each question you study. It will help you in exams for revision as one hardly gets 1.5 hour of revision especially for 2nd paper. Preparing past papers is also a kind of revision. Time divided for each subject depends upon you. For me Islamic studies can be prepared in 3-5 days. For IR I need more time say as 25-30 days. Similarly you need to make your own. Syllabus and books chosen for studies will also give you an idea for that. Go through syllabus. Chose subjects wisely. Leave 1 or 2 optional subjects in which you have any doubts to prepare at last as you have time till end of oct to decide which one you are going to choose. Till then new result will be out.
Last month is for comprehensive revision. Revise all you subjects.
Time is very short so, start studying. You need to study 12-15 hours daily to cover syllabus now. Quit other activities. Go on sleep-eat-study routine. Keep your self active by a little entertainment. You can choose 1,2 optional subjects later so start preparation now. After checking syllabus. Go to book shop or take help from seniors. choose books asap and start studying.

Goodluck.
Ali89 (Tuesday, June 27, 2017)
Old Tuesday, June 27, 2017

Default @anum zara

Thanks alot for your suggestions, please give me another favour by suggesting good book for English ( precise & composition) which covers whole syallabus including voice , tenses, narration ,idioms etc.

As you have attempted css exam before what do you think css can be cleared by average student , because my friends and my brother in law who failed in css 2015 always disheart me by saying bhai css is not for average students , you can't clear, you will waste your time ☹️

Thanks alot for your suggestions, please give me another favour by suggesting good book for English ( precise & composition) which covers whole syallabus including voice , tenses, narration ,idioms etc.

As you have attempted css exam before what do you think css can be cleared by average student , because my friends and my brother in law who failed in css 2015 always disheart me by saying bhai css is not for average students , you can't clear, you will waste your time ☹️
Sure. Pleasure is all mine.
I will highly recommend you to buy book English Grammar & Composition) by Hafiz Kareem Dad Chughatai (1st position holder of CE-14 written and overall 2nd) published by Caravan publishers.
He has written his book according to new syllabus. 4000 words GRE vocabulary list is also included in the book. He has covered everything in the book i.e precis, comprehension, vocabulary, tenses, narration, prepositions, punctuation, translation, phrasal verbs, sentence correction, grouping of words, pair of words, idioms, narration, proverbs, one word substitute etc. It does not have change of voice because it is not required but I have prepared it as well because I write many of my sentences in passive voice to make it different from others. I have been practicing it since 2012 and I can tackle it. There is no need for you to learn it for CSS so, book is enough. Apart from covering all the topics he has included practice exercises and solution of past papers as well. He has provided solution of all the available past papers. Some are fully available and some are partially. I have bought around 4 books and only this book is worth buying so, do not waste your money on other books. It is a complete package.

About clearing CSS exam by an average student, your friends and your brother in law is totally wrong as I know many people who have cleared CSS and are average students. Academic performance does not make one average, poor or brilliant. One might be studying something in which he or she does not have aptitude. One needs to identify his/ her aptitude, strengths and weaknesses. Like I can excellently tackle general theory subjects in which I can reproduce the topic in my own words. I can do analysis in my own words. I am not good at cramming so, I try to avoid those subjects. So, identify your strengths.
No one can tell who can clear CSS and who cannot. Your friends and BIL is making comments that every other person makes after failure. One can totally do it. Do not listen to them. Focus on your goal and stay motivated and determined. Time taken to prepare for exam varies from candidate to candidate. Usually 6 months to 3 years can be taken to prepare. Average student who already have aptitude and good command on English can easily do it within 6 months. So, As I have suggested above, it is time for eat-study-sleep routine and you are required to cut off from social dealings. So, do not waste any time further. Just start studying. For keeping your mind fresh you can get entertained by watch movies, seasons, reading books etc for a little time after get exhausted from studies. Otherwise bury your self in books and try to keep social contacts as minimum as possible. I know a girl who had prepared for 4 months only and got allocated in PAS in 2011 batch. She was totally socially cut off. She had rented a cubical room in hostel and started preparing. She was just consulting books. No mobile, no internet. She used to study 15-18 hours. She was not a brilliant student in her previous exams. Everyone can do it man. Only time taken to prepare differs. If you have no age issue, you can avoid this attempt otherwise take chance and try at least once. May be you too get lucky and become a part of most prestigious service in the country. Never ever let any body to dis-heart or discourage you. Choose subjects smartly. Gather resources both soft & hard. Start studying. Keep praying. Give your best rest leave on Allah Subhan Wa TAllah. Even if you fail, there are vital chances of you getting a better job. After preparing CSS, you have so much knowledge which can take you far in your career. Getting other FPSC and PPSC jobs will be easy for you. Brilliant students do not always have brilliant minds. Sometimes the thing makes them brilliant is their stubbornness and they can easily study for many hours a day. So, do not worry and start studying.

Smile @anum zara

Thank you so much for motivation and suggestions, surely i will work hard and try me luck

Old Wednesday, June 28, 2017

Thank you so much for motivation and suggestions, surely i will work hard and try me luck

Good luck
Ali89 (Saturday, July 01, 2017)
Old Wednesday, June 28, 2017

Aime is on a distinguished road

Dear Anum Zara,

I am a new aspirant here and need some suggestions please.

I have some concerns I want to discuss here. I have a last attempt due next year i.e. ce 2018 and this will be my only first and last attempt. I am working in the develop sector and have a good position and package however I have recently developed immense interest in CSS and I'm going to avail this attempt and hoping Allah will give me success In sha Allah. I am resigning from this job and have decided to join NOA academy in Isl in July. (I feel it a big risk but I am willing to give in all and hope for the best).

Along side, I am looking out for Gov job and hoping to get one till end of Dec 2017 (In sha Allah) which will increase my age relaxation bar and give me another attempt in 2020. But It's all a journey of putting my trust in Allah and going Tawakkul.

Now, I need to know a few things and want some clarity. My chosen subjects are;

1. IR
2. IL
3. US History
4. Environmental Science (I had chosen gender studies due to it's short syllabus but seeing your post I changed my decision)
5. Pushto

I have a masters MBA in Marketing.

1. I would like to know your views on the above selection? Any suggestions?

2. I am totally alien to these subjects so I'll be starting my preparation in July alongside Academy. I do intend on hiring a tutor for english essay and precise and will it do it along with this. I have not bought any books yet and only been following the threads here trying to get into this 'Css mode' while gain knowledge or more like get aware. As I have really short time can you please suggest me where to take a start from first? I am Peshawar Based and will be shifting to hostel in Isl for the academy.

Please comment on the above, once done I'll be asking you more questions. Thanks.

aoa, dear senior members