06:44 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Interview & Psychological Tests > Interview

Interview The objective of the Interview is to assess one's personality and leadership skills.The knowledge has already been tested in the written phase.Candidates can Post all related queries here

Old Wednesday, March 02, 2016
44th CTP (PAS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2015 - Merit 4

mujtaba arfat is on a distinguished road

Saif Riaz
February 11 at 6:23pm
I had my viva voce today with the panel. It was a very light and smiley interaction with smiles all around the room. The interview was for 40 minutes
Chairman(C): As I entered the room with a smile and the chairman said Mashallah you have a very sporty body. I said Thank You and he then stood up and greeted me. Chairman asked why are u smiling. I said I don’t know maybe I am feel happy inside and could not help it. He said were also smiling when we saw your profile. I was like “what?” He said take it as a compliment young man. I kept smiling though. What sports do u play? I answered and he said I can tell that u are a very fast runner. I said yes, TY sir, who better can tell that than you. Have u played at any tournament and I answered it.
Then Rizwan sahab interrupted that u go to farm. I was shocked as I have written nothing like that. But I said that we do own farms back in our village. He said that well.
Chairman: What is NAP can u high light it? I did. He said recently 6 more points have been proposed can u tell me what are they. I said I have heard about this news but could not get a hold off them. He then asked about NACTA. I forgot the acronym and said it is an ant terrorism force of gvt of Pakistan, He said can you tell the full form (specifically). I said "National Counter Terrorism Agency" and he said u r right why u didn’t said that before. I felt like I should shoot myself. It then progressed to Karachi and security situation and infrastructure and then towards Naimat Ullah Khan and Mustafa Kamal. He then asked about Lair situation and football and boxing craze at Lair that why we have good boxers over there. I answered them all. The chairman said well done boy n handed me to Tarar Sahab
TS: Pakistan have sea routes. I said yes He said can u name the land routes with which Pakistan Trades with its neighbors. I answered it but said sorry on Sindh and Baluchistan as I didn’t knew. He asked what if rangers left. Operation is completed. Now what u think will happen. I gave them a thorough analysis.
HE then handed me to Lehri Sahab and my indo pak paper started from there.
Which Mughal Ruler was born in Sindh? I answered. He further added and said "WHY"? I replied that only Humayoun can tell and everybody burst laughing. He added that I mean what was Humayun doing there. I answered him. Who was Dara Shikoh, his ideology, what was his fate. Who introduced price reforms? Who was mujhadid alf sani. Who was Shah Wali Ullah. Who were the representatives for Indians in war of independence? (Said Sorry). Who was Baldur Shah Successor (Sorry)? What is nau ratan? I answered it.
Handed me to Tarar Sahab. And Indo Pak continue
Who was Surhawandy Bose (something like that)? No Idea said Sorry. Who was Nawab Sirajidullah? Answered it. Who betrayed him answered it. Then who betrayed Tipu Sultan. I answered it and he complimented very good lad. Next question when did first round table take place and who presided it for Muslims. Name three sahib from Anwar (can’t remember said sorry). He asked next can u tell me original name of K2. I answered and he looked at chairman and said I am done and I was handed to Rowan sahib. And he looked at chairman and said I am done and I was handed to Rowan sahib.
Which position the forwards of Pakistan and Germany Hockey Teams play? I answered it very well. What are you doing now a days? U know Pakistan is the 6th largest milk producing country but we don’t see that much milk how and why. I answered and then he said where your father belong in Sindh I said Duniyapur (Lodhran) and he asked whatever he can and I said one word Sorry as I knew nothing of Lodhran. He was like which breed of cows we have there, what is agricultural pattern n all. Sorrrrryyyy to all the Qs.
The chairman said u have Customs at top. Why? I justified. Why Civil services. I answered n was shocked why such questions are asked now. He then said well done boy u did well. Are u satisfied with your interview? I said absolutely and he added u should be. You were confident and smiled a lot. I hope u keep smiling. Go home relax and enjoy your life. I thanked him, stood up put the chair back and left
jamalnasir (Saturday, April 02, 2016)
44th CTP (PAS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2015 - Merit 4

