01:39 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Interview & Psychological Tests > Interview

Interview The objective of the Interview is to assess one's personality and leadership skills.The knowledge has already been tested in the written phase.Candidates can Post all related queries here

Old Wednesday, December 14, 2011
40th CTP (PAAS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 364

Eager is a jewel in the roughEager is a jewel in the roughEager is a jewel in the roughEager is a jewel in the rough
Default CSS Officers (Especially Female), Plz Guide

Hello Friends,

I and some of my female friends who have qualified written exams, want to know what should be the dress code for females in interview. Especially in the case when a girl generally wears Abaya/scarf/veil.
Will that create any problem or will that show her personality as conservative?
Would it matter in group allocation?

Plz reply,

Gulrukh is just really niceGulrukh is just really niceGulrukh is just really niceGulrukh is just really niceGulrukh is just really nice
Lightbulb

Originally Posted by Eager View Post
Hello Friends,

I and some of my female friends who have qualified written exams, want to know what should be the dress code for females in interview. Especially in the case when a girl generally wears Abaya/scarf/veil.

Plz reply,
Well I think we must not look ultra conservative by wearing those veils/abayas(my fav)burka etc...some how veil/abaya dont fit here...but its my own perception.I myself wear full veil..like this..........

And I'm going full modern...no veil...come on its civil service..now we are going to be OFFICERS..My family has no problem.I have talked this out..no prob.

I think the more open n frank personality we show the better it is..and secondly I'm having strong notions that some how these additional pieces of cloth do have an effect on the group allocation..plz some senior shed light on this issue...thx.
The Following User Says Thank You to Gulrukh For This Useful Post:
Eager (Thursday, December 15, 2011)

Wali Ahad will become famous soon enoughWali Ahad will become famous soon enough

when a girl generally wears Abaya/scarf/veil.

Plz reply,
please define conservative personality

But no, it wouldnt create any problem. at most a question about it might be asked like;"do you observe it of your own accord or were you forced to wear this (abaya/scarf) by your family"?

as for your second question, again, no,your dress has no bearing whatsoever on group allocation..(unless someone turns up in totally inappropriate clothes leaving nothing to imagination, in that case candidate's 'moral character' might be called into question )
though i did hear a rumour that former chairmain fpsc late jamshed gulzar kiyani once made an exception for a veiled female, by writing on her report "not to be allocated in FSP" (or something to that effect)..but again, it could have been her oral response to some question instead of her appearance...seniors who appeared during JGK's time!!, plz confirm this
The Following User Says Thank You to Wali Ahad For This Useful Post:

Wali Ahad will become famous soon enoughWali Ahad will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by Gulrukh View Post
.I myself wear full veil..like this..........

And I'm going full modern...no veil...come on its civil service..now we are going to be OFFICERS..My family has no problem.I have talked this out..no prob.

I think the more open n frank personality we show the better it is
Dear Gulrukh,
one question..were you wearing some form of veil in the pics you submitted for the application form??
because if you were, i would highly recommend wearing it again...or else your psychological report might portray you in less than favourable light. they might throw in terms like "contradictory personality traits" and/or "inconsistent behaviour".seriously, that would do you more harm than a relatively innocuous veil
The Following User Says Thank You to Wali Ahad For This Useful Post:
Old Thursday, December 15, 2011

RAKSHAN is on a distinguished road
Arrow dress code for females on occasion of interveiw

Dear,i think that female,who qualify for viva,need not b worried about dress code,as they have repetedly watched the programmes of star plus with ease,i think same dress code is best.
Old Thursday, January 05, 2012

rana ji is on a distinguished road
Default dress code

wear what you think is decent...no need to take off veils as that would be a disrespect to your own belief and if you cant respect yourself then noone can respect u...
for those who think that pix are submitted widout veil then why wear a veil.....the answer is simple...its about options....u dont hav an option to submit pix wd veils due to security conditions but its ur right to wear it n nobody can take it away....
those who think dat one should be frank n open minded...the terms one should use are to be a professional wd vision n not to take off clothes that u considered at one tym as obligation n now as extra pieces of clothes...
if u cant stick to ur beliefs then how cud u cnvince others...
in short....u dun have faith in ALLAH but lookin upto his creation for something that they dont have power of.....
i may b rude but truth is always bitter
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 51

Thanked 1,424 Times in 486 Posts
mano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to behold

Hello Friends,

Plz reply,
Eager! be confidant in wearing veil, it will be a plus point for you and Allah Almighty will also help you out in the whole process, please present yourself as you are, I was also asked by many people to take off gaun as the panel will consider you orthodox, but I wasn't convinced.Artificiality should be avoided in any case, be original...don't listen to the people.Listen to your heart only and you are not doing something bad so be composed and strong, Allah will be with you inshaAllah, Whether you will pass the exam or not but you will remain satisfied by doing so.best of luck.
Kamran (Thursday, January 05, 2012)

muak is on a distinguished road
Lightbulb @eager:

i will rather suggest the wearing of abaya as veil(burqa) is somewhat not in consonance with the ocassion....its civil service and you will be having a lot of public dealing.... abaya or even a decent chadar (shawl) will deliver a complete hijaab.... rest its solely upto you.this is my opinion and i may be wrong.regards.

Wallah.o.aalam! stay blessed.

Gulrukh is just really niceGulrukh is just really niceGulrukh is just really niceGulrukh is just really niceGulrukh is just really nice

ok jis ka dil karta hai wo veil kar ley...but I have many girlz in my family who are having top class jobs..n I have decided this thing(not to wear veil)after listening to them..veil is not desireable...agr veil karna hai to dont join civil service..FSP is my top choice..n i cant think about ruining my career by wearing my veil..veil was not something forced on me as such(i adopted it under special circumstances)...in fact my brothers opposed it but i was adamant..my family is quite liberal n educated..my pics were with out veil or scarf.so NO DISCREPANCY here..OK...i 'm doing what i'm supposed to do...i dont wanna sound hypocrite....I'm Hafiz e Quran n my faith is mighty & unconquerable even without a veil...that's it.

Good luck girlz..Stay blessed..May Allah help us.
40th CTP (CTG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 330

junaidd will become famous soon enough

The Pakistani civil and armed services are heavily influenced by British traditions as well as the lifestyles of the Muslim elite of united India. As a yardstick for their appearances, the males candidates should emulate Mohammad Ali Jinnah and the female candidates may draw inspiration from Fatima Jinnah.

Whether we like it or not, the all-encompassing veil (niqab) represents conservativeness and a reactionary ideology. A scarf, on the other hand, is more mainstream or "acceptable" in the more 'elite' circles of our society.