08:15 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Datesheets and Results > Previous CSS Results and Datesheets > CSS 2015 Exam

Old Tuesday, March 18, 2014
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 1,879 Times in 593 Posts
Naveed_Bhuutto is a jewel in the roughNaveed_Bhuutto is a jewel in the roughNaveed_Bhuutto is a jewel in the rough

Islamiat

Books For Islamiat

Islamiat for A/O levels by Farkhanda Noor is the best book and easy also, apart from that other books are:

Islami Nazariya-e-Hayat by Prof. Khurshid Ahmad
Ideology of Islam By anwar Hashmi
Islamic Belief by Mufti Abdul Waheed

Other Study Material (Recommended)
Best: Friday Features from Dawn News paper
Video Lectures of Dr Zakir Naik (Q/A Sessions)
Video Lectures of Javed Ahmed Ghamdi
Documentaries on Islam and other religions (topdocumentaryfilms.com)

But the best exercise apart from reading books is to solve past 10 years papers, using these books, lectures and internet. this exercise if performed properly will surely boost your scores.

Tips to Boost Scores in Islamiat
  1. Solve last 10 years Past Papers
  2. Use Quranic Ayats and Ahadith
  3. Try to use flow charts while answering questions pertaining to History of Islam and Khilafat
  4. MCQ's in Islamiat are most repaeated, solve past 10 years MCQ's and that will do the trick
  5. Start and end you answer with a Quranic Ayat or Ahadith
  6. Pay Special attention to topics like Socio, political and Economic System of Islam along with Problem of Humanity and Islam as a complete code of life.
  7. Make short notes in bullets form so that you can revise them on the day before exams
  8. Follow Friday Features regularly as many current issue pertaining to Islam are discussed in those columns.

Important Topics for Islamiat
http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compu...ss-2014-a.html

Important Articles on Islam JWT
http://jworldtimes.com/Category/Details/41
excessivemhz (Monday, May 05, 2014), Hassan Babu (Tuesday, March 18, 2014), imad2 (Saturday, May 17, 2014), Mandokhail (Monday, June 23, 2014), pisceankhan (Friday, August 08, 2014), shehzadi58 (Sunday, May 11, 2014)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Naveed_Bhuutto is a jewel in the roughNaveed_Bhuutto is a jewel in the roughNaveed_Bhuutto is a jewel in the rough

Every Days Science

Books

Encyclopedia of EDS by Dr Rab Nawaz Samo
Every Day Science by Kashmiri
Solved Past Papers MCQ's by Faridi's
Notes: National Officer Academy Notes By Sir Atif

The dos for EDS preparation
  • Try to memorise the definitions. (This is especially for those who have no science study background.)
  • Practise the diagrams and draw them appropriately at the time of the exam;
  • Differentiation or comparison shall be in form of 'tables';
  • Draw flowcharts, tables and comparison where necessary;
  • Make mnemonic devices or search them from the Internet;
  • For example, the mnemonic device for eight planets is 'my very educated mother just served us noodles.' 'M' for mercury and so on;
  • Make notes of only important topics or things that confuse you;
  • Write down important points and facts while reading a book for the objective portion of the exam.

The Don’ts
  • Do not use synonyms or thesaurus in science e.g. a total eclipse will always be a total eclipse, not full or complete eclipse;
  • Avoid spelling mistakes;
  • There is no need of introduction, background or history in EDS;
  • Answers should be to the point;
  • Do not grab data from unreliable sources

How to attempt the EDS paper?

The same rule applies to the preparation of EDS as to be followed in other subjects like good presentation, precision and accuracy in answers and without spelling mistakes. Legible handwriting will, of course, be a plus point.

Now, let us see as to what type of questions are asked by the paper-setter. In the Subjective Part (50 marks), eight questions are given and the candidates are required to solve five questions out of them. A serious look at the previous papers will suggest the following topics, or areas, which should attract your attention:

Q1: Muslim scientist
Q2: Definitions
Q3: Comparison/ Differentiation
Q4: Abbreviations
Q5: Reasoning questions
Q6: Short notes
Q7: A one-word question (animals and their locations, hormones and their functions, vitamins and their deficiency, diseases and their causes, etc.)
Q8: Lengthy questions

At the first place, the selection of questions is very important. Suppose, you know the answer to all the questions, what will be your order of preference? Which questions will give you maximum marks? As a student, I will solve the questions in the following order:

a) Abbreviations;
b) One-word question;
c) Comparison;
d) Reasoning, and
e) Definitions.