Sayed Saleem Shah
February 11 at 1:39am · Hyderabad
My Viva
Why civil service?
District profile
Cholistan
Sakifa bani said a
Mithaq Madina
Rabi and kharif crops
Any limit on debt?
Public debt
First governor general of Pakistan
When sindh became province
Jirga system favour or against
In the capacity of district education officer how u will improve education?
Sur's of Shah Latif
Shaikh Ayaz
Nabi BUX Baloch
Election commission, members tenure and mode of selection
44th CTP (PAS)

Syed Raees Shah
January 30
Detailed interview of mine ...
It was on 13th of Jan...
I entered the room at 12:40pm...
Chairman welcomed me and I shook hand with him he offered me a chair to sit...
So Raees how are you??
You are from Lahore?? I said no sir I am from MBDin...So what are you doing in Lahore...Preparation for css I replied Ok...Tell us as it is your second chance of interview what happened last time?? I replied I couldn't able to perform well in psychological test so that I was disqualified So you believe your performance in psychological was a result?? I replied yes sir ot was...ot means you hav work harder to improve your performance that is a good thing(chairman).Then he asked Why PsP Raees?? I replied as I hav law background I hav knowledge of criminal law I can perform better in the service..He said good Than why all the lawyers feel that they are above law?? I replied it is absence of cemetery code of ethics and its srtict implementation...Next question Why lawyers wear black coats?? I replied with a smile that I regret my inability that I do not know...Chairman laughed and said no matters...I don't know even....So what are the benefits of a separate district?? Agricultural problems as I live in a rural agrarian society...Members of UN security council?? Tenure of non permanent members...Where IcJ sits?? Number of judges and their tenure?? Then he thanked and refered me to another Qazi sb....What is Ghormukhi in Punjabi?? A brief discussion on it...Why evidence of one man is equal to two women?? Again discussion...Suppose you are An Asp...highlight problems of Police?? I pointed out 5 to 6...Water management I said sorry...
Rizwan sb...
What is constitution?? Its importance?? Military regimes and their status in terms of constitution....One question from my fvt book World Order I replied he said Good....One fvt international journalist?? I replied Robert Fisk And a discussion on him ...Where did Muslim migrated first??I replied Habsha....
Lehri sb..Gk questions...Tarar sb strated with asking definitions of statues...rule and regulation....then Loal law Substantive law and special law....What is Pemra?? Functions....I replied it regulates electronic and print media he said no it only regulates Electronic ...I admitted my fault....so Why we need Pemra when we have Ministry of Information and Broadcasting?? I replied....Other questions I don't remember....At the end...Chairman gave his worthy remarks That Raees you were confident and answering the questions....we wish you best of luck...I thanked him and all other members and left the room while having a smiling contact with Qazi sb as he was smiling....It was all my experiences...
When I came out It was 1:22...so they took 42 minutes.
44th CTP (PAS)

