-   CSS 2009 Exam (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-datesheets-results/previous-css-results-datesheets/css-2009-exam/)
-   -   How did ur paper go today? (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-datesheets-results/previous-css-results-datesheets/css-2009-exam/23327-how-did-ur-paper-go-today.html)

happy ending Saturday, April 25, 2009 05:42 PM

How did ur paper go today?

I hope ppl taking css exam would not mind telling us about their paper ? share with us that how did ur paper go today ,if it doesnot wastes ur time .

Thanks .

Raz Saturday, April 25, 2009 06:17 PM

Both the papers remained good. Almighty Allah may bless us with success. It was my first attempt. Can't predict marks but a rough idea:
Essay approximately 55-65
English Précis and Composition 50-60.

My vocab portion of 10 marks: 100% correct
Idioms of 5 marks: 100% correct
Correction of sentences: I think nearly all the sentences were correct.
Pair of words: good but not excellent.
Note on industrialization: excellent.
Reading comprehension: almost good.
Precis ka kisi ko pata nhi hota. I completed my precis within 140 words. Original passage was around 420 words.

Asif Yousufzai Saturday, April 25, 2009 07:40 PM

4 Raz bhai

AOA, I wrote essay on terrorism........... well i am a bit worried about precis paper........ I also chose
importance of industriliazation ....... sending u an outline plz hava a bird's eye view and let me know about ur suggestions.......

-----era of Globalization (conneciton with industrialization)
-----impact on business
-----importance of industrialization
-------------brought innovation and created more jobs
-----Comparison of Pak economy with Japan & China
---------their difference in connection with industrializaton

bhai these were my main points ........ kindly share ur points and also let me pass ur comments on my one............

thanks........

Raz Saturday, April 25, 2009 08:38 PM

[QUOTE=Asif Yousufzai]
I also chose
importance of industriliazation ....... sending u an outline plz hava a bird's eye view and let me know about ur suggestions.......

-----era of Globalization (conneciton with industrialization)
-----impact on business
-----importance of industrialization
-------------brought innovation and created more jobs
-----Comparison of Pak economy with Japan & China
---------their difference in connection with industrializaton

bhai these were my main points ........ kindly share ur points and also let me pass ur comments on my one............[/QUOTE]

Dear: Substance is sufficient in your outline for 20 marks and 250-300 words.
But I exceeded the limit and finished on 4 pages. Covering all the areas which you have mentioned. In addition to these concepts I discussed the classification of world on the basis of industrial growth i.e. 1st world, 2nd world, and 3rd world. I discussed the role of industrialization in the perspective of most developed countries like G-20 group, who can dictate the policies of under-developed countries via IMF, WB, UNO, BIS, Basel-II, international accounting standards, international auditing standards etc. In the introduction I introduced green revolution, agricultural revolution and then industrial revolution. I mentioned the reference of F.W. Taylors theory. In the importance I quoted, BOT, BOP, comparative advantage, efficiency, economies of scale, macro economic stability, economic activity, growth, specialization, employment generation, inventions and innovation, modern technology like space exploration, simulation techniques, nuclear and atomic advancement, etc. I discussed utilization of resources and sharing the burden of reduction in agricultural sector, support in modern cultivation and research techniques. Besides benefits of industrialization I also mention the negative effects of industrialization and their solution. Finally I discussed Pak's position in industrial development and some remedial measures for sick industrial units and for gaining foreign investment in the shape of new industries. These are some points which I can recall.

Well, I think your material is sufficient to justify 20 marks.

Viceroy Saturday, April 25, 2009 09:01 PM

[quote=Raz]
Both the papers remained good. Almighty Allah may bless us with success. It was my first attempt. Can't predict marks but a rough idea:
Essay approximately 55-65
[/quote]

Raz Bhai what topic did you choose to write the Essay on
Kindly share your Outline as well

and what was the general approach. I mean, was it emphasis on facts and figures, was it very wordy kind of or something else. Did you draw any diagrams\maps\flowchart etc or not.

Headings or no headings ? etc.

and P.S : Safhay kitnay kaalay/neelay kiye hian ;)

P.S - Sorry I forgot earlier, May you achieve the upper limit of your approximation and beyond; in all the papers

Raz Saturday, April 25, 2009 09:19 PM

@MohsinShah

I did not use headings but I used numbering (point-wise) and used marker to make these conspicuous. My essay was not so wordy rather it covered maximum factual evidences.
Topic: Power of Media in the Modern World
I did not draw any diagram/map/flowchart except in outline. I drew a tree diagram in the outline.

Headings were not needed if I made it easy to view the main points of my essay. At some points I used marker to draw an arrow in the margin to gain the attention of assessor. At some points I underlined some concepts which I thought could impress the examiner. These techniques helped me in avoiding headings. Further, outline was already in the beginning of essay so I followed the outline and tried to inculcate coherence in the passages. Reader won't face any point which can break his fluency while reading. So the outline was a guideline to scroll in the essay.

Pages kaly bhi kiy aur neely bhi:
Avg: 8 words per line, 28 lines per page, and total 15 pages including 2 pages on outline. (My hand is of medium size with good speed.

I consumed 30 minutes in brainstorming and prepared outline of three essays which were equally important for me. After their comparison I selected Media Power. And started writing essay formally on 9:40 and finished by 12.

Silent Spectator Saturday, April 25, 2009 09:49 PM

[B]Asslamulaikum,[/B]

[B]Dear Raz, May Allah help you![/B]

[B]It's nice to see your tips of Essay. Can you anticipate, that of how many words your Essay may be?[/B]
[B]It is always rumoured that We should write an Essay of about 3000 to 5000 words, Is it correct?[/B]
[B]Moreover, How many Idioms you had inculcated earlier to exam?[/B]
[B]Regards..[/B]
[B]Again wish you good luck...[/B]

Raz Saturday, April 25, 2009 10:03 PM

@Silent Spectator

Honestly speaking, I did not cram any idioms during my current preparation; I revised only 489 idioms within 30 minutes which I availed during paper gape. I did not cram any GRE type book for vocabulary because to me cramming vocab never helps me. What we learn during our daily life through media, newspapers, and books is enough to retain. When papersetter intends to incorporate unique vocab our crammed thousands of words can't support us in that paper. But when the paper setter is of rational mind we can approach that vocab. Every body his different approach but I believe in this that I can't fight with vocab.

My essay comprised around 2900 words. Had I started at sharp 9 : 00 I could exceed the limit of 3500 words but I thought it necessary to allocate a sufficient time for planning before I start my essay. That planning helped me a lot during write up.

Note: don’t adopt my strategy till the results are announced. Follow the guidelines provided by the qualifiers.

Shaa-Baaz Saturday, April 25, 2009 11:51 PM

@Raz

aik raaz ki bat batao, Entire forum is worried about you . Her rooz 12 bajee sabi ye soochy ghee k raz ka paper kaisa hova hoo gha and i hope u will not let us down

Best wishes for you

Viceroy Saturday, April 25, 2009 11:57 PM

[quote=Shaa-Baaz]@Raz

aik raaz ki bat batao, Entire forum is worried about you . Her rooz 12 bajee sabi ye soochy ghee k raz ka paper kaisa hova hoo gha and i hope u will not let us down

Best wishes for you[/quote]

I am worried about many others as well
Dr Atif Rana, Ramsha Khan, Aurora 2009

These are a few names I know who are taking the exam

Best wishes for them and for all others

I hope all our forum member end up with flying colors Insha Allah

10:43 AM (GMT +5)