Following this order of preference will result in maximum marks. If 10 abbreviations are correct, you will get 10 marks -- no discretion of the examiner.

Useful websites for EDS
http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compu...sites-eds.html

Prepare EDS with the help of videos
http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compu...lp-videos.html
Ammarah Mirza (Friday, October 10, 2014), dicey (Tuesday, March 18, 2014), excessivemhz (Monday, May 05, 2014), hafiz mubashar (Thursday, September 04, 2014), Hannibal (Tuesday, March 18, 2014), Hassan Babu (Tuesday, March 18, 2014), Mandokhail (Monday, June 23, 2014), pisceankhan (Friday, August 08, 2014), shehzadi58 (Sunday, May 11, 2014)

Sidra Qureshi is on a distinguished road

Thank u Thanks indeed...
Its a great help to us. Pl Guide me from Zero as em new to this thread and keen to appear in CSS examination.
The Following User Says Thank You to Sidra Qureshi For This Useful Post:
Naveed_Bhuutto (Tuesday, March 18, 2014)

Originally Posted by Sidra Qureshi View Post
Thank u Thanks indeed...
Its a great help to us. Pl Guide me from Zero as em new to this thread and keen to appear in CSS examination.
I will try my level best to help aspirants with what ever little knowledge I possess. Inshallah
excessivemhz (Monday, May 05, 2014), Sidra Qureshi (Wednesday, March 19, 2014)

English Precis and Composition

You can divide this paper into two segments:

Segment – I : 65 marks
  • Precis – 25 marks
  • Comprehension – 20 marks
  • Expansion – 20 marks
Segment – II : 35 marks
  • Change of narration – 5 marks
  • Correction of sentences – 5 marks
  • Idioms – 5 marks
  • Pair of words – 10 marks
  • Antonyms/Synonyms – 10 marks
(The examiner may, however, ask other segments like change of voice as well)

Segment – II is mathematical as your correct answer would accrue full marks. Here it becomes key for success as if you manage to score 30 in this segment your chances of clearing this paper become high. For this purpose practise this segment from the past papers and please do not cram sentences written in common guide books available in market.

Segment – I is significant as it is a test of your command over language. However, this fact should be kept in mind that this is an examination for the CSS and not a paper of English Literature. So you should be very clear about what is required of you. You have to demonstrate your skills of comprehending a piece of writing and communicating in writing in a precise and effective manner.

Practice is a key in this segment. You have sufficient time available. Try to solve all 40 past papers questions of précis and comprehension passages. Try to make it your habit as time management is very important in this paper. The précis passage mostly consumes around one hour. Practice can help you serve time in other parts.

Courtesy Jehangir Magazine
Ammarah Mirza (Friday, October 10, 2014), excessivemhz (Monday, May 05, 2014), Hassan Babu (Tuesday, March 18, 2014), pisceankhan (Friday, August 08, 2014), shehzadi58 (Sunday, May 11, 2014)

Hassan Babu is on a distinguished road

Thanks bro...
Allah bless on you....(Y)

Shuiab Ahmed is on a distinguished road

Marvelous piece of work Naveed Bhai......
Looking for the same plan to crack the geography.........
The Following User Says Thank You to Shuiab Ahmed For This Useful Post:

Originally Posted by Shuiab Ahmed View Post
Marvelous piece of work Naveed Bhai......
Looking for the same plan to crack the geography.........
Dear, Geography is very easy and scoring subject, if prepared well. The only thing you need to do is draw alot ov diagrams in Paper A and Maps in Paper B, along with all the other required material and understanding ov subject.

As far as I remember I drew almost 10 to12 diagrams to illustrate landforms of glacier in paper A. In the same manner maps are very important to illustrate physical/geographical location of countries/areas. I will try to upload a study plan for geography and other important optionals soon Inshallah.

pisceankhan (Friday, August 08, 2014), RHSherazi (Tuesday, March 18, 2014), Shuiab Ahmed (Saturday, March 22, 2014)
Old Wednesday, March 19, 2014

muhammad umer haider is on a distinguished road

Naveed bhai,
I am unable to find words to appreciate your work.
Just want to say "Good job Brother".
Naveed_Bhuutto (Wednesday, March 19, 2014)
Old Thursday, April 10, 2014

Sidra Qureshi is on a distinguished road

Hi. I read all the topics for current affairs.. em appearing tomorrow for a regional position which test will be conducted right here at BPSC. Can u pls upload atleast 5 most important current affairs topics...