Saniya Safi
January 29
Aoa Brothers and Sisters , I hail From Fata and I have been asked following questions , my back ground is linguistics and optionls were Psychology , geography , int Law and Pushto
Here it goes
I was first asked that how are you ?
Thn about the agency that I hail from , geography of it , imp of it , historical , resources etc , Mohmand Agency is famous for White Ziarat Marble , thn chairman asked me that factories there do not give any bills etc , what do u think ..... I answered and gave reasons
Thn he asked me about the imp of Gawadar which I answered in v detail with maps and locations etc in the upper route that is Central Asian Area , and thn southern route of south china sea via strait of malaka and thn coonection Of Chabahar port and indian investment , and numerically told thm that gawadar provides the shortest route and a good substitue for starit of Hurmoz where almost 29% of oil is traded ....... And also the geographical shape of Cpec and gawadar as a tunnel in which you could file whole central asian countries ......
Thn he asked me if your are given post as PA thn wot you would for Education ...... I told them about community schools and teachers who are giving 300 to 1000 rps to a molana and keeping thereselves in settled areas etc etc and other notions .....
Chairman also asked me about the Nato forces in afghanistan ; whether they should stay or not. I answered that America has a model of leaving countries in power vaccum through which monsters like IS are given birth , IS was just a little jammat al jihad wa Tuheed , it amulgated with Alqaeda in 2004 but detached itself and came as a global threat in form IS , same is the case with Afghanistan; they don have strong and equipped forces , no strong economy , no stable govt and Talibans have control over 60 pc area , if they left now , world might have to face the biggest monster than IS , thn I quoted Carl Schmit who said that " if pais sneezes the whole europe catches the cold ; sameis with Afghanistan , Afg is the paris of Asia , if it sneezes whole asia catches the cold " ......
Here comes the othere person who tends to be disagreeing with everything , like he said i hail from sindh and other person hail from balochistan , there is no extremisim there why Fata ...... I told him reasons and said that Terrorism in Fata lurks in disallusioment , fed by poverty and a grieved plus anger presented in the form of wavy brain washing etc etc etc ....... He said that there is no poverty in Swat , why terrorism is there , I again repeated that the northern and Northern western Areas of Pakistan and their inhabitants are very much vulnerable to Religion , they can be easily disallusioned by religious perks as 70 Hoors waiting in jannah etc etc and thn told them about Sufi Muhammad 's Nafaze Shairete Muhammadi and Fazlu Allah who was heavily helped by WOMEN through their JEWELz etc ...... Interviewr again said i cannot buy this idea of religion vulnerability , the discussion on this topic was closed when I answered him that We are not vulnerable to it because we ar educated , we cannot be so easily brain washed by unlogical religious perks , we cannot say admit that by killing innocent ppl in sucide bombing will take us to jannah .....the same interviwer asked about the failure of kala bagh dam , I answered there are two reasons , one of which is very impt and not tackled seriously , first is that ppl have fears that they will be drowned , their homes , fields etc and secondly and mostly ignorant plus important is the trust deficit between the gov and ppl of not giving any alternatives to the ppl that would suffer from it , for example ppl have doubts about the govtz integrity that whether they will be given houses or money as an alternative ....... My ans was shocking to him and his respnse was shocking to me aswell as he said that I am shocked by your answer ....... And its a ground reality , these trusts deficits should be addressed and decisions should be taken in the best interest of Pakistan .......
And same interviewer asked about FR regions and why they are there ...... I answered it he asked for clearification to which elaborated through linguistic example of dialects of peshawar and Mardan and the buffer dialect of nowshera ..... Coz regions do have continums , they are changed gradually same is the case with Fata Agencies and Frontier Regeions ...... Exampls goven was the buffer FR region of Laki btwn North Waziristan and Laki marwart
The same person also asked about the Tapi that will go through Afghanistan ; how they will tackle it , I answered that pakistan is spending 26 billion rupees on the security of CEPEC , Afghanistan should also safe guard it .......
Thn other person asked bout the imp of geography in economy of country, it seemed easy , example given was Afghanistan as land locked country depending on Iran and Pakistan for coasts etc
And other person asked about diff between Conflict and War ( an international law question ) i differentiated ..... And asked that is pakistan in state of war , I answered No , its in state of Insurgency ( according to international Law )
Thn i was asked about the imp of Balochistan and Iran railway track and its importance as it is of just 80 kms ...... References given of land connectivity of Gawadr and chabahar port etc , and Gulf states , diplomatic imp , economic imp and regional imp
As i have military background , one interviewer asked me about DHA scam which was the headline of that day ( 13 jan 2016 ) he said about the lobby of army officers etc , to which I answered that Good and bad ppl exist every where , they are in govt , in beauracracy and in armed institutions aswell , there should be transperancy , guilty should be brought to justice ; thn asked about General Raheel sharifs statemnt , I appreciated his statemnt and discussion was closed on the statment that i stated , No one is above law !!! Thats All I remember .....
Whole interview was mostly opinion based ..... And the headlines of the newspaper ........
Hope it would help
44th CTP (PAS)

