05:14 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Datesheets and Results > Previous CSS Results and Datesheets > CSS 2011 Exam

Old Monday, June 11, 2012
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Roll no 5360

amnayounas15 is on a distinguished road
Default Guidance neede by Tayyab sial,Usman_comrade,openhappiness and Hydrangea

Aoa,
first of all congrats for your success.I have merit num439 in CSS 2011.I need your best guidance for journalism,psychology and geography.Please do guide me best books for these subjects.I am thinking to replace indo pak with psychology so please guide me best comprehensive books for these subjects.Some seniors have recommended psychology books by shehr bano as enough.But I want to know best book to score around 150 not just passing or average marks.
Secondly do tell me whether headings should be used in Current affairs,Pakistan affairs,Islamiat to get good scores?
waiting....
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Roll no 5360

Here is My DMs
Essay 40
Comp 58
EDS 57
CA 35
PAK AF 41
Islam. 47
Indo 1 60
indo 2 53
Journ 60
Eng lit 53
eng lit 62
Punjabi 87
total 653
Viva 145
Please do guide me after having a look at my marks.
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2012 - Roll No. 4023

usmanusman is on a distinguished road

In my humble opinion, Alone sher bano's psy books are not sufficient its better to add books like understanding psychology by robert s Feldman and introduction to psychology by Morgan..
SOME IMP THINGS TO REMEMBER REGARDING PSYCHOLOGY..
1)stick to syllabus.........mentioned by FPSC
2)Don't try to be innovative(apart from social psychology,industrial psychology & criminology)
3)use diagrams where necessary..e.g brain,neuron
4)don't try to crame things just make good concepts e.g theories in psy 1
5) go for urdu version of sher bano's books....it helps a lot in making basic concepts.
6)jahangir's 20 questions is also available,go for it too but (don't rely on it totally)i' am recommending this because such books become very handy in the absence of comprehensive book which covers the whole syllabus.

AS far as HEADINGS are concern in journalism and pak affairs..in my opinion...
Your paper is ur representative..when examiner is checking ur paper,u r not there to explain each and every thing ,so inorder to make it simple and easy for examiner use headings..

BEST OF LUCK

Default @usman

Thanks a lot sir
Actually I do 9 to 6 job so I want a comprehensive book to make my own notes.I already have shehr bano.Do recommend one more book with it.Hope you understand what I want to say.But it should not lead to compromise on 150+ marks.Are you usman_comrade?what was you study strategy for psychology and how much time it took to you to complete it?
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2012 - Roll No. 4023

hat's off.....u have performed very well in 2011 exam
I m not usman_comrade...
its dificult for u make complete notes with full time job, so i suggest you to make notes in bullets...just make points..
go for Feldman's understanding psychology in addition to sher bano
also buy JaHANGIR'S 20 psy...bec its a sort of ready made ans.

my planning regarding psy....as i hav appeared in 2012 exams...i used some books plus notes bec its diificult to find to the point answers..
The Following User Says Thank You to usmanusman For This Useful Post:
amnayounas15 (Monday, June 11, 2012)

time for completion....well it depends upon u
if u have interest and start understanding the concepts u can easily manage this subject....but it varies from person to person...
i m a pharmacist,so i hav some background regarding psy....10-15% syllabus of psy is overlapping pharmacy....
but if u work hard nothing is impossible..psy needs concepts and devotion..leaving rest to ALLAH..
The Following User Says Thank You to usmanusman For This Useful Post:
amnayounas15 (Monday, June 11, 2012)
Old Tuesday, June 12, 2012
40th CTP (IRS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit no

Hydrangea is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by amnayounas15 View Post
Thanks a lot sir
Actually I do 9 to 6 job so I want a comprehensive book to make my own notes.I already have shehr bano.Do recommend one more book with it.Hope you understand what I want to say.But it should not lead to compromise on 150+ marks.Are you usman_comrade?what was you study strategy for psychology and how much time it took to you to complete it?
Dear Amna,

I am honored that you considered me worthy enough to ask for advice, to be honest, i got notes for psychology that were available in the library, the notes were of different academies, i just combined these notes to make my own and i just briefly consulted Zimbardo's book sfor psychology ..

i know my marks in CA PA might not be very envious but i can tell the reason which is that my MCQ part of the paper was really bad ..

Other than that, trust me i gave an outline and proper bold headings in each and every questions of each an every paper and that includes islamiat, CA, PA, journalism, sociology, psychology, and islamic history!

rest is all luck and preparation .. do try collecting quotations from various people and use them where ever relevant .. and gain a wide variety of knowledge for various subjects in relevance to CA .. when you quote CA in general questions of ANY subject - it proves that you have a vast and diversified knowledge and a good command over the subject or topic in question!

I am hoping this was helpful!

Take care and all the best!
Old Tuesday, June 12, 2012
40th CTP (IRS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit no

Hydrangea is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Hydrangea View Post
Dear Amna,

I am honored that you considered me worthy enough to ask for advice, to be honest, i got notes for psychology that were available in the library, the notes were of different academies, i just combined these notes to make my own and i just briefly consulted Zimbardo's book sfor psychology ..

i know my marks in CA PA might not be very envious but i can tell the reason which is that my MCQ part of the paper was really bad ..

Other than that, trust me i gave an outline and proper bold headings in each and every questions of each an every paper and that includes islamiat, CA, PA, journalism, sociology, psychology, and islamic history!

rest is all luck and preparation .. do try collecting quotations from various people and use them where ever relevant .. and gain a wide variety of knowledge for various subjects in relevance to CA .. when you quote CA in general questions of ANY subject - it proves that you have a vast and diversified knowledge and a good command over the subject or topic in question!

I am hoping this was helpful!

Take care and all the best!
*please ignore the gazillion spelling mistakes and grammatical mistakes in my post, i dont proof read and i knw it is very lame of me!!