Engr Sajid Khan
February 10 at 105pm
My interview
Chairman: have a seat gentleman
Thanks sir and welcome to peshawar smile emoticon
Chairman : while smiling ... Oo thanks gntlman and infact we have to welcome you bcz it is our federal office smile emoticon
Thanks sir
Ch: what your father do ?
So u from fata.
From which agency?
Why from fata and joing police ?
Bad image of police in public , why ?
Role of police in maintaing peace??
Motorway police less corrupt , wt u say ?
Role of police in other provinces ?
Why world is serious abt climatic changes?
Wt recent development has been done ?
What are green house gases?
2nd memb
Why tajik and uzbek in fata ?
Will terrorists face any resistance while entering settle areas ?
Why taliban in sawat ?
WTO ?
3rd memb
So u have a job in dubai,
Who is the foreign minister of uae?
Two english newspapers from uae ?
Why seepage in buildings, how to control?
Climatic and commercial building laws? Which one more important and why ?
I am coming to peshawar so which touristic place you will prefer me to go ?
Director of the housing authority ?
4th memb
Islamiat 2 questions
Journalism 2 questions
Fata area
Mohmand agency area
Western route of cpec ?
5 th memb
Iran sanctions and its implications on pak iran trade ?
Wts your opinion about trade ?
Judicial comission ?
Pak iran trade history ?
Back to chairman:
smugling in mohmand agency ? Why ?
How to control ?
How do u think if fata is being merged with kp ?
What would be the reaction of locals ?
Dont u think going against the elders will be like a revolt against them ?
How to convince the elders of fata ?
Will the youngesters convince the elders ?
What currently u are doing ?
Chairman remarks
" thanks a lot gentlman, we really appreciate intelligent people like u from fata and especially from mohand agency and we sincerly wish u bst of luck "
Duration : 40 mints
Need prayers
44th CTP (PAS)

Baryalay Khan
January 27
my interview, felt like a tough one ! ( please add answers if you guys know them, to the benefit of others)
place of death of the father of Holy Prophet ( PBUH)
no of tribal agencies at the time of independence of Pak
cities and towns of the western route of CPEC ( not provinces)
diff between LG of KPK and other provinces
Pakistan's Governor general who hailed from Bengal
how Dr Khans government in KPK was abolished
which article of constitution to invoke governors rule and for how long
causes of first martial law
president at the time of first constitution
why we have PATA ( provincially admin tribal areas)
who is Samad khan achakzai ( a pukhtoon nationalist)
difference between IMF and world bank
thats all i can remmeber for now,
44th CTP (PAS)

Mian Fahim
January 27
AOA! following are few questions which i remember:
why are you here?
how is your preparation?
what are major problems of pakistan?
how population is a problem?
what can we do about it? haven't we done enough about it?
what is ebdo or something. i didn't know what it was.
basic democracy of ayub khan.
difference between basic democracy and current local govt system.
what is difference between parliamentary and presidential form of govt?
what are your views about the statement of ex-CJ about presidential form of govt?
then there was some discussion regarding my favorite personlaity "jose mourinho", i was surprised that the interviewer had enough information about him.
discussion about my favorite book.
ashra mubashara, masjid e qiblatain, who was ibn zaid, CII and federal shariat court? difference between these two?
information about grameen bank. how do you see statement of obama that "pakistan should disrupt, dismantle and delegitimise" the terrorists. i said he's right to some extent. then he said that "isn't this hypocrisy that they are backing militants in afghanistan".
i wasn't able to answer around 5-6 questions.
44th CTP (PAS)

Saad Ahmad
January 28
Viva voce, Peshawar 28th.
Well I don't think it was good but here we go.
U belong to? what's so special about your village? Why FSP? People from your area are mostly in army, why are u coming to civil service? Importance of Balochistan in Pakistan's economic and foreign policy. Does govt prefer easter route over western route? as a diplomat, how will you introduce your country to a nation who don't know about your country. What is territorial water? difference b/w coastline and baseline. who was general robert lee (from us history), monroe doctrine, eisenhower doctrine, how many sq/km in an acre, unit measurement of advertisement, introduce khushal khan khattak and pareshan khattak, how is president of US selected, how is president of Pakistsan selected, how are senators selected, is it one man one vote basis for president?
One of them asked me, do you like economics? I said, not at all. He laughed and said not at all? I said yes, don't know about it tongue emoticon and then came the questions on multilateral banks. I said i don't know what multilateral is. He said bilateral and multilateral? I said bi means 2, multi is for more, rest I don't know. Asked about world bank's history. Composition of Election commission of Pakistan. Its head. What changes in ECP to make elections fair. I gave example that Indian EC (read in an article) is powerful so empower our ECP. He asked about indian EC and bam, didn't know anything tongue emoticon Leaders from Balochistan in Pakistan movement. Our relations with all our neighbors are bad, are we the problem? ... and I guess that's it. Can't recall others. Chairman said we gave u a good environment to express yourself, you did so too. You are confident, wish you all the best, thank you. ( he didn't stand up again as I was told so went out without shaking hands unsure emoticon ).
Hope this helps.
44th CTP (PAS)

Jehan Zeb Pasha
January 27
My optional...
Islami law, forestry, geography,business admin, Pashto..
Questions...
Forestry..check dam..cathment area..watershed mgt...
Geography...bay and gulf..costa rica.coutries of central Africa..
Islamic law..why slavery was still in practice after NABOWWAT.
Qualities of mujtahid..
Wht is Mujaddid..
Sources of islamic law..
Business admin...wht is micro-financing..is it still attractive while bank is charging tax over it?
General questions...about my Distt Dir lower..
Flaws in administrative structure of pakistan politocal system..
What are the impediments in becoming a civil society. ..regarding pak..
America is giving us aid..but still we r unhappy wd her..why ??
18 Aamendment..what should b done more to gv autonomy to provinces..
Any three names of pak movement leaders who belong to sindh...
Cant recall other questions...
At the end chairman told me how do u rate ur interview..I told him..I couldn't answer some quiz..but novody is perfect. ..so is the case wd me..but it was good I was thinking the environment would b strssed...but I found it v friendly and enjoyed alot..as I was waiting for this day since long...
Chairman told me that go home with the happy mood..and wished me luck..
44th CTP (PAS)

Muhammad Qamer Hussain
January 20
My interview happened yesterday Multan.. A completely changed interview from expectations. It was neither bad nor too good..
I entered the room as the atmosphere was extremely cordial.. Chairman stood up from his chair to welcome me. And I shook hands with him and then went to all the members and said Salam.. Interview started..
Qamer how are you.
Sir I am great and thanks for asking... And I counter questioned him. Sir how are you ..
He said I am good too..
Chairman. How did you come here ?
I left bwp at 6:30am and reached here at 8:30am as it was so heavy fog so I had to drive a bit slow than usual..
Chairman.. Yeah today I was so heavy fog.. So you people witness this every year.
Yes sir .. Because that is a plain area and open area so the chances of heavy fog is greater than central Punjab and mountainous region.
Chairman: You have told me a very valuable information which I never knew before. Thanks for it.
Why you want to join psp.
Sir my mother always wanted to see me in a police uniform.. Because my grandfather died in the line of police duty. And other factors are that we are in the middle of fighting terrorism and extremism so that is incumbent upon every responsible pakistani to come forward and join the ranks of LEA to become a bulwark against all these Menaces..
Chairman : But police has lost its moral sense and it is so corrupt what are the reasons behind it.
Sir there is only and big reason behind every police problem is lack of peoples trust on police department. It was formed as the guardian of peace but now due to trust deficit ut has become a pretty much disordered department.. If we are able to bridge this single gap we can restore the lost prestige of police department.
Chairman. We want people like you in police department.
Sir I will be extremely honoured to serve my part at all cost ..
Chairman. How is your prep for interview.
Sir I will try my best to satisfy every respected member of this panel.
Chairman. What is the difference between Terrorism,extremism,fundamentalism,insurgency,mili tancy..
I tried to explain each of them.. I knew these answers.
What is the difference between Human smuggling and human trafficking.
That was a shocker 😞.. But still I managed..
Note: The next question showed my weak point and that was islamiyat..
They asked me a very very simple question and I was nit able to give its answer😞😞
Then they asked Sulaeih Hudaiybah..
I answered it.
Then they moved to another member..
So Qamer what are your interests.
I told them that I am writing for a blog
Which is the last article did you write.
Sir it was about the revival of Pakistan economy.(now they knew that it is my strong point don't come here)
He said so we shouldn't ask you questions about it.
I said it depends upon you respected sir..
He came up a surprising question. From where ISIS is getting all the finances.
I said from so many different sources.
Illegal oil smuggling,revenue generation by taxing. Extortion and kidnapping. By selling loatted arms and ammunition ti black market and there are also ideological sympathisers. And two more as I cannot recall now
Member. So to whom it is selling oil?
I said Turkey and Regime of bassarl ul assad.
Why he is buying oil from them.. That is strange.
Sir he wants to kill two birds with a single arrow. He never wants to eliminate ISIs because it is fighting against the FSA which is the rebel organization and fighting against regime. So he wants to let stay Isis in the territory..
Now they asked me a question from my book. I said sorry. And one more question about the philosophy of Hassan nasa ullah. I skipped it..
Who are Kurds ?
I answered about them and they asked why they are nit able to get independence.
I said due to lack of political unity among them as most of them are spread in different countries. I told then about Kurdistan and Anatolian Kurds and Iranian Kurds.(missed Syrian Kurds)
One asked me what are 4 wireline services can you name them.
Reuters. Petra. AP. APF.
Who were the commanders of war against Persians.
Saad Ibn Waqas. Muthnna .
He asked who else.
I said Tariq bin Khalid 😃😃 ( then corrected Khalid bin Walid because I was not sure)
Then he asked me what were the contributions of hajjaj bin yousuf.
Laid siege to Makkah and he was able to crush a revolt there of ibn zubair. And he send his nephew to sindh to conquer it and also sent his general ti CA.
Who was ibn ziad.
I said I know only one Ibn Ziayad and that was Tariq Bin Ziad.
And I cannot recall what else he asked. As my mind was really struggling hard to keep on answering the Islamic history questions.
He asked who is your favorite Islamic historian.
I said sir I have read books by karren Armstrong.
No Karen arm strong is not a historian.
I said sir i know ibn khaldun but I haven't read him yet.
He asked from where did you prepare for Islamic history.
I said that yeah I have read PK Hitti.
and he smiled and said he is really a historian.
And I asked him. Sir confusion was being created because i was continuously asking you that should I tell you the ancient or recent historian name.
He asked me the book name and I name it. Arab Civilization.
But the Islamic related questions were still coming 😞
Next member
What is the difference between Geology and geophysics?
I answered it..
He asked that who was the famous politician from Baluchistan for muslim league .
I said sorry..
Then another member.. Loll he was Like he was nit cool in this environment.
What is colonization of government.
I answered that it is not a permanent annexation by the mainland country..
Then he came about my city..
What was the satluj project . I knew a bit.
Then asked about cholistan ..
And questions related to my area.. Which were extremely difficult.. Still I gave them answers..
In the end the chairman said. How do you rate your interview.
I said sir it was a brilliant experience but I am rating my interview more than average.
He said how were your papers ?
I said I was extremely confident that I would pass my every subject..
He said. This is confidence gentleman.. And I appreciate it..
He said you were calm composite and confidence and best if luck.
I thanked them all. And shook hands with all of the... And said it was an excellent time with all of you..allah hafiz.
Do pray for me